COR2 2019 IN: Certain corrosion-resistant steel sheet
Final determination

Ottawa, October 16, 2020

On October 16, 2020, the Canada Border Services Agency terminated the dumping investigation with respect to certain corrosion‑resistant steel sheet originating in or exported from Turkey by Borçelik Sanayi Ticaret A.Ş (Borçelik), and originating in or exported from the United Arab Emirates by Al Ghurair Iron & Steel LLC (AGIS), as they did not have margins of dumping.

The CBSA also terminated the subsidy investigation with respect to certain corrosion‑resistant steel sheet originating in or exported from Turkey by Atakaş Çelik Sanayi ve Ticaret A.Ş (Atakaş), Borçelik and Tatmetal Çelik Sanayi Ve Ticaret A.Ş. (Tatmetal), and originating in or exported from the United Arab Emirates and Vietnam by all exporters, as there was no subsidizing or the amounts of subsidy were insignificant.

On the same day, the CBSA has made a final determination of dumping concerning certain corrosion‑resistant steel sheet originating in or exported from Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and Vietnam, and a final determination of subsidizing with respect to certain corrosion‑resistant steel sheet originating in or exported from Turkey.

The subject goods are usually classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

Note that the tariff classification numbers are for convenience of reference only. Refer to the product definition for authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) is continuing its inquiry into the question of injury to the domestic industry and will make an order or finding by November 16, 2020.

The legislated deadlines for the final decisions respecting certain corrosion‑resistant steel sheet from Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and Vietnam, were extended by 3 months in order to alleviate pressures brought on by the COVID‑19 pandemic to interested parties, under the authority of Bill C20 and the Ministerial Order Respecting Time Limits Under the Special Import Measures Act (COVID‑19) that was signed on September 30, 2020.

Additional information about these investigations is contained in a Statement of Reasons, which will be available within 15 days on the CBSA’s website.

For additional information regarding the application of provisional duties on subject goods imported into Canada, please refer to the Measures in force.

Officers’ name and contact information:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Margins of dumping and amounts of subsidy by exporter
Exporter Margins of dumping (expressed as a percentage of export price) Amount of subsidy (expressed as a percentage of export price) Amounts of subsidy per metric tonne
Turkey
Atakaş Çelik Sanayi ve Ticaret A.Ş 26.1% 0.4%footnote 1 25.06 Turkish Lira
Borçelik Çelik Sanayi Ticaret A.Ş 0.0% 0.6%footnote 1 32.34 Turkish Lira
Tatmetal Celik Sanayi Ve Ticaret A.Ş. 9.7% 0.5%footnote 1 20.17 Turkish Lira
All other exporters 26.1% 3.6% 200.46 Turkish Lira
United Arab Emirates
Al Ghurair Iron & Steel LLC 0.0% 0.0% -
United Iron and Steel Company LLC 11.2% 0.0% -
All other exporters 41.5% 0.0% -
Vietnam
China Steel and Nippon Steel Vietnam Joint Stock Company 4.7% 0.0% 15.62 Vietnamese Dong
Hoa Sen Group Joint Stock Company 11.0% 0.0% 78.01 Vietnamese Dong
Nam Kim Steel Joint Stock Company 2.3% 0.0% 716.10 Vietnamese Dong
Southern Steel Sheet Co., Ltd. 71.1% 0.1%footnote 1 18,528.60 Vietnamese Dong
Ton Dong A Corporation 16.2% 0.0% 8,078.07 Vietnamese Dong
All other exporters 71.1% 0.2%footnote 1 30,409.18 Vietnamese Dong
  1. Footnote 1 Pursuant to section 2(1) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), an amount of subsidy of less than 1% of the export price of the goods is insignificant for a developed country and of less than 2% of the export price of the goods for a developing country.

Note: The margins of dumping reported in the table above are the margins determined by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) for purposes of the final determination of dumping. These margins do not reflect the anti‑dumping duty to be levied on future importations of dumped goods. In the event of an injury finding by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, normal values have been provided to the exporters which provided sufficient information for future shipments to Canada and these normal values would come into effect the day after the injury finding. Information regarding normal values of the subject goods should be obtained from the exporter. Imports of subject goods from exporters/producers that did not provide sufficient information to the CBSA during the dumping investigation and who are not listed in the table above will be subject to the All Other Exporters anti‑dumping duty rate pursuant to a ministerial specification.

As reported in the table above, the amounts of subsidy (as a percentage of export price) are the amounts determined by the CBSA for purposes of the final determination of subsidizing. These amounts do not reflect the countervailing duty to be levied on future importations of subsidized goods originating in or exported from Turkey, which will be based on the specific amounts of subsidy, per metric tonne, converted into Canadian dollars.

Normally, normal values will not be applied retroactively. However, this measure may be applied retroactively in cases where the parties have not advised the CBSA in a timely manner of substantial changes that affect values for SIMA purposes. Therefore, where substantial changes occur in prices, market conditions, costs associated with production and sales of the goods, the onus is on the concerned parties to advise the CBSA.

Please consult the SIMA self‑assessment guide for more detailed information explaining how to determine the amount of SIMA duties owing.

Appendix 1

Product definition

For the purpose of the dumping and subsidy investigations, the subject goods are defined as:

Corrosion‑resistant flat‑rolled steel sheet products of carbon steel including products alloyed with the following elements:

in coils or cut lengths, in thicknesses up to 0.168 in. (4.267 mm) and widths up to 72 inch (1,828.8 mm) with all dimensions being plus or minus allowable tolerances contained in the applicable standards, with or without passivation and/or anti‑fingerprint treatments, originating in or exported from the Republic of Turkey, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, and the United Arab Emirates, and excluding:

Date modified:

COR2 2019 IN: Certaines feuilles d’acier résistant à la corrosion
Décision définitive

Ottawa, le 16 octobre 2020

Le 16 octobre 2020, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a mis fin au volet de l’enquête en dumping à l’égard de certaines feuilles d’acier résistant à la corrosion originaires ou exportées de la Turquie, par Borçelik Sanayi Ticaret A.Ş (Borçelik), et originaires ou exportées des Émirats arabes unis, par Al Ghurair Iron & Steel LLC (AGIS), puisque ceux-ci n’avaient pas de marges de dumping.

L’ASFC a aussi mis fin au volet de l’enquête en subventionnement à l’égard de certaines feuilles d’acier résistant à la corrosion originaires ou exportées de la Turquie, par Atakaş Çelik Sanayi ve Ticaret A.Ş. (Atakaş), Borçelik et Tatmetal Çelik Sanayi ve Ticaret A.Ş. (Tatmetal), et originaires ou exportées des Émirats arabes unis et du Vietnam, par tous les exportateurs, puisqu’il n’y avait pas de subventionnement ou que les montants de subvention étaient minimaux.

Le même jour, l’ASFC a rendu des décisions définitives de dumping à l’égard de certaines feuilles d’acier résistant à la corrosion originaires ou exportées de la Turquie, des Émirats arabes unis et du Vietnam, et de subventionnement à l’égard de certaines feuilles d’acier résistant à la corrosion originaires ou exportées de la Turquie.

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivants :

Veuillez noter que ces numéros de classement tarifaire sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour obtenir des détails faisant autorité sur les marchandises en cause.

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) poursuivra son enquête sur la question de dommage à la branche de production nationale et rendra une ordonnance ou des conclusions d’ici le 16 novembre 2020.

Les délais législatifs des décisions définitives concernant certaines feuilles d’acier résistant à la corrosion de la Turquie, des Émirats arabes unis et du Vietnam ont été prolongés de trois mois afin de réduire les pressions dues à la pandémie de COVID‑19 pour les parties intéressées, en vertu du Projet de loi C20 et de l’Arrêté sur les délais prévus sous le régime de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (COVID‑19), qui a été signé le 30 septembre 2020.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur ces enquêtes dans l’Énoncé des motifs qui sera disponible d’ici 15 jours sur le site web de l’ASFC.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’imposition de droits provisoires à l’importation des marchandises en cause au Canada, veuillez-vous référer aux Mesures en vigueur.

Nom et coordonnées de l’agent responsable :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Marges de dumping et montants de subvention par exportateur
Exportateur Marges de dumping exprimées en pourcentage du prix à l’exportation Montants de subvention exprimés en pourcentage du prix à l’exportation Montants de subvention par tonne métrique
Turquie
Atakaş Çelik Sanayi ve Ticaret A.Ş 26,1 % 0,4 %note de bas de page 1 25,06 livres turques
Borçelik Çelik Sanayi Ticaret A.Ş 0,0 % 0,6 %note de bas de page 1 32,34 livres turques
Tatmetal Celik Sanayi Ve Ticaret A.Ş. 9,7 % 0,5 %note de bas de page 1 20,17 livres turques
Tous les autres exportateurs 26,1 % 3,6 % 200,46 livres turques
Émirats arabes unis
Al Ghurair Iron & Steel LLC 0,0 % 0,0 % -
United Iron and Steel Company LLC 11,2 % 0,0 % -
Tous les autres exportateurs 41,5 % 0,0 % -
Vietnam
China Steel and Nippon Steel Vietnam Joint Stock Company 4,7 % 0.0 % 15,62 dongs vietnamiens
Hoa Sen Group Joint Stock Company 11,0 % 0,0 % 78,01 dongs vietnamiens
Nam Kim Steel Joint Stock Company 2,3 % 0,0 % 716,10 dongs vietnamiens
Southern Steel Sheet Co., Ltd. 71,1 % 0,1 %note de bas de page 1 18 528,60 dongs vietnamiens
Ton Dong A Corporation 16,2 % 0,0 % 8 078,07 dongs vietnamiens
Tous les autres exportateurs 71,1 % 0,2 %note de bas de page 1 30 409,18 dongs vietnamiens
  1. Note de bas de page 1 Un montant de subvention inférieur à 1 % du prix à l’exportation des marchandises pour un pays développé et un montant de subvention inférieur à 2 % du prix à l’exportation des marchandises pour un pays en développement sont minimaux conformément au paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI).

Remarque : Les marges de dumping indiquées dans le tableau ci‑dessus sont les marges qui ont été déterminées par l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) aux fins de la décision définitive sur le dumping. Ces marges ne tiennent pas compte des droits antidumping qui seront perçus sur les importations futures de marchandises sous‑évaluées. Des valeurs normales ont été attribuées aux exportateurs ayant fourni suffisamment de renseignements pour les expéditions futures au Canada, au cas où le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur conclurait à l’existence d’un dommage. Ces valeurs normales entreraient en vigueur le jour suivant la date des conclusions de dommage. Des renseignements concernant les valeurs normales des marchandises en cause doivent être obtenus de l’exportateur. Les importations de marchandises en cause provenant d’exportateurs/producteurs n’ayant pas fourni suffisamment de renseignements à l’ASFC durant l’enquête sur le dumping et qui ne sont pas énumérés dans le tableau ci‑dessus seront assujetties au taux de droits antidumping applicable à tous les autres exportateurs, par voie d’une prescription ministérielle.

Comme indiqué dans le tableau ci dessus, les montants de subvention (exprimés en pourcentage du prix à l’exportation) sont les montants qui ont été déterminés par l’ASFC aux fins de la décision définitive sur le subventionnement. Ces montants ne tiennent pas compte des droits compensateurs qui seront perçus sur les importations futures de marchandises subventionnées originaires ou exportées de la Turquie; ces droits compensateurs seront établis sur la base du montant spécifique de subvention, par tonne métrique, converti en dollars canadiens.

Normalement, les valeurs normales ne sont pas appliquées rétroactivement. Toutefois, cette mesure peut être appliquée rétroactivement dans les cas où les parties n’ont pas informé l’ASFC en temps opportun de changements importants qui ont un effet sur les valeurs aux fins de la LMSI. Donc, il incombe aux parties concernées d’informer l’ASFC des changements importants apportés aux prix, aux conditions de marché et aux coûts associés à la production et à la vente des marchandises.

Veuillez consulter le guide d’autocotisation de la LMSI pour de l’information plus détaillée expliquant comment effectuer le calcul du montant des droits LMSI exigibles.

Annexe 1

Définition du produit

Aux fins des enquêtes en dumping et en subventionnement, les marchandises en cause se définissent comme suit :

Feuilles laminées à plat d’acier au carbone résistant à la corrosion, y compris celles contenant les éléments d’alliage suivants :

en bobines ou coupées à longueur, d’une épaisseur jusque 0,168 po (4,267 mm) et d’une largeur jusque 72 po (1 828,8 mm), plus ou moins les écarts admis par les normes applicables, avec ou sans passivation et/ou traitements anti‑empreintes digitales, originaires ou exportées de la République turque, de la République socialiste du Vietnam et des Émirats arabes unis, à l’exclusion cependant de tout ce qui suit :

Date de modification :