Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) Rules of Origin
Memorandum D11-5-15

Ottawa, October 18, 2017

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (153 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This new memorandum describes the Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) Rules of Origin.

This memorandum contains a link to the CETA Rules of Origin Regulations and provides a link to the Global Affairs Canada website where the Rules of Origin for the CETA may be found.

Legislation

CETA Rules of Origin Regulations
P.C. 2017-1124 2017-08-31

His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Finance, pursuant to subsection 16(2) of the Customs Tariff, makes the annexed CETA Rules of Origin Regulations.

Rules of Origin

1 The following provisions of the Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures of the Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement have the force of law in Canada:

Coming into Force

2 These Regulations come into force on the day on which section 97 of the Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement Implementation Act, chapter 6 of the Statutes of Canada, 2017, comes into force, but if they are registered after that day, they come into force on the day on which they are registered.

Guidelines and General Information

1. The CETA may be found on the Global Affairs Canada website.

2. Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures: The Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures contains the general rules of origin that set out the criteria to determine the originating status of a good, as well as other general conditions and requirements.

3. Annex 5 of the Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures: The Product Specific Rules of origin establish the point at which materials or components have undergone sufficient production within the free trade area for the good produced to be considered originating.

Additional Information

4. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:

Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement Implementation Act
CETA Rules of Origin Regulations
Order in Council P.C. 2017-1124 dated August 31, 2017

Other references:

Global Affairs Canada

Superseded memorandum D:
N/A
Date modified:

Règles d’origine de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (AÉCG)
Mémorandum D11-5-15

Ottawa, le 18 octobre 2017

ISSN 2369-2405

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (249 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce nouveau mémorandum décrit les Règles d’origine de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (AÉCG).

Le présent mémorandum comprend le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (AÉCG) ainsi qu'un lien menant au site Web d'Affaires mondiales Canada, où figurent les règles d'origine de l'AÉCG.

Législation

Règlement sur les règles d’origine (AÉCG)
C.P. 2017-1124 2017-08-31

Sur recommandation du ministre des Finances et en vertu du paragraphe 16(2) du Tarif des douanes, Son Excellence le Gouverneur général en conseil prend le Règlement sur les règles d’origine (AÉCG), ci-après.

Règles d’origine

1 Les dispositions ci-après du Protocole sur les règles d’origine et les procédures d’origine de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne ont force de loi au Canada :

Entrée en vigueur

2 Le présent règlement entre en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’article 97 de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, chapitre 6 des Lois du Canada (2017), ou, si elle est postérieure, à la date de son enregistrement.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. L'AÉCG se trouve sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

2. Protocole sur les règles d’origine et les procédures d’origine : Le Protocole sur les règles d’origine et les procédures d’origine comprend les règles d'origine générales qui établissent les critères servant à déterminer l'état originaire d'une marchandise ainsi que d'autres conditions et exigences générales.

3. Annexe 5 de la Protocole sur les règles d’origine et les procédures d’origine: Les règles d'origine spécifiques au produit déterminent le degré de transformation suffisant que doivent subir les matières ou les composantes dans le territoire de libre-échange pour que le produit résultant soit considéré comme un produit originaire.

Renseignements supplémentaires

4. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :

Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l'Union européenne
Règlement sur les règles d’origine (AÉCG)
Décret en conseil C.P. 2017-1124, le 31 août 2017

Autres références :
Affaires mondiales Canada
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
N/A
Date de modification :