Expedited Reviews

In certain circumstances, the CBSA will conduct an expedited review of the normal value, export price, and amount of subsidy on the subject goods of an exporter. If an exporter wishes to request an expedited review, they should read the information below and contact an officer listed in the information section of the relevant Final Determination Statement of Reasons. This document can be found under the applicable investigation on the Investigations webpage.

Eligibility for an Expedited Review

Goods Covered by the CITT’s Order or Finding of Injury (Dumping/Subsidizing)

Under subsection 13.2(1) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), an expedited review may be requested by an exporter or producer of any goods to which an order or finding referred to in subsection 3(1) applies who:

  1. establishes that they are not associated with any exporter who is in the same country as the goods that are subject to the order or finding and who had been given notice under subparagraph 34(1)(a)(i); and
  2. has not
    1. been given notice under subparagraph 34(1)(a)(i), paragraph 38(3)(a) or subsection 41(3) in respect of the goods, or
    2. been requested to provide information in relation to those goods or in relation to any goods that are of the same description as those goods for the purposes of this Act.

Goods Covered by the CITT’s Amended Order (Circumvention)

Under subsection 13.2(1.1) of SIMA, an expedited review may also be requested by an exporter of any goods to which an order or finding referred to in subsection 3(1.1) or (1.2) applies, if the exporter has not been requested to provide information in relation to those goods, or in relation to any goods that are of the same description as those goods for the purposes of determining their normal value, export price or amount of subsidy.

Requesting an Expedited Review

A request for an expedited review must be made in writing and must contain the following information in accordance with subsection 55(1) of the Special Import Measures Regulations (SIMR):

  1. confirmation that the goods have been sold or consigned to an importer in Canada;
  2. with respect to each sale or consignment of the goods to an importer in Canada,
    1. the name and address of the importer,
    2. a detailed description of the goods,
    3. the date of sale or consignment of the goods,
    4. the date of shipment of the goods,
    5. the purchase or consignment order number with respect to the goods and the date of the purchase or consignment order,
    6. complete details of the
      1. contract of sale or of the purchase order acknowledgement or acceptance, or
      2. consignment contract or of the consignment order acknowledgment or acceptance, and
    7. the name and address of the manufacturer or producer of the goods; and
  3. a description of the exporting enterprise and a list of all associated persons who are located in the country of export.

The definition of “sale” from subsection 2(1) of the SIMA considers “an agreement to sell” as a sale. Therefore the physical importation of subject goods is not necessarily required for an expedited review, provided such an agreement is in place.

If the subject goods have been shipped to Canada on consignment and there is no known purchaser in Canada of the goods, then no sale will have taken place so an expedited review is not possible. Instead the goods will be subject to a ministerial specification pursuant to subsection 29(2) of the SIMA.

The request must be sent to:

SIMA Registry and Disclosure Unit
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency
100 Metcalfe Street, 11th floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0L8
Canada

Expedited Review Process

If the exporter or producer meets the above requirements and has properly requested the expedited review, the CBSA will perform the review.

The CBSA will send a request for information (RFI) to the exporter, producer, importer and government of the country of export, as required. These parties will have a specified number of days to provide a complete response to the RFI. If a complete response is provided, the CBSA will use the information to determine normal values, export prices and/or an amount of subsidy for the goods in question. If a complete response is not provided, future shipments of subject goods will be subject to the methodologies for determining anti-dumping and countervailing duties set out in the relevant ministerial specification.

Payment of Duties

During the course of the expedited review, importers are still required to pay the duties determined pursuant to the methodology set out in the relevant ministerial specification. Under subsection 13.2(4) of the SIMA and section 56 of the SIMR, an importer may instead post security for subject goods imported from an exporter who is undergoing an expedited review under subsection 13.2(3) of SIMA. This option is available the day the review is initiated and ends the day it is completed. The option to post security is not available in an expedited review under subsection 13.2(3.1) in respect of goods subject to an order or finding that was amended as a result of a finding of circumvention.

Date modified:

Réexamens accélérés

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) peut dans certaines circonstances faire un réexamen accéléré de la valeur normale, du prix à l’exportation et du montant de subvention des marchandises en cause d’un exportateur donné. L’exportateur qui souhaite demander un réexamen accéléré doit d’abord lire ce qui suit, puis communiquer avec l’une des personnes nommées dans la section « Renseignements » de l’énoncé de motifs des décisions définitives pour l’affaire pertinente (disponible sur la page Web « Enquêtes »).

Quelles marchandises sont admissibles

Les marchandises assujetties à une ordonnance ou des conclusions du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (dumping ou subventionnement)

Aux termes du paragraphe 13.2(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI) :

L’exportateur vers le Canada ou le producteur de marchandises touchées par une ordonnance ou des conclusions visées à l’article 3 peut demander au président de réexaminer la valeur normale, le prix à l’exportation ou le montant de subvention relatif à ces marchandises si :

  1. d’une part, il établit qu’il n’est pas associé avec un exportateur qui se trouve dans le même pays que les marchandises touchées par l’ordonnance ou les conclusions et à qui l’avis prévu au sous alinéa 34(1)a)(i) a été donné.
  2. d’autre part, il n’a pas lui-même reçu :
    1. soit l’avis prévu au sous-alinéa 34(1)a)(i), à l’alinéa 38(3)a) ou au paragraphe 41(3) relativement aux marchandises,
    2. soit une demande de fourniture de renseignements relativement à ces marchandises ou à des marchandises de même description que celles-ci pour l’application de la présente loi.

Les marchandises assujetties à une ordonnance modifiée du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (contournement)

Selon le paragraphe 13.2(1.1) de la LMSI, peut aussi demander un réexamen accéléré l’exportateur vers le Canada de marchandises touchées par une ordonnance ou des conclusions visées au paragraphe 3(1.1) ou (1.2), s’il ne s’est pas lui-même fait demander des renseignements relatifs à ces marchandises ou à toute autre marchandise de même description que celles-ci aux fins de détermination de leur valeur normale, prix à l’exportation ou montant de subvention.

Comment demander un réexamen accéléré

Une demande de réexamen accéléré se fait par écrit et doit contenir ce qui suit aux termes du Règlement sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (RMSI), paragraphe 55(1) :

  1. la confirmation que les marchandises en cause ont été vendues à un importateur au Canada ou ont été mises en consignation auprès de celui-ci;
  2. les renseignements suivants concernant chaque vente des marchandises à un importateur au Canada ou chaque consignation de celles-ci auprès d’un tel importateur :
    1. les nom et adresse de l’importateur,
    2. une description détaillée des marchandises,
    3. la date de la vente ou de la consignation,
    4. la date d’expédition,
    5. le numéro et la date du bon de commande ou de consignation,
    6. des détails complets sur :
      1. le contrat de vente ou l’accusé de réception ou l’acceptation de la commande,
      2. le contrat de consignation ou l’accusé de réception ou l’acceptation de la consignation,
    7. les nom et adresse du fabricant ou du producteur des marchandises;
  3. une description de l’entreprise exportatrice, ainsi que la liste des personnes associées avec elle qui se trouvent dans le pays d’exportation.

Puisque le terme « vente » au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la LMSI englobe « l’engagement de vendre », un réexamen accéléré peut se faire même avant l’importation physique des marchandises, pour peu qu’un tel engagement existe.

Si les marchandises ont été expédiées au Canada en consignation et n’ont pas d’acheteur connu, c’est qu’il n’y a pas eu de vente, et alors aucun réexamen expédié ne peut se faire; les marchandises feront plutôt l’objet d’une prescription ministérielle, au titre du paragraphe 29(2) de la LMSI.

Les demandes de réexamen accéléré doivent être envoyées à l’adresse suivante :

Centre de dépôt et de communication des documents de la LMSI
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
100, rue Metcalfe, 11e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0L8
Canada

Déroulement

Si le producteur ou exportateur a fait la demande dans les formes et que ses marchandises sont admissibles, l’ASFC procède au réexamen accéléré.

L’ASFC commence par envoyer une demande de renseignements à l’exportateur, au producteur, à l’importateur et au gouvernement du pays d’exportation selon le cas; ces derniers auront un délai bien défini pour donner une réponse complète. S’ils le font, l’ASFC se basera sur leur réponse pour déterminer les valeurs normales, les prix à l’exportation et/ou les montants de subvention applicables aux marchandises; sinon, les droits antidumping et compensateurs applicables aux expéditions futures des marchandises en cause seront déterminés selon les méthodes de la prescription ministérielle pertinente.

Paiement des droits

Pendant le réexamen accéléré, les importateurs doivent toujours payer les droits tels que calculés en application de la prescription ministérielle pertinente. Les dispositions 13.2(4) de la LMSI et 56 du RMSI leur permettent aussi de déposer une garantie pour les marchandises en cause importées aux exportateurs faisant l’objet d’un réexamen accéléré au titre du paragraphe 13.2(3) de la LMSI – cette option est disponible de la date d’ouverture jusqu’à la date d’achèvement du réexamen accéléré, mais pas si celui-ci porte sur des marchandises assujetties à une ordonnance ou des conclusions ayant été modifiées par suite de conclusions de contournement [13.2(3.1)].

Date de modification :