Border Watch Toll-free Line

What is the Border Watch Line?

The Border Watch line is a confidential tip line that is monitored 24 hours a day, 7 days a week in both official languages.  The tip line is an important avenue for the public to report suspicious cross border activity or suspicious immigration activity.

The Canada Border Services Agency works hard to intercept illegal activity to help keep Canada and Canadians safe and secure.

If you have information about suspicious cross border or suspicious immigration activity, please contact the Canada Border Services Agency Border Watch Toll-free Line at 1-888-502-9060 within North America.

The more detailed information you can provide, the better - but remember that no information, however trivial it may seem, is too small. Your help may be the missing piece of the puzzle that we are looking for. Reporting suspicions, even after the fact, can be an effective means of stopping future smuggling attempts.

Please never try to take the law into your own hands, or get involved in any illegal activities. If you have witnessed or are aware of an incident, for your own protection, please do not get involved or try to gather evidence. Just let us know.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will my call be confidential?

Yes. All calls are completely confidential.

Do I have to call during certain hours?

No. You can call at any time, any day of the week. The Canada Border Services Agency Border Watch Toll-free line (1-888-502-9060) is available within North America 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, in both official languages.

Will my phone call be recorded?

No.

Will the information I give be shared with anyone else, like the police?

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) works in close partnership with law enforcement bodies, such as the Integrated Border Enforcement Teams, provincial and local police, as well as with other customs organizations around the world. If the information received is relevant to any of our partners, we may share it. However, the caller's identity (even provided to us) will remain confidential.

What kind of information are you looking for?

As a guide, we are interested in the following information:

  • Name of individual or company
  • Date of birth or approximate age
  • Location, date and time of suspected illegal activity
  • Physical description of individual, including clothing worn
  • Address, if known
  • Phone numbers, if known
  • Conveyance: car, boat, airplane or train
  • Known associates
  • Known business ties

However, you do not need to have all of the above information before calling the CBSA Border Watch Toll-free Line. We will accept and research any detail, even if it seems trivial.

Will callers get a reward for giving information?

As a general rule, the CBSA does not offer cash rewards to callers for providing information. However, in rare cases, and under highly regulated circumstances, the CBSA may provide a cash reward to individuals who provide information.

If you receive false information, could this lead to unnecessary searches or detentions when someone is crossing the border?

No. All information received will be thoroughly researched. If the information proves to be false, no action will be taken.

How is this toll-free line different from Crime Stoppers or the RCMP hotlines?

We deal specifically with suspicious cross-border activities that take place at the border, and suspicious immigration activity. If the information received is relevant to any of our partners, such as the Integrated Border Enforcement Teams, police or the RCMP, we may share it.

Ligne sans frais de surveillance frontalière

Qu’est-ce que la Ligne de surveillance frontalière?

La Ligne de surveillance frontalière est un service confidentiel important offert en tout temps dans les deux langues officielles aux membres du public pour le signalement d’activités à la frontière ou d’activités d’immigration suspectes.

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) déploie énormément d’efforts pour empêcher les activités illégales par souci d’assurer la sécurité du Canada et de sa population.

Si vous avez des renseignements au sujet d’activités à la frontière ou d’activités d’immigration qui vous semblent suspectes, appelez la ligne sans frais de surveillance frontalière de l'ASFC au 1-888-502-9060 aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Plus vos renseignements seront détaillés, plus ils nous seront utiles. Rappelez-vous que l'information qui vous semble anodine peut nous aider. Votre appel peut nous apporter l'élément crucial qui manquait au dossier. En nous faisant part de vos soupçons, même après coup, vous pouvez contribuer à prévenir de futures tentatives de contrebande.

Pour votre propre sécurité, ne tentez pas de faire justice vous-même et ne posez pas des gestes contraires à la loi. Si vous êtes témoin d'activités illégales ou si vous avez connaissance d'un incident, n'intervenez pas et n'essayez pas de réunir des preuves. Appelez-nous.

Foire aux questions

Les appels sont-ils confidentiels?

Oui. Tous les appels sont entièrement confidentiels.

La ligne sans frais est-elle disponible seulement pendant certaines heures?

Non. La ligne sans frais de surveillance frontalière de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (1-888-502-9060) est disponible aux États-Unis et au Canada tous les jours, 24 heures sur 24, dans les deux langues officielles.

Les appels sont-ils enregistrés?

Non.

Transmettez-vous les renseignements que vous recevez, par exemple à la police?

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) travaille en étroite collaboration avec des organismes d'application de la loi, comme le service de police, ainsi qu'avec les organismes des douanes d'autres pays. Pour cette raison, nous pourrions transmettre des renseignements utiles à l'un de nos partenaires. Toutefois, si vous nous avez fourni votre identité, celle-ci demeurera confidentielle.

Quels types de renseignements recherchez-vous?

À titre d'exemples, nous nous intéressons aux renseignements suivants :

Toutefois, il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir tous ces renseignements pour communiquer avec la ligne sans frais de surveillance frontalière de l'ASFC. Nous vérifions tous les renseignements que nous recevons, même s'ils sont incomplets.

Offrez-vous des récompenses en échange des renseignements reçus?

En principe, l’ASFC n’offre aucune récompense en argent en échange de renseignements.

Le fait de transmettre de faux renseignements peut-il entraîner la recherche ou la détention inutiles d'une personne qui traverse la frontière?

Non. Tous les renseignements reçus sont soigneusement vérifiés. Aucune mesure ne sera prise si les renseignements se révèlent faux.

Pourquoi ce service est-il distinct du programme Échec au crime et des autres lignes sans frais de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC)?

Ce service sert expressément à dénoncer les activités à la frontière et les activités d’immigration suspectes.

Date de modification :