OCTG1 2021 SP: Oil country tubular goods
Notice of amended scope ruling

Ottawa,

Today, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) concluded its review of the scope ruling regarding insulated tubing (IT) and vacuum insulated tubing (VIT) originating in or exported from China. To give effect to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s (CITT) decision in accordance with subsection 67(1) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), the CBSA has amended its scope ruling made on September 6, 2019, pursuant to subsection 67(3) of SIMA.

Background

On May 10, 2019, following an application for a scope ruling from Western Alliance Tubulars Ltd. and Victoria International Tubular Corporation (collectively, “WAT”), as to whether IT/VIT are subject to the CITT’s findings concerning the dumping an subsidizing of Seamless Casing and oil country tubular goods (OCTG I) originating in or exported from China, the CBSA initiated a scope proceeding with respect to IT/VIT, pursuant to subsection 63(8) of SIMA.

On September 6, 2019, the CBSA made its scope ruling. The CBSA determined, pursuant to subsection 66(1) of SIMA, that IT/VIT are not subject to the CITT’s findings in Seamless Casing and OCTG I.

On December 4, 2019, WAT and Algoma Tubes Inc., Prudential Steel ULC and Tenaris Global Services (Canada) Inc. (collectively, “Tenaris”) appealed the scope ruling pursuant to subsection 61(1.1) of SIMA.

On September 2, 2021, in its Decision and Reasons regarding the appeals No. EA‑2019‑006 and EA‑2019‑007, the CITT found that the goods in issue are of the same description as goods subject to the CITT’s OCTG I finding. The finding of the CITT is final and conclusive.

Decision

To give effect to the CITT’s decision in appeals No. EA‑2019‑006 and EA‑2019‑007 in accordance with subsections 67(1) and (3) of SIMA, the CBSA has today made the following amendment to its the original scope ruling :

The goods (IT/VIT), which are the subject of Western Alliance Tubulars Ltd.’s application, are subject to the CITT’s OCTG I finding.

Further, by amending the original scope ruling, the revised decision is deemed to take effect on the day the original ruling was made, September 6, 2019. Therefore, IT/VIT originating in or exported from China released into Canada on or after September 6, 2019, are subject to the CITT’s OCTG I finding.

Retroactive duty

Anti‑dumping and/or countervailing duties may be applicable retroactively on subject IT/VIT originating in or exported from China released from the CBSA on or after September 6, 2019 pursuant to subsection 59(1)(d).

After an assessment of anti‑dumping and/or countervailing duties has been made, SIMA provides for several levels of re‑determinations and appeals. These requests must be filed in the form and manner outlined in Customs Memorandum D14‑1‑3, Procedure for Making a Request for a Re‑Determination or an Appeal of Goods under the Special Import Measures Act, and must be received within 90 days from the date of the assessment.

Inquiries related to the application of duty on IT/VIT imported into Canada, may be directed to:

Email: Trade_Programs‑Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa‑asfc.gc.ca

Information

Inquiries related to the amended scope ruling may be directed to:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date modified:

OCTG1 2021 SP : Fournitures tubulaires pour puits de pétrole
Avis de décision sur la portée modifiée

Ottawa, le

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a conclu aujourd’hui son examen de la décision sur la portée concernant les tubes isolés (TI) et les tubes isolés sous vide (TIV) originaires ou exportés de la Chine. Pour donner effet à la décision du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) au titre du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), l’ASFC a modifié sa décision sur la portée rendue le 6 septembre 2019 selon le paragraphe 67(3) de la LMSI.

Contexte

Le 10 mai 2019, à la suite d’une demande de décision sur la portée déposée par Western Alliance Tubulars Ltd. et Victoria International Tubular Corporation (collectivement dénommées « WAT »), quant à l’assujettissement des TI/TIV aux conclusions rendues par le TCCE dans les affaires de dumping et de subventionnement Caissons sans soudure et Fournitures tubulaires pour puits de pétrole (FTPP I) originaires ou exportés de la Chine, l’ASFC a ouvert une procédure sur la portée à l’égard des TI/TIV, conformément au paragraphe 63(8) de la LMSI.

Le 6 septembre 2019, l’ASFC a rendu sa décision sur la portée, dans laquelle elle a déterminé que les TI/TIV n’étaient pas assujettis aux conclusions du TCCE dans Caissons sans soudure et FTPP I en vertu du paragraphe 66(1) de la LMSI.

Le 4 décembre 2019, WAT ainsi que Algoma Tubes Inc., Prudential Steel ULC et Tenaris Global Services (Canada) Inc. (collectivement dénommées « Tenaris ») ont interjeté appel de la décision sur la portée selon le paragraphe 61(1.1) de la LMSI.

Le 2 septembre 2021, dans la décision et les motifs qu’il a rendus concernant les appels EA‑2019‑006 et EA‑2019‑007, le TCCE a jugé que les marchandises à l’étude correspondaient à la description des marchandises assujetties à ses conclusions dans FTPP I. Les conclusions du TCCE sont définitives.

Décision

Pour donner effet à la décision du TCCE dans les appels EA‑2019‑006 et EA‑2019‑007 au titre des paragraphes 67(1) et (3) de la LMSI, l’ASFC a apporté aujourd’hui la modification suivante à sa décision sur la portée initiale :

Les marchandises (TI/TIV), qui font l’objet de la demande de Western Alliance Tubulars Ltd., sont assujetties aux conclusions du TCCE dans FTPP I.

De plus, par suite de la modification de la décision sur la portée initiale, la décision révisée est réputée prendre effet le jour où la décision initiale a été rendue, soit le 6 septembre 2019. Par conséquent, les TI/TIV originaires ou exportés de la Chine qui sont dédouanés au Canada à compter du 6 septembre 2019 sont assujettis aux conclusions du TCCE dans FTPP I.

Droits rétroactifs

Des droits antidumping et/ou compensateurs peuvent s’appliquer rétroactivement aux TI/TIV originaires ou exportées de Chine en cause dédouanés par l’ASFC à compter du 6 septembre 2019 selon l’alinéa 59(1)d).

La LMSI prévoit plusieurs niveaux de révision, de réexamen et d’appel à la suite de l’établissement de cotisations de droits antidumping et/ou compensateurs. Ces demandes, qui doivent être présentées selon la forme et les modalités décrites dans le mémorandum D14‑1‑3, Révisions, réexamens et appels en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, doivent être reçues dans les 90 jours suivant la date d’établissement des cotisations.

Les demandes de renseignements concernant l’application de droits sur les TI/TIV importés au Canada peuvent être adressées à :

Courriel : Trade_Programs‑Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa‑asfc.gc.ca

Renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements concernant la décision sur la portée modifiée peuvent être adressées à :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date de modification :