Testing and Ventilation of Marine Containers

Marine shipping containers are used internationally as the primary means to transport a variety of goods throughout the world. Trade companies using shipping containers for the transport of goods will rely on chemical fumigants to ensure the successful delivery of their goods. Chemical fumigants are widely used in the shipping industry as agents to kill invasive alien species in cargo loads, preserve cargo, and maximize shipping techniques. These chemicals can be harmful to human health if precautionary measures are not followed.

Health and safety of CBSA employees

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) currently manages a hazard prevention program designed to address the health and safety risks of employees who may come into contact with common toxic industrial chemicals during the course of their regular duties.

The CBSA remains committed to eliminating, by reducing to safe levels, any exposure of chemicals to its employees. The Canada Labor Code, section 10.19, requires employees to be kept free from exposure to chemical agents. The levels of exposure are determined by the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH®), which is a scientific organization that determines Threshold Limit Values (TLVs) and exposure limits to certain hazardous chemicals. Health Canada was consulted in the determination of the most effective means to identify and eliminate hazards for CBSA employees.

Part of CBSA’s mandate is to facilitate the free flow of commercial goods while maintaining the safety and security of the public as well as its’ employees. This has been accomplished through the improvements made to procedures and technology.

Procedures

The CBSA requires that all marine containers are tested for fumigants at the marine container examination facilities (CEFs) prior to offloading the goods.

Containers selected for a dockside, or pier, examination do not require testing for fumigants. The containers can be opened and visually inspected without the use of respiratory protection as long as the border services officers do not enter the container.

After much research and analysis, the CBSA purchased and deployed, to all CEFs, a piece of detection technology called the SYFT Voice200™.  This unit is a mass spectrometry device that is able to conduct the testing for all common toxic industrial chemicals in approximately two minutes. Since the inception of the SYFT units, the CBSA has identified additional hazardous chemicals present within the marine containers to bring the testing to a total of 10 hazardous fumigants and solvents:

In order to address the increased number of ventilations required at the CEF, the CBSA has chosen a ventilation system for national deployment. The Nordiko™ Gas Extraction Unit is a piece of equipment used to ventilate containers contaminated by fumigants and/or solvents. These Gas-Extraction Units are designed to force clean air into containers, thereby forcing the contaminated air out. The deployment of this ventilation technology has reduced ventilation times by increasing the efficiency of the ventilation process.

CBSA scientists continue to test and refine technical procedures as the CBSA learns more about this evolving health and safety situation.

Wait times

The numerous and extensive studies conducted by the CBSA concluded that the time required for effective ventilation is a maximum of three days. The CBSA is committed to service standards and will ensure marine containers do not remain within the CBSA fumigant (ventilation) process for extended periods of time.

The CBSA will strive to conduct a marine container examination within 24 hours. The time will be calculated from the moment the CBSA begins the examination until the examination is completed and goods are made available for warehouse workers to reload the containers. This is detailed in the service standards.

The CBSA recognizes that the testing and ventilation of containers could cause delays with the movement of containers and is continually researching potential improvements, while still ensuring the health and safety of our employees.

Costs for testing and ventilation

The CBSA has made a significant investment in research and technology used for fumigant testing and ventilation. It remains committed to research and development as technologies advance. The costs associated with testing marine containers at the CEFs falls solely on the CBSA.

Date modified:

Test de dépistage et ventilation de conteneurs maritimes

Les conteneurs de fret maritimes sont utilisés à l’échelle internationale comme principal moyen pour transporter une variété de biens à travers le monde. Les entreprises commerciales emploient des conteneurs pour le transport de biens se servent des fumigants chimiques pour assurer la livraison en bon état de leurs biens. Les fumigants chimiques sont largement utilisés par l’industrie du transport comme agents pour détruire des espèces étrangères envahissantes dans des chargements de fret, pour protéger la cargaison et pour maximiser les techniques d’expédition. Ces composés chimiques peuvent être dangereux pour la santé humaine si certaines mesures de précaution ne sont pas suivies.

Santé et sécurité du personnel de l’ASFC

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) gère actuellement un programme de prévention des risques conçu pour traiter des risques posés à la santé et à la sécurité des employés qui peuvent être en contact avec des produits chimiques industriels toxiques communs dans le cadre de leur travail régulier.

L’ASFC maintient son engagement à éliminer toute exposition de son personnel à des composés chimiques, en les réduisant à des niveaux sécuritaires. Le Code canadien du travail, section 10.19, exige que le personnel soit protégé contre toute exposition à des agents chimiques. Les niveaux d’exposition sont déterminés par l’American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH®) qui, en tant qu’organisme scientifique, détermine les valeurs limites d’exposition (VLE) et les limites d’exposition à certains composés chimiques dangereux. Santé Canada a été consulté afin de déterminer les moyens les plus efficaces pour identifier et éliminer les risques posés au personnel de l’ASFC.

Une partie du mandat de l’ASFC est de faciliter la libre circulation des biens commerciaux tout en maintenant la sécurité du public et celle de son personnel. Pour ce faire, des améliorations ont été apportées aux procédures et à la technologie.

Procédures

L’ASFC exige que la présence de fumigants dans tous les conteneurs maritimes soit testée dans les installations d’examen des conteneurs (IEC) avant le déchargement des biens.

Il n’est pas nécessaire de tester la présence de fumigants dans les conteneurs retenus pour un examen sur un quai ou une jetée. Ces conteneurs peuvent être ouverts et inspectés visuellement sans utiliser de protection respiratoire à condition que l’agent des services frontaliers ne pénètre pas dans le conteneur.

Après des analyses et recherches approfondies, l’ASFC a acheté et mis en service dans toutes les IEC un système de détection appelé SYFT Voice200™. Ce système comporte un spectromètre de masse permettant de détecter tous les composés chimiques industriels toxiques communs en près de deux minutes. Depuis la mise en œuvre des SYFT, l’ASFC a identifié d’autres composés chimiques dangereux présents dans les conteneurs maritimes, et a augmenté le nombre de produits dangereux testés à 10 fumigants ou solvants :

Afin de tenir compte du nombre croissant de ventilations requises dans les IEC, l’ASFC a retenu un système de ventilation à des fins de déploiement national. La Nordiko™ Gas Extraction Unit est un système utilisé pour ventiler les conteneurs contaminés par des fumigants et/ou des solvants. Ces systèmes d’extraction de gaz sont conçus pour faire entrer de force l’air propre dans les conteneurs, faisant ainsi sortir de force l’air contaminé. Le déploiement de cette technologie de ventilation a permis de réduire les durées de ventilation en augmentant l’efficacité du processus de ventilation.

Les chercheurs de l’ASFC continuent de tester et d’améliorer les procédures techniques au fur et à mesure de l’évolution des connaissances dans ce domaine de santé et sécurité.

Temps d’attente

Les nombreuses études exhaustives réalisées par l’ASFC ont conclu que le temps requis pour une ventilation efficace est de trois jours tout au plus. L’ASFC s’est engagée à des normes de service et s’assurera que les conteneurs maritimes ne restent pas pris dans le processus de ventilation des fumigants pendant de longues périodes.

L’ASFC aura pour objectif d’effectuer l’examen d’un conteneur maritime dans les 24 heures. Le temps sera calculé à partir du moment où l’ASFC commence l’examen et jusqu’à la fin de l’examen, lorsque les biens sont remis aux ouvriers d’entrepôt pour le rechargement dans le conteneur. Ceci est détaillé dans les normes de service.

L’ASFC reconnaît que les tests de dépistage et la ventilation des conteneurs pourraient entraîner des délais dans leur transport. Elle recherche en permanence des améliorations potentielles tout en assurant la santé et la sécurité de son personnel.

Coût des tests et de la ventilation

L’ASFC a fait des investissements importants en recherche et technologie utilisées pour les tests sur les fumigants et la ventilation. L’ASFC maintient son engagement de recherche et développement au fur et à mesure de l’évolution des connaissances dans ce domaine de santé et sécurité. Les coûts associés aux tests des conteneurs maritimes dans les IEC sont assurés en totalité par l’ASFC.

Date de modification :