Food, plant and animal inspections

Help keep African swine fever out of Canada

Preventing the spread of African swine fever is everyone’s responsibility. If you plan to travel to a country impacted with African swine fever, you may unknowingly be spreading this pig disease to Canada. Avoid this by always declaring farm visits, contact with pigs, and any food, plants and animal products when entering the country or face a monetary penalty up to $1,300 CAD.
Learn more about African swine fever and how to protect Canadian pigs.

Notice: Safe Food for Canadians Regulations

The Safe Food for Canadians Regulations (SFCR) are effective as of and make our food system even safer by focussing on prevention and allowing for faster removal of unsafe food from the marketplace. In most cases, commercial importers will require a licence to import food into Canada. For more information, including timelines and guidance, please refer to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency website and Customs Notice 19-01.

What Food, Plant or Animal Products can I bring into Canada?

Did you know that importing a single piece of fruit or meat into Canada can be harmful to our ecosystems? Various food, plant and animal (FPA) products are restricted or prohibited entry because they can harbour foreign animal and plant pests and diseases. These things can cause irreparable harm to Canada's crops, livestock, environment, and threaten Canada's economy.

Many different kinds of items can introduce foreign threats into Canada. These include things as diverse as:

  • Food, such as raw or cooked meats, fruit/vegetables, milk;
  • Homemade articles, such as items made from plants or wood;
  • Houseplants;
  • Live animals, including pets;
  • Firewood;
  • Plant cuttings, seeds; and
  • Muddy hiking boots.

Please visit the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's website for more information on what you can bring into Canada in terms of food, plant, animal and related products.

Before you travel, verify the requirements for what you can bring into Canada

Before travelling to Canada, verify the requirements for any food, plant and animal products you are intending to bring into Canada. You can do this by using the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's (CFIA) Automated Import Reference System (AIRS).

Restrictions on what items you are allowed to bring into Canada vary depending on the product, country of origin and province of import. These restrictions are set up to help keep Canada's animals, plants and natural habitats healthy and safe. Due to constantly changing pest and disease situations, these restrictions may be adjusted at any time. Do your research each time you travel!

For assistance in finding or interpreting the requirements listed in AIRS, you may contact the CFIA's National Import Service Centre. General guidelines on what items you can or cannot bring into Canada can also be found on the CFIA's Web site.

Many goods are subject to controls under the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES), and others, even if not listed on the CITES Control List, may be prohibited for export by various countries. More information on CITES requirements and a searchable list of all CITES species can be found on Environment and Climate Change Canada's Web site.

The CFIA and Global Affairs Canada (GAC) has also have set limits on the quantity and/or dollar value of certain food products that you can bring into Canada duty-free or that you can include in your personal exemption. Please visit GAC's website for a complete listing of tariff rate quotas on agricultural products and export and import controls.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada also prohibits the importation of certain aquatic invasive species. For a list of those species, please consult the Schedule in the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations. Note that these prohibitions apply whether a traveller is aware or not of transporting listed aquatic invasive species. If listed species are found, the species and the equipment they are attached to may be seized, detained, and/or ordered cleaned.

An additional source of importation information is the CBSA's Border Information Service (BIS).

If you are importing food for commercial purposes, please refer to Commercial shipments.

Tips for Travellers

  • Always declare your FPA items to the CBSA when entering Canada, whether they are regulated or not. If you are unsure about an item, ask a border officer!
  • Verify the import requirements for any food, plant and animal products that you plan to bring into Canada.
  • Check for "Hitchhikers", such as Zebra and Quagga mussels, snails, insects and other potential invasive alien species that can attach or cling to items such as boats, trailers, vehicles, plants, packaging and equipment.
  • Be sure to complete the areas of your Customs Declaration Card regarding farm visits, and avoid contact with farmed animals, zoo animals or wildlife for 14 days after you arrive in Canada if you were exposed to similar animals in other countries.
  • Be sure to clean all soil and organic debris off of any items including hiking boots, vehicles, boats and gardening and construction tools/equipment.
Date modified:

Inspections des aliments, des végétaux et des animaux

Quels aliments, végétaux et animaux puis-je rapporter au Canada?

Saviez-vous qu'un seul morceau de fruit ou de viande que vous rapportez au Canada peut nuire à nos écosystèmes? L'entrée de certains produits alimentaires, végétaux et animaux est restreinte ou interdite parce qu'ils peuvent être porteurs d'organismes nuisibles et de maladies provenant d'animaux ou de végétaux étrangers. Ces organismes nuisibles et maladies peuvent causer des torts irréparables aux cultures, au bétail et à l'environnement au Canada, et peut menacer l'économie canadienne.

Plusieurs marchandises agroalimentaires peuvent présenter une menace pour le Canada. En voici des exemples :

  • les aliments, comme la viande crue ou cuite, les fruits et légumes, le lait;
  • les produits maison, comme les articles faits à partir de plantes ou de bois;
  • les plantes d'intérieur;
  • les animaux vivants, y compris les animaux de compagnie;
  • le bois de chauffage;
  • les boutures et les graines; et
  • les bottes de randonnée boueuses.

Pour obtenir une liste des produits alimentaires, animaux et végétaux fréquemment importés ainsi que les lignes directrices liées à leur importation des États-Unis, veuillez consulter le guide de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments : Quels aliments, végétaux, animaux et produits connexes puis-je rapporter au Canada?

Avant de voyager, informez-vous au sujet des produits que vous pouvez rapporter au Canada

Avant de voyager au Canada, assurez-vous de connaître les exigences relatives aux produits alimentaires, végétaux et animaux que vous avez l'intention de rapporter au Canada. Pour ce faire, vous pouvez utiliser le Système automatisé de référence à l'importation (SARI) de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA).

Les restrictions relatives aux articles que vous pouvez rapporter au Canada varient selon le produit, le pays d'origine et la province d'entrée au Canada. Ces restrictions servent à contribuer à la santé et à la protection des animaux, des végétaux et des habitats naturels du Canada. Comme la situation relative aux maladies et aux organismes nuisibles évolue sans cesse, les restrictions sont en tout temps sujettes à modification. Faites vos recherches chaque fois que vous voyagez!

Pour obtenir de l'aide afin de connaître ou d'interpréter les exigences énoncées dans le SARI, communiquez avec le Centre de service national à l'importation de l'ACIA. Le site Web de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments présente aussi des lignes directrices générales sur les articles que vous pouvez rapporter au Canada.

Un grand nombre de marchandises sont visées par la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES), et d'autres marchandises, même s'ils ne sont pas énumérées sur la Liste de contrôle de la CITES, peuvent être interdites à l'exportation par divers pays. Vous pouvez retrouver des renseignements supplémentaires sur les exigences de la CITES ainsi qu'une liste énumérant toutes les espèces protégées par la CITES, dans laquelle on peut effectuer des recherches, sur le site Web d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

L'ACIA et Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) ont aussi fixé des limites quant à la quantité ou à la valeur en dollars de certains produits alimentaires que vous pouvez rapporter au Canada en franchise de droits de douane ou que vous pouvez inclure dans votre exemption personnelle. Veuillez visiter le site Web d'AMC pour obtenir une liste complète des contingents tarifaires relatifs aux produits agricoles et des contrôles à l'exportation et l'importation.

Pêches et Océans Canada interdit également l'importation de certaines espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Pour obtenir une liste de ces espèces, veuillez consulter l'annexe du Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Il importe de mentionner que ces interdictions s'appliquent que le voyageur sache ou non qu'il transporte des espèces aquatiques envahissantes inscrites dans la liste. Si une telle espèce est découverte, l'espèce et l'équipement sur lequel elle a été trouvée pourraient être saisis et retenus, ou on pourrait exiger leur nettoyage.

Le Service d'information sur la frontière de l'ASFC constitue une autre source d'information sur les importations.

Si vous importez des aliments à des fins commerciales, veuillez consulter la page sur les importations commerciales.

Conseils aux voyageurs

  • Déclarez toujours vos produits alimentaires, végétaux et animaux à l'ASFC lorsque vous entrez au Canada, que les produits soient réglementés ou non. Si vous avez des doutes quant à un produit, demandez à un agent des services frontaliers de vous aider!
  • Vérifiez les exigences d'importation pour tous les produits alimentaires, végétaux et animaux que vous comptez rapporter au Canada.
  • Vérifiez la présence de « passagers clandestins », comme les moules zébrées et quagga, les escargots, les insectes et d'autres espèces exotiques envahissantes potentielles qui peuvent s'attacher ou s'accrocher aux objets, notamment les bateaux, les remorques, les véhicules, les végétaux, les emballages et l'équipement.
  • Assurez-vous de remplir les sections de votre carte de déclaration douanière qui concernent les visites d'exploitations agricoles et d'éviter tout contact avec des animaux d'élevage, de zoos ou sauvages dans les 14 jours suivant votre arrivée au Canada si vous avez été en présence d'animaux semblables dans d'autres pays.
  • Assurez-vous d'enlever toute la terre et tous les déchets organiques des articles, notamment les bottes de randonnée, les véhicules, les bateaux et les outils et l'équipement de jardinage et de construction.
Date de modification :