Confidentiality and Disclosure Guidelines for SIMA Proceedings

Note:

The SIMA Registry and Disclosure Unit will no longer accept paper submissions, unless prior consent is sought and obtained from a Disclosure Officer. To make such a request, please contact the SIMA Registry at simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

Introduction

These guidelines outline the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) policies and procedures with respect to the submission of information (confidential and non-confidential) to the CBSA, and the disclosure of confidential information under the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA).

Definitions

The following definitions apply:

SIMA proceedings include dumping and subsidy investigations, scope proceedings, anti-circumvention investigations, re-investigations, normal value reviews, expedited reviews and expiry review investigations.

Parties to these proceedings can include the Canadian complainant, any domestic or foreign producer, and exporters to Canada or importers into Canada of the goods under investigation. Parties can also include an association of domestic or foreign producers, an association of exporters to Canada or importers into Canada of goods under investigation, the government of any country mentioned in the dumping or subsidy complaint, and any trade unions representing Canadian workers that indicate an interest in participating. A party could also be any other person who, because their rights or pecuniary interests may be affected or for any other reason, may be entitled to be heard by the President before the President disposes of the proceeding under SIMA.

Counsel includes any person, other than a director, servant or employee of the party, who acts in the proceedings on behalf of the party, not limited to legal counsel.

Confidential information generally includes personal or financial information, business proprietary information, or third party information. Persons submitting information to the CBSA in a SIMA proceeding may designate as confidential any portion of the data which they wish to have maintained in confidence. The CBSA may reject a confidentiality designation if it considers the designation unwarranted. The submitting party can either withdraw the designation or provide further explanation as to why the information is confidential.

A Disclosure Undertaking is a form that prescribes the conditions under which disclosure of confidential information is granted, and contains the counsel’s agreement to these conditions. A Disclosure Undertaking is available in the Counsel Toolkit.

Form Templates

The following forms are referenced throughout these guidelines:

  • Letter of Authorization
  • Disclosure Undertaking
  • Disclosure Undertaking (Non-resident Counsel)
  • Certificate of Destruction
  • Designation of Confidential Information

Templates for these forms are available in the Counsel Toolkit.

Submitting Information to the CBSA in SIMA Proceedings

Format of Information Submitted

You must submit your response electronically, via e-mail (with size of 10 MB or less), on CDs, DVDs or USB drive. Submit the confidential information and the non-confidential edited version or summary separately, labelled as follows: CONFIDENTIAL or NON-CONFIDENTIAL, company name, date and SIMA case file number (insert case file #). Due to CBSA e-mail size restrictions, e-mailed submissions with a size greater than 10 MB cannot be accepted. Paper submissions will only be accepted with prior approval from a Disclosure Officer.

Use the YYYY-MM-DD format for all dates. For example, write October 23, 2019 as 2019-10-23.

Narrative or text responses must be provided in Microsoft Word compatible format. Spreadsheets or data responses must be provided in Microsoft Excel compatible format. Files may be submitted in a compressed ZIP format, but not RAR.

Your response must state each numbered question followed by a complete response. If a question does not apply to your company or requests information in a format that is different than that in which it is maintained, an explanation as to why the question does not apply or how the information was adjusted to respond to the question is required.

Your response must be in either English or French. Any source material that you provide must be in the document’s original language and must be accompanied by a translation in either English or French.

Submission of Non-Confidential Information Only

Where a submission contains no confidential information, each page must be marked "non-confidential." The submission must be accompanied by a cover letter stating that it does not contain any confidential information and can be released to the public.

Submission of Confidential Information

In the case that a submission contains confidential information, the confidential version must:

  • clearly identify confidential information by enclosing it within square brackets and highlighting all confidential information therein; and
  • have "confidential" stamped on every page, including all attachments.

Further, when you are providing confidential information for the first time in respect of a SIMA proceeding, a Designation of Confidential Information must also be provided. Please refer to the Designation of Confidential Information template available in the Counsel Toolkit.

Examples of Confidential Version

As an example, the following would be considered as an acceptable confidential version.

The selling price of product ABC to our Canadian distributor was US$ [25.99] per unit.

Note:

The highlighted text must clearly be legible.

Please ensure that the highlight does not render the text undecipherable when the information is converted electronically to PDF format.

In some cases (e.g. appendices and excel data), simply highlighting the confidential information, without the use of brackets, will be considered sufficient. To this effect, the following example represents an acceptable confidential version of a listing of export sales to Canada.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
IMPTR DATSHIP INVNUM INVDATE QUANTITY EXTSP NETSP
XX Inc. 2016-02-16 14064555 2016-02-16 500 MT $500,000 $450,000
YY Inc. 2016-03-14 14179020 2016-03-12 250 MT $225,000 $202,500
ZZ Inc. 2016-04-14 14253018 2016-04-16 300 MT $330,000 $297,000

In order for submissions containing confidential information to be accepted as exhibits and taken into consideration by the CBSA, a Designation of Confidential Information must be on record with the CBSA regarding the subject proceeding, and a non-confidential version of the information must be provided in each instance.

The non confidential version is a public version of the same document with the confidential information fully removed, and must contain sufficient detail to enable readers to understand the nature of the submitted information, as they are provided to other parties involved in the proceeding and members of the public upon request.

A non-confidential version may be submitted either as a bracketed version, or as summary, as described below:

  1. Non-Confidential Bracketed Version

    This is a duplicate of the confidential version with all confidential information removed. The parts where confidential information was deleted should clearly be identified in square brackets and highlighted. Only confidential information may be removed, and a sufficient level of detail must be left in the non-confidential bracketed version to provide a clear understanding of the substance of the information.

    Examples of Non-Confidential Bracketed Version

    As an example, the following would be considered as an acceptable non-confidential bracketed version.

    The selling price of product ABC to our Canadian distributor was US$[] per unit.

    Note:

    The spacing between the brackets [] should reflect the same number of spaces as in the confidential version.

    Do not use “shading”, “font colors” or any other type of masking to hide confidential information in the non-confidential version. You must delete (remove) the confidential information in the non-confidential version.

    In some cases (e.g. appendices and excel data), it will be considered sufficient to simply remove the confidential information, and not use brackets or highlights to identify parts where confidential information had been deleted. To this effect, the following example represents an acceptable non-confidential bracketed version of a listing of export sales to Canada.

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    IMPTR DATSHIP INVNUM INVDATE QUANTITY EXTSP NETSP
    2016-02-16 14064555 2016-02-16
    2016-03-14 14179020 2016-03-12
    2016-04-14 14253018 2016-04-16
  2. Non-Confidential Summary Version

    Where deleting information for a non confidential bracketed version would not leave enough detail to provide an understanding of the confidential information removed, a non confidential summary of the deleted information must be included, describing the confidential information that has been removed, the name of the party and the reason why the information must remain confidential.

Rejection of a Submission

A non-confidential version is inadequate if it contains insufficient detail to convey a reasonable understanding of the substance and the nature of the information submitted in the confidential version. Further, the CBSA reserves the rights to determine whether a designation of information as confidential is warranted or not.

The CBSA will reject a confidential exhibit and not use it in any proceedings if, following the CBSA’s notification of any deficiencies, and within the specified timeframe, the submitting party fails:

  • to submit a satisfactory explanation of why the information has been designated as confidential, or does not withdraw the designation; and/or
  • to provide an adequate non-confidential bracketed version or non-confidential summary, or justify why it cannot be provided.

Disclosure of Confidential Information in SIMA Proceedings

Non-confidential exhibits are disclosed to any person on request. Confidential exhibits may be disclosed pursuant to subsection 84(3) of SIMA to independent counsel representing a party to the SIMA proceeding for which the exhibits relate, and who have valid Disclosure Undertakings.

Disclosure Undertaking

By signing a Disclosure Undertaking, counsel agrees:

  • to use the information exclusively for duties performed in respect of the proceeding;
  • not to divulge the information except to personnel of the Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate;
  • to protect the information in a specified manner;
  • to destroy the information on completion of the proceeding, or if they no longer represent the party, and notify the CBSA of the destruction of the information; and
  • to report any violations or suspected violations of a Disclosure Undertaking to the CBSA.

The Disclosure Undertaking must be signed by counsel certifying to these matters. Please refer to the Disclosure Undertaking template available in the Counsel Toolkit.

A Disclosure Undertaking is valid from the date it has been approved and expires on December 31 of the fifth year. If counsel represents parties in future SIMA proceedings, he/she can submit a copy of the valid Disclosure Undertaking and a letter of authorization signed by the party he/she represents in order to obtain access to confidential exhibits.

Counsel will be notified if the Disclosure Undertaking has been approved by a Director of the Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate. Where disclosure is not granted, a letter to counsel will provide reasons.

The CBSA may reject a disclosure undertaking request where there is reason to believe that counsel has violated a Disclosure Undertaking in the past with the CBSA, with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal or with a NAFTA or CUSMA Binational Panel.

The CBSA may also suspend a counsel’s disclosure undertaking if a Certificate of Destruction is not submitted in a timely manner. Please refer to the section on Change of Counsel and Destruction of Confidential Information within this guideline.

Non-Resident Counsel

The CBSA may disclose confidential information to counsel who is not a resident of Canada under certain conditions. The non-resident counsel must submit a completed Disclosure Undertaking as well as a copy of the letter of authorization, signed by the party they represent, informing the CBSA that they have retained such counsel to represent them in the proceedings. In addition, non-resident counsel must agree to have access to confidential information under the direction and control of a Canadian counsel who has been authorized by the CBSA to receive disclosure in the proceedings. The non-resident counsel must agree to access the confidential information at the Canadian offices of Canadian counsel, or at the offices of the CBSA in Ottawa, Ontario. The disclosure undertaking for a non-resident counsel is valid for one time use only. Please refer to the Disclosure Undertaking (Non-resident Counsel) template, available in the Counsel Toolkit, for complete information on the declarations, undertakings and acknowledgements necessary from non-resident counsel and Canadian counsel in this regard.

Obtaining Confidential Information

Counsel may obtain copies of confidential exhibits for a SIMA proceeding by submitting to the SIMA Registry a copy of their valid Disclosure Undertaking and a letter of authorization confirming that they represent a party to the proceeding. Counsel should clearly identify the specific exhibit numbers they wish to obtain. The CBSA’s service standard is to process these requests within two business days.

The CBSA will add new information to its online listing of exhibits semi-weekly, on Tuesdays and Thursdays by 3:00 PM, EST. During high volume periods, the website may be updated more frequently.

Requesting Permission to Share Company-Specific Information

In the course of a SIMA proceeding, counsel may submit exhibits with confidential information relating to companies other than their clients. Counsel with a valid Disclosure Undertaking may request permission from the Director of SIMA Operational Policy to share the confidential version of an exhibit with the company they are representing, where the information contained in the exhibit is specific to that company.

Change of Counsel

Where a party to a proceeding changes counsel, the party must submit a letter identifying the previous counsel and stating that such counsel no longer acts on its behalf and a letter of authorization identifying the new counsel. In such cases, the first counsel must destroy confidential exhibits and materials that have been obtained pursuant to the proceeding and confirm their destruction, by providing the CBSA with a certificate of destruction. Please refer to the Certificate of Destruction template available in the Counsel Toolkit. These activities must be completed within 30 days after the party filed notice with the CBSA that counsel has changed.

Destruction of Confidential Information

Counsel must destroy all exhibits and materials containing information disclosed under the conditions of the Disclosure Undertaking, including notes, charts and memoranda based on such information at the completion of a SIMA proceeding. Counsel must provide a written statement to the CBSA within 45 days of the completion of a SIMA proceeding certifying to these matters. Please refer to the Certificate of Destruction template available in the Counsel Toolkit.

In cases of an appeal to a CBSA finding, to the Federal Court of Appeal or the CITT, and/or judicial review, a postponement of destruction of confidential information may be requested by a counsel. For more information, please contact the SIMA Registry.

Release of Confidential Information to Canadian Courts, Tribunals and Panels

Confidential exhibits are released to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, any Court in Canada, a Binational or World Trade Organization (WTO) Panel. These organizations will use the information to fulfill their responsibilities under Canadian law, NAFTA, CUSMA or WTO Agreements. The confidential information is subject to the rules of procedure of the Court or Panel to which it is provided.

Offence Provisions

Section 96.4 of SIMA outlines the offences and penalties for contraventions of disclosure provisions. An offence is committed where a person uses information disclosed to that person for any purpose other than the purpose for which it was disclosed. This includes contraventions of conditions imposed by the CBSA in a Disclosure Undertaking.

Every person who commits one of the above offences is guilty of an indictable offence and liable to a fine of not more than $1,000,000; or an offence punishable on summary conviction and liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.

Further Information

For further information regarding disclosure provisions, please contact the SIMA Registry.

Date modified:

Lignes directrices en matière de confidentialité et de divulgation pour les procédures LMSI

Remarque :

L’Unité du Centre de dépôt et de communication des renseignements de la LMSI n’acceptera plus d’exposés papier, sans qu’on ait demandé et obtenu le consentement préalable d’un agent de communication des documents. Pour faire une telle demande, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de dépôt et de communication des renseignements de la LMSI à simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

Introduction

Les présentes lignes directrices décrivent les politiques et procédures de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) quant à la présentation de renseignements (confidentiels et non confidentiels) à l’ASFC et à la divulgation de renseignements confidentiels sous le régime de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI).

Définitions

Les définitions suivantes s’appliquent :

Les procédures LMSI sont les enquêtes en dumping et en subventionnement, les procédures sur la portée, les enquêtes anticontournement, les réexamens de l’enquête, les révisions des valeurs normales, les réexamens accélérés et les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration.

Les parties à ces procédures peuvent être des plaignants, ou encore des producteurs ou importateurs établis au Canada, aussi bien que des producteurs ou exportateurs établis à l’étranger, des marchandises en cause dans l’enquête. Elles peuvent aussi être des associations de producteurs canadiens ou étrangers, des associations de personnes qui importent ou exportent des marchandises en cause au Canada, le gouvernement de tout pays nommé dans la plainte de dumping ou de subventionnement, et enfin tout syndicat représentant des travailleurs canadiens qui manifeste un intérêt. Une partie peut aussi être toute autre personne qui, parce que ses droits ou intérêts pécuniaires peuvent être touchés, ou pour toute autre raison, peut avoir le droit d’être entendue par le président avant que celui-ci ne statue sur la procédure LMSI.

L’avocat peut être toute personne qui représente une partie dans une procédure sans être pour autant de ses administrateurs, de ses préposés ou de ses employés; il n’est pas nécessairement un conseiller juridique.

Les renseignements confidentiels comprennent généralement des renseignements personnels ou financiers, des renseignements commerciaux exclusifs ou des renseignements de tiers. Les personnes qui présentent des renseignements à l’ASFC dans le cadre d’une procédure LMSI peuvent désigner comme confidentielle toute partie des données dont elles souhaitent que la confidentialité soit maintenue. L’ASFC peut rejeter une désignation de confidentialité si elle la juge injustifiée. La partie qui présente les renseignements peut, soit retirer la désignation, soit fournir des explications supplémentaires sur le caractère confidentiel des renseignements.

Un engagement de non-divulgation est un formulaire qui prescrit les conditions dans lesquelles la divulgation de renseignements confidentiels est accordée et qui contient l’acceptation de ces conditions par l’avocat. Un engagement de non-divulgation se trouve dans la Boîte à outils de l’avocat.

Modèles de formulaires

Les lignes directrices feront mention à répétition des formulaires suivants :

  • Lettre d’autorisation
  • Engagement de non-divulgation
  • Engagement de non-divulgation (avocats non résidents)
  • Certificat de destruction
  • Désignation des renseignements confidentiels

Des modèles de ces formulaires se trouvent dans la Boîte à outils de l’avocat.

Présentation de renseignements à l’ASFC dans le cadre de procédures LMSI

Format des renseignements présentés

Vous devez présenter votre réponse par voie électronique, soit par courriel (d’une taille de 10 Mo ou moins) ou sur CD, DVD ou clé USB. Il faut présenter séparément les renseignements confidentiels et une version révisée non confidentielle ou un sommaire, portant les mentions suivantes : CONFIDENTIEL ou NON CONFIDENTIEL, nom de l’entreprise, date, numéro de dossier du cas LMSI (insérer le no de dossier du cas). En raison des restrictions de taille des courriels de l’ASFC, les exposés par courriel de plus de 10 Mo ne peuvent pas être acceptés. Les exposés papier ne sont acceptés qu’avec l’approbation préalable d’un agent de communication des renseignements.

Utilisez le format AAAA-MM-JJ pour toutes les dates. Par exemple, écrivez 2019-10-23 pour le 23 octobre 2019.

Les réponses narratives ou sous forme de texte doivent être présentées dans un format compatible avec Microsoft Word. Les réponses sous forme de feuille de calcul ou de données doivent quant à elles être fournies dans un format compatible avec Microsoft Excel. Les dossiers peuvent être présentés en format comprimé ZIP, mais pas en RAR.

Votre exposé doit comprendre chaque question numérotée suivie d’une réponse complète. Si une question ne s’applique pas à votre entreprise ou nécessite des renseignements dans un format différent de celui dans lequel ils sont conservés, il faut expliquer pourquoi la question ne s’applique pas ou comment les renseignements ont été modifiés pour répondre à la question.

Votre réponse doit être en français ou en anglais. Les documents sources doivent être fournis dans la langue d’origine et être accompagnés d’une traduction en français ou en anglais.

Renseignements non confidentiels seulement

Quand un exposé ne contient aucun renseignement confidentiel, chaque page doit porter la mention « non confidentiel ». De plus, une lettre d’accompagnement doit dire que l’exposé ne contient aucun renseignement confidentiel et qu’il peut être rendu public.

Renseignements confidentiels

Quand un exposé contient des renseignements confidentiels, la version confidentielle doit :

  • indiquer clairement tous les renseignements confidentiels qui s’y retrouvent en les plaçant entre crochets et en les surlignant;
  • porter la mention « confidentiel » sur chaque page, y compris toutes les pièces jointes.

Par ailleurs, lorsque vous fournissez des renseignements confidentiels pour la première fois à l’égard d’une procédure de la LMSI, vous devez aussi présenter une désignation des renseignements confidentiels. Vous trouverez un modèle de désignation des renseignements confidentiels dans la Boîte à outils de l’avocat.

Exemples de version confidentielle

À titre d’exemple, le passage suivant serait considéré comme une version confidentielle acceptable.

Le prix de vente du modèle ABC à notre distributeur canadien était de [25.99] $US l’unité.

Remarque :

Le texte surligné doit être clairement lisible.

Veuillez vous assurer que la surbrillance ne rend pas le texte illisible lorsque les renseignements sont convertis électroniquement en format PDF.

Dans certains cas (p. ex. annexes et données Excel), il suffira de simplement surligner les renseignements confidentiels, sans les placer entre crochets. À cette fin, l’exemple ci-dessous représente une version confidentielle acceptable d’une liste de ventes à l’exportation au Canada.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
IMPTR DATSHIP INVNUM INVDATE QUANTITÉ EXTSP NETSP
XX Inc. 2016-02-16 14064555 2016-02-16 500 tm $500,000 $450,000
YY Inc. 2016-03-14 14179020 2016-03-12 250 tm $225,000 $202,500
ZZ Inc. 2016-04-14 14253018 2016-04-16 300 tm $330,000 $297,000

Pour que les exposés contenant des renseignements confidentiels soient acceptés comme pièces et pris en considération par l’ASFC, une désignation des renseignements confidentiels doit figurer au dossier à l’ASFC à l’égard de la procédure visée et une version non confidentielle de l’information doit être présentée dans chaque cas.

La version non confidentielle est une version publique du même document, dans lequel tous les renseignements confidentiels ont été supprimés, et elle doit contenir suffisamment de détails pour permettre aux lecteurs de comprendre la nature des renseignements présentés, car elle sera fournie aux autres parties à la procédure et aux membres du public sur demande.

Une version non confidentielle peut être soumise, soit sous forme de version caviardée, soit sous forme de résumé, comme il est décrit ci-dessous :

  1. Version caviardée non confidentielle

    Il s’agit d’un double de la version confidentielle, dans lequel tous les renseignements confidentiels ont été supprimés. Les passages dans lesquels des renseignements confidentiels ont été supprimés doivent être clairement indiqués entre crochets et surlignés. Seuls les renseignements confidentiels peuvent être supprimés, et un niveau de détail suffisant doit être laissé dans la version caviardée non confidentielle pour permettre une compréhension claire de la substance de l’information.

    Exemples de version caviardée non confidentielle

    À titre d’exemple, le passage suivant serait considéré comme une version caviardée non confidentielle acceptable.

    Le prix de vente du modèle ABC à notre distributeur canadien était de [] $US l’unité.

    Remarque :

    Il doit y avoir autant d’espaces entre les crochets [] que de caractères dans les passages supprimés.

    N’utilisez pas d’ombrage ou des couleurs de police différentes pour mettre en évidence les renseignements supprimés dans la version non confidentielle électronique : vous devez les effacer.

    Dans certains cas (p. ex. annexes et données Excel), il suffira de simplement supprimer les renseignements confidentiels, sans les placer crochets ou les surligner, pour indiquer les passages dans lesquels des renseignements confidentiels ont été supprimés. À cette fin, l’exemple ci-dessous représente une version caviardée non confidentielle acceptable de liste de ventes à l’exportation au Canada.

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    IMPTR DATSHIP INVNUM INVDATE QUANTITÉ EXTSP NETSP
    2016-02-16 14064555 2016-02-16
    2016-03-14 14179020 2016-03-12
    2016-04-14 14253018 2016-04-16
  2. Résumé non confidentiel

    Quand la version caviardée non confidentielle est trop caviardée pour être compréhensible, un résumé non confidentiel des renseignements confidentiels supprimés doit l’accompagner, décrivant ces renseignements et donnant le nom de la partie ainsi que la raison pour laquelle l’information doit demeurer confidentielle.

Rejet d’un exposé

Une version non confidentielle est inadéquate si elle n’est pas suffisamment détaillée pour donner une idée raisonnable de la substance et de la nature des renseignements présentés dans la version confidentielle. Par ailleurs, l’ASFC se réserve le droit de déterminer si une désignation des renseignements confidentiels est justifiée ou non.

L’ASFC rejette une pièce confidentielle et ne l’utilise pas dans le cadre d’une procédure si, à la suite de l’avis par l’ASFC de toute lacune, et ce, dans le délai prévu, la partie ayant présenté la pièce omet :

  • de fournir une explication satisfaisante de la raison pour laquelle les renseignements ont été désignés comme confidentiels, ou de retirer la désignation; et/ou
  • de fournir une version caviardée non confidentielle ou un résumé non confidentiel adéquat, ou de justifier la raison pour laquelle elle ne peut le faire.

Divulgation de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre de procédures LMSI

Les pièces non confidentielles sont divulguées à toute personne qui en fait la demande. Les pièces confidentielles peuvent être divulguées en vertu du paragraphe 84(3) de la LMSI à un avocat indépendant représentant une partie dans la procédure LMSI à laquelle ces pièces se rapportent, et ayant des engagements de non-divulgation valides.

Engagement de non-divulgation

En signant un engagement de non-divulgation, l’avocat s’engage :

  • à n’utiliser les renseignements que dans l’exercice de ses fonctions liées à la procédure visée;
  • à ne les divulguer, le cas échéant, qu’au personnel de la Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping;
  • à les protéger selon les indications;
  • à les détruire à la fin de la procédure, ou s’il ne représente plus la partie, et à donner avis de leur destruction à l’ASFC;
  • à signaler à l’ASFC toute violation réelle ou présumée d’un engagement de non-divulgation.

L’engagement de non-divulgation doit être signé par l’avocat qui atteste ces questions. Veuillez consulter le modèle d’engagement de non-divulgation dans la Boîte à outils de l’avocat.

Un engagement de non-divulgation est valide à compter de la date à laquelle il est approuvé et expire le 31 décembre de la cinquième année. Si l’avocat représente des parties dans des procédures LMSI futures, il peut soumettre une copie de l’engagement de non-divulgation valide et une lettre d’autorisation signée par la partie qu’il représente pour avoir accès aux pièces confidentielles.

Les avocats sont avisés si l’engagement de non-divulgation est approuvé par un directeur de la Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping. Si l’engagement n’est pas accordé, une lettre à l’avocat indique les motifs.

L’ASFC peut rejeter une demande d’engagement de non-divulgation lorsqu’il y a lieu de croire que l’avocat a violé un engagement de non-divulgation par le passé auprès de l’ASFC, du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ou d’un groupe spécial binational de l’ALÉNA ou de l’ACEUM.

L’ASFC peut aussi suspendre l’engagement de non-divulgation d’un avocat si un certificat de destruction n’est pas présenté à temps. Veuillez consulter les parties Changement d’avocat et Destruction des renseignements confidentiels des présentes lignes directrices.

Avocats non résidents

L’ASFC peut aussi communiquer des renseignements confidentiels à des avocats qui ne résident pas au Canada, mais avec des conditions supplémentaires. L’avocat non résident doit présenter un engagement de non-divulgation dûment rempli ainsi qu’une copie de la lettre d’autorisation signée par la partie représentée, informant l’ASFC qu’elle a retenu ses services dans le cadre de la procédure concernée. En outre, l’avocat non résident doit s’engager premièrement à ne consulter les renseignements que sous la supervision d’un avocat canadien autorisé par l’ASFC à obtenir divulgation dans la procédure concernée, et deuxièmement à consulter les renseignements, soit dans les bureaux canadiens de cet avocat, soit dans ceux de l’ASFC à Ottawa (Ontario). L’engagement de non-divulgation d’un avocat non résident n’est valide que pour une seule utilisation. Le modèle d’engagement de non-divulgation (avocats non résidents), qui se trouve dans la Boîte à outils de l’avocat, dit tout sur les déclarations, les engagements et les attestations attendus des avocats canadiens ou non à cet égard.

Obtention de renseignements confidentiels

L’avocat peut obtenir des copies de pièces confidentielles dans le cadre d’une procédure LMSI en soumettant au Centre de dépôt et de communication des renseignements de la LMSI une copie de son engagement de non-divulgation valide et une lettre d’autorisation confirmant qu’il représente une partie à la procédure. L’avocat doit clairement indiquer le numéro des pièces justificatives qu’il souhaite obtenir. La norme de service de l’ASFC prévoit deux jours ouvrables pour le traitement de ces demandes.

L’ASFC met à jour sa liste des pièces justificatives en ligne deux fois par semaine, soit le mardi et le jeudi avant 15 h, HNE. En périodes de pointe, la mise à jour du site Web peut être plus fréquente.

Permission de communiquer des renseignements propres à la société

Dans le cadre d’une procédure LMSI, l’avocat peut présenter des pièces contenant des renseignements confidentiels concernant des sociétés autres que ses clients. L’avocat ayant un engagement de non-divulgation valide peut demander au directeur de la Politique opérationnelle LMSI la permission de communiquer la version confidentielle d’une pièce à la société qu’il représente, lorsque les renseignements contenus dans la pièce sont propres à cette société.

Changement d’avocat

Lorsqu’une partie dans une procédure change d’avocat, elle doit présenter une lettre indiquant l’ancien avocat, et précisant que celui-ci n’agit plus en son nom, ainsi qu’une lettre d’autorisation indiquant le nouvel avocat. Dans de tels cas, le premier avocat doit détruire les pièces et documents confidentiels obtenus dans le cadre de la procédure et confirmer leur destruction en fournissant à l’ASFC un certificat de destruction. Veuillez consulter le modèle de certificat de destruction se trouvant dans la Boîte à outils de l’avocat. Ces activités doivent être accomplies dans les 30 jours suivant le dépôt, par la partie concernée, d’un avis de changement d’avocat auprès de l’ASFC.

Destruction des renseignements confidentiels

L’avocat doit détruire toutes les pièces et tous les documents qui lui ont été communiqués moyennant son engagement de non-divulgation, ainsi que les notes, graphiques et autres mémoires basés sur ces documents, à la fin de la procédure LMSI. L’avocat doit présenter à l’ASFC une déclaration écrite attestant ces questions dans un délai de 45 jours suivant la conclusion de la procédure. Veuillez consulter le modèle de certificat de destruction se trouvant dans la Boîte à outils de l’avocat.

En cas d’appel d’une décision de l’ASFC, devant la Cour d’appel fédérale ou le TCCE, et/ou de contrôle judiciaire, un avocat peut demander un report de la destruction des renseignements confidentiels. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de dépôt et de communication des renseignements de la LMSI.

Communication des renseignements confidentiels à des tribunaux judiciaires et administratifs et groupes spéciaux

Les renseignements confidentiels sont transmis selon le cas au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, à des tribunaux judiciaires du Canada, à des groupes spéciaux binationaux ou à des groupes spéciaux de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), qui les traitent selon leurs règles et s’en servent pour honorer leurs responsabilités au titre des lois canadiennes, de l’ALÉNA, de l’ACEUM ou des accords de l’OMC. Les renseignements confidentiels sont assujettis aux règles de procédure du tribunal ou du groupe spécial auquel ils sont communiqués.

Infractions

L’article 96.4 de la LMSI expose les infractions et les peines qui se rattachent au non-respect des dispositions sur la communication de renseignements. Commet une infraction quiconque utilise les renseignements qui lui sont communiqués pour d’autres fins que celles auxquelles ils lui ont été communiqués. Commet une infraction quiconque contrevient notamment à une condition imposée par l’ASFC dans un engagement de non-divulgation.

Les infractions ci-dessus entraînent, sur déclaration de culpabilité : par mise en accusation, une amende maximale de 1 000 000 $; ou par procédure sommaire, une amende maximale de 100 000 $.

Complément d’information

Veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de dépôt et de communication des renseignements de la LMSIpour en savoir plus.

Date de modification :