Rules of Origin Respecting Caribcan

Memorandum D11-4-5

Ottawa,

This document is also available in PDF (356 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

1. This memorandum has been revised in order to provide a link to the official version of the Commonwealth Caribbean Countries Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations. The Commonwealth Caribbean Countries Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations are no longer fully excerpted in this memorandum.

2. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum contains a link to the official version of the Commonwealth Caribbean Countries Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations. The memorandum also contains guidelines regarding the proof of origin and shipping requirements for the Commonwealth Caribbean Countries tariff treatment (CCCT).

Legislation

The official version of the Commonwealth Caribbean Countries Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations may be found on the Department of Justice website.


Guidelines and General Information

General

1. CCCT beneficiary countries are set out in the List of Countries of the Customs Tariff and are noted by an asterisk (*).

Rules of Origin

2. To qualify for the duty-free tariff treatment accorded to Commonwealth Caribbean countries, a good must be:

  • (a) "wholly obtained or produced" as defined in section 2(1) of the Commonwealth Caribbean Countries Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations ("Regulations") or,
  • (b) as set out in section (2) of the Regulations, at least 60% of the ex-factory price of the goods as packed for shipment to Canada must originate in one or more beneficiary countries or Canada.

3. The 60% qualifying content may be cumulated from various beneficiary countries or Canada.

4. The goods must be finished in the beneficiary country in the form in which they were imported into Canada.

Proof of Origin

5. For all originating goods from CCCT beneficiary countries a Form A - Certificate of Origin(Appendix A) or an Exporter's Statement of Origin (Appendix B) must be submitted as proof of origin. The exporter in the beneficiary country in which the goods were finished must complete and sign the proof of origin as outlined in Section 4 of the Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations found in Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin.

6. Proof of origin must be presented at the times set out in section 13 of the Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations as found in Memorandum D11-4-2. Failure to do so will result in the application of Administrative Monetary Penalty C152, "Importer or owner of goods failed to furnish proof of origin upon request."

Shipping Requirements

7. The goods must be shipped directly from a beneficiary country to a consignee in Canada on a through bill of lading (TBL).

8. Transhipment through any intermediate country is allowed provided:

  • (a) the goods remain under customs transit control in the intermediate country;
  • (b) the goods do not undergo any operation in the intermediate country other than unloading, reloading, splitting up of loads, or operations required to keep the goods in good condition;
  • (c) the goods do not enter into trade or consumption in the intermediate country; and
  • (d) the goods do not remain in temporary storage in the intermediate country for a period exceeding six months.

Additional Information

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix A - Form A - Certificate of Origin

Sample - Form A - Certificate of Origin - Page 1

Instructions on the Completion of Form A - Certificate of Origin

General Preferential Tariff (GPT) - If the 60% ex-factory price is not satisfied, or is not supported by adequate documentation, the goods are not eligible for the GPT and a Form A should not be issued for such goods.

Least Developed Country Tariff (LDCT) - If the 40% ex-factory price is not satisfied, or is not supported by adequate documentation, the goods are not eligible for the LDCT and a Form  A should not be issued for such goods.

In order for a Form A to be accepted by the CBSA, it must be properly completed, as follows:

Field No. 1 - Complete with the name, address, and country of the actual manufacturer or exporter of the goods. Please do not identify a trading house, freight forwarder, export broker, etc. The manufacturer or exporter must be located in the GPT or LDCT beneficiary country in which the goods are being certified.

Field No. 2 - Identify the consignee (name and address) in Canada.

Field No. 3 - The CBSA does not consider this a mandatory field, but you may indicate the shipping details, as far as known when Form A is completed.

Field No. 4 - This field is usually left blank. However, if Form A is issued after the goods have already been shipped, stamp or write "Issued Retrospectively."

Field No. 5 - This field is not mandatory for goods exported to Canada. It is usually used to itemize goods if Form A covers two or more categories of goods (for example, items 1, 2, 3 or items a, b, c).

Field No. 6 - If the goods are crated or otherwise packaged, indicate the quantity of packages or crates. Also indicate any markings on the crates that will be useful in cross-referencing Form A to the Through Bill of Lading so that the CBSA officers can establish that the form covers the goods that are physically imported.

Field No. 7 - Describe the goods fully. Indicate makes, models, styles, serial numbers, or any other relevant description. It is in the exporter's interest to give as full a description as possible. The CBSA will not accept a Form A that cannot be matched with the imported goods due to a vague description. It is also helpful to show the Harmonized System subheading of the goods in this field.

Field No. 8 - The origin criterion shown must be one of the following:

P means 100% of the goods produced in the GPT or LDCT beneficiary country in question;

F for GPT, means, at least 60% of the ex-factory price is produced in the GPT beneficiary country;

F for LDCT, means, at least 40% of the ex-factory price is produced in the LDCT beneficiary country. The existing 40% of the ex-factory price of the goods as packed for shipment to Canada may also include a value of up to 20% of the ex-factory price of the goods from countries eligible for GPT.

G for GPT, means at least 60% of the ex-factory price was cumulatively produced in more than one GPT beneficiary country or Canada.

G for LDCT, means at least 40% of the ex-factory price was cumulatively produced in more than one LDCT beneficiary country or Canada. The existing 40% of the ex-factory price of the goods as packed for shipment to Canada may also include a value of up to 20% of the ex-factory price of the goods from countries eligible for GPT.

If any criterion other than P, G, or F is shown for goods exported to Canada, it will be assumed that the goods do not satisfy the Canadian GPT or LDCT rules of origin and they will not receive any tariff preference.

Field No. 9 - Give the weight or other quantity of the goods. The best unit of measure to use when completing this field is the unit of measure given for the particular goods in the Customs Tariff (e.g. number, pairs, dozens, kilograms, litres).

Field No. 10 - Cross-reference Form A to the commercial invoice. This helps the CBSA match the form with the invoice, but it also ensures that the signing officer has verified the ex-factory price of the proper goods.

Field No. 11 - This field may be left blank. As of , Canada no longer requires Form A to be certified by a designated authority in the GPT or LDCT beneficiary country.

Field No. 12 - This is the exporter's declaration that Form A is accurate and that the goods do meet the GPT or LDCT rules of origin. Proof of origin must be completed by the exporter of the goods in the GPT or LDCT beneficiary country in which the goods were finished. The individual completing the Form A on behalf of the company must be knowledgeable regarding the origin of the goods and have access to cost of production information, should a verification be requested.

Appendix B - Exporter's Statement of Origin

I certify that the goods described in this invoice or in the attached invoice No. (invoice No.) were produced in the beneficiary country of (country) and that at least (percentage) % of the ex-factory price of the goods originates in the beneficiary country/countries of (country/countries).

Name and title

Corporation name and address

Telephone and fax numbers

Signature and date (day/month/year)

References

Issuing office
Trade Policy and Interpretation Directorate
Headquarters file
N/A
Legislative references
Customs Tariff
Order in Council P.C. 1997-2007,
Customs and Excise Offshore Application Act
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D11-4-5,
Date modified:

Méthodes de laboratoire harmonisées de l'ALENA

Mémorandum D11-4-5

Ottawa, le

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (521 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • 1. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de fournir un lien menant à la version officielle du Règlement sur les règles d'origine (tarif des pays antillais du Commonwealth). L'extrait complet du règlement sur le Règlement sur les règles d'origine (tarif des pays antillais du Commonwealth) ne figure plus en entier dans le présent mémorandum.
  • 2. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à l'édition du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de fournir un lien menant à la version officielle duRèglement sur les règles d'origine (tarif des pays antillais du Commonwealth).

Règlement

La version officielle du Règlement sur les règles d'origine (tarif des pays antillais du Commonwealth) ne figure plus dans le présent mémorandum. Il se trouve au : http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/reglements/DORS-98-36/page-1.html.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Généralités

1. Les noms des pays bénéficiaires du TPAC figurent dans la Liste des pays du Tarif des douanes et sont désignés par un astérisque (*).

Règles d'origine

2. Pour être admissibles au régime d'admission en franchise accordé aux pays antillais du Commonwealth, les marchandises doivent répondre à l'une des deux conditions suivantes :

  • a) elles ont été « entièrement obtenues ou produites » conformément à la définition prévue à l'article 2(1) du Règlement sur les règles d'origine (tarif des pays antillais du Commonwealth);
  • b) au moins 60 % du prix ex-usine des marchandises emballées et prêtes à être expédiées au Canada a été produit dans un ou plusieurs autres pays bénéficiaires ou au Canada, conformément à l'article (2) du Règlement.

3. Le contenu admissible de 60 % peut avoir été cumulé dans plus d'un pays bénéficiaires ou au Canada.

4. Les marchandises doivent avoir été finies dans le pays bénéficiaire du TPAC d'où elles ont été importées au Canada.

Justification de l'origine

5. Pour justifier l'origine des marchandises originaires d'un pays bénéficiaire du TPAC, il faut présenter un formulaire A – Certificat d'origine(annexe A), ou la Déclaration d'origine de l'exportateur (annexe B). L'exportateur dans le pays bénéficiaire où les marchandises ont été finies doit remplir et signer la justification de l'origine, conformément à l'article 4 du Règlement sur la justification de l'origine des marchandises importées. On peut consulter ce Règlement dans le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l'origine.

6. La justification de l'origine doit être faite au moment précisé à l'article 13 du Règlement sur la justification de l'origine des marchandises importées, qui se trouve dans le Mémorandum D11-4-2. Sinon, une pénalité sera imposée dans le cadre de l'infraction C152, « L'importateur ou le propriétaire a omis d'en justifier l'origine sur demande », au Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

Exigences en matière d'expédition

7. Les marchandises doivent avoir été expédiées directement d'un pays bénéficiaire du TPAC sous un connaissement direct à un destinataire au Canada.

8. Les marchandises peuvent avoir été transbordées par un pays intermédiaire, à condition que :

  • a) les marchandises soient en transit dans le pays intermédiaire et soient sous surveillance douanière;
  • b) leur traitement dans le pays intermédiaire se limite au déchargement, au rechargement ou au fractionnement des chargements, ou à des opérations visant à conserver les marchandises en bon état;
  • c) les marchandises n'entrent pas dans le commerce du pays intermédiaire ou n'y soient pas offertes à la consommation;
  • d) les marchandises ne soient pas entreposées dans le pays intermédiaire pendant plus de six mois.

Renseignements supplémentaire

9. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe A - Formulaire A – Certificat d'origine

Échantillon – Formulaire A – Certificat d'origine – Page 1

Instructions pour remplir le formulaire A – Certificat d'origine

Tarif de préférence général (TPG) – Si le minimum de 60 % des marchandises à leur sortie d'usine n'est pas atteint ou s'il n'est pas justifié par les documents appropriés, les marchandises ne sont pas admissibles au TPG et un formulaire A ne sera pas émis pour de telles marchandises.

Tarif des pays les moins développés (TPMD) – Si le minimum de 40 % des marchandises à leur sortie d'usine n'est pas atteint ou s'il n'est pas justifié par les documents appropriés, les marchandises ne sont pas admissibles au TPDM et un formulaire A ne sera pas émis pour de telles marchandises.

Pour que le formulaire A puisse être accepté par l'ASFC, il doit être correctement rempli, de la manière suivante :

Zone nº 1 – Indiquez les nom, adresse et pays du fabricant réel ou de l'exportateur des marchandises. Ne donnez pas le nom d'une entreprise commerciale, d'un expéditeur de fret, d'un courtier à l'exportation, etc. Le fabricant ou l'exportateur doit être installé dans le pays bénéficiaire du TPG ou du TPMD où les marchandises sont certifiées.

Zone nº 2 – Identifiez le destinataire (nom et adresse) au Canada.

Zone nº 3 – L'ASFC ne considère pas que cette zone doit être remplie obligatoirement, mais vous pouvez indiquer les caractéristiques de l'expédition que vous connaissez au moment où le formulaire A est rempli.

Zone nº 4 – Cette zone est habituellement laissée en blanc. Toutefois, si le formulaire A est émis après que les marchandises ont déjà été expédiées, apposez le timbre ou écrire « Émis rétrospectivement ».

Zone nº 5 – Cette zone ne doit pas être obligatoirement remplie pour les marchandises exportées au Canada. Elle est habituellement utilisée pour énumérer les marchandises si le formulaire A porte sur deux ou plusieurs catégories de marchandises (par exemple articles 1, 2, 3 ou articles a, b, c).

Zone nº 6 – Si les marchandises sont mises en boîte ou autrement emballées, indiquez la quantité des colis ou des boîtes. Indiquez aussi tout marquage sur les boîtes qui servira à établir le lien entre le formulaire A et le connaissement direct afin que les agents de l'ASFC puissent vérifier si le formulaire A vise les marchandises qui sont importées effectivement.

Zone nº 7 – Décrivez les marchandises en détail. Indiquez les marques, les modèles, les styles, les numéros de série ou toute autre description pertinente. L'exportateur a tout intérêt à donner une description aussi complète que possible. L'ASFC n'acceptera pas un formulaire A qui ne correspond pas aux marchandises importées, dû à une description trop imprécise. Il est aussi utile de noter dans cette zone la sous-position du Système harmonisé pour les marchandises en cause.

Zone nº 8 – Les critères d'origine dans cette zone doivent être un des suivants :

P 100 % des marchandises sont produites dans le pays bénéficiaire du TPG ou du TPMD en cause;

F soit, pour le TPG, au moins 60 % des marchandises à leur sortie d'usine, ont été produites dans le pays bénéficiaire du TPG en cause;

Fpour le TPMD, soit au moins 40 % du prix ex-usine est produit dans le pays bénéficiaire du TPMD. Les 40 % existants du prix ex-usine des marchandises emballées et prêtes à être expédiées au Canada peut également inclure une valeur maximale de 20 % du prix ex-usine des marchandises provenant de pays admissibles au TPG;

G pour le TPG, au moins 60 % des marchandises à leur sortie d'usine, ont été produites dans plus d'un pays bénéficiaire du TPG ou au Canada;

G pour le TPMD, soit au moins 40 % du prix ex-usine a été produit dans plus d'un pays bénéficiaire du TPMD ou au Canada. Les 40 % existants du prix ex-usine des marchandises emballées et prêtes à être expédiées au Canada peut également inclure une valeur maximale de 20 % du prix ex-usine des marchandises provenant de pays admissibles au TPG.

Si n'importe quel critère autre que P, G ou F est indiqué pour les marchandises exportées au Canada, il sera présumé que les marchandises ne satisfont pas aux règles de l'origine canadiennes de TPG ou TMPD et elles ne bénéficieront pas de la préférence tarifaire.

Zone nº 9 – Écrivez le poids ou toute autre quantité des marchandises. La meilleure unité de mesure à utiliser lorsque l'on remplit cette zone est l'unité de mesure donnée pour les marchandises particulières dans le Tarif des douanes (p. ex. nombre, paires, douzaines, kilos, litres).

Zone nº 10 – Renvoyez le formulaire A à la facture commerciale. Ceci permet à l'ASFC d'apparier le formulaire A à la facture tout en s'assurant que le signataire autorisé a vérifié le prix à la sortie d'usine des marchandises appropriées.

Zone nº 11 – Cette zone peut être laissée en blanc. À partir du 1er mars 1996, le Canada n'exige plus que le formulaire A soit certifié par une autorité désignée dans le pays bénéficiaire du TPG ou du TPMD.

Zone nº 12 – Il s'agit de la Déclaration de l'exportateur selon laquelle le formulaire A est exact et que les marchandises satisfont aux règles d'origine du TPG ou du TPMD. La justification de l'origine doit être remplie par l'exportateur des marchandises dans le pays bénéficiaire du TPG ou du TPMD où les marchandises ont été finies. La personne qui remplit le formulaire A pour le compte d'une entreprise doit être informée de l'origine des marchandises et avoir accès aux renseignements sur les coûts de production au cas où l'on demanderait une vérification.

Annexe B - Déclaration d'origine de l'exportateur

J'atteste que les marchandises décrites dans cette facture ou dans la facture annexée nº (facture annexée nº) ont été produites dans le pays bénéficiaire (pays) et qu'au moins (pourcentage) % du prix des marchandises à leur sortie d'usine ont pour origine le ou les pays bénéficiaires suivants : (pays).

Nom et titre

Nom et adresse de la personne morale

Numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur

Signature et date (jour-mois-année)

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale
s.o.
Références légales
Tarif des douanes
Décret en conseil C.P. 1997-2007, le
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D11-4-5, le
Date de modification :