People of the CBSA: Kieran Ebanks's story - Video transcript

2021-01-05
People of the CBSA: Kieran Ebanks's story

Transcript

Kieran Ebanks, Superintendent, on-screen.

Images of Kieran reviewing files and working at the Emerson port of entry.

As a superintendent responsible for the Tolstoi and Gretna ports of entry, I do a lot of reviewing files. Officers have either a seizure action or an immigration enforcement action. I review the files and make sure that everything is according to the legislation and our policies.

The part I enjoy the most about my job is the variety. There’s no two days that are the same, and that’s definitely a big plus for me. I’ve been with the Agency for nearly eight years. My first five years I spent at the Lyleton, Manitoba port of entry, and the last three years I’ve spent here at Emerson.

I’ve always considered myself a protector or a guardian, so that’s what really drew me to law enforcement. When I was in Lyleton, I was a volunteer firefighter. Before that, I used to volunteer with St. John Ambulance.

You’d go on the CBSA website and see words like national security, public safety, and defensive tactics, and it almost seems overwhelming, but once you receive the training that you do, you realize that you are capable and you can rise to the occasion.

Images of the CBSA College in Rigaud, Quebec. “CBSA College: Where it all starts.”

If I could give you one word about the training at Rigaud, it’s “outstanding”. Without question, the facilities are unparalleled, whether that’s from the food to all the resources that are available there – just outstanding.

Images from Lacolle, Quebec.

I was in Lacolle, Quebec during the surge of irregular arrivals that we had. The experience itself, I think, is something that will go down in the history books and I’m proud to be a part of that.

I find it important in my job to have conversations surrounding values with the employees – values and ethics – so that we can all be on the same page and protect Canada and Canadians. I think a lot of the CBSA values align perfectly with my values.

As the only visible minority manager in the Southern Manitoba District, the challenges that I face are that I put a lot of pressure on myself to be a champion to issues surrounding visible minorities in the workplace. The Agency makes a conscious effort to address any sort of issues surrounding that, and to properly train employees on how to address those sorts of different factors that they may not be familiar with.

Canada wordmark appears.

Date modified:

Les employés de l'ASFC : Histoire de Kieran Ebanks - Transcription de la vidéo

2021-01-05
Les employés de l'ASFC : Histoire de Kieran Ebanks

Transcription

Kieran Ebanks, surintendant , à l’écran.

Images de Kieran qui examine des dossiers et qui travaille au point d’entrée d’Emerson.

En tant que surintendant responsable des points d’entrée de Tolstoi et de Gretna, j’examine beaucoup de dossiers. Les agents ont soit une mesure de saisie, soit une mesure d’exécution de la loi liée à l’immigration. J’examine les dossiers pour m’assurer que tout est conforme à la loi et à nos politiques.  

Ce que j’aime le plus dans mon travail, c’est la variété. Il n'y a pas deux jours qui se ressemblent, et c'est certainement un grand avantage pour moi. Je travaille à l'Agence depuis près de huit ans. J'ai passé les cinq premières années au point d'entrée de Lyleton, au Manitoba, et les trois dernières années ici, à Emerson.

Je me suis toujours considéré comme un protecteur ou un gardien, c'est donc ce qui m'a vraiment attiré vers le monde de l’exécution de la loi. Lorsque j'étais à Lyleton, j'étais pompier volontaire. Avant cela, j'étais bénévole pour l'Ambulance Saint-Jean.

Sur le site Web de l’ASFC on voit des mots comme sécurité nationale, sécurité publique et tactiques défensives. Ça peut sembler intimidant, mais une fois qu’on a reçu la formation, on se rend compte qu’on est capable et qu’on peut être à la hauteur.

Images du Collège de l’ASFC à Rigaud, Québec. « Le Collège de l’ASFC : Où tout commence »

Si je peux décrire en un mot la formation à Rigaud, c’est « exceptionnel ». Sans aucun doute, les installations sont inégalées, qu’il s’agisse de la nourriture ou de toutes les ressources qui sont disponibles – c’est tout simplement exceptionnel.

Images de Lacolle, Québec.

J’étais à Lacolle, au Québec, pendant la récente vague d’arrivées irrégulières. L’expérience elle‑même, je pense, est quelque chose qui entrera dans l’histoire et je suis fier d’y avoir participé.  

Dans mon travail, je trouve important d'avoir des conversations sur les valeurs avec les employés - les valeurs et l'éthique - afin que nous puissions tous être sur la même longueur d'onde et protéger le Canada et les Canadiens. Je pense que beaucoup de valeurs de l'ASFC correspondent parfaitement à mes valeurs.  

En tant que seul gestionnaire d’une minorité visible dans le district du sud du Manitoba, les défis auxquels je suis confronté sont que je me mets beaucoup de pression pour être un champion des questions relatives aux minorités visibles en milieu de travail. L'Agence s'efforce de s'attaquer à tous les enjeux à ce sujet, et de former adéquatement les employés sur la façon d’aborder ces différents facteurs qu'ils ne connaissent peut-être pas.

Le mot-symbole Canada apparaît.

Date de modification :