COVID-19 actions by the CBSA for travellers arriving by air

2020-05-29
Measures taken at the border by the CBSA and its partners to protect Canadians against COVID-19.

Transcript

The Canada Border Services Agency has made process changes for travellers arriving in Canada by air from international destinations to help protect the safety and security of Canadians.

All travellers, whether or not they present COVID-19 symptoms, are required to wear a non-medical mask or face covering upon entry into Canada.

There are now two checkpoints related to traveller health. The first occurs when travellers disembark the aircraft at the gate, where a Border Services Officer will conduct a primary screening with every traveller and crew member. 

Here, travellers must declare to the officer if they are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 such as fever, cough or shortness of breath. Any traveller that self-declares or exhibits symptoms of COVID-19 will be brought to a Quarantine Officer of the Public Health Agency of Canada, located in a pre-designated area of the airport. These travellers presenting symptoms will be provided a 14-day mandatory isolation order. These travellers will not be permitted to board a public conveyance for onward travel, be it a plane, bus, or train.

All travellers arriving in Canada, whether they have symptoms or not, will need to confirm that they have a suitable place to self-isolate where they will have access to basic necessities, and not have contact with vulnerable people, such as those with pre-existing medical conditions and people over 65.

Travellers who do not display or have signs or symptoms of COVID-19 at the first checkpoint will be directed to the second checkpoint at the Primary Inspection area. Here, travellers will be asked questions once again, related to whether or not they are presenting symptoms of COVID-19. If a traveller declares that they have symptoms of COVID-19, they will be referred to a Quarantine Officer of the Public Health Agency of Canada for further examination.

If travellers do not have symptoms of COVID-19, a Border Services Officer will advise them they must quarantine for 14 days and provide them with handouts from the Public Health Agency of Canada, with instructions to follow.

The CBSA is assisting PHAC in their efforts to monitor and enforce compliance of this mandatory quarantine order by collecting traveller contact information for all travellers arriving in Canada. The information collected includes basic traveller biographical, flight, and contact information.

The Government of Canada recently launched the ArriveCAN mobile app on the Google Play and the Apple App stores and these are preferred alternatives to the paper form for the collection of traveller contact information.

Traveller contact information collected by CBSA officers at ports of entry or through the use of the ArriveCAN app, is provided to PHAC, who will determine when and how to share this information with provincial authorities and/or law enforcement, as needed.

Border Services Officers remain vigilant and are highly trained to identify travellers seeking entry into Canada who may pose a health and safety risk of COVID-19.

All Canadians must follow the orders presented by the Border Services Officers upon entry to Canada and strictly adhere to the Public Health Agency of Canada’s measures on physical distancing, isolation, and hand-washing to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

The CBSA is ensuring that all travellers returning to or arriving in Canada are given these critical instructions that must be followed to protect themselves, their families, and our communities.

The following text appears on the screen:
© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada.
represented by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness,

Canada Wordmark appears.

Date modified:

Mesures reliées à la COVID-19 prises par l'ASFC pour les voyageurs arrivant par avion

2020-05-29
.

Transcription

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada a apporté des modifications aux processus pour les voyageurs qui arrivent au Canada de l’étranger par avion afin de protéger la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens.

Tous les voyageurs, qu'ils présentent des symptômes de la COVID-19 ou non, sont tenus de porter un masque non médical ou de se couvrir le visage à leur entrée au Canada.

Il y a maintenant deux points de contrôle reliés à la santé des voyageurs. Le premier a lieu à la porte lorsque les voyageurs descendent de l’avion, où les agents des services frontaliers procèdent au contrôle de chaque passager et membre d'équipage.

À ce moment-là, les voyageurs doivent déclarer à l’agent s'ils présentent des symptômes de la COVID‑19, comme de la fièvre, une toux ou de l’essoufflement. Tout voyageur qui déclare ou qui présente des symptômes de la COVID-19 sera accompagné à un agent de quarantaine de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) se trouvant dans une zone prédéterminée de l'aéroport. Ces voyageurs recevront un ordre d'isolement obligatoire de 14 jours. De plus, ils ne seront pas autorisés à monter à bord d’un moyen de transport public pour poursuivre leur voyage, qu’il s’agisse d’un avion, d’un autobus ou d’un train.  

Tous les voyageurs qui arrivent au Canada, qu’ils présentent des symptômes ou non, devront confirmer qu’ils ont un endroit approprié pour s’isoler où ils auront accès aux nécessités de base et où ils ne seront pas en contact avec des personnes vulnérables, comme celles qui ont des problèmes médicaux préexistants ou celles qui ont plus de 65 ans.

Les voyageurs qui ne présentent ou n’éprouvent aucun signe ni symptôme de la COVID-19 au premier point de contrôle seront dirigés vers le deuxième point de contrôle, la zone d’inspection primaire. À cette étape, les voyageurs se verront encore une fois poser des questions visant à déterminer s'ils présentent ou non des symptômes de la COVID-19. Si un voyageur déclare qu'il présente des symptômes de la COVID‑19, il sera dirigé vers un agent de quarantaine de l'ASPC pour un examen approfondi.

Si les voyageurs n'ont pas de symptômes de la COVID-19, un agent des services frontaliers les informera qu'ils doivent se mettre en quarantaine pendant 14 jours et leur fournira des documents de l'ASPC avec les directives à suivre.

L’ASFC aide l’ASPC dans ses efforts à surveiller et à appliquer l’ordre obligatoire d’isolement en recueillant de l’information de base reliée aux voyageurs arrivant au Canada. L’information recueillie comprend les données biographiques de base du voyageur, son vol et ses coordonnées.

Le gouvernement du Canada a récemment lancé l'application mobile ArriveCAN dans le Play Store de Google ou l'App Store d’Apple, et celle-ci constitue une alternative privilégiée au formulaire papier pour la collecte des coordonnées des voyageurs.

Les coordonnées recueillies par les agents de l'ASFC aux points d'entrée ou grâce à l'application ArriveCAN sont transmises à l'ASPC, qui déterminera quand et comment communiquer ces renseignements aux autorités provinciales et/ou aux organismes d'application de la loi, selon les besoins.

Les agents des services frontaliers restent vigilants et sont hautement qualifiés pour reconnaître les voyageurs souhaitant entrer au Canada qui peuvent présenter un risque pour la santé et la sécurité en raison de la COVID-19.

Tous les Canadiens doivent suivre les ordres qui leur sont présentés par les agents des services frontaliers à leur entrée au Canada et se conformer strictement aux mesures de l'ASPC sur l'éloignement physique, l'isolement et le lavage des mains afin de prévenir la propagation de la COVID-19.

L'ASFC veille à ce que tous les voyageurs qui reviennent ou qui arrivent au Canada reçoivent ces directives essentielles qui doivent être suivies pour se protéger, et protéger leurs familles ainsi que nos collectivités.

Le texte suivant apparaît à l'écran :
© Sa Majesté la Reine du Canada,
représentée par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile,

Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît.

Date de modification :