COVID-19 action at CBSA land border crossings

2020-05-29
Measures taken at the border by the CBSA and its partners to protect Canadians against COVID-19.

Transcript

When travellers arrive in Canada at land border crossings, they will notice procedural changes as the Canada Border Services Agency responds to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Travellers arriving at a port of entry can expect the usual questions, ensuring the free flow of legitimate people and goods.

CBSA officers remain vigilant and are highly trained to identify travellers seeking entry into Canada who may pose a health and safety risk.

All travellers are subject to mandatory quarantine, whether or not they present COVID-19 symptoms, and are required to wear a non-medical mask or face covering upon entry into Canada. If they don’t have one, they may be provided with non-medical masks upon arrival as appropriate and must be worn while in transit to their isolation or quarantine location, unless the mask or face covering needs to be removed for security or safety reasons.

Travellers are now also asked if they have COVID-19 related symptoms such as fever, coughing or shortness of breath. If travellers declare to an officer that they are presenting symptoms, they will be referred to a Quarantine Officer from the Public Health Agency of Canada. Travellers with symptoms will be provided a handout on mandatory isolation for 14 days and instructions to follow.

Travellers will also need to confirm that they have a suitable place to isolate or quarantine where they have access to basic necessities and not have contact with vulnerable people such as those with pre-existing medical conditions or individuals over the age of 65 years.

Travellers with no symptoms will be given a Public Health Agency of Canada handout explaining the mandatory 14-day quarantine period, instructions to follow and phone numbers that they can contact if they develop symptoms.

This ensures that all travellers returning to or arriving in Canada are given the important direction that they must follow to protect themselves, their families, and our communities.

The CBSA is assisting the Public Health Agency of Canada in their efforts to monitor and enforce compliance of the mandatory quarantine and isolation order through the expansion of the collection of contact information for travellers arriving to Canada by capturing basic biographical and contact information of travellers while in Canada. The ArriveCAN mobile app is now available in the Google Play or the Apple App Stores and is the preferred alternative to the paper form for the collection of traveller contact information. This information will be provided to the Public Health Agency of Canada, who will determine when and how to share this information with provincial authorities and/or law enforcement, as needed.

All Canadians can do their part by following the direction of Border Services Officers upon entry to Canada and strictly adhering to Public Health Agency of Canada measures on physical distancing, isolation and hand-washing to prevent the further spread of the COVID-19 disease within Canada.

Travellers may experience longer wait times than usual, so plan ahead and visit the Canada Border Services Agency website or use the CanBorder App to verify the most up to date border wait times.

The following text appears on the screen:
© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada.
represented by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness,

Canada Wordmark appears.

Date modified:

Mesures contre la COVID-19 aux postes frontaliers terrestres de l'ASFC

2020-05-29
Mesures prises à la frontière terrestre par l'ASFC et ses partenaires pour protéger les canadiens contre la COVID-19.

Transcription

Lorsque les voyageurs arrivent au Canada aux postes frontaliers terrestres, ils remarqueront les changements aux processus alors que l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada prend des mesures à l’égard de la pandémie de la COVID-19.

Les voyageurs arrivant à un point d’entrée peuvent s’attendre à devoir répondre aux questions habituelles visant à assurer la libre circulation des personnes et des marchandises légitimes.

Les agents de l’ASFC demeurent vigilants et sont hautement qualifiés pour repérer les voyageurs souhaitant entrer au Canada qui pourraient poser un risque pour la santé et la sécurité.

Tous les voyageurs soumis à une quarantaine obligatoire, qu'ils présentent ou non des symptômes de la COVID-19, sont tenus de porter un masque ou un couvre-visage non médical à leur entrée au Canada. S'ils n'en ont pas, on peut leur fournir un masque non médical à leur arrivée, selon le cas, et ils doivent le porter pendant le transit vers leur lieu d'isolement ou de quarantaine, à moins que le masque ou le couvre-visage ne doive être retiré pour des raisons de sécurité ou de protection.

On demande désormais aussi aux voyageurs s'ils présentent des symptômes associés à la COVID-19, tels que de la fièvre, une toux ou des difficultés respiratoires. Si un voyageur déclare à un agent qu'il éprouve des symptômes, il sera dirigé vers un agent de quarantaine de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Les voyageurs qui présentent des symptômes recevront un document sur la période d'isolement obligatoire de 14 jours, ainsi que les instructions à suivre.

Les voyageurs devront également confirmer qu'ils disposent d'un lieu d'isolement ou de quarantaine approprié où ils ont accès aux nécessités de subsistance et où ils n'ont pas de contact avec des personnes vulnérables telles que celles ayant des problèmes médicaux préexistants ou les personnes âgées de plus de 65 ans.

Les voyageurs qui ne présentent aucun symptôme recevront un document de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada leur fournissant des explications sur la quarantaine obligatoire de 14 jours, les instructions à suivre et des numéros de téléphone qu’ils peuvent composer s’ils présentent des symptômes.

Ces mesures visent à s’assurer que tous les voyageurs qui reviennent ou qui arrivent au Canada reçoivent les directives importantes qu’ils doivent suivre pour se protéger et protéger leurs familles et nos collectivités.

L'ASFC aide l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada à surveiller et à faire respecter l’ordonnance de quarantaine et d'isolement obligatoire par l’élargissement de la collecte de coordonnées des voyageurs arrivant au Canada, qui consiste à saisir les données biographiques de base et les coordonnées des voyageurs pendant leur séjour au Canada. L'application mobile ArriveCAN est maintenant disponible dans les magasins Google Play ou Apple et est la solution préférée au formulaire papier pour la collecte des coordonnées des voyageurs. Ces renseignements seront remis à l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, qui déterminera quand et comment communiquer l’information aux autorités provinciales et aux organismes d’exécution de la loi, au besoin. 

Tous les Canadiens peuvent contribuer aux efforts en suivant les directives des agents des services frontaliers à leur entrée au Canada et en respectant rigoureusement les mesures de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada relatives à l’éloignement physique, à l'isolement et au lavage des mains pour empêcher la propagation de la COVID-19 au Canada.

Il se peut que les temps d’attente soient plus longs que d’habitude. Planifiez vos déplacements et consultez le site Web de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada ou utilisez l’application FrontiereCan pour vérifier les plus récentes mises à jour sur les temps d’attente à la frontière.

Le texte suivant apparaît à l'écran :
© Sa Majesté la Reine du Canada,
représentée par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile,

Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît.

Date de modification :