Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Extension of Time Limits for the Storage of Goods

Memorandum D4-1-7

Ottawa, January 23, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (61 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to clarify information related to maximum time limits for the storage of goods held in a Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) office, a highway frontier examining warehouse, a sufferance warehouse or a customs bonded warehouse, and to outline applicable procedures when extension to the maximum time limits is requested.


This memorandum clarifies maximum storage time limits, and outlines procedures for extending the time limits for goods held in a Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) office, a highway frontier examining warehouse, a sufferance warehouse, or a customs bonded warehouse.


Guidelines and General Information

Storage Time Limits

1. The following are the general time limits for holding imported goods in storage prior to clearance by the CBSA:

  • (a) 40 days from the date the goods are first reported under S.12(1) of the Customs Act (the Act) to the CBSA when they are held in a CBSA office, a highway frontier examining warehouse, or a sufferance warehouse;
  • (b) Up to four years from the date the goods are first accounted on Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form, when they are held in a customs bonded warehouse.

Exceptions to Storage Time Limits

2. Exceptions to the general maximum time limit for the storage of goods held in a CBSA office, a highway frontier examining warehouse or a sufferance warehouse, are outlined in Schedule I and exceptions to maximum time limits for goods stored in a customs bonded warehouse are outlined in Schedule II. (Refer to the Appendix of this memorandum.)

3. In addition, extensions to maximum storage time limits for goods that are held in a CBSA office, a highway frontier examining warehouse or a sufferance warehouse may be granted up to a maximum of four years if they meet the conditions of one of the following tariff items at the time of shipment to Canada:

Extensions of Maximum Storage Time Limits

4. In certain cases, the CBSA may extend the maximum storage time limit for goods held in a CBSA office, a highway frontier examining warehouse, a sufferance warehouse or a customs bonded warehouse pursuant to subsection 37(3) of the Act. Requests for extensions to maximum storage time limits will be considered by the CBSA on a case by case basis.

5. A CBSA officer may also extend the maximum storage time limit for goods when it is deemed necessary by the CBSA to do so. For example when:

  • (a) goods are held by the CBSA pending a review to determine admissibility;
  • (b) goods are held by the CBSA pending a review to determine whether there is an infringement of copyright or trade-mark, and which are held under a court order pursuant to either the Copyright Act or the Trade-marks Act; or
  • (c) shipments of bulk grain that are transiting Canada to another country and this information is contained in the supporting documents.

Procedures for Requesting an Extension to a Storage Time Limit

6. Five days prior to the expiry of the maximum allowable storage time limit, the importer, owner, or agent will submit a written request stating the reason for requesting an extension to the storage time limit. (Subject to exceptions noted in the Appendix, Schedule II and in paragraph 5 of this memorandum, extensions are not granted for goods stored in a customs bonded warehouse).

7. Requests should be made to the chief officer of the CBSA serving the area where the CBSA office, highway frontier examining warehouse or sufferance warehouse containing the goods is located.

8. Responses from the CBSA to requests for extensions of storage time limits, will be provided in writing.

Extension of Storage Time Limit Using Form A18B, Bulk Storage Record

9. When an extension to a storage time limit is granted by the CBSA, and when the Form A18B is used (i.e. Bulk Storage Record), it should be numbered, date-stamped, and a copy of the request for extension attached to the file.

10. Copies of Form A18B are distributed as follows:

  • (a) Original – the CBSA;
  • (b) 1st and 2nd copies – importer;
  • (c) 3rd copy – sufferance warehouse operator;
  • (d) 4th copy – data processing (where applicable).

11. When an additional extension is granted by the CBSA for goods listed on Form A18B, another Form A18B will be prepared and distributed as outlined in paragraphs 9 and 10 of this memorandum.

12. Goods listed on Form A18B that have been granted an extension cannot be transferred to another location for clearance.

13. For storage extensions that are granted using Form A18B, the importer or owner will present two copies of the Form A18B either with the entry package (i.e. the CBSA accounting documents and permits) or the export documentation (cargo control document and permits). One copy of the form will be retained with the CBSA, and one copy will be returned to the warehouse operator as authority to release the goods.

Storage Charges

14. Storage charges apply to all extensions. There are specific exceptions to applying storage charges for commercial goods that are held in a CBSA office or in a place of safe-keeping. (See Storage of Goods Regulations,"Schedule"). For additional information related to storage charges refer to Memorandum D4-1-5, Storage of Goods.

Goods That Remain in Storage Beyond the Maximum Allowable Time Limit

15. If goods have not been removed from a CBSA office or a warehouse within the maximum allowable time limit after the day on which the goods were reported to the CBSA (subject to exceptions noted in the Appendix, Schedule I and Schedule II, and in paragraph 5 of this memorandum), and an extension related to the storage of goods has not been approved by the CBSA pursuant to subsection 37(3) of the Act, the goods may, at the end of that limitation period, be deposited in a place of safe-keeping.

16. Goods that have not been removed from a place of safe-keeping within the prescribed time limits will be forfeit to the Crown.

17. The CBSA will issue Form E44, Notice – Unclaimed Goods to the importer and carrier advising them that the goods remain unclaimed and that they must be released and accounted for within 30 days from the date of the notice (see Memorandum D4-1-5), except for perishable goods and prescribed substances or prescribed items within the meaning of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations in which case the maximum extension is 24 hours.

18. Firearms, prohibited ammunition, prohibited devices, prohibited or restricted weapons and tobacco products are forfeit to the Crown if they are not removed from a CBSA office, a highway frontier examining warehouse or a sufferance warehouse within 14 days after they were first reported to the CBSA under section 12(1) of the Act.

19. Spirits are forfeit to the Crown if they are not removed from a CBSA office, highway frontier examining warehouse or sufferance warehouse within 21 days after they are first reported to the CBSA.

20. When goods are forfeit to the Crown, they are subject to disposal and can no longer be claimed by the importer or agent. For additional information, refer to Memorandum D4-1-5).

Additional Information

26. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Schedule I – Canada Border Services Agency Offices, Highway Frontier Examining Warehouses, Sufferance Warehouses

Exceptions to the maximum 40 day storage time limit include:

Exceptions to the maximum 40 day storage time limit Maximum Time Limit
Perishable goods
(refer to Memorandum D4-1-4, Customs Sufferance Warehouses)
Maximum four days
Prescribed substances or prescribed items within the meaning of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations
(refer to Memorandum D4-1-4, Customs Sufferance Warehouses)
Maximum 14 days
Firearms, prohibited ammunition, prohibited devices, prohibited or restricted weapons, tobacco products
(refer to Memorandum D4-1-4, Customs Sufferance Warehouses)
Maximum 14 days
Spirits
(refer to Memorandum D4-1-4, Customs Sufferance Warehouses)
Maximum 21 days

Schedule II – Customs Bonded Warehouses

Exceptions to the maximum four year storage time limit include:

Exceptions to the maximum four year storage time limit Maximum Time Limit
Goods placed in a customs bonded warehouse for marking in accordance with the Marking of Imported Goods Regulations or for display at conventions, exhibitions or trade shows Maximum 90 days
Beer and wine Maximum five years
Spare parts for aircraft or vessels, oceanic cable, oil-drilling supplies and related parts and equipment, not intended for domestic consumption Maximum 15 years

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
 
Other references :
Superseded memorandum "D"-
D4-1-7 dated March 14, 2000

Prorogation des délais pour l'entreposage des marchandises

Mémorandum D4-1-7

Ottawa, le 23 janvier, 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (64 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin de clarifier l'information relative aux délais maximums pour l'entreposage de marchandises retenues dans un bureau de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), un entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre, un entrepôt d'attente ou un entrepôt de stockage des douanes et afin d'énoncer les procédures applicables lorsque la prorogation maximale des délais est nécessaire.


Le présent mémorandum énonce les délais d'entreposage maximums et les procédures permettant de proroger les délais pour les marchandises retenues dans un bureau de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), un entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre, un entrepôt d'attente ou un entrepôt de stockage des douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Délais d'entreposage

1. Vous trouverez ci-après les délais habituels pour les marchandises importées gardées en entrepôt avant le dédouanement par l'ASFC :

  • a) 40 jours à compter de la date de la première déclaration de marchandises en vertu du paragraphe 12(1) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi) à l'ASFC, lorsqu'elles sont retenues dans un bureau de l'ASFC, un entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre, ou un entrepôt d'attente;
  • b) jusqu'à quatre ans à compter de la date de la première déclaration des marchandises sur un formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage, lorsque les marchandises sont retenues dans un entrepôt de stockage des douanes.

Exceptions relatives aux délais d'entreposage

2. Les exceptions relatives aux délais habituels maximums pour l'entreposage des marchandises retenues dans un bureau de l'ASFC, un entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre et un entrepôt d'attente, sont énoncées à l'Annexe I et les exceptions relatives aux délais maximums pour les marchandises entreposées dans un entrepôt de stockage des douanes sont énoncées à l'Annexe II. (Voir l'annexe du présent mémorandum.)

3. De plus, des prorogations des délais d'entreposage maximums pour les marchandises qui sont retenues dans un bureau de l'ASFC, dans un entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre ou un entrepôt d'attente peuvent être accordées jusqu'à un maximum de quatre ans si elles respectent les conditions des numéros tarifaires suivants au moment de l'expédition au Canada :

Prorogation des délais d'entreposage maximums

4. Dans certains cas, l'ASFC peut proroger le délai d'entreposage maximum pour des marchandises retenues dans un bureau de l'ASFC, un entrepôt d'attente à la frontière terrestre, un entrepôt d'attente ou un entrepôt de stockage des douanes, conformément au paragraphe 37(3) la Loi. Les demandes de prorogation des délais d'entreposage maximums seront étudiées par l'ASFC au cas par cas.

5. Un agent de l'ASFC peut aussi proroger les délais d'entreposage maximums pour des marchandises lorsque cela est jugé nécessaire par l'ASFC. Par exemple, lorsque :

  • a) les marchandises sont retenues par l'ASFC en attendant un examen pour en déterminer l'admissibilité;
  • b) les marchandises sont retenues par l'ASFC en attendant un examen pour déterminer s'il y a atteinte portée à un droit d'auteur ou à une marque de commerce et sont retenues en vertu d'une ordonnance d'un tribunal, conformément à la Loi sur le droit d'auteur ou à la Loi sur les marques de commerce; ou
  • c) des expéditions de céréales en vrac transitent par le Canada vers un autre pays et que ce renseignement peut être tiré des pièces justificatives.

Procédures pour demander une prorogation des délais d'entreposage

6. Cinq jours avant l'expiration du délai d'entreposage maximum autorisé, l'importateur, le propriétaire ou le mandataire doit présenter une demande par écrit expliquant la raison de la demande de prorogation des délais d'entreposage. (Sous réserve des exceptions énoncées à l'Annexe II (voir l'annexe) et au paragraphe 5 du présent mémorandum, les prorogations ne sont pas accordées pour les marchandises entreposées dans un entrepôt de stockage des douanes).

7. Les demandes doivent être adressées à l'agent en chef de l'ASFC responsable du secteur où se trouve le bureau de l'ASFC, l'entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre ou l'entrepôt d'attente où se trouvent les marchandises.

8. Les réponses par l'ASFC aux demandes de prorogation des délais d'entreposage seront fournies par écrit.

Prorogation des délais d'entreposage en utilisant le formulaire A18B, Registre d'entreposage en vrac

9. Lorsqu'une prorogation de délai d'entreposage est accordée par l'ASFC, et lorsque le formulaire A18B est utilisé (c.-à-d. Registre d'entreposage en vrac), le formulaire doit être numéroté et frappé du timbre dateur et une copie de la demande de prorogation doit y être annexée.

10. Les copies du formulaire A18B doivent être distribuées de la façon suivante :

  • a) Original – ASFC;
  • b) 1re et 2e copies – importateur;
  • c) 3e copie – exploitant de l'entrepôt d'attente;
  • d) 4e copie – service de traitement des données (s'il y a lieu).

11. Lorsqu'une prorogation supplémentaire est accordée par l'ASFC pour des marchandises figurant sur le formulaire A18B, un autre formulaire A18B doit être préparé et distribué tel qu'énoncé aux paragraphes 9 et 10 du présent mémorandum.

12. Les marchandises bénéficiant d'une prorogation figurant sur le formulaire A18B ne peuvent pas être transférées à un autre emplacement aux fins de dédouanement.

13. Pour les prorogations de délai d'entreposage qui sont accordées en utilisant le formulaire A18B, l'importateur ou le propriétaire doit présenter deux exemplaires du formulaire A18B, avec les documents d'importation (c.-à-d. les documents de déclaration en détail de l'ASFC et les permis) ou les documents d'exportation (documents de contrôle du fret et permis). Un exemplaire du formulaire sera conservé avec les documents de l'ASFC et une copie sera retournée à l'exploitant d'entrepôt pour lui permettre de laisser sortir les marchandises.

Frais d'entreposage

14. Des frais d'entreposage s'appliquent à toutes les prorogations. Il y a des exceptions spécifiques à l'application de frais d'entreposage pour les marchandises commerciales qui sont retenues dans un bureau de l'ASFC ou dans un lieu de garde. Consultez le Règlement sur l'entreposage des marchandises, « Annexe ». Pour des renseignements supplémentaires relatifs aux frais d'entreposage, consultez le Mémorandum D4-1-5, Entreposage des marchandises.

Marchandises qui restent entreposées au-delà des délais maximums autorisés

15. Si les marchandises n'ont pas été enlevées d'un bureau de l'ASFC ou d'un entrepôt dans les délais maximums autorisés à compter du jour où les marchandises ont été déclarées à l'ASFC (sous réserve d'exceptions énoncées aux Annexes I et II (voir l'annexe) et au paragraphe 5) de ce mémorandum et si une prorogation liée à l'entreposage des marchandises n'a pas été approuvée par l'ASFC conformément au paragraphe 37(3) de la Loi, les marchandises peuvent, à la fin de ces délais, être déposées dans un lieu de garde.

16. Les marchandises qui n'ont pas été retirées d'un lieu de garde dans les délais prescrits seront confisquées au profit de la Couronne.

17. L'ASFC remettra le formulaire E44, Avis – Marchandises non réclamées à l'importateur et au transporteur pour les informer que les marchandises ne sont toujours pas réclamées et qu'elles doivent être dédouanées et déclarées en détail dans les 30 jours suivant la date de l'avis (consultez le Mémorandum D4-1-5), sauf pour les denrées périssables et les substances réglementées ou articles réglementés au sens de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires pour lesquels la durée maximale de la prorogation est de 24 heures.

18. Les armes à feu, les munitions prohibées, les dispositifs prohibés, les armes prohibées ou d'utilisation restreinte et les produits du tabac sont confisqués au profit de la Couronne s'ils ne sont pas retirés d'un bureau de l'ASFC, d'un entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre ou d'un entrepôt d'attente dans les 14 jours suivant leur déclaration à l'ASFC en vertu du paragraphe 12(1) de la Loi.

19. Les spiritueux sont confisqués au profit de la Couronne s'ils ne sont pas retirés d'un bureau de l'ASFC, d'un entrepôt d'examen à la frontière terrestre ou d'un entrepôt d'attente dans les 21 jours suivant le jour où ils ont été déclarés pour la première fois à l'ASFC.

20. Une fois que les marchandises sont confisquées au profit de la Couronne, elles sont assujetties à l'élimination et ne peuvent plus être réclamées par l'importateur ou l'agent. Pour tout renseignement complémentaire, consultez le Mémorandum D4-1-5.

Renseignements supplémentaires

21. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Annexe I – Bureaux de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, entrepôts d'examen à la frontière terrestre, entrepôts d'attente

Les exceptions à la durée d'entreposage maximale de 40 jours comprennent :

Les exceptions à la durée d'entreposage maximale de 40 jours Durée d'entreposage maximale
Les denrées périssables
(consultez le Mémorandum D4-1-4, Entrepôts d'attente des douanes)
Maximum quatre jours
Les substances réglementées ou les articles réglementés au sens de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires
(consultez le Mémorandum D4-1-4, Entrepôts d'attente des douanes)
Maximum 14 jours
Les armes à feu, les munitions prohibées, les dispositifs prohibés, les armes prohibées ou d'utilisation restreinte et les produits du tabac
(consultez le Mémorandum D4-1-4, Entrepôts d'attente des douanes)
Maximum 14 jours
Les spiritueux
(consultez le Mémorandum D4-1-4, Entrepôts d'attente des douanes)
Maximum 21 jours

Annexe II – Entrepôts de stockage des douanes

Les exceptions à la durée d'entreposage maximale de quatre ans comprennent :

Les exceptions à la durée d'entreposage maximale de quatre ans Durée d'entreposage maximale
Les marchandises placées dans un entrepôt de stockage des douanes pour le marquage conformément au Règlement sur le marquage des marchandises importées ou pour être exposées lors de conventions, d'expositions ou de foires Maximum 90 jours
La bière et le vin Maximum cinq ans
Les pièces de rechange pour aéronefs ou navires, câbles océaniques, fournitures de forage pétrolier et parties et équipement connexes, non destinés à la consommation intérieure Maximum 15 ans

Références

Date de modification :