Visiting Forces Personnel Tariff Item No.9827.00.00

Memorandum D21-4-3

Ottawa, February 29, 2000

This document is also available in PDF (17 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. This memorandum was amended to reflect changes to tariff item No. 9827.00.00 of the Customs Tariff, which came into effect on July 15, 1999.
  2. The changes are as follows:
    1. the amount of wine has been increased from 1.14 litres to 1.5 litres;
    2. the tobacco entitlements have been amended to coincide with the limits established for all other categories of travellers, i.e., fifty cigars, two hundred cigarettes, two hundred tobacco sticks and two hundred grams of manufactured tobacco.

This memorandum outlines and explains the provisions of tariff item No. 9827.00.00 of the Customs Tariff with respect to goods imported by the visiting forces personnel.

Legislation

Tariff item No. 9827.00.00 reads as follows:

Goods, which may include either wine not exceeding 1.5 litres or any alcoholic beverages not exceeding 1.14 litres and tobacco products not exceeding fifty cigars, two hundred cigarettes, two hundred tobacco sticks and two hundred grams of manufactured tobacco, imported by members of the military forces of countries that are parties to the North Atlantic Treaty or are members of the Commonwealth, or by civilian employees of those military forces who are not Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada and are stationed in Canada on official duty, including dependants of such members or employees, but not persons on duty at a diplomatic mission, on condition that:

  1. an authorized identification card is presented to a customs officer by the visiting forces personnel at the time the goods are imported into Canada;
  2. the goods were acquired abroad for the personal or household use of the visiting forces personnel and are in quantities and values that are reasonable for such use; and
  3. in the case of durable goods, they are accompanied on importation by documentation specified by the Minister of National Revenue and are not sold or otherwise disposed of, except disposed of by destruction under customs supervision, exportation or sale to other visiting forces personnel, or unless, prior to the sale or other disposition, the goods are accounted for by the importer or owner and customs duty is paid in respect of the goods.

Guidelines and General Information

1. As a result of the new 1998 Customs Tariff, the authority for relief of customs duties under the Visiting Forces Personnel Remission Order has been transferred to tariff item No. 9827.00.00. To maintain the same level of relief from the goods and services tax (GST), and any other taxes payable under the Excise Tax Act, the Order has been amended and retained for the tax purposes mentioned only.

Definitions

2. The following terms are defined in the Visiting Forces Personnel Remission Order:

authorized identification card
"authorized identification card" means an identification card issued by the Minister of National Defence;
consumable goods
"consumable goods" means goods that are intended for consumption by personal use and includes clothing;
durable goods
"durable goods" means goods, other than consumable goods, that are intended for personal use;
visiting forces personnel
"visiting forces personnel" means a member, or a civilian employee who is not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident in Canada, stationed in Canada on official duty, of the military force of a country that
  1. is a party to the North-Atlantic Treaty, or
  2. is a member of the Commonwealth, and includes the member's or employee's dependants but does not include a member or employee on duty at a diplomatic mission.

Identification Cards

3. Visiting forces personnel importing goods under tariff item No. 9827.00.00, duty and tax free, must present to customs an authorized identification card issued by the Department of National Defence.

4. Inquiries concerning authorized identification cards should be directed to:

National Defence Identification Bureau
NDHQ
Ottawa ON K1A 0K2

Telephone: (613) 995-9722

Importation of Goods on First Arrival

5. In accordance with the provisions of Part V, sections 24 and 25 of the Visiting Forces Act, members of a visiting force may import their household goods and personal effects duty and tax free, under tariff item No. 9827.00.00. Before arrival in Canada, visiting forces personnel are advised to prepare a listing in duplicate (preferably typewritten) of all the household and personal goods they are bringing into the country. The list should have a description of the goods, with such details as the value, make, model, and serial number of each item, particularly high-value items.

6. These goods will be documented for control purposes on Form E29B, Temporary Admission Permit, without security deposit. Form E29B is subject to renewal covering the period of service in Canada. Visiting forces personnel must retain copies of Form E29B for presentation to customs when the goods are:

  1. exported from Canada;
  2. sold or given to another visiting forces member;
  3. destroyed; or
  4. otherwise sold or disposed of in Canada.

7. Evidence, satisfactory to customs, that the goods are accounted for under the conditions described in paragraphs 6(a), (b), or (c) of this Memorandum, will be required. On receipt of such satisfactory evidence, the customs officer will acquit Form E29B and the goods will not be subject to customs duties, goods and services tax, and excise taxes. The visiting forces member will be given the receipt copy of the duly acquitted Form E29B.

8. Goods otherwise sold or disposed of in Canada, referred to in paragraph 6(d) of this Memorandum, will be cancelled from the Form E29B on presentation of Form B15, Casual Goods Accounting Document, and payment of any customs duties, taxes levied under the Excise Tax Act, and excise duties applicable to the goods.

9. When household and personal effects are shipped in bond, in advance, by a member of a visiting force assigned to duty in Canada, that member may prepare a Power of Attorney in the form outlined in the Appendix and forward it to the Unit Commander or Transportation Officer at the establishment to which the member has been posted. It may not be possible in every instance for the member of the visiting force to give the name of the Commander or Transportation Officer. In such cases the relevant lines on the Power of Attorney should be left blank. When clearing the shipment, the Commander or Transportation Officer concerned may complete the form by stating his name and rank.

10. The effects will be examined and released on Form E29B without security and issued in the name of the owner. Form E29B will be signed by the Commander or Transportation Officer holding the Power of Attorney who will give the copies of the permit to the owner when the latter takes possession of the shipment. The owner will then report to the customs office to countersign all copies of Form E29B.

Motor Vehicles

11. A motor vehicle for the personal use of a visiting forces member may be imported and released on Form E29B either at the time of first arrival in Canada or subsequent thereto. The vehicle is subject to the same conditions and terms of disposal as applicable to household goods, as outlined in paragraphs 7 and 8. These vehicles are not required to comply with Transport Canada requirements (Canadian safety standards) or to be registered with the Registrar of Imported Vehicles (RIV) provided the vehicles are exported when the visiting forces member leaves Canada or transferred to another visiting forces member. However, in order to license the motor vehicle in Canada, the customs office will issue Form 13-0132, Vehicle Import Form. This form must be presented to the provincial motor vehicle licensing bureau in order to obtain licence plates in Canada.

12. If a motor vehicle imported by a visiting forces member has been registered with the Registrar of Imported Vehicles in error, a refund of the registration fee may be obtained by contacting the Registrar of Imported Vehicle by telephone at 1-800-511-7755 and by facsimile at (416) 967-9970.

13. In the transfer of a motor vehicle from one visiting forces member to another, the original permit, Form E29B, is to be cancelled by customs and a new one issued with suitable cross-references being noted on each permit.

14. If a motor vehicle is sold in Canada, other than to a visiting forces member, customs duties, taxes levies under the Excise Tax Act, and excise duties are applicable on the assessed value of the motor vehicle on the date of disposition. The motor vehicle will have to meet Transport Canada requirements, i.e. Canadian safety and emission standards, and be registered with the Registrar of Imported Vehicles. Also, the provisions of tariff item No. 9897.00.00 of the Customs Tariff are to be observed. This legislation prohibits the importation into Canada, from countries other than the United States, of any used or second-hand motor vehicle that was not manufactured in the current year. There are exceptions, see Memorandum D9-1-11 , Importation of Used or Second-Hand Motor Vehicles.

Subsequent Importations

15. Hand-carried goods are eligible under tariff item No. 9827.00.00 when cleared through customs by the visiting forces personnel who own the goods. Clearance of hand-carried goods by persons other than the owner will not be accepted.

16. Goods other than the hand-carried goods may be cleared through customs by the owner of the goods, or by another person upon presentation of the authorized identification card of the owner of the goods, together with a statement signed and dated by the owner of the goods describing such goods and giving the specified other person authority to clear the goods on his/her behalf.

17. When the conditions of tariff item No. 9827.00.00 are met, visiting forces personnel and their families may import durable and consumable goods for their personal use, duty and tax free, at any time. Durable goods will be documented on Form E29B, without security. The goods are subject to the same conditions and terms of disposal as described under paragraphs 7 and 8 of this Memorandum. Consumable goods must be within quantity limits referred to in tariff item No. 9827.00.00 and under paragraph 20 of this Memorandum.

18. It is to be noted that the requirements of customs documentation may vary from one regional customs office to another at the discretion of the customs inspector.

19. Revenue Canada assists other government departments in controlling the importation of certain goods into Canada. Included are such items as firearms, ammunitions, fireworks, meat and dairy products, animals, plants and plant products, fresh fruit and vegetables, as well as certain food and drug products. This list is not all encompassing but provides some examples of goods which are controlled, restricted, or prohibited. More information on these or other goods not listed here may be obtained prior to the importation of these goods by contacting:

Admissibility Programs
Trade Policy and Interpretation Directorate
Revenue Canada
Ottawa ON K1A 0L5

Facsimile: (613) 952-1698

or your nearest regional customs office.

20. The following limits apply to meat, dairy and poultry products per person:

  1. two dozen eggs;
  2. CAN$20 worth of dairy products, such as milk, cheese, and butter;
  3. three kilograms of margarine;
  4. twenty kilograms of meat and meat products, including turkey and chicken. Within the 20 kilograms limit, further restrictions apply as follows: a maximum of 1 whole turkey or 10 kilograms of turkey products; and a maximum of 10 kilograms of chicken. All meat and meat products have to be identified as products of the U.S.A.

Condition

21. When, at the time of importation into Canada of any goods under tariff item No. 9827.00.00, the customs officer before whom importation is being made is of the opinion that by reason of the nature, quantity, or value of the goods there is doubt that the goods are intended for the personal use of any person as required by the tariff item, the goods will not be admissible under the tariff item unless a certificate issued by an authorized representative of the Department of National Defence is received by the appropriate customs official certifying that the goods are for the personal use of that person.

Certification

22. The certificate mentioned in paragraph 21 will read as follows:

I certify that the goods imported or being imported by: Name of Importer and Authorized Identification Card Number

are solely for his/her personal or household use or for the use of his/her dependants and are not for resale, gift, or other distribution.

Signature of Authorized Representative (DND)

23. The following representative of the Department of National Defence is authorized to sign certificates for the purpose of this tariff item:

Position Title
Director, Transport and Movements (DTM)
Location
NDHQ
Ottawa ON K1A 0K2

Other Privileges

24. In addition to the privileges described under tariff item No. 9827.00.00, visiting forces personnel resident in Canada are entitled to the privileges available to Canadian residents under tariff item Nos. 9804.10.00, 9804.20.00, 9804.40.00, and 9816.00.00. Alcohol and tobacco products may be claimed under either the personal exemptions or tariff item No. 9827.00.00 but not both.

Penalty Information

25. Any person who fails to report to customs when arriving in Canada, makes a false declaration, or diverts goods to a use other than that for which they were imported, without payment of customs duties, goods and services tax, and excise taxes, shall be subject to the penalties provided for in the Customs Act.

26. Any questions concerning information contained in this Memorandum should be directed to:

Pauline Crête-Méranger
Trade Policy and Interpretation Directorate
Revenue Canada
Ottawa ON K1A 0L5

Telephone: (613) 954-6936
Facsimile: (613) 954-9646

Appendix

Power of Attorney

Short Form of Power of Attorney for Importation of Household and Personal Effects of Visiting Force Personnel

  • Commander or Transportation Officer (name and rank) of (unit) is authorized to enter for me at customs at () the following shipment of personal and household effects:
    • Date of shipment
    • Name of exporter
    • Address of Exporter
    • Value of goods
  • Signature
    • Address
    • Dated at () on () 19()

References

Issuing office:
Trade Policy and Interpretation Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 9827.00
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff, tariff item. No.9827.00.00 Order in Council P.C.1983-2333, July27, 1983 (SI/83-136), as amended by P.C. 1986-1541 (SI/86-116), P.C. 1987-2690 (SI/88/17), P.C. 1990-2851 (SI/91-12), and P.C. 1997-2013 (SI/98-6)
Superseded memorandum D:
D21-4-3, May 22, 1998
Date modified:

Personnel des forces étrangères (numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00)

Mémorandum D21-4-3

Ottawa, le 29 février 2000

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (19 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Ce mémorandum a été modifié afin de tenir compte des changements qui ont été apportés au numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00 du Tarif des douanes, lesquels sont entrés en vigueur le 15 juillet 1999.
  2. Les changements sont les suivants :
    1. la quantité de vin a été augmentée de 1,14 litres à 1,5 litres;
    2. l'admissibilité aux produits du tabac a été modifiée afin de correspondre aux limites établies pour toutes les autres catégories de voyageurs, c.-à-d. cinquante cigares, deux cents cigarettes, deux cents bâtonnets de tabac et deux cents grammes de tabac fabriqué.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00 du Tarif des douanes à l'égard des marchandises importées par le personnel des Forces étrangères.

Législation

Le libellé du numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00 se lit comme suit :

Marchandises, pouvant inclure du vin n'excédant pas 1,5 litre ou toute boisson alcoolique n'excédant pas 1,14 litre, et une quantité de tabac n'excédant pas cinquante cigares, deux cents cigarettes, deux cents bâtonnets de tabac et deux cents grammes de tabac fabriqué, importées par des membres des forces militaires des pays qui sont soit parties au Traité de l'Atlantique Nord, soit membres du Commonwealth, ou par des employés civils de ces forces militaires qui ne sont pas citoyens canadiens ou qui ne sont pas résidents permanents et qui sont stationnés au Canada en service officiel, et comprend au Canada des personnes à la charge des membres ou des employés, mais ne comprend pas des personnes en poste dans une mission diplomatique, à la condition que :

  1. une pièce d'identité autorisée soit présentée à un agent des douanes par le personnel des Forces étrangères dans le cas où les marchandises sont importées la première fois au Canada;
  2. les marchandises aient été acquises à l'étranger pour l'usage personnel ou domestique du personnel des Forces étrangères et les quantités et les valeurs des marchandises soient raisonnables pour les usages spécifiés; et
  3. concernant des biens durables, les biens durables soient accompagnés à l'importation par la documentation spécifiée par le ministre du Revenu national, et ne soient pas vendus ou autrement aliénés, sauf l'aliénation par destruction sous la surveillance d'un agent des douanes, exportation ou vente à d'autres membres du personnel des Forces étrangères, ou à moins que, avant que ces biens n'aient été vendus ou autrement aliénés, ils aient été pris en charge par l'importateur ou le propriétaire et que les droits de douane soient payés sur ces biens.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Par suite de l'entrée en vigueur du nouveau Tarif des douanes de 1998, l'exonération des droits de douane du Décret de remise relatif au personnel des Forces étrangères est passée au numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00. Pour continuer d'accorder le même niveau d'exonération de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), et de toutes autres taxes payables en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, le décret a été modifié et maintenu aux fins des taxes susmentionnées seulement.

Définitions

2. Le Décret de remise relatif au personnel des Forces étrangères définit les expressions qui suivent :

pièce d'identité autorisée
« pièce d'identité autorisée » désigne une carte d'identité émise par le ministre de la Défense nationale; « biens consommables » désigne des biens destinés à l'usage personnel et comprend les vêtements; « biens durables » désigne des biens autres que des biens consommables, destinés à l'usage personnel; « personnel des Forces étrangères » désigne un membre, ou un employé civil qui n'est pas citoyen canadien ilitaire d'un pays qui est :
  1. soit partie au traité de l'Atlantique Nord,
  2. soit membre du Commonwealth britannique,
    et comprend les personnes à la charge du membre ou de l'employé, mais ne comprend pas un membre
    ou un employé en poste dans une mission diplomatique.

Pièces d'identité

3. Toute personne qui désire importer des marchandises en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00, en franchise des droits et taxes, doit présenter aux douanes, une pièce d'identité autorisée émise par le ministère de la Défense nationale.

4. Toute demande de renseignements concernant les pièces d'identité autorisées doit être adressée au :

Bureau d'identification de la Défense nationale
QGDN
Ottawa ON K1A 0K2

Telephone: (613) 995-9722

Importation des marchandises – Première arrivée

5. En conformité avec les dispositions des articles 24 et 25 de la partie V de la Loi sur les forces étrangères présentes au Canada, un membre d'une Force étrangère, peut importer ses meubles ainsi que ses effets personnels en franchise des droits et taxes, en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00. Avant l'arrivée au Canada, il est conseillé au personnel des Forces étrangères d'établir une liste en double exemplaire (de préférence dactylographiée) décrivant tous les effets personnels et domestiques qu'ils apporteront au pays. Cette liste doit comporter une description des biens, donnant des détails tels que la valeur, la marque, le modèle ainsi que le numéro de série de chaque item, particulièrement s'il s'agit d'articles de grande valeur.

6. Ces marchandises seront portées sur le formulaire E29B, Permis d'admission temporaire, sans dépôt de garantie, comme document de contrôle. Le formulaire E29B est sujet au renouvellement pour couvrir la période de service au Canada. Le personnel des Forces étrangères doit conserver les copies du formulaire E29B, afin de les présenter aux douanes lorsque les marchandises sont dans l'une ou l'autre des situations suivantes :

  1. exportées du Canada;
  2. vendues ou données à un autre membre des Forces étrangères;
  3. détruites;
  4. vendues ou autrement aliénées au Canada.

7. En général, les douanes exigeront des preuves suffisantes qu'il a été rendu compte des marchandises conformément aux paragraphes 6a), b) ou c) de ce mémorandum. Dès réception des preuves suffisantes, les douanes annuleront le formulaire E29B et les marchandises ne seront donc pas assujetties aux droits de douane, à la taxe sur les produits et services et aux taxes d'accise. Une copie du formulaire dûment acquittée sera remise au membre des Forces étrangères à titre de reçu.

8. Les marchandises vendues ou autrement aliénées au Canada, conformément au paragraphe 6d) de ce mémorandum, seront annulées sur le formulaire E29B, au moment de la présentation d'un formulaire B15, Déclaration en détail des marchandises occasionnelles, et du paiement de tous les droits de douane, les taxes perçues en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise et des droits d'accise exigibles.

9. Lorsque des meubles ou effets personnels sont envoyés à l'avance en douane par un membre d'une Force étrangère affecté au Canada, ce membre peut préparer une procuration conforme au format indiqué à l'annexe et l'envoyer au commandant d'unité ou à l'agent de transport de l'établissement auquel le membre a été affecté. Il ne sera peut-être pas possible que, dans chaque cas, le membre de la Force étrangère puisse nommer le commandant ou l'agent de transport. Dans ce cas, les lignes pertinentes de la procuration ne devront pas être remplies. Le commandant ou l'agent de transport concerné peut remplir le formulaire en donnant son nom et son rang au moment du dédouanement.

10. Les effets seront examinés et la mainlevée sera faite sur le formulaire E29B, sans cautionnement, au nom du propriétaire. Le formulaire E29B sera signé par le commandant ou par l'agent de transport détenant la procuration, qui donnera les copies du permis au propriétaire lorsque ce dernier prendra possession de l'expédition. Le propriétaire devra ensuite se présenter au bureau de douane afin de contresigner toutes les copies du formulaire E29B.

Véhicules à moteur

11. Un véhicule à moteur destiné à l'usage personnel d'un membre des Force étrangères peut être importé et la mainlevée peut être effectuée sur le formulaire E29B au moment de sa première arrivée au Canada ou par la suite. Le véhicule est sujet aux mêmes conditions et aux mêmes termes d'aliénation que les meubles, comme l'indique les paragraphes 7 et 8. Ces véhicules n'ont pas à satisfaire aux exigences de Transports Canada (normes de sécurité canadiennes) ou à être enregistrés auprès du Registraire des véhicules importés (RVI) en autant que les véhicules soient exportés au moment du départ du membre des Forces étrangères ou d'un transfert à un autre membre des Forces étrangères. Toutefois, afin d'enregistrer le véhicule au Canada, le bureau des douanes lui remettra le formulaire 13-0132, Formulaire d'importation de véhicule, qu'il devra présenter au bureau provincial des véhicules automobiles pour obtenir des plaques d'immatriculation.

12. Lorsqu'un véhicule est inscrit auprès du Registraire des véhicules importés par erreur, un membre des Forces étrangères peut obtenir un remboursement des frais d'enregistrement en communiquant avec le Registraire des véhicules importés par téléphone au 1 800 311-8855, et par télécopieur au (416) 967-9970,.

13. Lors du transfert d'un véhicule d'un membre d'une Force étrangère à un autre, le permis original, le formulaire E29B, doit être annulé par les douanes et un nouveau permis doit être délivré, et les renvois nécessaires doivent figurer sur chaque permis.

14. Dans le cas d'un véhicule vendu au Canada, autre qu'à un membre des Forces étrangères, le véhicule est assujetti aux droits de douanes, aux taxes perçues en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise et aux droits d'accise exigibles sur la valeur établie à la date de disposition. Le véhicule devra rencontrer les exigences de Transport Canada, c.-à-d. les normes de sécurité et d'émission, et être inscrit auprès du Registraire des véhicules importés. Également, les dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9897.00.00 du Tarif des douanes doivent être observées. Ces exigences législatives ne permettent pas d'importer au Canada, d'un autre pays que les États-Unis, un véhicule usagé ou d'occasion qui n'a pas été fabriqué pendant l'année en cours. Il y a des exceptions, voir le Mémorandum D9-1-11, Importation de véhicules à moteur usagés ou d'occasion.

Autres importations

15. Les marchandises que l'on transporte dans les bagages personnels peuvent bénéficier du numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00 uniquement lorsqu'elles sont dédouanées par un membre du personnel des Forces étrangères qui en est propriétaire. Le dédouanement effectué par des personnes autres que le propriétaire des marchandises comprises dans les bagages personnels ne sera pas accepté.

16. Les marchandises autres que celles transportées dans les bagages personnels peuvent être dédouanées par le propriétaire des marchandises, ou par une autre personne sur présentation de la pièce d'identité autorisée du propriétaire des marchandises ainsi que d'une déclaration signée et datée par ce dernier, dans laquelle celui-ci donne la description des marchandises et autorise expressément l'autre personne à dédouaner les marchandises en son nom.

17. Lorsque les exigences du no tarifaire 9827.00.00 sont rencontrées, le personnel des Forces étrangères et leurs familles peuvent importer des biens durables et consommables pour leur usage personnel, en franchise des droits et des taxes, en tout temps. Les biens durables doivent être enregistrés, sans garantie, sur le formulaire E29B. Ces marchandises sont assujetties aux mêmes conditions et aux mêmes termes d'aliénation comme l'indique les paragraphes 7 et 8 de ce mémorandum. Les biens consommables doivent êtres dans les limites de la quantité fixée tel que décrit au numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00 et au paragraphe 20 de ce mémorandum.

18. Il est à noter que les exigences concernant les documents douaniers peuvent varier d'un bureau régional des douanes à l'autre, à la discrétion de l'inspecteur des douanes.

19. Revenu Canada aide d'autres ministères à contrôler l'importation au Canada de certaines marchandises dont les armes à feu, les munitions, les pièces pyrotechniques, la viande et les produits laitiers, les animaux, les plantes et les produits des plantes, les fruits et légumes frais ainsi que certains produits alimentaires et pharmaceutiques. Bien que cette liste ne soit pas exhaustive, elle donne un aperçu des marchandises dont l'importation est contrôlée, restreinte ou prohibée. De plus amples renseignements sur ces produits ou sur d'autres marchandises non mentionnées sont disponibles avant l'importation de ces marchandises en s'adressant au :

Programme d'admissibilité
Direction de la politique commerciale et de l'interprétation
Revenu Canada
Ottawa ON K1A 0L5

Télécopieur : (613) 952-1698

ou au bureau régional des services douaniers le plus proche.

20. Les limites ci-dessous s'appliquent à la viande, aux produits laitiers et à la volaille pour chaque personne :

  1. deux douzaines d'oeufs;
  2. 20 $CAN de produits laitiers, comme le lait, le fromage et le beurre;
  3. trois kilogrammes de margarine;
  4. vingt kilogrammes de viande et de produits de la viande, y compris la dinde et le poulet. D'autres restrictions s'appliquent également à la limite de 20 kilogrammes: un maximum d'une dinde entière ou 10 kilogrammes de produits de la dinde et, au plus 10 kilogrammes de poulet. Toutes les viandes et les produits de la viande doivent porter une étiquette les identifiant comme des produits des États-Unis.

Condition

21. Lorsque, au moment de l'importation au Canada des biens visés en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00, l'agent des douanes qui est de service croit que, en raison de leur nature, quantité ou valeur, ces biens ne sont pas destinés à l'usage personnel comme le numéro tarifaire l'exige, les biens ne seront pas admissibles en vertu du numéro tarifaire sauf si l'agent approprié des douanes reçoit un certificat émis par un représentant autorisé du ministère de la Défense nationale attestant que les biens sont destinés à l'usage personnel de la personne en question.

Certificat

22. Le libellé du certificat mentionné au paragraphe 21 se lira comme suit :

Je certifie que les marchandises importées ou sur le point d'être importées par

___________________________________________________
Nom de l'importateur et numéro de la pièce d'identité autorisée

doivent servir uniquement à son usage personnel ou à celui des personnes à sa charge et non à la revente, à titre de cadeau ou à toute autre distribution..

____________________________________________________
(Signature)
Représentant autorisé (MDN)

23. Le représentant suivant du ministère de la Défense nationale est autorisé à signer les certificats en vertu de ce numéro tarifaire :

Titre du poste
Directeur, Transports et mouvements (DTM)
Lieu
QGDN
Ottawa ON K1A 0K2

Autres privilèges

24. En plus des privilèges décrits au numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00, le personnel des Forces étrangères résidant au Canada peut bénéficier des privilèges offerts aux résidents canadiens en vertu des numéros tarifaires 9804.10.00, 9804.20.00, 9804.40.00 et 9816.00.00. On peut réclamer les boissons alcooliques et les produits du tabac sous l'exemption personnelle ou le numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00 mais non pas les deux.

Renseignements sur les pénalités

25. Toute personne qui omet de déclarer des marchandises aux douanes lorsqu'elle entre au Canada, fait une fausse déclaration ou affecte des marchandises à un usage autre que celui pour lequel elles ont été importées, sans acquitter les droits de douane, la taxe sur les produits et services et les taxes d'accise, est passible des pénalités prévues dans la Loi sur les douanes.

26. Toutes questions concernant les renseignements décrit dans ce mémorandum doivent être adressées à :

Pauline Crête-Méranger
Direction de la politique commerciale et de l'interprétation
Revenu Canada
Ottawa ON K1A 0L5

Téléphone : (613) 954-6936
Télécopieur : (613) 954-9646

Annexe

Procuration

Formule abrégée de procuration pour l'importation des meubles et effets personnels des membres de forces étrangères

  • Commandant ou agent de transport (nom et rang) de (unité) est autorisé à faire entrer à mon nom à la douane de () l'expédition suivante de meubles et effets personnels :
    • Date d'expédition
    • Nom de l'exportateur
    • Adresse de l'exportateur
    • Valeur des biens
  • Signature
    • Adresse
    • Daté à () le () 19()

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction de la politique commerciale et de l'interprétation
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 9827.00
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes, numéro tarifaire 9827.00.00
Décret du conseil C.P. 1983-2333, le 27 juillet1983
(TR/83-136), dans sa forme modifiée par
C.P.1986-1541 (TR/86-116), C.P. 1987-2690
(TR/88-17), C.P. 1990-2851 (TR/91-12) et
C.P.1997-2013 (TR/98-6)
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D21-4-3, le 22 mai 1998
Date de modification :