ARCHIVED - Chapter 80 - T2015

Tin and articles thereof

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF (27 KB) [help with PDF files]

Notes.

1. In this Chapter the following expressions have the meanings hereby assigned to them:

(a) Bars and rods

Rolled, extruded, drawn or forged products, not in coils, which have a uniform solid cross-section along their whole length in the shape of circles, ovals, rectangles (including squares), equilateral triangles or regular convex polygons (including "flattened circles" and "modified rectangles", of which two opposite sides are convex arcs, the other two sides being straight, of equal length and parallel). Products with a rectangular (including square), triangular or polygonal cross-section may have corners rounded along their whole length. The thickness of such products which have a rectangular (including "modified rectangular") cross-section exceeds one-tenth of the width. The expression also covers cast or sintered products, of the same forms and dimensions, which have been subsequently worked after production (otherwise than by simple trimming or de-scaling), provided that they have not thereby assumed the character of articles or products of other headings.

(b) Profiles

Rolled, extruded, drawn, forged or formed products, coiled or not, of a uniform cross-section along their whole length, which do not conform to any of the definitions of bars, rods, wire, plates, sheets, strip, foil, tubes or pipes. The expression also covers cast or sintered products, of the same forms, which have been subsequently worked after production (otherwise than by simple trimming or de-scaling), provided that they have not thereby assumed the character of articles or products of other headings.

(c) Wire

Rolled, extruded or drawn products, in coils, which have a uniform solid cross-section along their whole length in the shape of circles, ovals, rectangles (including squares), equilateral triangles or regular convex polygons (including "flattened circles" and "modified rectangles", of which two opposite sides are convex arcs, the other two sides being straight, of equal length and parallel). Products with a rectangular (including square), triangular or polygonal cross-section may have corners rounded along their whole length. The thickness of such products which have a rectangular (including "modified rectangular") cross-section exceeds one-tenth of the width.

(d) Plates, sheets, strip and foil

Flat-surfaced products (other than the unwrought products of heading 80.01), coiled or not, of solid rectangular (other than square) cross-section with or without rounded corners (including "modified rectangles" of which two opposite sides are convex arcs, the other two sides being straight, of equal length and parallel) of a uniform thickness, which are:

  • of rectangular (including square) shape with a thickness not exceeding one-tenth of the width,
  • of a shape other than rectangular or square, of any size, provided that they do not assume the character of articles or products of other headings.

(e) Tubes and pipes

Hollow products, coiled or not, which have a uniform cross-section with only one enclosed void along their whole length in the shape of circles, ovals, rectangles (including squares), equilateral triangles or regular convex polygons, and which have a uniform wall thickness. Products with a rectangular (including square), equilateral triangular or regular convex polygonal cross-section, which may have corners rounded along their whole length, are also to be considered as tubes and pipes provided the inner and outer cross-sections are concentric and have the same form and orientation. Tubes and pipes of the foregoing cross-sections may be polished, coated, bent, threaded, drilled, waisted, expanded, cone-shaped or fitted with flanges, collars or rings.

Subheading Note.

1. In this Chapter the following expressions have the meanings hereby assigned to them:

(a) Tin, not alloyed

Metal containing by weight at least 99% of tin, provided that the content by weight of any bismuth or copper is less than the limit specified in the following table:

Table - Other elements
Element Limiting content % by weight
Bi - Bismuth 0.1
Cu - Copper 0.4

(b) Tin alloys

Metallic substances in which tin predominates by weight over each of the other elements, provided that:

  • (i) the total content by weight of such other elements exceeds 1%; or
  • (ii) the content by weight of either bismuth or copper is equal to or greater than the limit specified in the foregoing table.

Customs Tariff Schedule

Tariff Item SS Description of Goods Unit of Meas. MFN Tariff Applicable Preferential Tariffs
80.01 Unwrought tin.   
8001.10.0000Unwrought tin. - Tin, not alloyedKGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8001.20.00 Unwrought tin. - Tin alloysKGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8001.20.0010Unwrought tin. - Tin alloys - Tin-antimony alloysKGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8001.20.0020Unwrought tin. - Tin alloys - Tin-lead-antimony alloysKGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8001.20.0090Unwrought tin. - Tin alloys - OtherKGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8002.00.0000Tin waste and scrap.KGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8003.00.0000Tin bars, rods, profiles and wire.KGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8007.00 Other articles of tin.   
8007.00.1000Other articles of tin. - FoilKGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8007.00.2000Other articles of tin. - Tin plates, sheets and strip, of a thickness exceeding 0.2 mm; Tin tubes, pipes and tube or pipe fittings (for example, couplings, elbows, sleeves)KGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8007.00.3000Other articles of tin. - Powders and flakesKGMFreeCCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8007.00.90 Other articles of tin. - OtherKGM3%CCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8007.00.9040Other articles of tin. - Other - Subject to customs duty based on excise duty-3%CCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
8007.00.9090Other articles of tin. - Other - Other-3%CCCT, LDCT, GPT, UST, MT, MUST, CIAT, CT, CRT, IT, NT, SLT, PT, COLT, JT, PAT, HNT, KRT: Free
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Chapitre 80 - T2015

Étain et ouvrages en étain

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

PDF (52 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

Notes.

1. Dans ce Chapitre, on entend par :

a) Barres

les produits laminés, filés, étirés ou forgés, non enroulés, dont la section transversale pleine et constante sur toute leur longueur est en forme de cercle, d'ovale, de carré, de rectangle, de triangle équilatéral ou de polygone convexe régulier (y compris les « cercles aplatis » et les « rectangles modifies », dont deux côtés opposés sont en forme d'arc de cercle convexe, les deux autres étant rectilignes, égaux et parallèles). Les produits de section transversale carrée, rectangulaire, triangulaire ou polygonale peuvent présenter des angles arrondis sur toute leur longueur. L'épaisseur des produits de section transversale rectangulaire (y compris les produits de section « rectangulaire modifiée ») excède le dixième de la largeur. On considère également comme tels les produits de mêmes formes et dimensions, obtenus par moulage, coulage ou frittage, lorsqu'ils ont reçu postérieurement à leur obtention une ouvraison supérieure à un ébarbage grossier, pourvu que cette ouvraison n'ait pas pour effet de conférer à ces produits le caractère d'articles ou d'ouvrages repris ailleurs.

b) Profilés

les produits laminés, filés, étirés, forgés ou obtenus par formage ou pliage, enroulés ou non, d'une section transversale constante sur toute leur longueur, qui ne correspondent pas à l'une quelconque des définitions des barres, fils, tôles, bandes, feuilles, tubes ou tuyaux. On considère également comme tels les produits de mêmes formes, obtenus par moulage, coulage ou frittage, lorsqu'ils ont reçu postérieurement à leur obtention une ouvraison supérieure à un ébarbage grossier, pourvu que cette ouvraison n'ait pas pour effet de conférer à ces produits le caractère d'articles ou d'ouvrages repris ailleurs.

c) Fils

les produits laminés, filés, étirés ou tréfilés, enroulés, dont la section transversale pleine et constante sur toute leur longueur est en forme de cercle, d'ovale, de carré, de rectangle, de triangle équilatéral ou de polygone convexe régulier (y compris les « cercles aplatis » et les « rectangles modifiés », dont deux côtés opposés sont en forme d'arc de cercle convexe, les deux autres étant rectilignes, égaux et parallèles). Les produits de section transversale carrée, rectangulaire, triangulaire ou polygonale peuvent présenter des angles arrondis sur toute leur longueur. L'épaisseur des produits de section transversale rectangulaire (y compris les produits de section « rectangulaire modifiée ») excède le dixième de la largeur.

d) Tôles, bandes et feuilles

les produits plats (autres que les produits sous forme brute du nº 80.01), enroulés ou non, de section transversale pleine rectangulaire même avec angles arrondis (y compris les « rectangles modifiés », dont deux côtés opposés sont en forme d'arc de cercle convexe, les deux autres étant rectilignes, égaux et parallèles) à épaisseur constante, présentés :

  • sous forme carrée ou rectangulaire, dont l'épaisseur n'excède pas le dixième de la largeur,
  • sous forme autre que carrée ou rectangulaire, de n'importe quelle dimension, pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas le caractère d'articles ou d'ouvrages repris ailleurs.

e) Tubes et tuyaux

les produits creux, enroulés ou non, dont la section transversale, qui est constante sur toute leur longueur et ne présente qu'un seul creux fermé, est en forme de cercle, d'ovale, de carré, de rectangle, de triangle équilatéral ou de polygone convexe régulier, et dont les parois ont une épaisseur constante. On considère également comme tubes et tuyaux les produits de section transversale carrée, rectangulaire, triangulaire équilatérale ou polygonale convexe régulière, qui peuvent présenter des angles arrondis sur toute leur longueur, pour autant que les sections transversales intérieure et extérieure aient la même forme, la même disposition et le même centre. Les tubes et tuyaux ayant les sections transversales citées ci-dessus peuvent être polis, revêtus, cintrés, filetés, taraudés, percés, rétreints, évasés, coniques ou munis de brides, de collerettes ou de bagues.

Note de sous-positions.

1. Dans ce Chapitre, on entend par :

a) Étain non allié

le métal contenant au moins 99 % en poids d'étain, pour autant que la teneur en poids du bismuth ou du cuivre éventuellement présents soit inférieure aux limites indiquées dans le tableau ci-après :

Tableau - Autres éléments
Élément Teneur limite % en poids
Bi - Bismuth 0,1
Cu - Cuivre 0,4

b) Alliages d'étain

les matières métalliques dans lesquelles l'étain prédomine en poids sur chacun des autres éléments, pour autant que :

  • 1) la teneur totale en poids de ces autres éléments excède 1 %, ou que
  • 2) la teneur en poids du bismuth ou du cuivre soit égale ou supérieure aux limites indiquées dans le tableau ci-dessus.

Tarif des douanes - annexe

Numéro tarifaire SS Dénomination des marchandises Unité de mes. Tarif de la N.P.F. Tarif de préférence applicable
Numéro tarifaireSSDénomination des marchandisesUnité de mes.Tarif de la N.P.F.Tarif de préférence applicable
80.01 Étain sous forme brute.   
8001.10.0000Étain sous forme brute. - Étain non alliéKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8001.20.00 Étain sous forme brute. - Alliages d'étainKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8001.20.0010Étain sous forme brute. - Alliages d'étain - Alliages étain-antimoineKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8001.20.0020Étain sous forme brute. - Alliages d'étain - Alliages étain-plomb-antimoineKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8001.20.0090Étain sous forme brute. - Alliages d'étain - AutresKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8002.00.0000Déchets et débris d'étain.KGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8003.00.0000Barres, profilés et fils, en étain.KGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8007.00 Autres ouvrages en étain.   
8007.00.1000Autres ouvrages en étain. - Feuilles et bandes mincesKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8007.00.2000Autres ouvrages en étain. - Tôles, feuilles et bandes en étain, d'une épaisseur excédant 0,2 mm; Tubes, tuyaux et accessoires de tuyauterie (raccords, coudes, manchons, par exemple), en étainKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8007.00.3000Autres ouvrages en étain. - Poudres et paillettesKGMEn fr.TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8007.00.90 Autres ouvrages en étain. - AutresKGM3 %TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8007.00.9040Autres ouvrages en étain. - Autres - Sujet au droit de douane basé sur le droit d'accise-3 %TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
8007.00.9090Autres ouvrages en étain. - Autres - Autres-3 %TPAC, TPMD, TPG, TÉU, TM, TMÉU, TACI, TC, TCR, TI, TN, TSL, TP, TCOL, TJ, TPA, THN, TKR: En fr.
Date de modification :