Certain concrete reinforcing bar - RB3 2020 IN
Notice of initiation of investigation

Ottawa, September 22, 2020

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) initiated an investigation on September 22, 2020, under the Special Import Measures Act respecting the alleged injurious dumping of certain concrete reinforcing bar from the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Republic of Indonesia, the Italian Republic, the Federation of Malaysia, the Republic of Singapore and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. The investigation follows a complaint filed by AltaSteel Inc. (Edmonton, AB), ArcelorMittal Long Products Canada, G.P. (Contrecoeur, QC) and Gerdau Ameristeel Corporation (Whitby, ON).

The subject goods are usually classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

In some instances, imports of the subject goods may also be classified under the tariff classification numbers:

The product definition as well as additional product information are contained in Appendix 1.

Additional information about the investigation will be available in a Statement of Reasons that will be available within 15 days on the CBSA’s website at: www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima.

Officers’ names and contact information:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Appendix 1

Product definition

The subject goods are defined as:

“Hot rolled deformed steel concrete reinforcing bar in straight lengths or coils, commonly identified as rebar, in various diameters up to and including 56.4 millimeters, in various finishes, excluding plain round bar and fabricated rebar products, originating in or exported the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Republic of Indonesia, the Italian Republic, the Federation of Malaysia, the Republic of Singapore and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.”

Also excluded is “10 mm diameter (10M) rebar produced to meet the requirements of CSA G30 18.09 (or equivalent standards) and coated to meet the requirements of epoxy standard ASTM A775/A 775M 04a (or equivalent standards) in lengths from 1 foot (30.48 cm) up to and including 8 feet (243.84 cm).”

Additional product information

For further clarity, the subject goods include all hot rolled deformed bar, rolled from billet steel, rail steel, axle steel, low alloy‑steel and other alloy steel that does not comply with the definition of stainless steel.

Uncoated rebar, sometimes referred to as black rebar, is generally used for projects in non corrosive environments where anti‑corrosion coatings are not required. On the other hand, anti corrosion coated rebar is used in concrete projects that are subjected to corrosive environments, such as road salt. Examples of anti corrosion coated rebar are epoxy or hot dip galvanized rebar. The subject goods include uncoated rebar and rebar that has a coating or finish applied.

Fabricated rebar products are generally engineered using Computer Automated Design programs, and are made to the customer’s unique project requirements. The fabricated rebar products are normally finished with either a protective or corrosion resistant coating. Rebar that is simply cut to length is not considered to be a fabricated rebar product excluded from the definition of subject goods.

Date modified:

Certaines barres d’armature pour béton - RB3 2020 IN
Avis d’ouverture d'une d’enquête

Ottawa, le 22 septembre 2020

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a ouvert une enquête le 22 septembre 2020, en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation concernant le présumé dumping dommageable de certaines barres d’armature pour béton de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire, de la République Arabe d’Égypte, de la République d’Indonésie, de la République Italienne, de la Fédération de Malaisie, de la République de Singapour et de la République Socialiste du Vietnam. L’enquête a été ouverte à la suite d’une plainte déposée par AltaSteel Inc. (Edmonton, AB), ArcelorMittal Long Products Canada, G.P. (Contrecoeur, QC) et Gerdau Ameristeel Corporation (Whitby, ON).

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classés sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivants :

Dans certains cas, les importations des marchandises en cause peuvent aussi être classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaires :

La définition du produit ainsi que des renseignements supplémentaires sur le produit se trouvent à l’Annexe 1.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur l’enquête dans l’Énoncé des motifs qui sera disponible d’ici 15 jours sur le site web de l’ASFC au : www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/lmsi.

Nom et coordonnée de l'agent responsable :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Annexe 1

Définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme étant des :

Barres d'armature crénelées pour béton en acier, laminées à chaud, en longueurs droites ou sous forme de bobines, souvent identifiées comme armature, de différents diamètres jusqu'à 56,4 millimètres inclusivement, de finitions différentes, excluant les barres rondes ordinaires et les produits de barres d’armature fabriqués, originaires ou exportées de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire, de la République Arabe d’Égypte, de la République d’Indonésie, de la République Italienne, de la Fédération de Malaisie, de la République de Singapour et de la République Socialiste du Vietnam.

Sont aussi exclues « les armatures d’un diamètre de 10 mm (10M) produites selon la norme CSA G30 18.09 (ou selon des normes équivalentes) et revêtues de résine époxyde selon la norme ASTM A775/A 775M 04a (ou selon des normes équivalentes) en longueurs de 1 pied (30,48 cm) jusques et y compris 8 pieds (243,84 cm). »

Renseignements supplémentaires sur le produit

Pour plus de clarté, les marchandises en cause incluent toutes les barres à haute adhérence laminées à chaud, laminées en acier à billettes, en acier à rail, en acier d’essieu, en acier faiblement allié et autre acier allié qui ne correspondent pas aux exigences de la définition de l’acier inoxydable.

Les barres d’armature nues, parfois appelées barres d’armature noires, sont généralement utilisées pour des projets dans les environnements à l'épreuve de la corrosion ou les revêtements anticorrosifs ne sont pas nécessaires. D’un autre côté, les barres d’armature avec revêtement anticorrosif sont utilisées pour des projets de béton qui sont exposés à des environnements corrosifs, comme le sel voirie. Des exemples de revêtement anticorrosif pour les barres d’armature sont l’époxy ou les barres d’armature galvanisées à chaud. Les marchandises en cause incluent la barre d’armature nue et la barre d’armature munie d’un revêtement ou d’un fini.

Les produits de barres d’armature fabriqués sont généralement conçus à partir de programmes de conception automatisée par ordinateur et sont fabriqués sur mesure pour les besoins précis du projet d’un client. Ils ont habituellement un revêtement protecteur ou anticorrosif. Les barres d’armature qui sont simplement coupées à longueur ne sont pas considérées comme des produits fabriqués et correspondent ainsi à la définition des marchandises en cause.

Date de modification :