Photovoltaic modules and laminates - SML 2020 ER
Notice of initiation of expiry review investigation

Ottawa, May 22, 2020

On May 21, 2020, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT), pursuant to subsection 76.03(3) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA), initiated an expiry review of its finding made on July 3, 2015, in Inquiry Number NQ‑2014‑003, concerning the dumping and subsidizing of certain photovoltaic modules and laminates originating in or exported from China.

As a result of the CITT’s expiry review, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has today initiated an expiry review investigation to determine, pursuant to paragraph 76.03(7)(a) of SIMA, whether the expiry of the finding is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and/or subsidizing of the subject goods. The CBSA will make a determination no later than October 16, 2020, and will issue a Statement of Reasons by October 30, 2020.

The subject goods are “Photovoltaic modules and laminates consisting of crystalline silicon photovoltaic cells, including laminates shipped or packaged with other components of photovoltaic modules, and thin‑film photovoltaic products produced from amorphous silicon (a‑Si), cadmium telluride (CdTe), or copper indium gallium selenide (CIGS), originating in or exported from the People's Republic of China, excluding:

modules, laminates or thin‑film products with a power output not exceeding 100W, 195W monocrystalline photovoltaic modules made of 72 monocrystalline cells, each cell being no more than 5 inches in width and height; and also excluding modules, laminates or thin‑film products incorporated into electrical goods where the function of the electrical goods is other than power generation and these electrical goods consume the electricity generated by the photovoltaic product”

The subject goods are normally classified under the following tariff classification number:

This listing of tariff classification numbers is for convenience of reference only. Refer to the product definition for authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

As part of its expiry review investigation, the CBSA has solicited responses to questionnaires from Canadian producers, importers and exporters. Any Canadian producers, importers or exporters who have not received a letter from the CBSA who wish to provide a response to the questionnaire are advised to contact the CBSA SIMA Registry and Disclosure Unit at the email address included below. Responses to all questionnaires are due at the CBSA SIMA Registry and Disclosure Unit’s email address by June 29, 2020.

A detailed schedule for the investigation is available at: www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-eng.html.

Questions relating to the expiry review should be addressed to:

  • Shawn Ryan: 902‑943‑1849
  • Jacob Saulnier: 613‑957‑0025

Email:

Date modified:

Modules et laminés photovoltaïques - SML 2020 ER
Avis d'ouverture d'un réexamen relatif à l'expiration

Ottawa, le 22 mai 2020

Le 21 mai 2020, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE), conformément au paragraphe 76.03(3) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI), a ouvert un réexamen relatif à l’expiration de ses conclusions rendues le 3 juillet 2015, dans le cadre de l’enquête no NQ‑2014‑003, concernant le dumping et le subventionnement de certains modules et laminés photovoltaïques originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine.

À la suite de l’examen relatif à l’expiration du TCCE, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a ouvert aujourd’hui une enquête afin de déterminer, en vertu de l’alinéa 76.03(7)a) de la LMSI, si l’expiration des conclusions occasionnera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping et/ou du subventionnement des marchandises en cause. L’ASFC rendra une décision au plus tard le 16 octobre 2020, et publiera un Énoncé des motifs d’ici le 30 octobre 2020.

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme « Modules et laminés photovoltaïques composés de cellules en silicium cristallin, y compris les laminés expédiés et emballés avec d’autres composantes de modules photovoltaïques, et produits photovoltaïques à film mince faits en silicium amorphe (a‑Si), tellurure de cadmium (CdTe) ou séléniure de cuivre, d’indium et de gallium (CIGS), originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine, à l’exception :

modules, laminés ou produits à film mince d'une puissance utile n'excédant pas 100W, les modules photovoltaïques monocristallins de 195W composés de 72 cellules monocristallines, dont chaque cellule a une largeur et une hauteur n'excédant pas 5 pouces et des modules, laminés ou produits à film mince intégrés dans des appareils électriques dont la fonction est autre que la production d'électricité et que ces appareils électriques consomment l'électricité générée par le produit photovoltaïque. »

Les marchandises en cause sont habituellement classées sous le numéro de classement tarifaire suivant :

Le numéro de classement tarifaire est fourni à titre de référence seulement. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour obtenir les renseignements qui font autorité à l’égard des marchandises en cause.

Dans le cadre de son enquête de réexamen relatif à l’expiration, l’ASFC sollicite des réponses aux questionnaires relatif à l’expiration aux producteurs canadiens, aux importateurs et aux exportateurs. Les producteurs canadiens, les importateurs ou les exportateurs qui n’ont pas reçu une lettre de l’ASFC qui souhaitent apporter une réponse au questionnaires sont priés de communiquer avec le Centre de dépôt et de communication des documents de la LMSI de l’AFSC, à l’adresse de courriel ci‑dessous. Les réponses aux questionnaires doivent être reçues à l’adresse courriel du Centre de dépôt et de communication des documents de la LMSI d’ici le 29 juin 2020.

Un calendrier détaillé de l’enquête est disponible à : www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/sima-lmsi/er-rre/menu-fra.html.

Toutes questions en lien avec le réexamen doivent être adressées à :

  • Jacob Saulnier : 613‑957‑0025

Courriel :

Date de modification :