BSF766 - Application for a Declaration of Relief under Subsection 42.1(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA)

A link to the Portable Document Format (PDF) of this form is provided below. The content of the form is duplicated in HTML following the PDF link.

PDF (1.5 Mb) [help with PDF files]

Protected B when completed

Note: Print or type the details of your application in the spaces provided below. YOU MUST RESPOND FULLY TO ALL QUESTIONS. IF YOU NEED MORE SPACE, USE ADDITIONAL SHEETS OF PAPER. On each additional sheet, print your name and Canadian immigration identification number in the top righthand corner, sign your initials below your name, and write the page number in the bottom right-hand corner. Also, identify the section and question number for
each answer for which you are providing additional information. This application form is produced by the Canada Border Services Agency and is available free of charge at www.cbsa.gc.ca.

Section A – Applicant Information

Personal Information

Current Contact Information

You must immediately notify the Ministerial Relief Unit of any change in this address to avoid your application being closed.

Mailing Address (if different from above)

You must immediately notify the Ministerial Relief Unit of any change in this address to avoid your application being closed.

Section B – Inadmissibility

Inadmissibility(ies) against which you are seeking a Declaration of Relief

1. Check all boxes that apply and fill in data as appropriate. Under "Inadmissibility grounds", provide specific details, for example: membership in an organization (indicate whether the group was involved with organized criminality, terrorism, espionage, subversion, etc.); being a senior official in a designated regime; engagement in and/or instigation of an act or acts (indicate whether you were engaged in terrorism, espionage, subversion, violence, organized criminality and/or transnational crime (e.g., people smuggling, trafficking in persons, and/or money laundering, etc.)); being a danger to the security of Canada; and/or being a person whose entry into or stay in Canada is restricted pursuant to a relevant decision/ resolution/measure (also known as a sanction) of an international organization of states or association of states, of which Canada is a member. Where applicable, make sure to name the organization(s), identify the designated regime(s), and/or specify the type of act(s) you committed that resulted in your inadmissibility.

Circumstances of Inadmissibility

Check all boxes below that apply to the circumstances in which you were found inadmissible under the above-noted provisions. If available, attach a copy of the removal order, or inadmissibility or refusal decision.

Other Inadmissibility(ies)

Additional Information

Respond to the following questions by checking all boxes that apply.

If the answer to any of the above questions is YES, provide details here (indicate the question number), and include with your application form any available supporting documentation.

Section C – Background Information

Formal Education and Training

Employment and Volunteer Work

Membership in and Association with Organization(s)

Government Position(s) Held

Military, Paramilitary and/or Police Service

Criminal History

Immediately notify the Ministerial Relief Unit of any change in criminal activity, charges, and/or your criminal record.

Countries of Previous Residence or International Travel

Section D - Appointment of Representative

You do not need to hire an immigration representative; it is your choice. No one can guarantee that the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness will make a declaration of relief in your case.

A representative is someone who has provided advice or guidance to you prior to submitting your application, following the submission of your application, and/or someone who has your permission to conduct business on your behalf with the CBSA.

You may only have one representative at a time per application.

The Immigration and Refugee Protection Act makes it an offence for any person who is not authorized under the Act to knowingly, directly or indirectly, represent or advise a person for consideration - or offer to do so - in connection with a proceeding or application under that Act. Consideration includes money or any other form of compensation or reward.

Are you using a representative with respect to your Application for a Declaration of Relief? Yes/No

If YES, you must complete the Use of a Representative form (IMM 5476), available free of charge at www.cic.gc.ca. Include the completed form with your Application for a Declaration of Relief.

You must immediately advise of any change in your representation, including cancellation, or a change of address, by submitting a new, completed and signed IMM 5476 to the Ministerial Relief Unit.

Section E - Applicant Declaration

Section F - Interpreter Declaration

I, (print full name clearly) , hereby declare that I have accurately interpreted the entire contents of this form and all attached documents for the applicant from the English language to the language (state dialect, if any).

I am proficient in both of these languages (and dialect, if any), and was able to communicate effectively with the applicant. The applicant has assured me that they have understood the entire contents of this form and all attached documents and the answers provided, as interpreted by me.

Section G - Privacy Statement

The information you provide in this document is collected under the authority of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) and the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations (IRPR), for the purpose of processing your Application for a Declaration of Relief under subsection 42.1(1) of the IRPA. The information may be disclosed to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada; the Immigration and Refugee Board; the Canadian Security Intelligence Service; the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; the United States National Criminal Information Center; INTERPOL; and similar organizations to obtain information that will be used to help inform the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) recommendation to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness on whether or not to make a declaration of relief.

Refusal to provide the requested information may result in processing delays or your application not being accepted for processing. Individuals have the right to access and to make corrections to their personal information under the Privacy Act. The information collected is described within Info Source under the Personal Information Bank CBSA PPU 1504, which is detailed within the CBSA Info Source Chapter. Should you have concerns about the CBSA's handling of your personal information, you have a right to file a complaint with the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

Section H - General Information

Pursuant to subsection 42.1(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) and related regulations, you are eligible to apply for a declaration of relief (commonly referred to as "Ministerial relief") if you have been determined to be inadmissible to Canada under section 34 (security), paragraphs 35(1)(b) or (c) (human or international rights violations), and/ or subsection 37(1) of the IRPA (organized criminality), resulting in a removal order being issued against you and/or your application for temporary or permanent residence being refused. You are also eligible to apply if you were found to be inadmissible to Canada under a corresponding provision of subsection 19(1) of the former Immigration Act (IA). Foreign nationals who are inadmissible under IRPA paragraph 35(1)(a) or the former IA paragraph 19(1)(j) (commission of genocide, war crimes or crimes against humanity) are not eligible for Ministerial relief. Relief applications may not be submitted until all rights of judicial review against the immigration refusal or removal order have expired or been exhausted. Applications which do not meet these requirements or which do not provide the mandatory information will be returned unprocessed.

The Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness (the Minister) may declare that the matters referred to in the aforementioned provisions of the IRPA do not constitute inadmissibility in your case if you satisfy the Minister that it is not contrary to the national interest. In considering whether to make a declaration of relief, the Minister may only take into account national security and public safety considerations, but his or her analysis is not limited to considering the danger that the applicant presents to the public or the security of Canada. The onus to satisfy the Minister that making a declaration of relief is not contrary to the national interest rests with the foreign national applying for relief and not with the CBSA or the Minister to prove otherwise.

The purpose of this application is to present the Minister with a specific set of information pertaining to the circumstances of your case, in addition to any supplementary submissions you may wish to include. This information may assist the Minister in his/her decision to grant or deny relief from your inadmissibility. This application is made available by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and is not sold to applicants. It is available free of charge on the CBSA's website at www.cbsa.gc.ca.

Answering the questions

The information you provide in your Application for a Declaration of Relief, and any accompanying submissions, must be complete, true and correct; otherwise, your application may not be accepted for processing. Make sure you understand the instructions and the questions before you write your answers. If you do not understand a question, ask someone to explain it to you.

Give details where applicable, and include dates, as well as names of places and persons. You must respond fully to all questions. if you need more space, use additional sheets of paper. On each additional sheet, write your name and Canadian immigration identification number in the top right-hand corner, sign your initials beside your name, and write the page number in the bottom right-hand corner. Also, identify the section and question number for which you are providing additional information. Sign the applicant's declaration at the end of the form when you are finished (see Section E - Applicant Declaration: Declaration A). Note that a parent or legal guardian must sign for a person under 18 years of age.

Language

You can obtain and complete the Application for a Declaration of Relief in either of Canada's official languages: English or French. If you do not understand English or French, you will need to use an interpreter. Make sure that the interpreter reads to you all of the instructions and questions in the form, that you understand the questions and instructions, and that the interpreter understands your answers. You are responsible for the information provided in this application and any attachments or submissions that you choose to provide. You and the interpreter must both sign the form when you are finished (see Section E - Applicant Declaration: Declaration B; and Section F - Interpreter Declaration).

Applying for a Declaration of Relief

A completed and signed Application for a Declaration of Relief under Subsection 42.1(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, and any related submissions, should be sent to the CBSA Ministerial Relief Unit (MRU) at the following address:

Ministerial Relief Unit
Canada Border Services Agency
100 Metcalfe Street, 10th floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L8

or via email at:

Ministerial_Relief.Exemptions_Ministerielles@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

If your information changes or if you want to add information, you must inform the CBSA MRU. Circle or underline the information you changed or added to your Application for a Declaration of Relief, sign and date the changed pages, and send those pages (not a copy) to the CBSA MRU at the address specified above.

For more information, consult the Guide to Applying for a Declaration of Relief under Subsection 42.1(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Date modified:

BSF766 - Demande de déclaration de dispense visée au paragraphe 42.1(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR)

Un lien vers ce formulaire en format de document portable (PDF) est fourni ci-dessous. Le contenu du formulaire est reproduit en format HTML après le lien PDF.

PDF (1,5 Mo) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

Protégé B une fois rempli

Remarque :

Section A – Renseignements sur le demandeur

Renseignements personnels

Coordonnées actuelles

Vous devez informer immédiatement l'Unité de la dispense ministérielle de tout changement d'adresse afin d'éviter la fermeture de votre demande.

Adresse postale (si elle diffère de l'adresse ci-dessus)

Vous devez informer immédiatement l'Unité de la dispense ministérielle de tout changement d'adresse afin d'éviter la fermeture de votre demande.

Section B – Interdiction de territoire

Motifs d'interdiction de territoire au titre desquels vous demandez une déclaration de dispense ministérielle

1. Veuillez cocher toutes les cases applicables et fournir les renseignements demandés, s'il y a lieu. Veuillez fournir des renseignements précis sous « Motifs d'interdiction de territoire », par exemple : avoir appartenu à une organisation (précisez si le groupe faisait partie du crime organisé ou se livrait au terrorisme, à l'espionnage, à la subversion, etc.); avoir occupé un poste de rang supérieur au sein d'un régime désigné; avoir participé à un ou à des actes, ou en avoir été l'instigateur (précisez si vous avez fait partie du crime organisé ou si vous vous êtes livré au terrorisme, à l'espionnage, à la subversion, à la violence ou à la criminalité transnationale [p. ex. passage de clandestins, traite de personnes, blanchiment d'argent]); constituer un danger pour la sécurité du Canada; être une personne dont l'entrée ou le séjour au Canada est limité au titre d'une décision, d'une résolution ou d'une mesure (aussi appelée « sanction ») d'une organisation internationale d'États ou d'une association d'États dont le Canada est membre. Le cas échéant, veillez à indiquer la ou les organisations visées, à identifier le ou les régimes désignés ou à préciser le type d'actes que vous avez commis et qui justifient votre interdiction de territoire.

Circonstances de l'interdiction de territoire

Cochez, ci-dessous, tous les énoncés décrivant les circonstances de votre interdiction de territoire au titre des dispositions susmentionnées. Si possible, joignez au présent formulaire une copie de la mesure de renvoi ou de la décision d'interdiction de territoire ou de refus.

Autres circonstances de l'interdiction de territoire

Renseignements supplémentaires

Répondez aux questions suivantes en cochant toutes les cases pertinentes.

Si vous avez répondu OUI à l'une ou l'autre des questions ci-dessus, veuillez fournir les renseignements pertinents dans cet espace (en indiquant le numéro de la question) et joindre à votre demande tous les documents justificatifs disponibles :

Section C – Renseignements de base

Scolarité et formation

Emplois et bénévolat

Appartenance et association à des organisations

Postes occupés au sein d'un gouvernement

Service militaire, paramilitaire ou policer

Antécédents criminels

Informez immédiatement l'Unité de la dispense ministérielle de tout changement touchant vos antécédents criminels, les accusations dont vous êtes l'objet ou votre casier judiciaire.

Précédents pays de résidence ou de voyage international

Section D - Désignation d'un représentant

Vous n'êtes pas tenu de retenir les services d'un représentant en immigration; le choix vous revient. Personne ne peut vous garantir que le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile fera une déclaration de dispense dans votre dossier.

Un représentant est une personne qui vous a fourni des conseils ou des directives avant de soumettre votre demande, après la présentation de celle-ci ou une personne qui a votre permission d'agir en votre nom auprès de l'ASFC.

Vous ne pouvez avoir qu'un seul représentant à la fois par demande.

Au titre de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés, commet une infraction toute personne non autorisée en vertu de la Loi qui, sciemment, de façon directe ou indirecte, représente ou conseille une personne, moyennant rétribution, relativement à une demande ou à une instance prévue par la présente loi, ou offre de le faire. La rétribution peut être pécuniaire ou représenter toute autre forme de rémunération ou de récompense.

Faites-vous appel à un représentant dans le cadre de votre demande de déclaration de dispense?? Oui/Non

Si OUI, vous devez remplir le formulaire Recours aux services d'un représentant (IMM 5476), qui est accessible gratuitement dans le site Web www.cic.gc.ca. Joignez ce formulaire dûment rempli à votre demande de déclaration de dispense.

Vous devez communiquer immédiatement à l'Unité de la dispense ministérielle tout changement quant à la personne qui vous représente, y compris une cessation de service ou un changement d'adresse, en soumettant un nouveau formulaire IMM 5476 dûment rempli et signé.

Section E - Déclaration du demandeur

Section F - Déclaration de l'interprète

Je, (écrivez clairement votre nom au complet en caractères d'imprimerie) , atteste que j'ai interprété fidèlement le contenu intégral du présent formulaire et tous les documents joints pour le demandeur du français à/au (indiquez le dialecte, le cas échéant).

Je maîtrise ces deux langues (et ce dialecte, le cas échéant) et j'ai pu communiquer efficacement avec le demandeur. Le demandeur m'a assuré avoir bien compris le contenu intégral du présent formulaire et tous les documents joints et les réponses fournies, tels que je les ai interprétés.

Section G - Déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans le présent document sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) et du Règlement sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (RIPR) aux fins du traitement de votre demande de déclaration de dispense visée au paragraphe 42.1(1) de la LIPR. Ces renseignements pourraient être divulgués à Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada; à la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié; au Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité; à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada; au National Criminal Information Center des États-Unis; à INTERPOL; et à des organisations semblables en vue d'obtenir de l'information susceptible d'aider l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) à formuler une recommandation au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile quant à l'opportunité de faire une déclaration de dispense.

Tout refus de fournir les renseignements demandés pourrait entraîner des retards dans le traitement de votre demande, voire le refus d'entreprendre son traitement. En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, toute personne a le droit d'accéder à ses renseignements personnels ou d'y apporter des corrections. Les renseignements recueillis sont décrits dans Info Source, sous le Fichier de renseignements personnels - ASFC PPU 1504, qui est présenté dans le chapitre sur l'ASFC d'Info Source. Si vous avez des préoccupations quant à la façon dont l'ASFC gère vos renseignements personnels, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

Section H - Renseignements généraux

En vertu du paragraphe 42.1(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) et du règlement connexe, vous pouvez demander une déclaration de dispense (aussi appelée « dispense ministérielle ») si vous avez été jugé interdit de territoire au Canada au titre du paragraphe 34(1) [sécurité], des alinéas 35(1)b) ou 35(1)c) [atteinte aux droits humains ou internationaux] ou au paragraphe 37(1) [activités de criminalité organisée] de la LIPR, ce qui entraîne l'adoption d'une mesure de renvoi ou le rejet de votre demande de résidence temporaire ou permanente. Vous pouvez également présenter une demande si vous avez été jugé interdit de territoire au Canada au titre d'une disposition correspondante du paragraphe 19(1) de l'ancienne Loi sur l'immigration (LI). Les ressortissants étrangers qui sont interdits de territoire au titre de l'alinéa 35(1)a) de la LIPR ou de l'alinéa 19(1)i) de l'ancienne LI (perpétration d'actes de génocide, de crimes de guerre ou de crimes contre l'humanité) ne sont pas admissibles à une déclaration de dispense. Aucune demande de déclaration de dispense ne peut être présentée avant que les recours en matière de révision judiciaire du rejet de la demande de résidence temporaire ou permanente ou de la mesure de renvoi n'aient été épuisés. Toute demande qui ne satisfait pas à ces exigences ou qui ne contient pas tous les renseignements obligatoires sera retournée sans avoir été traitée.

Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile (le ministre) peut déclarer que les questions visées par les dispositions susmentionnées de la LIPR ne constituent pas un motif d'interdiction de territoire dans votre cas si vous lui démontrez que celles-ci ne sont pas contraires à l'intérêt national. Pour décider s'il fait la déclaration de dispense, le ministre ne doit tenir compte que de considérations relatives à la sécurité nationale et à la sécurité publique; toutefois, il ne limite pas son analyse au fait que l'étranger constitue ou non un danger pour le public ou la sécurité du Canada. Il incombe au ressortissant étranger qui demande une déclaration de dispense de convaincre le ministre qu'une éventuelle déclaration de dispense n'irait pas à l'encontre de l'intérêt national. Ni l'ASFC ni le ministre ne sont tenus de démontrer le contraire.

La présente demande vise à présenter au ministre un ensemble de renseignements précis se rapportant aux circonstances de votre dossier, en plus de tout autre document supplémentaire que vous souhaitez lui soumettre. Ces renseignements peuvent aider le ministre à déterminer s'il vous accorde ou non une dispense de votre interdiction de territoire. Cette demande est mise gratuitement à la disposition des demandeurs par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). Vous pouvez l'obtenir sans frais dans le site Web de l'ASFC à l'adresse www.asfc.gc.ca.

Répondre aux questions

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre demande de déclaration de dispense et dans les documents qui y sont joints doivent être complets, véridiques et exacts. Sinon, votre demande pourrait ne pas être traitée. Assurez-vous de comprendre les instructions et les questions avant d'écrire vos réponses. Si vous ne comprenez pas une question, demandez que quelqu'un vous l'explique.

Donnez des renseignements détaillés, le cas échéant, et indiquez les dates ainsi que les noms de lieux et de personnes. Vous devez fournir une réponse complète à toutes les questions. si vous avez besoin de plus d'espace, utilisez des feuilles supplémentaires. Sur chaque feuille supplémentaire, écrivez votre nom et votre numéro d'identification canadien aux fins de l'immigration dans le coin supérieur droit, apposez vos initiales à côté de votre nom et inscrivez le numéro de la page dans le coin inférieur droit. En outre, indiquez la section et le numéro de la question pour lesquelles vous fournissez des renseignements supplémentaires. Signez la déclaration du demandeur à la fin du formulaire lorsque vous avez fini de le remplir (voir la section E - Déclaration du demandeur : déclaration A). Veuillez noter qu'un parent ou un tuteur légal doit signer au nom de tout demandeur âgé de moins de 18 ans.

Langue

Vous pouvez obtenir et remplir une demande de déclaration de dispense dans l'une ou l'autre des deux langues officielles du Canada : le français et l'anglais. Si vous ne comprenez ni le français ni l'anglais, vous devrez utiliser les services d'un interprète. Vérifiez que l'interprète vous lit bien toutes les instructions et questions contenues dans le formulaire, que vous les comprenez bien, et qu'il comprend vos réponses. Vous êtes responsable des renseignements consignés dans cette demande et dans tout document joint ou supplémentaire que vous décidez de présenter. L'interprète et vous devez signer le formulaire lorsque vous avez fini (voir la section E - Déclaration du demandeur : déclaration B; et la section F - Déclaration de l'interprète).

Présentation d'une demande de déclaration de dispense

Veuillez transmettre votre Demande de déclaration de dispense visée au paragraphe 42.1(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR), dûment remplie et signée, ainsi que tout document connexe, à l'Unité de la dispense ministérielle (UDM) de l'ASFC, par la poste, à l'adresse suivante :

Unité de la dispense ministérielle
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
100, rue Metcalfe, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) Canada K1A 0L8

ar courriel, à l'adresse suivante :

Ministerial_Relief.Exemptions_Ministerielles@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

Si vos renseignements changent ou si vous souhaitez en ajouter, vous devez en informer l'UDM de l'ASFC. Encerclez ou soulignez les renseignements que vous avez changés ou ajoutés dans votre demande de déclaration de dispense, signez et datez les pages comportant des changements et envoyez celles-ci (l'original et non une copie de celles-ci) à l'UDM de l'ASFC, à l'adresse susmentionnée.

Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter le Guide de demande de déclaration de dispense visée au paragraphe 42.1(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Date de modification :