Travellers

Your Traveller Declaration Card (TDC)

What Is a TDC?

A TDC (Traveller Declaration Card) is a form that allows Canadian residents who are members of the Trusted Traveller programs (TTP) entering Canada to declare goods purchased, received or otherwise acquired, and to pay any applicable duties and taxes, through the credit card information provided on the form.

Traditionally, travellers would go to an Enrolment Centre to pick up their TDC paper-booklets, and complete their TDCs manually.

While the remaining TDC booklets are still valid and will continue to be processed in the regular manner, it is important to note that the paper version of the TDC is gradually being phased out. The online version of the TDC will eventually be the only way to obtain the form.

The Online TDC

The Traveller Declaration Card (TDC) has been redesigned and is available on the CBSA Web site in PDF fillable format.

Since June 1, 2012, travellers are able to save a partially completed form on a computer or laptop. This allows users to fill out the majority of the fields on the form only once, rather than having to fill them out every time. Canadian residents are able to access the form at any point before or during travel, complete it by hand or electronically and sign the printed form.

Canadian residents who are members of the CBSA's Trusted Traveller programs (NEXUS, Free and Secure Trade (FAST), CANPASS Air or Commercial Driver Registration Program (CDRP)) can access the form for download from the CBSA Web site at any point before or during travel, rather than using a previously issued booklet.

For Trusted Traveller program members who have never previously been issued a TDC booklet, no previous TDC enrolment is required to use the online version of the TDC.

Why the Online TDC is Useful

For the traveller's convenience, only the online TDC will be available in the near future. You will no longer have to go to an Enrolment Centre in person to obtain your TDC forms. You can download the form, fill it in, choose to save the partially completed form, and print it at your convenience.

The online TDC facilitates your travel by allowing you to arrive at the border with your TDC nearly fully completed. At any point prior to entering Canada you must complete the remaining fields in writing (using a black pen) or complete the form electronically, listing the goods you have purchased, received or otherwise acquired. Then print and sign your TDC, and deposit it in the secure TDC drop box to complete your passage into Canada.

The CBSA will collect any duties or taxes owing through the credit card information provided on the TDC.

The secure TDC boxes are conveniently located near the border services officers' booths in the TTP designated lanes in the land mode and near the NEXUS and CANPASS Air self-serve kiosks in the air mode.

Where You Can Use It

By land

Each NEXUS, Free and Secure Trade (FAST) or Commercial Driver Registration Program (CDRP) member entering Canada at a land border crossing may complete a traveller declaration card (TDC) to report goods that have been purchased, acquired or received while outside Canada.

By air

Each NEXUS and CANPASS Air member arriving in Canada by commercial airline who has exceeded their personal exemption, as stated on the CBSA Declaration Card (E311), may complete a TDC or must proceed to a cashier to pay any duty and taxes owing.

How To Use It

The TDC must be completed in advance to expedite your entry into Canada.

When completing the TDC, use a black ink pen ONLY. If you make a mistake on the card, do not attempt to correct it. To ensure accuracy, please complete a new TDC.

Step 1: At any point before or during travel, visit the CBSA Web site to download and complete your TDC form.

For this step you will need your credit card information as well as your personal identification number. Your personal identification number is a number on your membership card. For NEXUS and FAST members, please refer to the 9-digit PASS ID number on your membership card; for CANPASS Air members, please refer to the 10-digit Client ID number on your membership card; and for members of CDRP, please refer to the 12-digit document ID number on your membership card.

You can also visit Locating your Membership ID on your Trusted Traveller membership cards to find the location of your identification number on your membership card.

Note: If you already have a partially completed form saved on your computer or laptop, you don’t need to download a new form. Instead, simply complete your saved form to save time.

Step 2: Prior to entering Canada, you can declare your goods in writing on the TDC form (or complete the form electronically), and select the categories for the goods you are importing.

Step 3: Check the box agreeing to the terms and conditions of the TTP and sign the TDC. (Note: By checking this box and signing the TDC, this enables the CBSA to apply the applicable charges to your credit card).

Step 4: Deposit your TDC in the secure TDC box, located near the border services officers' booths in the TTP designated lanes in the land mode. For the air mode, the drop boxes are located near the NEXUS and CANPASS Air self-serve kiosks.

Helpful Information on Declaring Your Goods

Only personal goods can be declared using a TDC. Commercial goods must be reported to an officer in a regular lane.

You can refer to the tariff guide (form E604) to determine the category(ies) for the goods you are importing. If the goods are not listed on the tariff guide, you can identify them as Category 4, "Miscellaneous goods not elsewhere specified." Note: This does not apply to restricted or prohibited goods. Restricted, prohibited or controlled goods or any good requiring a permit cannot be declared using a TDC.

"Exemption only"
Indicate how long you have been outside of Canada. To be eligible for an exemption, you must have been away for the full length of time indicated. If you have been away for less than 24 hours, leave the "Exemption" box blank. You cannot combine exemptions.
"The goods are valued in"
Indicate whether the goods you are bringing back are valued in U.S. or Canadian dollars. You may not indicate both.
"The goods were made in"
Indicate where the majority of the goods you are importing are from (based on dollar value). For example, if you are importing $100 worth of merchandise and $51 or more of these goods are made in the U.S., indicate the USA box. If $51 or more of the goods are made elsewhere, other than Canada or the U.S., you must indicate "Other."
"Select the categories of your goods"
Indicate the total value of the goods for each applicable category by using the tariff guide (E604). In most cases, any foreign sales tax added to, or included in the price, is part of the value.

You Cannot Use a TDC if…

You cannot use a TDC if you are bringing back any of the following items:

  • cigars (non-duty paid)
  • cigarettes (non-duty paid)
  • cigarillos
  • tobacco sticks

If you have any of the items listed above when arriving at the land border crossing, NEXUS members must use a regular lane. If you are a NEXUS or CANPASS Air member, you must select the cashier option at the kiosk when arriving by commercial airline.

In addition, restricted or prohibited goods and commercial goods cannot be declared using the TDC method of reporting.

Other Tips

You may reside in a province that does not have a harmonized sales tax. If so, use Category 6 to declare the total dollar value of provincial sales tax-exempt goods after you have declared them in the appropriate category(ies). For example, if you buy a $50 adult shirt and a PST-exempt $50 children's shirt, you declare $100 in Category 2 (Clothing) and the $50 PST-exempt total in Category 6.

For alcohol and tobacco, state the dollar value and quantity. To import alcohol you must meet the minimum age requirements set by the province or territory where you enter Canada.

Personal Exemptions

Traveller personal exemption limits effective June 1, 2012
Less than 24 hours Personal exemptions do not apply to same-day cross-border shoppers.
24 hours or more Up to CAN$200 – Alcohol and tobacco cannot be claimed. Goods must be in your possession at time of entry to Canada. If the value of the goods you have purchased abroad exceeds $200 after a 24 hour absence, duty and taxes are applicable on the entire amount of the imported goods.
48 hours or more Up to CAN$800 – May include alcohol and tobacco products, within the prescribed limits set by provincial or territorial authorities. Goods must be in your possession at time of entry to Canada. Travellers absent for periods of 48 hours or more will have the applicable exemption level credited against the total value of goods.
7 days or more Up to CAN$800 – May include alcohol and tobacco products, within the prescribed limits set by provincial or territorial authorities. For the seven-day exemption, goods may be in your possession at time of entry to Canada but are also permitted to follow entry to Canada (such as via courier, mail or delivery agency), except alcohol and tobacco products, which must be in your possession. All the goods will qualify for duty- and tax-free entry if they are declared at the initial return to Canada.

For more information concerning your personal exemptions, please refer to the I Declare pamphlet.

Voyageurs

Carte de déclaration du voyageur (CDV)

Qu'est-ce qu'une CDV?

Une CDV (carte de déclaration du voyageur) est un formulaire qui permet aux résidents canadiens qui participent à des programmes de voyageurs fiables (PVF), lorsqu'ils entrent au Canada, de déclarer les marchandises achetées, reçues ou autrement acquises, et d'acquitter les droits et taxes applicables grâce aux données de la carte de crédit indiquées sur le formulaire.

Traditionnellement, les voyageurs se rendaient dans un centre d'inscription afin d'aller chercher leurs carnets de CDV (format papier) et ils remplissaient leurs CDV à la main.

Même si les carnets de CDV sont toujours valides et qu'ils continueront d'être traités de la manière habituelle, il est important de noter que la version papier de la CDV sera éliminée graduellement. La CDV en ligne deviendra le seul moyen de se procurer le formulaire.

La CDV en ligne

La Carte de déclaration du voyageur (CDV) a été remaniée et elle est disponible sur le site Web de l'ASFC dans un format PDF à remplir en ligne.

Depuis le 1er juin 2012, les voyageurs peuvent sauvegarder une copie partiellement remplie du formulaire sur leur ordinateur ou leur portable. Cela permet aux utilisateurs de remplir la majorité des cases une seule fois, au lieu de les remplir à chaque utilisation. Les résidents canadiens ont accès au formulaire en tout temps, avant ou pendant le voyage, peuvent le remplir manuellement ou électroniquement et signer la copie imprimée du formulaire.

Les résidents canadiens qui participent aux programmes pour voyageurs fiables de l'ASFC (NEXUS, programme Expéditions rapides et sécuritaires [EXPRES], CANPASS Air ou le Programme d'inscription des chauffeurs du secteur commercial [PICSC]) ont accès au formulaire en ligne à n'importe quel moment avant ou pendant leur voyage, plutôt que d'utiliser un carnet qui leur a déjà été remis.

Pour les participants aux programmes des voyageurs fiables qui n'ont jamais obtenu de carnet de CDV, aucune inscription à la CDV n'est nécessaire pour utiliser le formulaire en ligne.

Pourquoi la CDV en ligne est-elle utile?

Afin d'accommoder les voyageurs, seule la version en ligne de la CDV sera disponible sous peu. Il ne sera plus nécessaire de se rendre dans un centre d'inscription en personne pour obtenir un formulaire de CDV. Le voyageur pourra télécharger le formulaire, le remplir, choisir de sauvegarder une copie partiellement remplie et l'imprimer au moment qui lui convient.

La CDV en ligne facilite les voyages en permettant au voyageur d'arriver à la frontière muni de la CDV presque entièrement remplie. À n'importe quel moment avant d'entrer au Canada, le voyageur doit remplir les champs qui restent à la main (à l'encre noire) ou remplir le formulaire électroniquement en y inscrivant les marchandises qu'il a achetées, reçues ou obtenues de quelque façon que ce soit. Il doit ensuite imprimer et signer la CDV, et la déposer dans la boîte sécuritaire prévue à cet effet pour terminer ses formalités d'entrée au Canada.

L'ASFC prélèvera tous les droits et toutes les taxes à percevoir sur la carte de crédit dont les données auront été inscrites sur la CDV.

Les boîtes sécuritaires pour les CDV sont bien placées près des guérites des agents des services frontaliers dans les voies réservées aux participants aux PVF dans le mode terrestre et près des postes de déclaration libre-service NEXUS et CANPASS Air dans le mode aérien.

Où peut-on utiliser la CDV?

Par voie terrestre

Les participants NEXUS, de même que les participants au programme Expéditions rapides et sécuritaires (EXPRES) et au Programme d'inscription des chauffeurs du secteur commercial (PICSC), qui entrent au Canada par un poste frontalier terrestre peuvent remplir une CDV afin de déclarer toute marchandise ayant été achetée, acquise ou reçue à l'extérieur du Canada.

Par voie aérienne

Les participants NEXUS ou CANPASS Air qui arrivent au Canada sur un vol commercial et qui ont excédé leur exemption personnelle, telle que prescrite sur la Carte de déclaration de l'ASFC (E311), peuvent remplir une CDV ou doivent se présenter à un caissier pour régler tout montant de droits et de taxes exigible.

Comment utiliser la CDV?

La CDV doit être remplie à l'avance afin d'accélérer l'entrée du voyageur au Canada.

La CDV doit être remplie à l'encre noire SEULEMENT. Le voyageur qui fait une erreur ne doit pas la corriger. Afin d'assurer l'exactitude des renseignements fournis, il doit plutôt remplir une nouvelle carte.

Étape 1 : Avant l'arrivée à la frontière ou à n'importe quel moment pendant le voyage, le voyageur peut consulter le site Web de l'ASFC afin de télécharger et de remplir sa CDV.

Pour cette étape, le voyageur doit fournir les renseignements sur sa carte de crédit ainsi que son numéro d'identification personnel. Le numéro d'identification personnel figure sur la carte de participation à l'un des programmes. Dans les cas des programmes NEXUS et EXPRES, il s'agit du numéro de participant à neuf caractères; dans le cas du programme CANPASS Air, il s'agit du numéro d'identification de client à dix caractères; et dans le cas du PICSC, il s'agit du numéro d'identification du document à douze caractères.

Le voyageur peut également consulter Comment repérer le numéro d'identification sur une carte de participant à un programme des voyageurs fiables afin de connaître l'emplacement exact de son numéro d'identification sur sa carte de participant.

Nota : Si vous avez déjà une copie partiellement remplie de votre CDV et l’avez sauvegardée sur votre ordinateur ou votre portable, vous n’avez pas besoin de télécharger un nouveau formulaire. Vous pouvez tout simplement remplir la copie sauvegardée, ce qui vous permettra de gagner du temps.

Étape 2 : Avant d'entrer au Canada, le voyageur peut déclarer ses marchandises par écrit sur la CDV (ou remplir le formulaire par voie électronique), et sélectionner les catégories de marchandises qu'il importe.

Étape 3 : Le voyageur doit cocher la case indiquant qu'il accepte les modalités du PVF et il doit signer la CDV. (Nota : en cochant la case et en signant la CDV, le voyageur accepte que les frais à percevoir soient prélevés sur sa carte de crédit par l'ASFC).

Étape 4 : Le voyageur dépose ensuite la CDV dans la boîte sécuritaire prévue à cet effet qui se trouve près des guérites des agents des services frontaliers dans les voies réservées aux participants aux PVF dans le mode terrestre et près des postes de déclaration libre-service NEXUS et CANPASS Air dans le mode aérien.

Renseignements utiles pour la déclaration des marchandises

Seules les marchandises personnelles peuvent être déclarées sur la CDV. Les marchandises commerciales doivent être déclarées à un agent dans une voie régulière.

Le voyageur doit se référer au Guide tarifaire (E604) pour déterminer les catégories de marchandises qu'il importe. Si les marchandises que le voyageur rapporte ne sont pas énumérées dans le Guide tarifaire, il faut les inscrire dans la catégorie 4 à titre de « marchandises diverses non mentionnées ailleurs ». Nota : Ceci ne s'applique pas aux marchandises à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées. Les marchandises à autorisation restreinte, prohibées ou contrôlées ne peuvent pas être déclarées en utilisant la CDV.

« Exemption seulement »
Le voyageur doit indiquer dans ce champ combien de temps il est demeuré à l'extérieur du Canada. Le voyageur doit avoir été absent pendant toute la période indiquée pour avoir droit à l'exemption. Si la durée du séjour est inférieure à 24 heures, il ne doit pas remplir le champ « Exemption ». On ne peut pas combiner les exemptions.
« Valeur des marchandises en… »
Le voyageur indique dans ce champ si la valeur des marchandises qu'il rapporte est en dollars américains ou canadiens. On ne peut pas indiquer les deux devises.
« Marchandises fabriquées au… »
Dans ce champ, le voyageur indique le pays d'origine de la plus grande partie des marchandises qu'il importe (selon leur valeur monétaire). Par exemple, s'il importe des marchandises d'une valeur totale de 100 $, et que 51 $ ou plus visent l'achat de marchandises fabriquées aux États-Unis, il doit alors cocher la case correspondant aux « É.-U. ». Cependant, si 51 $ ont été dépensés pour l'achat de marchandises fabriquées ailleurs, dans un autre pays que le Canada ou les États-Unis, il doit cocher la case correspondant à « Autre ».
« Sélectionnez les catégories de vos marchandises »
Dans ce champ, le voyageur indique la valeur totale des marchandises pour chaque catégorie applicable en utilisant le Guide tarifaire (E604). Dans la plupart des cas, toute taxe de vente étrangère ajoutée ou incluse dans le prix fait partie de la valeur.

Le voyageur ne peut pas utiliser la CDV si…

Le voyageur ne peut pas utiliser la CDV s'il rapporte les articles suivants :

  • cigares (droits non acquittés)
  • cigarettes (droits non acquittés)
  • cigarillos
  • bâtonnets de tabac

Si le voyageur est un participant au programme NEXUS et qu'il rapporte tout article mentionné ci-dessus, à son arrivée au poste frontalier terrestre, il doit utiliser une voie régulière. S'il participe au programme NEXUS ou CANPASS Air, il doit sélectionner l'option caissier au poste de déclaration lorsqu'il arrive sur un vol commercial.

De plus, les marchandises prohibées ou à autorisation restreinte et les marchandises commerciales ne peuvent pas être déclarées en utilisant la CDV.

Autres conseils

Si le voyageur habite dans une province qui n'a pas adopté la taxe de vente harmonisée, il faut utiliser la catégorie 6 pour déclarer la valeur totale des marchandises exemptes de la taxe de vente provinciale (TVP), après les avoir déclarées selon leur catégorie respective. Par exemple, si le voyageur achète une chemise pour adulte de 50 $ et une chemise pour enfant de 50 $ (exempte de TVP), il doit déclarer 100 $ dans la catégorie 2 (vêtements) et 50 $ d'exemption de TVP dans la catégorie 6.

En ce qui concerne l'alcool et les produits du tabac, le voyageur doit indiquer la valeur ainsi que la quantité. Pour pouvoir importer de l'alcool, il doit satisfaire aux critères d'âge établis dans la province ou le territoire d'entrée au Canada.

Exemptions personnelles

Hausse de la limite des exemptions personnelles pour les voyageurs à compter du 1er juin 2012
Moins de 24 heures Les exemptions personnelles ne s'appliquent pas aux personnes qui s'absentent pendant moins d'une journée pour faire des emplettes de l'autre côté de la frontière.
24 heures ou plus Jusqu'à 200 $CAN — L'alcool et le tabac ne peuvent être réclamés. Les marchandises doivent vous accompagner au moment de votre arrivée au Canada. Si la valeur des marchandises achetées à l'étranger dépasse 200 $ après une absence de 24 h, les voyageurs devront payer les droits et les taxes applicables sur la valeur totale de leurs achats.
48 heures ou plus Jusqu'à 800 $CAN — Ceci inclut l'alcool et le tabac, sous réserve des limites établies par les autorités provinciales et territoriales. Les marchandises doivent vous accompagner au moment de votre arrivée au Canada. Pour ce qui est des voyageurs qui s'absentent pour 48 h ou plus, l'exemption personnelle appropriée sera soustraite de la valeur totale des marchandises importées.
7 jours ou plus Jusqu'à 800 $CAN — Ceci inclut l'alcool et le tabac, sous réserve des limites établies par les autorités provinciales et territoriales. Pour l'exemption de sept jours, les marchandises peuvent vous accompagner au moment de votre arrivée au Canada ou être reçues après votre arrivée (y compris par messagerie, par la poste ou par un service de livraison), sauf les produits du tabac et les boissons alcoolisées, qui doivent vous accompagner à votre arrivée au Canada. Toutes les marchandises seront admissibles à la franchise de droits si vous les déclarez à la frontière à votre retour au Canada.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur les exemptions personnelles, il faut consulter la brochure « Je déclare ».