UDS 2020 IN: Certain upholstered domestic seating
Notice of initiation of investigations

Ottawa, December 21, 2020

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) initiated investigations on December 21, 2020, under the Special Import Measures Act respecting the alleged injurious dumping and subsidizing of certain upholstered domestic seating from China and Vietnam. The investigations follows a complaint filed by Palliser Furniture Ltd. (Winnipeg, MB).

The subject goods are usually classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

The product definition as well as additional product information are contained in Appendix 1.

Additional information about the investigations will be available in a Statement of Reasons that will be available within 15 days on the CBSA’s website.

Officers’ names and contact information:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Appendix 1

Product definition

The subject goods are defined as:

Upholstered seating for domestic purposes originating in or exported from China and Vietnam, whether motion (including reclining, swivel and other motion features) or stationary, whether upholstered with a covering of leather (either full or partial), fabric (including leather-substitutes) or both, including, but not limited to seating such as sofas, chairs, loveseats, sofa‑beds, day‑beds, futons, ottomans, stools and home‑theatre seating (“HTS”).

Excluding:

  1. Stationary (i.e. non‑motion) seating upholstered only with fabric (rather than leather), even if the fabric is a leather substitute (such as leather‑like or leather‑look polyurethane or vinyl)
  2. dining table chairs or benches (with or without arms) that are manufactured for dining room end-use, which are commonly paired with dining table sets
  3. upholstered stools with a seating height greater than 24 inches (commonly referred to as “bar stools” or “counter stools”), with or without backs, and/or foldable
  4. seating manufactured for outdoor use (e.g. patio or swing chairs)
  5. bean bag seating and
  6. foldable or stackable seating

For greater certainty, the product definition includes:

  1. Upholstered motion seating with reclining, swivel, rocking, zero‑gravity, gliding, adjustable headrest, massage functions or similar functions
  2. seating with frames constructed from metal, wood or both
  3. seating produced as sectional items or parts of sectional items
  4. seating with or without arms, whether part of sectional items or not and
  5. foot rests and foot stools (with or without storage)

Additional product information

The term “upholstered” refers to leather, leather‑like and/or fabric cover material, which may be used in combination with padding and springs, to make a soft covering for the frame. This covering may be permanently (e.g. sewn) or semi‑permanently (e.g. with Velcro or ties) attached to the frame of the seating. Similarly, some or all the soft covering may also be removable from the frame of the seating in the form of loose cushions designed as an integral part of the seating, whether those cushions are on the seat, back or both parts of the chair.

The Subject Goods may be commercially described in a variety of ways based on various factors such as shape, style or purpose, including as “wedge chairs”, “lounge chairs”, “saucer chairs”, “bergere chairs”, “side chairs” and other non‑standard descriptions. The Subject Goods may be described as “occasional chairs”, which typically (though not always) means that they are living room chairs that are styled differently from a matching furniture set.

Other than “occasional chairs”, these descriptions do not have any industry standard meaning. These descriptive marketing terms may be used by manufacturers and retailers in different ways, such as one retailer calling a chair by one description, whereas another retailer calls a very similar chair by a different description. Conversely, two retailers may apply the same descriptive word to two relatively different chairs.

These descriptive words generally do not indicate any material differences in the nature of the goods or detract from the goods being Subject Goods. Notwithstanding the various descriptions, if the goods have the essential elements of the above definition (e.g. upholstered, seating, for domestic purposes, not expressly excluded), they are within the scope of Subject Goods.

For domestic purposes

Subject Goods are intended for domestic (i.e. residential) purposes and use. “For domestic purposes” in the product description is defined in the same way as “for domestic purposes” under Chapter 94 of the Customs Tariff Schedule and in accordance with Tribunal jurisprudence.

While the Subject Goods are primarily intended by producers and retailers for residential use as opposed to commercial applications, some Subject Goods may be occasionally used in commercial establishments by customers. The occasional end‑use of the Subject Goods within commercial settings does not detract from the primary intended use in domestic or residential settings, and such goods remain Subject Goods.

To determine whether the Subject Goods are primarily intended for domestic purposes, factors including the design, characteristics, marketing and pricing of the goods must be considered, which accords with Tribunal practice in interpreting the “for domestic use” qualification.

A key distinction between residential and commercial seating goods is that goods intended for commercial use are generally built to a higher specification in the types of materials used, such as the urethane quality and fabric durability, to withstand heavier use in busier settings like airports and concert halls. Additionally, producers and retailers market the Subject Goods online and on showroom floors as intended for home rather than business use and are priced lower relative to goods intended for business use.

Goods clearly designed and marketed for non‑domestic (i.e. commercial use purposes), such as in offices, business reception areas, restaurants, studios and other non‑residential applications, are not covered.

Upholstered seating product use and characteristics

The Subject Goods are designed for sitting or sleeping in residential settings. While the Subject Goods have common functions, there are some variations in their uses. For example, sofas that convert into sofa-beds are designed for sleeping in their fold out or extended configuration, whereas sofas, arm‑chairs and HTS are not specifically designed for sleeping purposes.

The Subject Goods are made of wood and/or steel tubular frames, with urethane foam inner material or padding that is covered in either fabric; genuine leather; a manufactured leather‑substitute; a combination of genuine leather and leather‑substitute (known as leather‑match).

The Subject Goods generally consist of the following components:

  1. Wood or metal frame: The goods are of either metal or wood frames. Metal frames are steel and/or aluminum. Material for wood frames includes solid wood, plywood or engineered materials such as oriented strand board (“OSB”) and particleboard
  2. Urethane foam: Foam is used for internal upholstery padding and can have various characteristics or be composed of several materials to create comfort inside the outer upholstery cover
  3. Cover material: The upholstery covering on the exterior of the seating is made up of leather or a leather‑like good, fabric, or a combination of leather and fabric
  4. Motion components: Complicated metal components and mechanisms are made from hot-rolled coil (“HRC”) and cold-rolled coil (“CRC”) steel used in motion furniture
  5. Miscellaneous parts and components: These items vary and may include webbing, fiber, springs, legs, zippers, etc. and are globally sourced

Particularly, leather or leather‑like cover material may consist of the following materials:

  1. Leather: Genuine leather is commercially known as ‘top grain’. The outer surface of the hide is processed with varying degrees of finish but based on the original outer surface
  2. Split leather: Leather processed in a tannery is typically split into the outer layer and a second layer known as ‘split’. This is genuine leather but given a manufactured surface. Split leather is less strong structurally, is less expensive and may be used on the sides or back of furniture where strength is not a factor
  3. Bicast: Split leather that is covered with a film of some kind of plastic to provide a look and a more durable surface
  4. Bonded leather: This is a leather-substitute such as polyurethane that has leather shavings glued to the back. The leather shavings cannot be seen or felt, and add very little to the cost compared to a pure leather substitute product. The shavings are used as a marketing strategy to allow for the use of the word ‘leather’
  5. Leather match: An upholstered product that combines the use of real or top grain leather together with a leather substitute such as vinyl or polyurethane on the same item. Normally the leather is used on surfaces that can be touched by the consumer or are more visible. The leather substitute will be produced to look as identical as possible to genuine leather and is used on the side or back of the product. This combination is done to reduce cost and leather match products are typically less expensive than comparable pure leather products
  6. Leather substitutes: These are covering materials constructed from polyurethane, vinyl or other chemicals that may be constructed as a sheet of material or as a textile but in all case designed to create the feel or visual look of leather. They are typically less expensive than a comparable product containing any degree of leather

Leather cover material goods refer to goods falling into categories (a) – (e), and “leather‑like” goods is synonymous with leather-substitutes in category (e). Most customers cannot readily distinguish between leather and leather‑like goods.

Fabric cover material goods refer to goods that may consist of wool, cotton, nylon, polyester, acrylic, rayon or a combination thereof, which may be in any color.

The Subject Goods and domestically produced like goods (together “Upholstered Domestic Seating”) may be ordered to be custom built for a customer, which usually includes the choice of cover material and sometimes some technical features in motion furniture.

Date modified:

UDS 2020 IN : Certains sièges domestiques rembourrés
Avis d’ouverture d’enquêtes

Ottawa, le 16 décembre 2020

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a ouvert des enquêtes le 21 décembre 2020, en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation concernant les présumés dumping et subventionnement dommageables de certains sièges domestiques rembourrés de la Chine et du Vietnam. Les enquêtes ont été ouvertes à la suite d’une plainte déposée par Palliser Furniture Ltd. (Winnipeg au Manitoba).

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivants :

La définition du produit ainsi que des renseignements supplémentaires sur le produit se trouvent à l’Annexe 1.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les enquêtes dans l’Énoncé des motifs qui sera disponible d’ici 15 jours sur le site web de l’ASFC.

Nom et coordonnée de l'agente responsable :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Annexe 1

Définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme étant des :

Sièges rembourrés pour usage domestique, originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine et de la République socialiste du Vietnam, qu’ils soient mobiles (notamment inclinables, pivotants et autres) ou stationnaires, avec recouvrement en cuir (entier ou partiel), tissu (notamment cuir synthétique) ou les deux, y compris canapés, fauteuils, causeuses, canapés‑lits, lits de repos, futons, ottomans, tabourets et sièges de cinéma maison.

Sont exclus :

  1. sièges stationnaires (c.‑à‑d. non mobiles) rembourrés en tissu uniquement (plutôt qu’en cuir), même si le tissu est un cuir synthétique (polyuréthane ou vinyle similicuir ou imitation cuir)
  2. chaises ou banquettes (avec ou sans bras) destinées à être utilisées dans la salle à manger, souvent jumelées avec des ensembles de table de salle à manger
  3. tabourets rembourrés dont le siège est à plus de 24 pouces de hauteur (de type bar ou comptoir), avec ou sans dossier, et/ou pliables
  4. sièges destinés à être utilisés à l’extérieur (p. ex. chaises de patio ou balançoires)
  5. sièges‑sacs et
  6. sièges pliables ou empilables

Il est entendu que la définition du produit comprend :

  1. sièges mobiles rembourrés, inclinables, pivotants, à bascule, « zéro gravité », coulissants, avec appuie‑tête réglable, fonctions de massage ou fonctions similaires
  2. sièges dont le cadre est fabriqué en métal, bois ou les deux
  3. sièges produits en modules ou parties de modules
  4. sièges avec ou sans bras, qu’ils fassent partie de modules ou non et
  5. repose‑pieds et tabourets de pied (avec ou sans rangement)

Précisions

Le terme « rembourré » se rapporte au matériau de couverture en cuir, similicuir et/ou tissu qui peut être utilisé en combinaison avec des coussinets et des ressorts afin de créer un recouvrement souple pour le cadre. Ce recouvrement peut être fixé en permanence (p. ex. cousu) ou semi‑permanence (p. ex. avec des bandes Velcro ou attaches) au cadre du siège. De même, une partie ou l’ensemble du recouvrement souple peut être enlevé du cadre sous forme de coussins amovibles conçus pour faire partie intégrante du siège, qu’il s’agisse de coussins de siège, de dos ou des deux.

Les marchandises en cause peuvent être décrites sur le plan commercial de diverses façons en fonction de facteurs comme la taille, le style ou l’objet, y compris « fauteuils en coin », « fauteuils inclinables », « fauteuils papasan », « fauteuils à oreilles », « fauteuils d’appoint » et autres descriptions non standard. Elles peuvent être dites « d’appoint », ce qui d’habitude (mais pas toujours) signifie qu’il s’agit de fauteuils de salle de séjour dont le style diffère d’un ensemble de meubles assortis.

Mis à part les « fauteuils d’appoint », ces descriptions ne sont pas normalisées à l’échelle de l’industrie. Ces termes descriptifs de commercialisation peuvent être employés de différentes façons par les fabricants et les détaillants. Par exemple, un détaillant peut désigner un fauteuil par une description donnée, tandis qu’un autre détaillant désigne un fauteuil très similaire par une description différente. Inversement, deux détaillants peuvent appliquer le même terme descriptif à deux fauteuils relativement différents.

En règle générale, ces termes descriptifs ne dénotent pas de différences importantes dans la nature même des marchandises ou n’excluent pas celles‑ci en tant que marchandises en cause. Nonobstant les diverses descriptions, si les marchandises correspondent aux éléments essentiels de la définition ci‑dessus (p. ex. sièges, rembourrés, pour usage domestique, non expressément exclus), elles constituent des marchandises en cause.

Pour usage domestique

Les marchandises en cause sont destinées à un usage domestique (c.‑à‑d. résidentiel). Le terme « pour usage domestique » tel qu’employé dans la description du produit se définit de la même façon que dans le Chapitre 94 de l’Annexe du Tarif des douanes et la jurisprudence du Tribunal.

Bien que les marchandises en cause soient surtout destinées à un usage résidentiel par les producteurs et les détaillants (par opposition à des applications commerciales), il est possible que certaines d’entre elles soient utilisées dans des établissements commerciaux par les clients. L’utilisation ultime occasionnelle des marchandises en cause dans un cadre commercial n’empêche pas que ces marchandises demeurent principalement destinées à être utilisées dans un cadre domestique ou résidentiel, et soient toujours des marchandises en cause.

Pour déterminer si les marchandises en cause sont surtout destinées à un usage domestique, il faut tenir compte de facteurs comme la conception, les caractéristiques, la commercialisation et le prix des marchandises, conformément à l’interprétation du Tribunal du terme « pour usage domestique ».

Une différence clé entre les sièges résidentiels et les sièges commerciaux est que les marchandises destinées à un usage commercial sont généralement fabriquées selon une spécification supérieure pour ce qui est des types de matériaux utilisés (p. ex. qualité de l’uréthane et durabilité du tissu) afin de les rendre plus résistantes pour des milieux occupés comme les aéroports et les salles de concert. De plus, les producteurs et les détaillants commercialisent les marchandises en cause en ligne et dans le commerce en tant que marchandises destinées à un usage résidentiel (par opposition à commercial) et proposent un prix inférieur à celui des marchandises destinées à un usage commercial.

Les marchandises qui sont clairement conçues et commercialisées pour un usage non domestique (c.‑à‑d. pour usage commercial), par exemple les bureaux, les aires d’accueil de commerces, les restaurants, les studios et les autres applications non résidentielles, ne sont pas visées.

Utilisation et caractéristiques des sièges rembourrés

Les marchandises en cause sont conçues pour s’asseoir ou dormir dans un cadre résidentiel. Même si elles ont des fonctions communes, elles présentent certaines variations d’utilisation. Par exemple, les canapés‑lits se convertissent en lits lorsqu’ils sont dépliés ou déployés, tandis que les canapés, les fauteuils et les sièges de cinéma maison ne sont pas expressément conçus pour dormir.

Les marchandises en cause sont constituées de cadres en bois et/ou tubes métalliques, avec matériau ou rembourrage recouvert de tissu, de cuir véritable, de cuir synthétique manufacturé ou d’une combinaison de cuir véritable et de cuir synthétique (appelée « leather‑match »).

Les marchandises en cause contiennent généralement les composants suivants :

  1. Cadre en bois ou métal – Les marchandises sont constituées de cadres en bois ou métal. Les cadres métalliques sont en acier et/ou aluminium. Les matériaux des cadres en bois comprennent le bois massif, le contreplaqué ou les matériaux fabriqués comme les panneaux de lamelles orientées (OSB) et les panneaux de particules
  2. Mousse d’uréthane – La mousse sert de rembourrage intérieur et peut avoir diverses caractéristiques ou se composer de plusieurs matériaux visant à rendre confortable le recouvrement de rembourrage extérieur
  3. Matériau de couverture – Le recouvrement de rembourrage extérieur des sièges est constitué de cuir ou de similicuir, de tissu ou d’une combinaison de cuir et de tissu
  4. Composants mobiles – Les composants et mécanismes métalliques complexes sont faits de bobines d’acier laminé à chaud et à froid utilisées dans les meubles mobiles
  5. Parties et composants divers – Ces articles variés, qui peuvent comprendre sangles, fibres, ressorts, pattes, fermetures à glissière, etc., proviennent de l’étranger

En particulier, le matériau de couverture en cuir ou similicuir peut contenir les matériaux suivants :

  1. Cuir – Le cuir véritable est connu dans le commerce comme le cuir « côté fleur ». La surface extérieure de la peau reçoit un traitement de finition variable, mais conservant son caractère original
  2. Cuir fendu – Le cuir traité en tannerie est normalement fendu pour obtenir une couche extérieure et une deuxième couche appelée « refente ». Il s’agit de cuir véritable auquel on donne une surface manufacturée. Le cuir fendu a une structure moins solide, il est moins cher, et il peut être utilisé sur les côtés ou le dos de meubles, où la solidité n’est pas un facteur
  3. Bycast – Le cuir fendu est recouvert d’une pellicule de matière plastique quelconque pour lui donner l’aspect recherché et une surface plus durable
  4. Cuir reconstitué – Il s’agit d’un cuir synthétique, comme le polyuréthane, au dos duquel sont collées des dérayures du cuir. Les dérayures ne peuvent être ni vues ni palpées, et ajoutent très peu au coût par rapport à un substitut de cuir véritable. Elles sont utilisées dans le cadre d’une stratégie de commercialisation visant à permettre l’emploi du mot « cuir »
  5. Leather‑match – Il s’agit d’un produit rembourré qui combine cuir véritable ou « côté fleur » et cuir synthétique comme le vinyle ou le polyuréthane. Le cuir est normalement utilisé sur les surfaces pouvant être touchées par le consommateur, ou plus visibles, tandis que le cuir synthétique est fabriqué de manière à ressembler le plus possible au cuir véritable, et est utilisé sur le côté ou le dos du produit. Puisque cette combinaison permet de réduire le coût, les produits « leather‑match » se vendent généralement moins cher que les produits comparables uniquement en cuir
  6. Cuir synthétique – Les matériaux de couverture sont le polyuréthane, le vinyle ou d’autres produits chimiques, ils peuvent prendre la forme d’une toile ou d’un tissu et, dans tous les cas, ils sont conçus pour reproduire l’aspect tactile ou visuel du cuir. Les produits en cuir synthétique sont normalement moins cher que les produits comparables uniquement en cuir

Le terme « cuir » s’entend des matériaux relevant des catégories a) à e), tandis que le terme « similicuir » est synonyme du « cuir synthétique » de la catégorie f). La plupart des clients ne font pas facilement la distinction entre les produits en cuir et ceux en similicuir.

Le matériau de couverture en tissu s’entend de la laine, du coton, du nylon, du polyester, de l’acrylique, de la rayonne, etc. ou d’une combinaison de tissus, de toute couleur.

Les marchandises en cause et les marchandises similaires de production nationale (collectivement « les sièges domestiques rembourrés ») peuvent être commandées sur mesure pour un client, qui peut d’habitude choisir le matériau de couverture et parfois certaines fonctions techniques des meubles mobiles.

Date de modification :