Maintenance of Records in Canada by Importers

Memorandum D17-1-21

Ottawa, October 15, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (87 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. This memorandum has been revised to update the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) policy concerning the requirements regarding the maintenance of records, in and outside of Canada.
  2. References to electronic imaged or microfilmed format have been updated to include the changes to the National Standards of Canada reflected in the document CAN/CGSB-72.34-2005, Electronic Records as Documentary Evidence.
  3. A new paragraph regarding the impact of the eManifest Portal on an importer's record-keeping obligations was added.
  4. An example of an agreement to maintain records outside of Canada has also been added in an appendix to this memorandum.

This memorandum provides information concerning the requirements regarding the maintenance of records by importers at their place of business in Canada, or at any other place designated by the Minister.


Sections 40, 41, 43 and 109 of the Customs Act

Imported Goods Records Regulations

Guidelines and General Information

Importer Record Maintained Within Canada

1. Record-keeping requirements for imported commercial goods apply to resident and non-resident importers, including exporters abroad who ship commercial goods to themselves in Canada.

2. Generally, an importer is required to maintain imported goods records at its place of business in Canada. However, an importer may submit an application to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) requesting authorization to maintain records at a location in Canada other than its place of business. The letter must identify the business address where the records will be maintained and how the location relates to the importer (e.g., accountant's office, customs broker office).

Non-resident Importers

3. Non-resident importers usually do not maintain a place of business in Canada but may forward invoices, shipping records, and other related documents to a licensed customs broker who prepares accounting documents on their behalf, pays duties, takes delivery of the goods, and arranges delivery based on their instructions.

4. A customs broker, accountant, or other authorized agent may be designated by a non-resident importer to maintain its records in Canada. The CBSA will only authorize this designation when the importer submits a request in writing for review and approval indicating the business address where the records will be maintained as well as the agent's relationship to the importer. It should be noted that when the CBSA authorizes such requests for an agent to maintain records, the importer continues to be responsible for all of the legislative requirements of subsections 40(1) and 43(1) of the Customs Act (the Act) and related regulations.

Records Maintained Outside of Canada

5. Importers may also submit a request to the CBSA for an authorization to maintain records at their place of business outside of Canada, at a specific location authorized by the CBSA, or designate an agent to keep records on their behalf. An example of the information required on an agreement to maintain records outside of Canada can be found in the Appendix to this memorandum. The agreement must be signed and forwarded to the following address:

Non-resident Importer Program
Trade Operations Division
Canada Border Services Agency

Courier/street address
1980 Matheson Blvd East
Mississauga ON  L4W 5R7

Mailing address
PO Box 7000 Stn A
Mississauga ON  L5A 3A4

Imaged and Microfilmed Records

6. Where records are maintained in an electronic imaged or microfilmed format, the imaging or microfilming program must adhere to the National Standards of Canada, CAN/CGSB-72.34-2005, Electronic Records as Documentary Evidence, and CAN/CGSB-72.11-93, Microfilm and Electronic Imaging as Documentary Evidence. These Standards are available from the Canadian General Standards Board.

Electronic Data Processed Records

7. Records maintained in electronic imaged or microfilmed format are recognized as records of account, provided the medium can be related back to the supporting source documents or hard copy documents and is supported by a system capable of producing an accessible and readable copy.

8. All records of account (including source documents) available in paper format must be kept, except where an acceptable electronic imaging or microfilming program identified in paragraph 6 is in place.

9. The CBSA eManifest Portal users are required to retain separate records in respect of imported goods in accordance with the information provided in this memorandum. The eManifest Portal is not to be used for record-keeping.

10. Records kept outside of Canada and accessed electronically are not considered to be records in Canada. However, where records are maintained electronically at a location outside of Canada, a copy of the records may be accepted, provided these are made available to the CBSA in Canada or at a location designated by the Minister in an electronically readable and useable format.

Availability for Inspection and Delivery

11. The records referred to in sections 2 and 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations (the Regulations) shall be kept in such a manner as to enable a CBSA officer to perform detailed audits and verifications to obtain, or verify the information upon which a determination of the amount of the duties paid or payable was made.

12. In accordance with subsection 43(1) of the Act, the Minister may, for any purpose related to the administration or enforcement of the Act, require from any person the production of any record, book, letter, account, invoice, statement (financial or otherwise), or other document at a place, and within the time specified therein.

13. In addition to granting access to the records, the importer must provide access to key personnel who can deliver explanations on the information provided.


14. Where it is determined that an importer has failed to comply with any of the requirements for the maintenance of records, the importer will be requested to fulfill these requirements within a reasonable period of time. If an importer fails to comply with the requirements of record maintenance under subsection 40(1) of the Act, the CBSA may:

  • (a)  assess Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS) penalties in accordance with subsection 109.1(1) of the Act;
  • (b)  detain under the authority of section 41 of the Act, any goods imported by the importer until the importer has complied with the requirements.

15. Where a person who is required by subsection 40(1) of the Act to keep records, other than a person referred to in section 3.1 of the Regulations, has not kept records or has been requested to provide records in accordance with subsection 43(1) of the Act and fails to do so, preferential tariff treatment may be denied or withdrawn for the commercial goods that are the subject of those records.

Additional Information

16. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada at: 1-866-335-3237.


Example of Agreement to maitrain records outside of Canada


Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
Legislative references :
Other references :
CAN/CGSB-72.34-2005, Electronic Records as Documentary Evidence
CAN/CGSB-72.11-93 Microfilm and Electronic Imaging as Documentary Evidence
Superseded memorandum D :
D17-1-21 dated September 4, 2008
Date modified:

Conservation des documents au Canada par les importateurs

Mémorandum D17-1-21

Ottawa, le 15 octobre 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (91 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin de mettre à jour la politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) concernant les exigences à rencontrer concernant la conservation de documents, à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du Canada.
  2. Les références aux images électroniques et de format microfilms ont été mises à jour afin d’inclure les changements aux Normes nationales du Canada reflétés dans le document CAN/CGSB-72.34-2005, Enregistrements électroniques — Preuve documentaire.
  3. Un nouveau paragraphe concernant l’impact de l’arrivée du portail du Manifeste électronique sur les obligations d’un importateur de conserver des documents, a été ajouté.
  4. Un exemple d’entente de conservation des documents à l’extérieur du Canada a aussi été ajouté à l’annexe du présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum fournit des renseignements concernant les exigences que doivent rencontrer les importateurs quant à la conservation des documents à leur place d’affaires au Canada ou dans tout autre lieu qui peut être désigné par le ministre.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Documents de l’importateur conservés au Canada

1. Les exigences relatives à la conservation des documents concernant des marchandises commerciales importées s'appliquent aux importateurs résidents et non-résidents, y compris les exportateurs à l'extérieur du Canada qui expédient des marchandises commerciales pour leur propre usage au Canada.

2. En général, un importateur doit conserver les documents relatifs aux marchandises importées à sa place d'affaires au Canada. Toutefois, l'importateur peut soumettre une demande à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) afin d'obtenir l'autorisation de conserver les documents à un endroit autre que sa place d'affaires au Canada. La lettre devra identifier l'adresse où les documents seront conservés et le lien qui rattache cet endroit à l'importateur (par exemple, un bureau comptable, un courtier en douane, etc.).

Importateurs non-résidents

3. En général, les importateurs non-résidents n'ont pas de place d'affaires au Canada, mais peuvent envoyer des factures, des documents d'expédition et d'autres documents à un courtier en douane agréé qui, en leur nom, remplit les documents de déclaration en détail, acquitte les droits, récupère des marchandises et organise leur livraison selon leurs instructions.

4. Un courtier en douane, un comptable ou un autre représentant dûment autorisé peut être désigné par un importateur non-résident afin de conserver les documents de l'importateur au Canada. L'ASFC donnera seulement cette autorisation lorsque l'importateur soumet une demande par écrit pour révision et approbation, en indiquant l'adresse où les documents seront conservés ainsi que le lien qui l'unit à l'agent. Il est à noter que lorsque l'ASFC autorise une telle demande, l'importateur continuera d'être responsable de toutes les exigences législatives en vertu des paragraphes 40(1) et 43(1) de la Loi sur les douanes(la Loi) et aux règlements connexes.

Documents conservés à l’extérieur du Canada

5. Les importateurs peuvent aussi soumettre une demande à l'ASFC afin d'obtenir l'autorisation de conserver les documents à leur place d'affaires située à l'extérieur du Canada, à un endroit spécifique autorisé par l'ASFC ou designer un agent pour les conserver en leur nom. Un exemple du type d'information requise pour une demande d'entente de conservation des documents à l'extérieur du Canada se trouve en annexe au présent mémorandum. L'entente doit être signée et envoyée à l'une des adresses suivantes :

Programme d'importateur non-résident
Division des opérations commerciales
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Adresse messager
1980, boul. Matheson Est
Mississauga (ON)  L4W 5N3

Adresse postale
C.P. 7000 Succ A
Mississauga (ON)  L5A 3A4

Documents microfilmés et imagés

6. Lorsque des documents sont conservés sous forme d'images électroniques ou de microfilms, le programme d'imagerie ou de microfilm doit être conforme aux Normes nationales du Canada CAN/CGSB-72.34-2005, Enregistrements électroniques - Preuve documentaire, et CAN/CGSB-72.11-93, Microfilms et images électroniques - Preuves documentaires. Ces Normes peuvent être obtenues auprès de l'Office des normes générales du Canada.

Documents traités électroniquement

7. Les documents d'images électroniques ou de format microfilms sont reconnus comme des documents comptables, pourvu que le support d'information permette d'avoir facilement accès aux documents de base et qu'il y ait un système capable de produire une copie accessible et lisible.

8. Tous les documents comptables (y compris les originaux) qui sont disponibles sur papier doivent être conservés, sauf lorsqu'un programme acceptable d'imagerie électronique ou de format microfilm identifié au paragraphe 6 est en place.

9. Les utilisateurs du portail du Manifeste électronique de l'ASFC doivent conserver les documents relatifs aux importations de marchandises de manière distincte du portail, en conformité avec le présent mémorandum. Le portail du Manifeste électronique ne doit pas servir à la conservation des documents.

10. Les livres et registres conservés à l'extérieur du Canada et accessibles par voie électronique ne sont pas considérés comme des livres et registres conservés au Canada. Cependant, lorsque les documents sont conservés électroniquement à un endroit situé à l'extérieur du Canada, une copie des documents peut être acceptée pourvu qu'elle soit disponible au Canada ou dans un endroit désigné par le ministre dans un format électronique lisible et utilisable par l'ASFC.

Disponibilité aux fins d’inspection et de production

11. Les documents dont il est question aux articles 2 et 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises (Règlement)doivent être conservés de manière à permettre à un agent de l'ASFC d'en effectuer des validations et vérifications détaillées afin d'obtenir ou de vérifier les renseignements ayant servi au calcul du montant des droits payés ou à payer.

12. Conformément au paragraphe 43(1) de la Loi, le ministre peut, pour tout besoin lié à l'administration ou à l'exécution de la Loi, exiger de quiconque la production de tous livres, lettres, comptes, factures, états (notamment financiers) ou autres documents, à l'endroit et dans le délai qu'il aura spécifié.

13. En plus de donner accès aux documents, l'importateur doit aussi faciliter l'accès au personnel clé qui peut donner des explications sur les documents fournis.

Inobservation

14. Lorsqu'il est déterminé qu'un importateur a omis de se conformer aux exigences s'appliquant à la conservation de documents, l'importateur devra remplir ces exigences dans un délai raisonnable. S'il ne se conforme pas aux exigences relatives à la conservation de documents définies au paragraphe 40(1) de la Loi, l'ASFC peut :

  • a) imposer des sanctions du Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP) en vertu du paragraphe 109.1(1) de la Loi;
  • b) retenir, en vertu de l'article 41 de la Loi, toutes marchandises subséquemment importées par l'importateur jusqu'à ce que l'importateur se soit conformé aux exigences.

15. Lorsqu'une personne, autre qu'une personne visée à l'article 3.1 du Règlement, tenue en vertu du paragraphe 40(1) de la Loi de conserver des documents, doit produire des documents en conformité avec le paragraphe 43(1) de la Loi, et qu'elle omet de le faire, le traitement tarifaire préférentiel peut être refusé ou retiré aux marchandises commerciales visées par ces documents.

Renseignements supplémentaires

16. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada au: 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Exemple d'entente de conservation de documents à l'extérieur du canada

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
Autres références
CAN/CGSB-72.34-2005 Enregistrements électroniques - Preuve documentaire
CAN/CGSB-72.11-93, Microfilms et images électroniques - Preuves documentaires
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D17-1-21 daté le 4 septembre 2008
Date de modification :