Border services officer
4. Training and development

After successfully meeting the selection process criteria, you will complete phased training and development.

Training and development

4 weeks

Online facilitated training

4.5 months

In-residence training at the CBSA College in Rigaud, Quebec

1 to 1.5 years

Paid on-the-job development as a trainee at one of the Agency’s Ports of Entry

You will learn about:

Note

You must comply with our Values and the Code of Conduct throughout all phases of training and development (including the online portion).

Online facilitated training (4 weeks)

The online facilitated training phase is the first phase of the Officer Induction Training Program (OITP). You will participate in self-paced, facilitated and group activities over a 4-week period. We will evaluate you using quizzes, activities, collaborative discussion postings and a final assignment.

You will learn about:

In-residence training (4.5 months)

The second phase of the OITP is the in-residence training at our college in Rigaud, Quebec. It is 4.5 months long, Monday through Friday, generally 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, with some training on evenings, weekends and statutory holidays, as required.

You will learn about:

We will assess you throughout the training: both informally (using performance-based learning activities) and formally (using multiple choice examinations and simulations).You must also attend scheduled physical fitness sessions.

Allowance

During the in-residence training, you receive an allowance of $125 per week plus accommodations and meals. We will cover the cost of one (1) round trip from your home residence to the CBSA College.

If you are currently a public servant and are invited to attend training at our College, refer to your collective agreement and talk to your manager about the appropriate leave option.

On-the-job development (1 to 1.5 years)

After in-residence training, you will be posted to a port of entry as a trainee (FB-02). We will strive to assign you to a port of entry within one of the districts that you selected during the hiring process, but this may not be possible due to operational changes.

During the on-the-job development phase, you will perform various job functions to demonstrate that you meet the position competencies. Once successfully completed, you will be appointed as a border service officer (FB-03).

Date modified:

Agent des services frontaliers
4. Formation et perfectionnement

Aperçu

Après avoir satisfait aux critères du processus de sélection, vous suivrez un processus de formation et de perfectionnement par étapes :

Formation et perfectionnement

4 semaines

Apprentissage en ligne facilité

4,5 mois

Formation en résidence au Collège de l'ASFC à Rigaud (Québec)

1 an à 1,5 an

Perfectionnement en milieu de travail rémunéré en tant que stagiaire dans un des points d'entrée de l'Agence

Vous apprendrez ce qui suit :

Remarque

Vous devez respecter nos valeurs et le Code de conduite pendant toutes les étapes de la formation et du perfectionnement (y compris la partie en ligne).

Apprentissage en ligne facilité (4 semaines)

La formation en ligne est la première étape du Programme de formation de base pour les agents (PFBA). Vous participerez à des activités à rythme libre, facilitées et en groupe pendant 4 semaines. Nous vous évaluerons à l'aide de questionnaires, d'activités, de messages de discussion collaborative et d'un travail final.

Vous développerez des connaissances sur les thèmes suivants :

Formation en résidence (4,5 mois)

La deuxième étape du PFBA est la formation en résidence au Collège de l'ASFC à Rigaud (Québec). Il s'agit d'un programme de quatre mois et demi, du lundi au vendredi, habituellement de 8 h à 16 h, qui peut comprendre de la formation les soirs, les fins de semaine et les jours fériés, au besoin.

Vous développerez des connaissances sur ce qui suit :

Nous vous évaluerons tout au long de la formation : de façon informelle (à l'aide d'activités d'apprentissage axées sur le rendement) et officielle (à l'aide d'examens à choix multiples et de simulations). Vous devez également participer à des séances régulières de conditionnement physique.

Indemnités

Lors de la formation en résidence, vous recevrez une indemnité de 125 $ par semaine, ainsi que l'hébergement et les repas. Nous assumerons également les frais d'un (1) voyage aller-retour de votre domicile au Collège de l'ASFC.

Si vous travaillez actuellement à la fonction publique et êtes invité à suivre de la formation au notre collège, consultez votre convention collective et discutez avec votre gestionnaire des options de congé appropriées.

Perfectionnement en milieu de travail (1 an à 1,5 an)

Après la formation en résidence, vous serez affecté à un point d'entrée en tant que stagiaire (FB-02). Nous nous efforcerons de vous affecter à un point d’entrée dans l’un des districts que vous avez indiqué, mais cela ne sera pas toujours possible en raison de changements opérationnels.

Au cours de l’étape de perfectionnement en milieu de travail, vous effectuerez diverses tâches afin de démontrer que vous possédez les compétences du poste. Après avoir réussi le programme de perfectionnement, vous serez promu à un poste d'agent des services frontaliers (FB-03).

Date de modification :