Examining digital devices at the Canadian border

On this page

Digital devices

Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) officers are allowed to examine all goods you have with you when you cross the border. This means that just like your luggage, our officers can examine your cell phones, tablets, laptops and any other digital device you are carrying.

A digital device is defined as any device that is capable of storing digital data, such as:

Why we examine digital devices

The CBSA has always had a policy on examination of goods. To provide greater certainty, the Agency now has a dedicated policy on examination of digital devices at ports of entry.

CBSA officers do not always examine digital devices. Our policy is to examine a device only if we think we will find evidence on it that border laws have been broken.

Reasons an officer might examine your digital device(s) include concerns regarding your:

What to expect if we examine your digital device

A CBSA officer will start with some questions before examining your digital device. To examine the digital device, the officer will first ask for the password which will be written down on a piece of paper. You are obligated to provide your password when asked.

Failure to grant access to your digital device may result in the detention of that device under section 101 of the Customs Act, or seizure of the device under subsection 140 (1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The officer should turn your device on airplane mode to disable its ability to send and receive information. This ensures they can only access information stored on the device.

They will not have access to:

The officer will usually examine your device in your presence, unless there are operational considerations that make it inappropriate to do so.

Solicitor-client privileged information

The CBSA is committed to respecting privacy rights while protecting the safety and security of the Canadian border. If a BSO encounters content marked as solicitor-client privilege, the officer must cease inspecting that document. If there are concerns about the legitimacy of solicitor-client privilege, the device can be set aside for a court to make a determination of the contents.

Examining a digital device: What happens next

If no evidence of an infraction (that is, proof that you may be contravening a law) is found, the officer will return your digital device to you, along with your password. You will then be on your way.

If evidence of an infraction is found, the officer may seize your device. If the officer seizes or detains your device, they will explain the process and next steps to you, including your right to contest the seizure.

If the CBSA cannot absolutely determine that the device's content is admissible at the port of entry, we may detain the device for further examination.

This may take up to 30 calendar days from the date of detention. Once completed, we will return your device, provided we do not find evidence of an infraction. If we do find evidence, we may seize your device.

The CBSA will contact you to arrange the return of your digital device.

The CBSA may seize your device if we determine its contents contain evidence of a contravention of Canadian laws. For example, if the device contains evidence of a crime, contraband or other prohibited or restricted goods, we may seize it.

If this happens, we will notify you about the seizure. We will then explain your options to contest it through the CBSA Recourse Office.

Contesting a seizure

If you wish to file an objection to a CBSA enforcement action, you must file a request for review within 90 days after the date of the enforcement action was taken.  Requests for review may be submitted online at: https://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/recourse-recours/menu-eng.html.

Safeguarding Canadians

Whether visiting or returning to Canada, you may be subject to an examination by a CBSA officer to determine your admissibility. This includes any goods or vehicle you bring across the border.

Our officers perform regular examinations to ensure compliance with Canadian laws and regulations, including customs, immigration, and food, plants and animal legislation. If you are subject to an examination, you can expect to be treated in a courteous, dignified, and professional manner.

An examination can be as simple as a few questions to verify your declaration or determine your admissibility to Canada, but it can also include:

Statistics

Digital Device Examinations

Charts that represent the total percentage of travellers who had a digital device examined

Summary

These charts represent the total percentage of travellers who had a digital device examined and the total percentage of those examinations that were resultant between and . Only 0.013% of travellers had a digital device examined and 99.987% did not. Of those examinations, 39% were resultant and 61% were not.

Note:

* "Resultant" means that a contravention of border laws was found
** "Non-resultant" means that no contravention of border laws was found

Travelling or returning to Canada? Find out what to expect at the border when arriving by air, land or boat.

Date modified:

Examen des appareils numériques à la frontière canadienne

Sur cette page

Appareils numériques

Les agents de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) sont autorisés à examiner toutes les marchandises en votre possession lorsque vous passez la frontière. Cela signifie que tout comme vos bagages, nos agents peuvent examiner vos téléphones cellulaires, tablettes, ordinateurs portables et tout autre appareil numérique que vous avez avec vous.

On entend par « appareil numérique » tout appareil pouvant contenir des données numériques, par exemple :

Motifs d'examen des appareils numériques

L'ASFC a toujours eu une politique concernant l'examen des marchandises. Pour plus de certitude, l'Agence a maintenant une politique spécifique en matière d'examen des appareils numériques.

Les agents de l'ASFC n'examinent pas toujours les appareils numériques. Notre politique est de n'examiner un appareil que si nous croyons qu'il contient des preuves d'infraction à la loi.

Un agent pourrait notamment examiner vos appareils numériques en raison des préoccupations suivantes :

À quoi vous attendre si on examine votre appareil numérique

Un agent de l'ASFC vous posera quelques questions au préalable. Pour examiner l'appareil numérique, l'agent demandera d'abord le mot de passe, lequel sera noté sur une feuille de papier. Vous devez fournir votre mot de passe lorsqu'on vous le demande.

Le défaut d'accorder l'accès à votre appareil numérique peut entraîner la retenue de cet appareil en vertu de l'article 101 de la Loi sur les douanes, ou la saisie de l'appareil en vertu du paragraphe 140(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

L'agent devrait mettre votre appareil en mode avion pour désactiver sa capacité d'envoyer et de recevoir des informations. Il ne pourra donc accéder qu'aux informations sauvegardées sur l'appareil.

Les agents n'auront pas accès à ce qui suit :

En général, l'agent examinera votre appareil en votre présence, à moins que des considérations opérationnelles l'en empêchent.

Information protégée par le secret professionnel d’un avocat

L'ASFC s’engage à respecter le droit à la vie privée tout en assurant la sécurité de la frontière canadienne. Si un agent des services frontaliers tombe sur du contenu marqué comme protégé par le secret professionnel d’un avocat, il doit cesser d'inspecter le document en question. En cas de doute sur la légitimité du secret professionnel de l’avocat, l'appareil peut être mis de côté en vue d’être examiné par un tribunal, qui prendra une décision quant à son contenu.

Examen d'un appareil numérique : prochaines étapes

Si l'agent ne trouve aucune preuve d'infraction (c'est-à-dire une preuve d'une loi), il vous retournera votre appareil numérique et votre mot de passe. Vous pourrez alors poursuivre votre voyage.

Si l'agent trouve une preuve d'infraction, il peut saisir votre appareil. Si l'agent saisit ou retient votre appareil, il vous expliquera le processus et les prochaines étapes, y compris votre droit de contester la saisie.

Si l'ASFC ne peut absolument pas déterminer si le contenu de l'appareil est admissible au point d'entrée, nous pouvons retenir l'appareil pour un examen plus approfondi.

Cela peut prendre jusqu'à 30 jours civils à compter de la date de la retenue. Une fois l'examen terminé, nous vous retournerons votre appareil si nous ne trouvons pas de preuve d'une infraction. Si nous trouvons des preuves, nous pourrions saisir votre appareil.

L'ASFC communiquera avec vous pour prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour le retour de votre appareil numérique.

L'ASFC peut saisir votre appareil si elle détermine que son contenu contient des preuves de conduite illégale. Par exemple, si l'appareil contient des preuves d'un crime, de contrebande ou d'autres marchandises interdites ou restreintes, nous pouvons le saisir.

Si cela se produit, nous vous informerons de la saisie. Nous vous expliquerons ensuite les options qui s'offrent à vous pour contester cette décision par l'entremise du Bureau des recours de l'ASFC.

Contestation des saisies

Si vous souhaitez contester une mesure d'exécution de la loi de l'ASFC, vous devez présenter une demande de révision dans les 90 jours suivant la date à laquelle la mesure d'exécution a été prise. Les demandes d'examen peuvent être soumises en ligne à l'adresse suivante :
https://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/recourse-recours/menu-fra.html.

Protection des Canadiens

Que vous soyez en visite au Canada ou de retour au pays, vous pourriez faire l'objet d'un contrôle par un agent de l'ASFC afin de déterminer votre admissibilité. Cela comprend toutes les marchandises ou tous les véhicules que vous apportez à la frontière.

Nos agents mènent régulièrement des examens pour s'assurer de la conformité aux lois et règlements canadiens, y compris les lois sur les douanes, l'immigration, les aliments, les végétaux et les animaux. Si vous êtes soumis à un examen, vous pouvez vous attendre à être traité avec courtoisie, dignité et professionnalisme.

Un examen peut être aussi simple que quelques questions pour vérifier votre déclaration ou déterminer votre admissibilité au Canada, mais il peut aussi comprendre :

Statistiques

Examens d'appareils numériques

Tableaux qui montrent le pourcentage de voyageurs dont les appareils numériques ont été examinés

Sommaire

Ces tableaux montrent le pourcentage de voyageurs dont les appareils numériques ont été examinés du au . Seulement 0,013 % des voyageurs ont dû subir un examen, alors que 99,987 % n'en n'ont pas subi. Parmi ces examens, 39 % ont eu un résultat positif et 61 % n'ont donné aucun résultat.

Nota :

* Résultat positif : signifie que des preuves d’infraction à la législation frontalière ont été trouvées
** Aucun résultat : signifie qu’aucune preuve d’infraction à la législation frontalière a été trouvée

Vous voyagez ou revenez au Canada? Renseignez-vous sur ce qui vous attend à la frontière lorsque vous arrivez par voie aérienne, terrestre ou maritime.

Date de modification :