SUG 2020 ER: Refined sugar
Expiry review determination

Ottawa, March 1, 2021

On October 2, 2020, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT), pursuant to Subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), initiated an expiry review of its orders made on October 30, 2015, in Expiry Review No. RR‑2014‑006, continuing, with amendment, its findings made on November 6, 1995, in Inquiry No. NQ‑95‑002, concerning the dumping of refined sugar, originating in or exported from the United States of America, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom and the subsidizing of refined sugar originating in or exported from the European Union.

As a result, on October 5, 2020, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) initiated an expiry review investigation to determine whether the expiry of the orders is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and/or subsidizing of the subject goods.

The investigation has now been completed and today, pursuant to paragraph 76.03(7)(a) of SIMA, the CBSA has determined that the expiry of the orders:

  1. is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping of such goods originating in or exported from the United States of America
  2. is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping of such goods originating in or exported from Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom and
  3. is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of subsidizing of such goods originating in or exported from the European Union

A Statement of Reasons that contains additional details concerning this decision will be available within 15 days.

The CITT will now conduct an inquiry to determine whether the expiry of its orders is likely to result in injury to the Canadian industry, and has announced that it will issue its decision no later than August 6, 2021.

Questions relating to the CBSA’s determination should be addressed to the following officers:

Email: simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date modified:

SUG 2020 ER : Sucre raffiné
Décision concernant un réexamen relatif à l’expiration

Ottawa, le 1 mars 2021

Le 2 octobre 2020, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE), conformément au paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), a ouvert un réexamen relatif à l’expiration de ses ordonnances rendues le 30 octobre 2015, dans le cadre du réexamen relatif à l’expiration no RR‑2014‑006, prorogeant, avec modification, ses conclusions rendues le 6 novembre 1995, dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ‑95‑002, concernant le dumping du sucre raffiné originaire ou exporté des États‑Unis d’Amérique, du Danemark, de la République Fédérale d’Allemagne, des Pays‑Bas et du Royaume‑Uni et du subventionnement du sucre raffiné originaire ou exporté de l’Union européenne.

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a donc ouvert sa propre enquête le 5 octobre 2020 pour déterminer si l’expiration des ordonnances concernant les marchandises en question causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et(ou) subventionnement.

Cette enquête est maintenant terminée. L’ASFC a rendu aujourd’hui en vertu de l’alinéa 76.03(7)a) de la LMSI une décision comme quoi l’expiration des ordonnances, selon toute vraisemblance :

  1. causera la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping de ces marchandises originaires ou exportées des États‑Unis d’Amérique
  2. causera la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping de ces marchandises originaires ou exportées du Danemark, de la République Fédérale d’Allemagne, des Pays‑Bas et du Royaume Uni et
  3. causera la poursuite ou la reprise du subventionnement de ces marchandises originaires ou exportées de l’Union européenne

Un Énoncé des motifs contenant de plus amples renseignements sur cette décision sera publié d’ici 15 jours.

Le TCCE va maintenant enquêter pour savoir si l’expiration de ses ordonnances causera vraisemblablement un dommage à la branche de production nationale. Le TCCE a annoncé que sa décision sera rendue d’ici le 6 août 2021.

Les questions ayant trait à la décision de l’ASFC doivent être adressées à l’agent suivant :

Courriel : simaregistry-depotlmsi@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date de modification :