Partners in Protection
Mutual Recognition

Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRAs) expand the international trade network of accredited low-risk companies. An MRA between the CBSA and other customs administrations regarding the Partners in Protection (PIP) and compatible customs-trade partnership programs means that:

MRAs allow government customs administrations to work together to improve their ability to target high risk shipments while expediting legitimate cargo. To enhance cross-border security, the CBSA has signed MRAs recognizing the compatibility of its PIP program with the following foreign Authorized Economic Operator (AEO) programs:

Harmonization of PIP and CTPAT

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and the United States Customs and Border Protection (U.S. CBP) have committed to harmonizing the CBSA’s Partners in Protection (PIP) and U.S. CBP’s Customs Trade Partnership Against Terrorism (CTPAT) programs, with a focus on highway carriers. Harmonization aligns the membership requirements of both programs, to the greatest extent possible, for the benefit of applicants, members, and both customs organizations.

Harmonization enables eligible companies to apply to both programs using a single application process, undergo only one site validation, and have a single point of contact to administer their membership in both programs. Based on the location of the company’s corporate headquarters, either PIP or CTPAT will be designated as the host program to administer harmonized membership on behalf of both programs, thereby streamlining the requirements for maintaining membership status.

For information on eligibility requirements and applying for harmonized membership, visit the Trusted Trader Portal help page.

Date modified:

Partenaires en protection
Reconnaissance mutuelle

Les accords de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM) servent à élargir le réseau du commerce international des entreprises accréditées à faible risque. Un ARM entre l'ASFC et d'autres administrations douanières concernant le programme Partenaires en protection (PEP) et des programmes compatibles de partenariat entre les douanes et les entreprises signifie que :

Les ARM permettent aux administrations douanières de travailler ensemble pour améliorer leur capacité à cibler des expéditions à risque élevé tout en accélérant le traitement du fret légitime. Pour renforcer la sécurité transfrontalière, l'ASFC a signé des accords de reconnaissance mutuelle qui reconnaissent la compatibilité de son programme PEP avec les programmes étrangers suivants :

Harmoniser le programme PEP et le programme CTPAT

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et le Service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis (SDPF) se sont engagés à harmoniser le programme Partenaires en protection (PEP) de l'ASFC et le programme Customs Trade Partnership Against Terrorism (CTPAT) du SDPF, en mettant l'accent sur les transporteurs routiers. L'harmonisation aligne autant que possible les exigences des deux programmes, au profit des entreprises qui présentent une demande d'adhésion, des membres et des deux administrations douanières.

L'harmonisation permet également aux entreprises admissibles de présenter une demande d'adhésion aux deux programmes dans le cadre d'un seul processus de demande, d'être assujetties à une seule validation des lieux et de disposer d'un point de contact unique pour l'administration de leur adhésion aux deux programmes. Selon l'emplacement du siège social de l'entreprise, le PEP ou le CTPAT est désigné comme programme hôte pour administrer l'adhésion harmonisée au nom des deux programmes, ce qui simplifie les exigences relatives au maintien de l'adhésion.

Pour des renseignements sur les critères d'admissibilité et sur le moyen de présenter une demande d'adhésion harmonisée, veuillez consulter la page d'aide du Portail des négociants fiables.

Date de modification :