Consultation notice
Potential regulatory amendments to the Valuation for Duty Regulations

Current status: Closed

Opened on and will close on .

The CBSA is giving an opportunity to interested stakeholders to send comments and questions on policy directions, which could potentially inform future regulatory amendments to the Valuation for Duty Regulations.

We welcome feedback from:

Context of consultations

Budget 2021 proposed changes to the Customs Act to improve duty and tax collection, by ensuring that goods are valued in a fair and consistent manner by all importers as a means to level the playing field between domestic and foreign businesses.

Bill C-30, Budget Implementation Act, 2021, No.1, introduced on , includes a legislative amendment to subsection 45(1) of the Customs Act. This amendment introduces a definition of the term "sold for export to Canada", and allows its meaning to be assigned by the regulations.

Below is a summary of elements being considered by the CBSA for potential future regulatory amendments and for which these consultations are conducted.

Measures under consideration

1. Define the scope of "sold for export to Canada" to specify the relevant transaction for export which forms the basis of the transaction value of the goods.

This proposal would ensure that the value for duty of imported goods determined under the transaction value method is based on the sale that causes the goods to be exported to Canada, i.e. the last transaction in the commercial chain, irrespective of the chronological order of the sales. Under the proposal, the term "sale" would be constructed in a broad sense, which would include any type of arrangements that cause the goods to be exported to Canada.

2. Clarify the definition of "purchaser in Canada", as well as the associated definitions of "resident" and "permanent establishment", and ensure the relevant sale for export forms the basis of the transaction value of the goods.

The intent of these proposals is to remove any ambiguity on how to qualify as a permanent establishment. To qualify, the person would need to:

A non-resident importer, who does not have a permanent establishment, would only qualify as a purchaser in Canada if the goods were imported:

Please refer to the Annex for illustrative examples of the relevant sale for export where a series of sales occur in respect of the goods.

Contact information

Please submit any questions or comments by email:

Edith Laflamme
Trade Policy Division
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
cbsa.vfd_consultation-consultation_ved.asfc@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Related links

Annex: Relevant sale for export to a purchaser in Canada: A series of sales scenarios

The following examples illustrate the relevant sale for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada (i.e. last sale, including any type of arrangement) for determining the transaction value under section 48 of the Customs Act where the goods are subject to more than one sale prior to the importation of the goods into Canada (a series of sales). Please note, information on who acts as the importer of record or who holds title of the goods at the time of importation is generally not provided in these examples because this is not considered determinative of the relevant sale for export to Canada.

Example 1

Long description follows image.

Company A, a resident in Canada, orders goods from company B, located in a foreign country. Company B then contracts with company C, also located in the foreign country, to fill the order. The goods are shipped directly from company C to Canadian company A. In this case, the goods are the subject of two sales:

Both sales occur prior to importation. Sale 1 does not involve a purchaser in Canada. Sale 2, from company B to company A, is to a purchaser in Canada since company A is a resident. Sale 2 is also the sale that causes the goods to be exported to Canada. Therefore, it is considered the relevant sale for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada and is to be used to determine the transaction value of the goods.

Example 2

Long description follows image.

Company D, located in Canada, orders goods from company E, also located in Canada. Company E contracts with company F, located in a foreign country, to fill the order. The goods are shipped directly from company F to company D. In this case, the goods are the subject of two sales:

Company D is a Canadian resident and company E qualifies as a permanent establishment. Therefore, both sales occur prior to importation and are made to persons that qualify as a "purchaser in Canada". Sale 2, from company E to company D, is between a resident and a permanent establishment and, as such, is not a sale for export to Canada. Therefore, the relevant sale for export to a purchaser in Canada is the sale from company F to company E, and is to be used for determining the transaction value of the imported goods.

Example 3

Long description follows image.

Company H, a resident in Canada, purchases goods from company I, located in a foreign country. The goods are shipped to company H's warehouse in Canada. Following the importation of the goods, company H sells the goods to company G, a resident in Canada. In this case, the goods are the subject of two sales:

The only sale that occurred prior to the importation of the goods into Canada is sale 1, from company I to company H. It involves a purchaser in Canada and it is this sale that causes the goods to be exported to Canada. Therefore, sale 1 is the sale for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada that is to be used to determine the transaction value of the imported goods.

Example 4

Long description follows image.

Company J, who is located in Canada and qualifies as a permanent establishment, enters into an agreement to purchase goods from company K, located in a foreign country. Company K then contracts with company L, also located in the foreign country, to fill the order. The goods are shipped directly from company L to company J in Canada. In this case, the goods are the subject of two possible sales:

Both sale 1 and the agreement to sell (sale 2) occur prior to importation. Company K does not qualify as a purchaser in Canada, as it is a non-resident who has an agreement to sell goods to a person in Canada. The agreement between company K to company J is considered a sale for export and is to a purchaser in Canada, as company J qualifies as a permanent establishment. It is also this agreement that causes the goods to be exported to Canada. Therefore, it is sale 2, the agreement between company K and company J, that is to be used to determine the transaction value of the imported goods.

Example 5

Long description follows image.

Company M, who is a resident in Canada, places a blanket purchase order for goods with company N, located in a foreign country. Company N then places an order for the goods with company O, also located in the foreign country. The goods are first shipped to a third-party warehouse, located in Canada, and then to company M, also located in Canada. In this case, the goods are the subject of two possible sales:

Both sale 1 and the blanket order (sale 2) occur prior to importation. Company N does not qualify as a purchaser in Canada, as it is a non-resident who has an agreement, the blanket purchaser order, with a resident in Canada. The agreement between company N and company M is considered a sale for export and is to a purchaser in Canada, as company M is a resident. It is also this agreement that causes the goods to be exported to Canada. Therefore, it is sale 2, the agreement between company N and company M, that is to be used to determine the transaction value of the imported goods.

Example 6

Long description follows image.

A consumer in Canada places an order online through company P's website and pays for the goods. Company P, located in a foreign country, then places an order with company Q, also located in the foreign country, to fill the order. The goods are shipped by company Q, through a 3rd party warehouse located in Canada, to the consumer in Canada. In this case, the goods are the subject of two sales:

Both sales occur prior to importation. Company P does not qualify as a purchaser in Canada, as it is a non-resident who has sold the goods to a person in Canada. Sale 2, from company P to the Canadian consumer, is to a purchaser in Canada, as the consumer is a resident. It is also the sale that causes the goods to be exported to Canada. Therefore, sale 2, from company P to the consumer, is considered the relevant sale for export to Canada and is to be used to determine the transaction value of the imported goods.

Example 7

Long description follows image.

A consumer in Canada places an order online and pays for goods through the website of company S, who is located in a foreign country. The website through which the order is placed is set up to represent company S's related company R, a Canadian entity, to sell goods in Canada. The order placed through the website automatically generates two invoices at the same time: one from company S to its related company, company R, and another from company R to the consumer. Company S fills the order and ships the goods directly to the consumer. Company R pays company S for the goods and also pays company S a fee for online services.

In this case, the goods are the subject of two possible sales:

Both sales occur prior to importation. The order from the consumer sets off the chain of events that cause the goods to be exported to Canada. Company R does not order or purchase the goods on its own account. Therefore, in the scenario under consideration, it does not qualify as a purchaser in Canada. The sale from company S, through company R, to the consumer is to a purchaser in Canada, as the consumer is a resident who ordered and purchased the goods on their own account, and it is the sale that caused the goods to be exported to Canada. Therefore, it is the sale from company S, through company R, to the consumer that is considered the relevant sale for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada and it is the price to the Canadian consumer that is to be used as the basis to determine the transaction value of the imported goods.

Example 8

Long description follows image.

Company T, who is a resident in Canada, places an order with a company in a foreign country, company U, through its branch or dependent sales agent located in Canada. Company U contracts with another company in the foreign country, company V, to fill the order. The goods are shipped to company T in Canada through a third-party warehouse. In this case, the goods are the subject of two sales:

The intercompany transfer from company U to its Canadian branch cannot be a sale as the branch is not a separate legal entity. Likewise, in the case of a dependent sales agent, although a separate legal entity, it does not purchase the goods on its own account. Correspondingly, as neither the branch nor the dependent sales agent is the entity purchasing the goods, it does not qualify as a permanent establishment for purposes of applying the transaction value method.

Both sales occur prior to importation. The sale from company V to company U does not involve a purchaser in Canada, as company U is a non-resident who has already sold the goods to company T, a resident in Canada. The sale from company U to company T is to a purchaser in Canada, as company T is a resident, and it is the sale that causes the goods to be exported to Canada. Therefore, it is considered the relevant sale for export to Canada and is to be used to determine the transaction value of the imported goods.

Example 9

Long description follows image.

Company X is a non-resident located in Canada, who is responsible for delivery logistics within Canada, and is a wholly-owned subsidiary of company Y, who is located in a foreign country. Sales in Canada are solicited using sales agents.

In this case, the sales agent has obtained an order from company W, a resident in Canada, and the order is placed through company Y's computer system. Once the purchase order is accepted by company Y, two invoices are automatically generated: one from company X to company W and another from company Y to company X. Company Y then contracts with company Z, also located in the foreign country, to fill the order. The goods are shipped to company W through company X.

In this case, the goods are the subject of three possible sales:

All sales occur prior to importation. The order from company W, sets off the chain of events that cause the goods to be exported to Canada.

Purchaser in Canada:

The purchase order made by company W, followed by the acceptance of the order by company Y and the issuance of the invoice to company W, even if in company X's name, is considered as the sale for export.

Therefore, it is sale 3, from company X to company W, on the authority of company Y, that is considered the relevant sale for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada and is to be used to determine the transaction value of the imported goods.

Date modified:

Avis de consultation
Modifications réglementaires potentielles au Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane

État actuel : fermé

Ouvert le et fermera le .

L'ASFC donne l'occasion aux intervenants intéressés d'envoyer des commentaires et des questions sur les orientations de la politique qui pourraient potentiellement éclairer les futures modifications réglementaires au Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane.

Nous apprécions les commentaires des :

Contexte des consultations

Le budget 2021 proposait des modifications à la Loi sur les douanes pour améliorer la perception des droits et des taxes, en veillant à ce que la valeur des produits soit établie de manière équitable et uniforme par tous les importateurs afin d'équilibrer les règles du jeu entre les entreprises nationales et étrangères.

Le projet de loi C-30, Loi d'exécution du budget, 2021, No.1, déposé le , comprend une modification législative au paragraphe 45(1) de la Loi sur les douanes. Ce changement introduit une définition du terme « vendre pour exportation au Canada » et permet que son sens soit attribué par le règlement.

Voici un résumé des éléments examinés par l'ASFC pour d'éventuelles modifications réglementaires futures et pour lesquels ces consultations sont menées.

Mesures envisagées

1. Définir la portée de « vendre pour exportation au Canada » afin de spécifier la transaction pertinente pour exportation qui constitue la base de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises.

Cette proposition garantirait que la valeur en douane des marchandises importées déterminée selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle est basée sur la vente qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada, c'est-à-dire la dernière transaction dans la chaîne commerciale, indépendamment de l'ordre chronologique des ventes. Selon la proposition, le terme « vente » serait construit au sens large, ce qui engloberait tout type d'arrangements qui entraînent l'exportation des marchandises au Canada.

2. Clarifier la définition du terme « acheteur au Canada », ainsi que les définitions connexes de « résident » et « d'établissement stable », afin de garantir que la vente pertinente pour exportation constitue la base de la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises.

L'intention de ces propositions est de lever toute ambiguïté sur la manière de se qualifier en tant qu'établissement stable. Pour être admissible, la personne devrait :

Un importateur non résident, qui n'a pas d'établissement stable, ne serait admissible comme acheteur au Canada que si les marchandises furent importées :

Veuillez consulter l'annexe pour voir des exemples de ventes pertinentes pour exportation dans le cadre desquelles les marchandises ont fait l'objet d'une série de ventes.

Coordonnées

Veuillez s.v.p. adresser toutes questions ou commentaires par courriel à :

Edith Laflamme
Division de la politique commerciale
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
cbsa.vfd_consultation-consultation_ved.asfc@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Liens connexes

Annexe : Vente pertinente pour exportation à un acheteur au Canada : Scénarios de séries de ventes

Les exemples suivants présentent la vente pertinente pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada (c.-à-d. la dernière vente, y compris tout type d'arrangement) pour déterminer la valeur transactionnelle au titre de l'article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes lorsque les marchandises font l'objet de plus d'une vente avant l'importation des marchandises au Canada (une série de ventes). Veuillez noter que les renseignements sur les personnes qui agissent à titre d'importateur officiel ou qui détiennent le titre de propriété des marchandises au moment de l'importation ne sont généralement pas fournis dans ces exemples, parce que cela n'est pas considéré comme déterminant de la vente pertinente pour exportation au Canada.

Exemple 1

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

La société A, résidente au Canada, commande des marchandises à la société B, située dans un pays étranger. La société B passe ensuite un contrat avec la société C, également située dans un pays étranger, pour remplir la commande. Les marchandises sont expédiées directement de la société C à la société A. Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes :

Les deux ventes ont lieu avant l'importation. La vente 1 ne concerne pas un acheteur au Canada. La vente 2, de la société B à la société A, se fait à un acheteur au Canada car la société A est résidente. La vente 2 est également la vente qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. Elle est donc considérée comme la vente pertinente pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada et elle doit servir à déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises.

Exemple 2

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

La société D, située au Canada, commande des marchandises à la société E, également située au Canada. La société E passe un contrat avec la société F, située dans un pays étranger, pour remplir la commande. Les marchandises sont expédiées directement de la société F à la société D. Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes :

La société D est un résident canadien et la société E se qualifie en tant qu'établissement stable. Ainsi, les deux ventes ont lieu avant l'importation et sont conclus avec des personnes se qualifiant en tant que « acheteur au Canada ». La vente 2, de la société E à la société D, se déroule entre un résident et un établissement stable et, à ce titre, n'est pas une vente pour exportation au Canada. Par conséquent, la vente pertinente pour exportation à un acheteur au Canada est la vente de marchandises de la société F à la société E, et doit être utilisée pour déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées.

Exemple 3

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

La société H, résidente au Canada, achète des marchandises à la société I, située dans un pays étranger. Les marchandises sont expédiées à l'entrepôt de la société H au Canada. Après l'importation des marchandises, la société H vend les marchandises à la société G, résidente au Canada. Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes :

La seule vente qui a lieu avant l'importation des marchandises au Canada est la vente 1, de la société I à la société H. Elle concerne un acheteur au Canada et c'est cette vente qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. Par conséquent, la vente 1 est la vente pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada qui doit servir à déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées.

Exemple 4

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

La société J, qui est située au Canada et se qualifie en tant qu'établissement stable, conclut un accord pour acheter des marchandises à la société K, située dans un pays étranger. La société K passe ensuite un contrat avec la société L, également située dans un pays étranger, pour remplir la commande. Les marchandises sont expédiées directement de la société L à la société J au Canada. Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes possibles :

La vente 1 et l'accord de vente (vente 2) ont tous les deux lieu avant l'importation. La société K ne peut pas être considérée comme un acheteur au Canada, car il s'agit d'une entreprise non résidente qui a conclu un accord pour vendre des marchandises à une personne au Canada. L'accord entre la société K et la société J est considérée comme une vente pour exportation et se fait à un acheteur au Canada, car la société J se qualifie en tant qu'établissement stable. C'est également cet accord qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. Par conséquent, c'est la vente 2, l'accord entre la société K et la société J, qui doit servir à déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées

Exemple 5

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

La société M, qui est résidente au Canada, effectue un contrat-cadre de marchandises auprès de la société N, située dans un pays étranger. Celle-ci passe ensuite une commande de marchandises auprès de la société O, également située dans un pays étranger. Les marchandises sont d'abord expédiées vers un entrepôt d'une tierce partie, située au Canada, puis ensuite vers la société M, également située au Canada. Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes :

La vente 1 et le contrat-cadre (vente 2) ont tous les deux lieu avant l'importation. La société N ne peut pas être considérée comme un acheteur au Canada, car il s'agit d'une entreprise non résidente qui a conclu un accord, un contrat-cadre, avec un résident au Canada. L'accord entre la société N et la société M est considéré comme une vente pour exportation et est conclu avec un acheteur au Canada, puisque la société M est une résidente. C'est également cet accord qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. Par conséquent, c'est la vente 2, l'accord entre la société N et la société M, qui doit servir à déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées.

Exemple 6

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

Un consommateur au Canada passe une commande en ligne sur le site Web de la société P et paie pour les marchandises. La société P, située dans un pays étranger, passe ensuite une commande à la société Q, également située dans un pays étranger, pour remplir la commande. Les marchandises sont expédiées de la société Q, via un entrepôt d'une tierce partie située au Canada, jusqu'au consommateur au Canada. Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes :

Les deux ventes ont lieu avant l'importation. La société P ne se qualifie pas à titre d'acheteur au Canada, car il s'agit d'une entreprise non résidente qui a vendu les marchandises à une personne au Canada. La vente 2, de la société P au consommateur canadien, se fait à un acheteur au Canada, car le consommateur est un résident. C'est également cette vente qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. Par conséquent, la vente 2, de la société P au consommateur, est considérée comme une vente pertinente pour exportation au Canada et doit servir à déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées.

Exemple 7

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

Un consommateur au Canada passe une commande en ligne et paie pour les marchandises par l'intermédiaire du site Web de la société S, qui est située dans un pays étranger. Le site Web par lequel la commande est passée, est créé pour représenter la société affiliée de la société S, soit la société R, une entité canadienne, pour vendre des marchandises au Canada. La commande placée par l'intermédiaire du site Web génère automatiquement deux factures en même temps : une de la société S à sa société affiliée, la société R, et une autre de la société R au consommateur. La société S remplit la commande et expédie les marchandises directement au consommateur. La société R paie la société S pour les marchandises et lui verse également un frais pour les services en ligne.

Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes possibles :

Les deux ventes ont lieu avant l'importation. La commande du consommateur déclenche la chaîne d'événements qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. La société R ne commande ni n'achète les marchandises pour son propre compte. Par conséquent, dans ce scénario, elle ne peut pas être considérée comme un acheteur au Canada. La vente de la société S, par l'intermédiaire de la société R, au consommateur est faite à un acheteur au Canada, car le consommateur est un résident qui a commandé et acheté les marchandises pour son propre compte, et il s'agit de la vente qui a entraîné l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. Par conséquent, c'est la vente de la société S, par l'intermédiaire de la société R, au consommateur qui est considérée comme la vente pertinente pour exportation vers le Canada à un acheteur au Canada et c'est le prix au consommateur Canadien qui doit servir comme base pour déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées.

Exemple 8

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

La société T, qui est résidente au Canada, passe une commande à une société dans un pays étranger, la société U, par l'intermédiaire de sa succursale ou mandataire à la vente dépendant située au Canada. La société U passe ensuite un contrat avec une autre société dans le pays étranger, la société V, pour remplir la commande. Les marchandises sont expédiées à la société canadienne T, via un entrepôt d'une tierce partie située au Canada. Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de deux ventes :

Le transfert intersociétés de la société U à sa succursale canadienne ne peut pas être considéré comme une vente puisque la succursale n'est pas une entité juridique distincte. De même, dans le cas d'un mandataire à la vente dépendant, bien qu'il s'agisse d'une entité juridique distincte, il n'achète pas les marchandises pour son propre compte. Ainsi, comme ni la succursale ni le mandataire à la vente dépendant n'est l'entité qui achète les biens, elle ne se qualifie pas à titre d'établissement stable aux fins de l'application de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

Les deux ventes ont lieu avant l'importation. La vente de la société V à la société U ne concerne pas un acheteur au Canada, car la société U est une entreprise non résidente qui a déjà vendu les marchandises à la société T, un résident au Canada. La vente de la société U à la société T est faite à un acheteur au Canada, car la société T est une société résidente, et il s'agit de la vente qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada. Elle est donc considérée comme la vente pertinente pour exportation au Canada et elle doit servir à déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises.

Exemple 9

L'image est suivie d'une description détaillée.

La société X est une société non résidente située au Canada, qui est responsable de la logistique de livraison au Canada, et qui est une filiale à part entière de la société Y, qui est située dans un pays étranger. Les ventes au Canada sont sollicitées par des agents de vente.

Dans le cas présent, l'agent de vente a obtenu une commande auprès de la société W, résidente au Canada, et la commande est passée par le système informatique de la société Y. Une fois que le bon de commande est acceptée par la société Y, deux factures sont générées automatiquement : une de la société X à la société W et une autre de la société Y à la société X. La société Y passe ensuite un contrat avec la société Z, également située dans le pays étranger, pour remplir la commande. Les marchandises sont expédiées à la société W par l'intermédiaire de la société X.

Dans ce cas, les marchandises font l'objet de trois ventes :

Toutes les ventes ont lieu avant l'importation. La commande de la société W déclenche la chaîne d'événements qui entraîne l'exportation des marchandises au Canada.

Acheteur au Canada :

Le bon de commande passé par la société W, suivi de l'acceptation de la commande par la société Y et de l'émission de la facture à la société W, même si ce fut au nom de la société X, est considéré comme une vente à l'exportation.

Par conséquent, c'est la vente 3, de la société X à la société W, sous l'autorité de la société Y, qui est considérée comme la vente pertinente pour exportation vers le Canada à un acheteur au Canada et qui doit servir à déterminer la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées.

Date de modification :