Heavy plate - HP 2020 IN
Notice of initiation of investigation

Ottawa, May 27, 2020

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) initiated an investigation, on May 27, 2020, under the Special Import Measures Act respecting the alleged injurious dumping of certain hot‑rolled carbon steel heavy plate and high‑strength low‑alloy steel heavy plate from the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu (Chinese Taipei), Germany, South Korea, Malaysia, and Turkey. The investigation follows a complaint filed by Algoma Steel Inc.

The subject goods are usually imported under the following tariff classification numbers:

The product definition as well as additional product information are contained in Appendix 1.

Additional information about the investigation will be available in a Statement of Reasons that will be available within 15 days on the CBSA’s website at: www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/i-e/menu-eng.html.

Officers’ names and contact information:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Appendix 1

Product definition

The subject goods are defined as:

Hot‑rolled carbon steel plate and high‑strength low‑alloy steel plate not further manufactured than hot‑rolled, heat‑treated or not, in cut lengths, in widths greater than 72 inches (+/‑ 1829 mm) to 152 inches (+/‑ 3,860 mm) inclusive, and thicknesses from 0.375 inches (+/‑ 9.525 mm) up to and including 4.5 inches (+/‑ 114.3 mm) (with all dimensions being plus or minus allowable tolerances contained in the applicable standards), but excluding:

For greater certainty, the subject goods include steel plate which contains alloys greater than required by recognized industry standards, provided the steel does not meet recognized industry standards for an alloy‑grade steel plate.

Additional product information

Plate is produced to specific grades and standardizations. These grades and standardizations are used for specific end‑uses. Common standardizations include American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME), and American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). For example, ASTM/ASME A36, A283, A573 or A709 may be used for structural plate, which is used in a variety of construction applications. Plate meeting A515 and A516M/A516, grade 70 is used for the construction of pressure vessels, which hold gasses or liquids at high pressure.

Pressure vessel quality plate may be vacuum degassed to achieve desired characteristics, in particular low sulfur, low carbon, low gaseous levels (H2, N2, 02), improved cleanliness and improved ferro alloy recovery. Such characteristics may be used in sour service applications and applications requiring hydrogen‑induced cracking (HIC) resistance low temperature fracture toughness.

Some of these gauges and specifications, as well as specific lengths and widths, command an price extra.

Date modified:

Tôles fortes - HP 2020 IN
Avis d’ouverture d’une enquête

Ottawa, le 27 mai 2020

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a ouvert une enquête, le 27 mai 2020, en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation concernant le présumé dumping de certaines tôles fortes d’acier au carbone et tôles fortes d’acier allié résistant à faible teneur, laminées à chaud du Territoire douanier distinct de Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen, Matsu (Taipei chinois), d'Allemagne, de la Corée du Sud, de la Malaisie et de la Turquie. L’enquête a été ouverte à la suite d’une plainte déposée par Algoma Steel Inc.

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement importées sous les numéros de classement tarifaire suivants :

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur l’enquête dans l’Énoncé des motifs qui sera disponible d’ici 15 jours sur le site web de l’ASFC à : www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/i-e/menu-fra.html.

La définition du produit ainsi que des renseignements additionnels sur le produit se trouvent à l’Annexe 1.

Nom et coordonnées des agents responsables :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Annexe 1

Définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme :

Tôles d’acier au carbone et tôles d’acier allié résistant à faible teneur, laminées à chaud, n’ayant subi aucun autre complément d’ouvraison que le laminage à chaud, traitées thermiquement ou non, coupées à longueur, d’une largeur plus grande que 72 pouces (+/‑ 1 829 mm) à 152 pouces (+/‑ 3 860 mm) inclusivement, et d’une épaisseur variant de 0,375 pouce (+/‑ 9,525 mm) jusqu’à 4,5 pouces (114,3 mm) inclusivement (dont les dimensions sont plus ou moins exactes afin de tenir compte des tolérances admissibles incluses dans les normes applicables), à l’exclusion :

Il demeure entendu que les marchandises en cause incluent des tôles d’acier qui contiennent de l’acier allié en plus grande quantité que ce qui est toléré selon les normes de l’industrie à condition que l’acier ne réponde pas aux exigences des normes de l’industrie en matière de nuance d’alliage de tôle d’acier.

Renseignements additionnels sur le produit

Les tôles sont produites selon des nuances et des normes spécifiques. Ces nuances et normes sont destinées à des utilisations finales spécifiques. Les normes communes comprennent celles de l’American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME) et de l’American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). Par exemple, les normes ASTM/ASME A36, A283, A573 ou A709 peuvent être destinées aux tôles de construction, qui sont utilisées dans diverses applications de construction. Les tôles répondant aux normes A515 et A516M/A516, nuance 70, servent à la construction d’appareils sous pression, qui contiennent des gaz ou des liquides sous haute pression.

Les tôles de qualité pour appareils sous pression peuvent être dégazées sous vide pour obtenir les caractéristiques souhaitées, en particulier une faible teneur en soufre, en carbone et en gaz (H2, N2, 02), une meilleure propreté et une meilleure récupération des ferro‑alliages. Ces caractéristiques peuvent être utilisées dans des applications de transport des fluides acides et des applications nécessitant une résistance à la fissuration par l’hydrogène (HIC) et à la fracture à basse température.

Certaines de ces jauges et spécifications, ainsi que des longueurs et largeurs spécifiques, commandent un supplément de prix.

Date de modification :