Authority to Act as an Agent

Memorandum D1-6-1

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, January 28, 2016

This document is also available in PDF (49 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum was revised in order to remove referral to “electronic signature” option from the previous “In Brief”.

This memorandum explains the policy of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) regarding persons who wish to import commercial goods under Section 32 of the Customs Act, as the agent of another person.


Customs Act – Section 32

Guidelines and General Information

1. A "person", according to the Customs Act, means an individual, a partnership, a corporation, a trust, the estate of a deceased individual or a body that is a society, a union, a club, an association, a commission or other organization of any kind.

2. "Agents" are persons who are authorized to transact business with the CBSA on behalf of another person. The CBSA may refuse to transact business with the agent until the agent produces acceptable written authority.

3. "Commercial goods" means goods imported into Canada for sale or for any commercial, industrial, occupational, institutional or other like use.

4. "Casual basis" refers to a one-time event or a non-habitual occurrence whereby a person is acting on behalf of the importer without benefit of any compensation, fee or charge. An example would be in circumstances where an importer was unable to be present for the release of the goods and a friend or family member accounts on their behalf with written authorization from the casual importer.

5. Should a person choose to use the services of a licensed customs broker and that customs broker provides incorrect information or fails to remit monies received from the person to the CBSA, the person remains fully liable. This includes responsibility for payment of all duties, taxes, penalties, and interest owing, pursuant to any applicable legislation and regulations that may be amended.

Written Authority to Act as Agent for Commercial Goods Imported under Section 32 of the Customs Act

6. Any person who proposes to transact business with the CBSA as the agent of another person is responsible for ensuring that the proper authority has been granted. The written authority is often referred to as an agency agreement or a power of attorney.

7. The CBSA accepts any form of written authority that indicates the agent has been authorized to transact business on behalf of another person (usually the importer or owner), provided that it meets the requirements detailed in paragraph eight.

8. The written authority must specify:

  • (a)  the names of the person and the agent including their business numbers and addresses;
  • (b)  a description of the type of business transactions being authorized, e.g. accounting and payment of duties on commercial goods imported under section 32 of the Customs Act;
  • (c)  whether the authority is continuous or for a specified period;
  • (d)  whether the agent is authorized to appoint a sub-agent;
  • (e)  the name, title and signature of the agent;
  • (f)   the name, title and signature of the person on whose behalf the agent is acting; and
  • (g)  the effective date.

9. The CBSA does not accept an electronic check-off box as an acceptable substitute for a wet (ink on paper) signature for the purpose of an agency agreement.

10. Facsimile copies of the written authority may be accepted.

11. It is generally assumed that employees of the importer and employees of the authorized agent have the necessary authority to transact business on behalf of their employers. Should there be any doubt; the CBSA may refuse to transact business with that employee until satisfactory proof of authority has been provided.

12. For the purpose of the Agents' Accounting for Imported Goods and Payment of Duties Regulations an employee of an importer can transact business, including accounting for goods and payment of duties on behalf of his or her employer without being considered an agent.

Cancellation of Authority to Act as Agent

13. It is the responsibility of any person who wishes to cancel an authorization previously granted to an agent, to notify that agent accordingly. Unless specifically instructed otherwise, it shall be assumed that an agent retains the authority to finalize transactions that were initiated before the cancellation of the agency agreement.


14. The CBSA does not exercise control over the fees charged by agents to their clients. Such fees are a private matter between the two contracting parties.

Additional Information

15. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.


Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D1-6-1 dated November 18, 2014
Date modified:

Autorisation de transiger à titre de mandataire

Mémorandum D1-6-1

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 28 janvier 2016

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (53 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce mémorandum a été révisé afin de retirer l’option d’une “signature électronique” mentionnée à la section « En résumé ».

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) à l'égard des personnes qui désirent importer des marchandises commerciales en vertu de l'article 32 de la Loi sur les douanes à titre de mandataire pour une autre personne.

Législation

Loi sur les douanes – article 32


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. En vertu de la Loi sur les douanes, « personne » s'entend d'un particulier, d'une société de personnes, d'une personne morale, d'une fiducie ou d'une succession, ainsi qu'un organisme qui est un syndicat, un club, une association, une commission ou toute autre organisation.

2. « Mandataires » s'entend des personnes qui sont autorisées à transiger avec l'ASFC pour une autre personne. L'ASFC peut refuser de transiger avec le mandataire tant que celui-ci n'a pas produit un mandat écrit acceptable.

3. « Marchandises commerciales » s'entend des marchandises importées au Canada pour la vente ou toute utilisation commerciale, industrielle, professionnelle, institutionnelle ou utilisation semblable.

4. « À titre occasionnel » s'entend d'une occurrence unique ou rare où une personne transige au nom de l'importateur gratuitement, sans compensation, indemnité ou paiement. Par exemple, les cas où un importateur n'est pas en mesure de se présenter en personne pour la mainlevée des marchandises et demande à un membre de sa famille ou un ami de déclarer les marchandises en son nom et ce, ayant en main une autorisation écrite de l'importateur des marchandises occasionnelles lui accordant ce privilège.

5. Si une personne a recours aux services d'un courtier en douane agréé et que celui-ci transmet des renseignements erronés ou omet de remettre l'argent qu'il a reçu de la personne à l'ASFC, la personne demeure entièrement responsable, entre autres, du paiement de tous droits, taxes, pénalités et intérêts exigibles en vertu des lois et des règlements pertinents, lesquels peuvent être modifiés.

Autorisation de transiger à titre de mandataire pour des marchandises commerciales importées en vertu de l'article 32 de la Loi sur les douanes

6. Il incombe à toute personne qui se propose de transiger avec l'ASFC à titre de mandataire d'une autre personne de s'assurer qu'elle en a reçu l'autorisation. Le mandat écrit est souvent appelé une entente de représentation ou une procuration.

7. L'ASFC accepte tout mandat écrit indiquant que le mandataire est autorisé à faire des transactions au nom d'une autre personne (habituellement l'importateur ou le propriétaire), dans la mesure où le mandat répond aux exigences énoncées au paragraphe huit.

8. Le mandat écrit doit indiquer les éléments suivants :

  • a) les noms de la personne et du mandataire, y compris leurs numéros d'entreprise et adresses;
  • b) une description du type de transaction commerciale autorisée, p. ex. la déclaration en détail et le paiement des droits sur les marchandises commerciales importées en vertu de l'article 32 de la Loi sur les douanes;
  • c) si l'autorisation est permanente ou accordée pour une période désignée;
  • d) si le mandataire est autorisé à nommer un sous-mandataire;
  • e) le nom, le titre et la signature du mandataire;
  • f) le nom, le titre et la signature de la personne au nom de laquelle le mandataire transige;
  • g) la date d'entrée en vigueur.

9. Aux fins d'une entente de représentation, l'ASFC ne peut accepter une case cochée électronique comme remplacement acceptable pour une signature écrite (encre sur papier).

10. Des télécopies du mandat écrit peuvent être acceptées.

11. En règle générale, il est présumé que les employés de l'importateur et les employés du mandataire ont l'autorisation nécessaire de faire des transactions au nom de leur employeur. En cas de doute, l'ASFC pourrait refuser de transiger avec l'employé en question jusqu'à ce qu'elle obtienne la preuve que l'autorisation a été donnée.

12. Pour les besoins du Règlement sur la déclaration en détail des marchandises importées et le paiement des droits effectués par des mandataires, un employé de l'importateur peut faire des transactions, y compris des déclarations en détail et payer des droits, au nom de son employeur sans être considéré un mandataire.

Annulation de l'autorisation de transiger à titre de mandataire

13. Le mandant qui désire annuler le mandat accordé à un mandataire est tenu d'en avertir ce dernier. Sauf indication contraire, on présume que le mandataire a l'autorisation de mener à bien les transactions douanières qui ont débuté avant l'annulation de l'entente de représentation.

Frais

14. L'ASFC n'exerce pas de contrôle sur les frais imposés par les mandataires à leurs clients. Cette question doit être réglée par les deux parties contractantes.

Renseignements supplémentaires

15. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux 8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :

Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping

Dossier de l'administration centrale :
Autres références :
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :

D1-6-1 daté le 18 novembre 2014

Date de modification :