Application of Seasonal Duties and Suspension of Duty on Fresh Fruits and Vegetables

Memorandum D10-14-3

Ottawa, January 20, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (52 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to reflect amendments to the Customs Tariff legislation and changes to the Canada Border Services Agency’s organizational structure.


This memorandum outlines and explains the conditions under which customs duties shall apply in lieu of the free rate of duty in the case of certain fresh fruit and vegetable tariff items, and in addition outlines the procedures regarding the suspension of customs duties under certain tariff items.

Legislation

Supplementary Note 2 to Chapter 7 of the Customs Tariff

  • (a) The Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness and/or the President of the Canada Border Services Agency may suspend a tariff item referred to in Supplementary Note 2(c) and bring into force one or more tariff items referred to in Supplementary Note 2(b) in respect of goods imported through a customs office in a region or part of Canada specified in the order during that period.
  • (b) Tariff items that may be brought into force: 0702.00.21, 0702.00.91, 0703.10.21, 0703.10.31, 0703.10.41, 0703.10.91, 0704.10.11 or 0704.10.12, 0704.20.11 or 0704.20.12, 0704.90.21, 0704.90.31, 0704.90.41, 0705.11.11 or 0705.11.12, 0705.19.11 or 0705.19.12, 0706.10.11 or 0706.10.12, 0706.10.31 or 0706.10.32, 0706.90.21 or 0706.90.22, 0706.90.51, 0707.00.91, 0708.10.91, 0708.20.21 or 0708.20.22, 0709.20.91, 0709.40.11 or 0709.40.12, 0709.60.10, 0709.99.11, 0709.99.21, 0709.99.31 or 0709.99.32.
  • (c)  Tariff items that may be suspended: 0702.00.29, 0702.00.99, 0703.10.29, 0703.10.39, 0703.10.49, 0703.10.99, 0704.10.90, 0704.20.90, 0704.90.29, 0704.90.39, 0704.90.49, 0705.11.90, 0705.19.90, 0706.10.20, 0706.10.40, 0706.90.30, 0706.90.59, 0707.00.99, 0708.10.99, 0708.20.30, 0709.20.99, 0709.40.90, 0709.60.90, 0709.99.19, 0709.99.29 or 0709.99.40.
  • (d)  Under this Act, an order referred to in Supplementary Note 2(a) might not apply to goods that were in transit at the time the order was made.

Supplementary Note 4 to Chapter 8 of the Customs Tariff

  • (a)  The Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness and/or the President of the Canada Border Services Agency may suspend a tariff item referred to in Supplementary Note 4(c) and bring into force one or more tariff items referred to in Supplementary
    Note 4(b) in respect of goods imported through a customs office in a region or part of Canada specified in the order during that period.
  • (b) Tariff items that may be brought into force: 0806.10.11, 0809.10.91, 0809.21.11, 0809.29.21, 0809.30.21, 0809.40.21, 0809.40.31, 0810.10.91 or 0810.20.11.
  • (c) Tariff items that may be suspended: 0806.10.19, 0809.10.99, 0809.21.19, 0809.29.29, 0809.30.29, 0809.40.29, 0809.40.39, 0810.10.99 or 0810.20.19.
  • (d) Under this Act, an order referred to in Supplementary Note 4(a) might not apply to goods that were in transit at the time the order was made.

Guidelines and General Information

Application of Seasonal Duty on Fresh Fruits and Vegetables

1. The Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness and/or the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) may activate certain tariff items and suspend others to give effect to seasonal rates of duty on the importation of fresh fruits and vegetables.

2. Each tariff item specifies the total time within each 12 month period, ending March 31, for which the tariff items may be activated or suspended.

3. Certain tariff items allow the total time to be divided and applied over two distinct periods of time.

4. An importer/owner or grower may petition for the suspension of the percentage rate of duty on specific vegetables by contacting the Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) and providing the information to support the request. The CHC will, where warranted, obtain the agreement of the Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, and then forward the request for suspension of duty to the CBSA.

Additional Duty Applicable to Certain Vegetables When in Packages of a Weight Not Exceeding 2.27 kg

5. The following tariff items specify that when the goods are contained in packages of a weight not exceeding 2.27 kg each, an additional duty of 4% is applicable:

0704.10.11, 0704.20.11, 0705.11.11, 0705.19.11, 0706.10.11, 0706.10.31, 0706.90.21, 0708.20.21, 0709.40.11, and 0709.99.31

6. The package referred to in the tariff items is the first covering or container. For example, lettuce that has been individually wrapped in polyethylene (the first covering) and packed in crates of 24 is subject to the additional duty.

Additional Information

7. CBSA officers and the importing public should note that the rate of duty mentioned in the announcement of the activation of a seasonal rate of duty is the Most-Favoured-Nation (MFN) Tariff rate. When goods to which this order applies are imported from a country entitled to the benefit of a tariff treatment other than the MFN Tariff, the applied rate of duty must be in accordance with those tariffs.

8. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
None
Legislative references :
Other references :
None
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-14-3 dated February 6, 1998
Date modified:

Application des droits saisonniers et suspension des droits sur les fruits et légumes frais

Mémorandum D10-14-3

Ottawa, le 20 janvier 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (53 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de tenir compte des modifications apportées au Tarif des douanes et les modifications apportées à la structure organisationnelle de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.


Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les conditions de l’imposition des droits de douane en remplacement de la franchise des droits dans le cas de certains numéros tarifaires visant les fruits et légumes frais et, en outre, il énonce les procédures relatives à la suspension des droits de douane en vertu de certains numéros tarifaires.

Législation

La Note supplémentaire 2 du Chapitre 7 du Tarif des douanes

  • a) Le ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile ou du président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada peut suspendre un numéro tarifaire visé à la Note supplémentaire 2 c) et mettre en vigueur un ou plusieurs numéros tarifaires visés à la Note supplémentaire 2 b) concernant les marchandises importées par le bureau de douane de la région ou de la partie du Canada spécifiée dans l’arrêté.
  • b) Nos tarifaires qui peuvent prendre effet : 0702.00.21, 0702.00.91, 0703.10.21, 0703.10.31, 0703.10.41, 0703.10.91, 0704.10.11 ou 0704.10.12, 0704.20.11 ou 0704.20.12, 0704.90.21, 0704.90.31, 0704.90.41, 0705.11.11 ou 0705.11.12, 0705.19.11 ou 0705.19.12, 0706.10.11 ou 0706.10.12, 0706.10.31 ou 0706.10.32, 0706.90.21 ou 0706.90.22, 0706.90.51, 0707.00.91, 0708.10.91, 0708.20.21 ou 0708.20.22, 0709.20.91, 0709.40.11 ou 0709.40.12, 0709.60.10, 0709.99.11, 0709.99.21, 0709.99.31 or 0709.99.32.
  • c)  Nos tarifaires qui peuvent être suspendus : 0702.00.29, 0702.00.99, 0703.10.29, 0703.10.39, 0703.10.49, 0703.10.99, 0704.10.90, 0704.20.90, 0704.90.29, 0704.90.39, 0704.90.49, 0705.11.90, 0705.19.90, 0706.10.20, 0706.10.40, 0706.90.30, 0706.90.59, 0707.00.99, 0708.10.99, 0708.20.30, 0709.20.99, 0709.40.90, 0709.60.90, 0709.99.19, 0709.99.29 ou 0709.99.40.
  • d) Un arrêté visé à la Note supplémentaire 2 a) peut ne pas s’appliquer, au titre de la présente loi, à des marchandises qui étaient en transit à la date où il a été pris.

La Note supplémentaire 4 du Chapitre 8 du Tarif des douanes

  • a)  Le ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile ou le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada peut suspendre un numéro tarifaire visé à la Note supplémentaire 4 c) et mettre en vigueur un ou plusieurs numéros tarifaires visés à la Note supplémentaire 4 b) concernant les marchandises importées par le bureau de douane de la région ou de la partie du Canada spécifiée dans l’arrêté.
  • b) Nos tarifaires qui peuvent prendre effet : 0806.10.11, 0809.10.91, 0809.21.11, 0809.29.21, 0809.30.21, 0809.40.21, 0809.40.31, 0810.10.91 ou 0810.20.11.
  • c) Nos tarifaires qui peuvent être suspendus : 0806.10.19, 0809.10.99, 0809.21.19, 0809.29.29, 0809.30.29, 0809.40.29, 0809.40.39, 0810.10.99 ou 0810.20.19.
  • d) Un arrêté visé à la Note supplémentaire 4 a) peut ne pas s’appliquer, au titre de la présente loi, à des marchandises qui étaient en transit à la date où il a été pris.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Application des droits saisonniers aux fruits et légumes frais

1. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile et(ou) le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) peut activer ou suspendre un numéro tarifaire donné afin de rendre exécutoire des droits saisonniers sur l’importation de fruits et légumes frais.

2. Certains numéros tarifaires prévoient une période maximale d’application au cours de toute période de 12 mois, prenant fin le 31 mars, pour lequel les numéros tarifaires peuvent être activés ou suspendus.

3. Certains numéros tarifaires permettent la division de cette période en deux périodes distinctes.

4. Un importateur, propriétaire ou un producteur peut demander la suspension du taux de droit en pourcentage sur des légumes donnés en communiquant avec le Conseil canadien de l’horticulture et en fournissant des renseignements à l’appui de sa demande. S’il y a lieu, le Conseil canadien de l’horticulture obtiendra l’agrément du sous-ministre d’Agriculture et de l’Agro-alimentaire Canada, et enverra la demande de suspension des droits à l’ASFC.

Droit supplémentaire applicable à certains légumes en paquets d’un poids n’excédant pas 2,27 kg

5. On précise dans les numéros tarifaires suivants que si les marchandises sont en paquets n’excédant pas 2,27 kg chacun, un droit supplémentaire de 4 % s’applique :

0704.10.11, 0704.20.11, 0705.11.11, 0705.19.11, 0706.10.11, 0706.10.31, 0706.90.21, 0708.20.21, 0709.40.11, et 0709.99.31

6. Le paquet dont il est question dans ces numéros tarifaires est la première enveloppe. Par exemple, la laitue emballée séparément dans du polyéthylène (la première enveloppe) et ensuite mise dans une caisse contenant 24 de ces laitues est assujettie au droit supplémentaire.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7. Les agents de l’ASFC et les importateurs doivent prendre note que le taux de droit mentionné dans l’annonce d’activation d’un droit de douane saisonnier est le taux du tarif de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF). Lorsque les marchandises visées par l’arrêté sont importées d’un pays bénéficiant d’un traitement tarifaire autre que celui de la NPF, le taux de droit appliqué doit y être conforme.

8. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :
Autres références :
 
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-3 daté le 6 février 1998
Date de modification :