TR 2021 UP1: Liquid dielectric transformers
Notice of export price review

Ottawa,

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has today initiated a review of the export price of certain liquid dielectric transformers (transformers) having a top power handling capacity equal to or exceeding 60,000 kilovolt amperes (60 megavolt amperes),exported from South Korea by Hyundai Electric & Energy Systems Co., Ltd. (Hyundai Energy) and imported into Canada by Hyundai Electric America Corporation (HE America).

The review follows the receipt of requests for re‑determination and is part of the CBSA’s enforcement of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s (CITT) finding of injury issued on November 20, 2012 continued without amendment by the order made on May 31, 2016, and continued without amendment by the Expiry Review order made on May 31, 2018, respecting the dumping of transformers from South Korea, in accordance with the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA).

The product definition and the applicable tariff classification numbers of the goods subject to the CITT finding are contained in Appendix 1 (subject goods).

Should the importer and exporter decide to participate in this export price review, it is required to provide a complete and accurate response to the CBSA’s Request for Information (RFI) by June 21, 2021.

If the importer or exporter does not provide a complete response to the RFI by the deadline, the export price for the subject goods imported by HE America from Hyundai Energy shall be the normal value as determined under section 15 to 23 of SIMA, less an amount equal to 50% of that normal value, pursuant to a ministerial specification.

The schedule for this export price review is now available. The CBSA will close the record once it has been determined that sufficient information has been received to make a decision. The CBSA will update the website to announce that the record has been closed. Interested parties will have seven days from the close of the record to file submissions concerning the export price review.

The export price deductions established during this review will apply to subject goods released from the CBSA on or after the date of the conclusion of the export price review. The export price deductions determined as a result of this review may be applied to any requests for re‑determination of importations of subject goods that have not been processed prior to the conclusion of the export price review, regardless of the date that the requests were received.

Please note that exporters with normal values are required to promptly inform the CBSA in writing of changes to domestic prices, costs, market conditions or terms and channel of sale associated with the production and sales of the goods. All parties are cautioned that where there are increases in domestic prices and/or costs as noted above, the export price for sales to Canada should be increased accordingly to ensure that any sale made to Canada is not only above the normal value but at or above selling prices and full costs and profit of the goods in the exporter’s domestic market. If exporters did not properly notify the CBSA of any such changes, did not adjust export prices accordingly, or did not provide the information required to make any necessary adjustments to normal values and export prices, retroactive assessments of anti‑dumping duties may be warranted.

In situations where related parties are involved, companies are cautioned that they must increase resale pricing to their unrelated customers in Canada in order to avoid secondary dumping. If it is determined that the company has raised its selling prices in Canada to levels necessary to eliminate all secondary dumping, the export prices will be calculated under section 24 of SIMA. Price reviews would continue to be conducted to ensure that an appropriate selling price is maintained in the Canadian market. However, if as a result of a review, a company is still found to be in a secondary dumping situation, the CBSA will re‑calculate the export prices and the margins of dumping by deducting the anti‑dumping duties already paid or payable from the previously determined export prices. This will result in increased margins of dumping and additional retroactive assessments of anti‑dumping duties.

Any questions concerning the above should be directed to:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Appendix 1—Product definition

For the purpose of this review, the subject goods are defined as:

Liquid dielectric transformers having a top power handling capacity equal to or exceeding 60,000 kilovolt amperes (60 megavolt amperes), whether assembled or unassembled, complete or incomplete, originating in or exported from the Republic of Korea.

Liquid dielectric transformers having a top power handling capacity equal to or exceeding 60,000 kilovolt amperes (KVA) (60 megavolt amperes (MVA)), whether assembled or unassembled, complete or incomplete, will hereafter be referred to as Power Transformers.

Additional product information

Power Transformers are used to increase, maintain or decrease electric voltage in high voltage transmission and distribution systems. Incomplete Power Transformers are subassemblies consisting of the active part and any other parts attached to, imported with or invoiced with the active part of the Power Transformer. The active part of the Power Transformer consists of one or more of the following when attached to or otherwise assembled with one another: the steel core or shell, the windings, electrical insulation between the windings and/or the mechanical frame for a Power Transformer.

The product definition encompasses all Power Transformers regardless of name designation, including but not limited to: step‑up transformers, step‑down transformers, auto‑transformers, interconnection transformers, voltage regulator transformers, high voltage direct current transformers and rectifier transformers.

Classification of imports

Beginning January 1, 2019, under the revised customs tariff schedule, subject goods are normally classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

Unassembled or incomplete subject goods may also be imported under the following HS codes:

This listing of tariff classification numbers is for convenience of reference only. Refer to the product definition for authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

Date modified:

TR 2021 UP1 : Transformateurs à liquide diélectrique
Avis de révision des prix à l’exportation

Ottawa, le

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a annoncé aujourd’hui l’ouverture d’une révision des prix à l’exportation des transformateurs à liquide diélectrique avec une puissance admissible maximale égale ou supérieure à 60 000 kilovolts ampères (60 mégavolts ampères), (transformateurs) exportés de la Corée du Sud par Hyundai Electric & Energy Systems Co., Ltd (Hyundai Energy) et importé au Canada par Hyundai électrique America Corporation (HE America).

Cette révision fait suite à des demandes de réexamen déposées par un importateur et découle de l’exécution par l’ASFC des conclusions d’un dommage rendues par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) le 20 novembre 2012. Ces conclusions ont été subséquemment révisées et prorogées le 31 mai 2016, ainsi que révisées et prorogées par la décision émise le 31 mai 2018 lors du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, à l’égard du dumping des transformateurs de la Corée du Sud, conformément à la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI).

La définition du produit ainsi que les numéros de classement tarifaire des marchandises assujetties aux conclusions du TCCE se retrouvent à l’annexe 1 (marchandises en cause).

Si l’importateur ou l’exportateur accepte de collaborer à la révision des prix à l’exportation, il est indispensable de fournir une réponse complète et exacte à la Demande de renseignements (DDR) d’ici le 21 juin 2021.

Si l’importateur ou l’exportateur ne fournit pas une réponse complète à la DDR avant la date limite, le prix l’exportation applicable aux marchandises en cause importées par HE America de Hyundai Energy sera établi la valeur normale telle que déterminée en vertu des articles 15 à 23 de la LMSI, moins un montant égal à 50% de cette valeur normale, conformément à une prescription ministérielle.

Le calendrier de la révision des prix à l’exportation est maintenant disponible. L’ASFC clôturera le dossier pour cette révision des prix à l’exportation une fois qu’il aura été établit que suffisamment d’information a été reçue pour prendre une décision. L’ASFC mettra à jour le site Web pour annoncer la date de clôture du dossier. Les parties intéressées auront sept jours à partir de la clôture du dossier pour déposer des observations concernant la révision des prix à l’exportation.

Les déductions au prix à l’exportation établis au cours de la révision s’appliqueront aux marchandises en cause dédouanées par l’ASFC à compter de la date de conclusion. De plus, les déductions au prix à l’exportation déterminés dans le cadre de la présente révision peuvent être imposés sur toute entrée de marchandises en cause portée en appel qui n’a pas encore été révisée au moment de la clôture de la présente révision des prix à l’exportation.

Veuillez prendre note que les exportateurs ayant des valeurs normales sont requis d’aviser promptement par écris l’ASFC des changements des prix intérieurs, des coûts, de la situation du marché ou des conditions et canal de vente associés à la production et aux ventes des marchandises. Tous les parties sont mis en garde que lorsqu’il y a des augmentations dans les prix intérieurs et/ou les coûts comme indiqué ci‑dessus, le prix à l’exportation doit être augmenté en conséquence pour s’assurer que toute vente au Canada n’est simplement pas non seulement au‑dessus de la valeur normale mais aussi au‑dessus des prix de vente et des coûts complets et bénéfice des marchandises dans le marché intérieur de l’exportateur. Si les exportateurs n’avisent pas de façon appropriée l’ASFC de tels changements comme ils se doivent, n’ajustent pas les prix à l’exportation, ou ne fournissent pas les renseignements requis pour apporter les rectifications nécessaires aux valeurs normales et prix à l’exportation, l’imposition de cotisations rétroactives de droits antidumping peut être justifiée.

Lorsque des sociétés sont reliées, ceux‑ci sont avertis qu’elles doivent augmenter les prix de revente à leurs clients indépendants au Canada afin d'éviter le dumping secondaire. S'il est déterminé que la société a augmenté ses prix de vente au Canada aux niveaux nécessaires pour éliminer tout dumping secondaire, les prix à l'exportation seront calculés en vertu de l'article 24 de la LMSI. Des examens des prix continueraient d'être effectués pour s'assurer qu'un prix de vente approprié est maintenu sur le marché canadien. Toutefois, si à la suite d’un examen, il s'avère qu’une société se trouve toujours dans une situation de dumping secondaire, l'ASFC calculera à nouveau les prix à l'exportation et les marges de dumping en déduisant les droits antidumping déjà payés ou à payer de les prix à l'exportation préalablement déterminés. Cela se traduira par une augmentation des marges de dumping et par de cotisations rétroactives supplémentaires de droits antidumping.

Toute question concernant ce qui précède doit être adressée au :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Annexe 1 — définition du produit

Aux fins du présent réexamen, les marchandises en cause sont définies comme :

Transformateurs à liquide diélectrique avec une puissance admissible maximale égale ou supérieure à 60 000 kilovolts ampères (60 mégavolts ampères), assemblés ou non, complets ou incomplets, originaires ou exportés de la République de Corée.

Les transformateurs à liquide diélectrique avec une puissance admissible maximale égale ou supérieure à 60 000 kilovolts ampères (KVA) (60 mégavolts ampères (MVA)), assemblés ou non, complets ou non, sont appelés ci‑après des transformateurs de puissance.

Renseignements supplémentaires sur le produit

Les transformateurs de puissance incomplets sont des sous‑ensembles se composant d’une partie active et de toutes les autres parties qui y sont fixées, importées ou facturées avec la partie active des transformateurs de puissance. La partie active du transformateur de puissance se compose d’un ou de plusieurs des éléments suivants lorsqu’ils sont fixés à un autre ou sont autrement assemblés avec celui‑ci : le noyau ou l’enveloppe en acier, les bobinages, l’isolant électrique entre les bobinages et/ou le cadre mécanique pour un transformateur de puissance.

La définition du produit comprend tous les transformateurs de puissance, quelle que soit la désignation, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, les transformateurs élévateurs, les transformateurs abaisseurs, les auto‑transformateurs, les transformateurs d’interconnexion, les transformateurs de régulation de tension, les transformateurs de courant continu à haute tension et les transformateurs de rectification.

Information supplémentaire sur le produit

À partir du 1 janvier 2019, sous le tarif des douanes révisé, les marchandises en cause sont présentement classés sous les numéros de classement tarifaires suivants:

Les marchandises en cause non assemblées ou incomplètes peuvent aussi être importées sous les codes SH suivants :

Cette liste des numéros de classement tarifaire est fournie à titre de référence seulement. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour les détails faisant autorité concernant les marchandises en cause.

Date de modification :