Consultations
Proposed Amendments to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations Sections 45-49 (Deposits or Guarantees)

Current status: Closed

Open on and will close to new input on .

Description

Amendments are being contemplated to, among other things, address comments raised by the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations (REGS). The REGS is responsible for reviewing and scrutinizing regulations and other statutory instruments, and reviews only matters of legality and the procedural aspects of regulations. It does not evaluate the merits of regulations or the policies that they are intended to implement.

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is considering regulatory amendments to address the issue raised by the REGS. This includes adding the following general set of minimum factors for a decision-maker (e.g. officer, member of the Immigration Division (ID) of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada, or the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, as authorized in the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA)) to consider when fulfilling the requirements under paragraph 47(2)(b) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations (IRPR):

The onus will be on the proposed bondsperson to provide evidence to satisfy the decision-maker as he or she considers this general set of minimum factors.

These factors are already considered by officers as a matter of operational policy; establishing them in law is intended to ensure consistent, transparent, and uniform application of a minimum baseline of factors to be considered by all decision-makers.

This proposed amendment also seeks to clarify the requirements of bondspersons, by restructuring the general requirements section and incorporating the above minimum set of general factors for all proposed bondspersons.

In addition, this proposed amendment seeks to amend paragraph 47(2)(c) and subsection 47(3) of the IRPR to include the ID and Minister as relevant decision-makers, in addition to an officer, where they are authorized to impose conditions including the requirement to pay a deposit or post a guarantee. This is intended to ensure consistency across all decision-makers authorized to require a deposit or guarantee to ensure compliance with conditions imposed. The relevant decision-maker makes the final decision on the bondsperson, barring any new information bringing into question the eligibility of the bondsperson or the legality of the source of funds.

Finally, this proposed amendment seeks to make two consequential amendments to section 46 of the IRPR, which lists the sections of the IRPA to which the Deposits or Guarantees regulations apply. Legislative amendments in 2010 and 2012 changed references in the IRPA, which need to be accounted for in section 46 of the IRPR. Thus, a technical amendment seeks to update those references (subsection 56(1) of the IRPA instead of section 56, which was renumbered following legislative amendments in 2012; and add section 58.1 of the IRPA, which was introduced following legislative amendments in 2010).

To help inform this process, the CBSA is embarking on a public consultation process to give all interested stakeholders an opportunity to provide input. Interested parties wishing to contribute to this process are invited to provide responses to the following two questions:

  1. Are there any other factors that should be included in a minimum set of factors that should be considered by a CBSA officer, member of the ID, or Minister when determining whether a guarantor is able to ensure that the person(s) in respect of whom the guarantee is required will comply with the conditions imposed? Please provide a rationale for your response.
  2. Do you have any additional feedback with respect to the regulatory framework within the scope of sections 45 to 49 of the IRPR, relating to Deposits or Guarantees?

How to participate

  1. Consult the notice
  2. Contact us to provide your comments

Details

The objective of the consultation is to provide interested stakeholders with the opportunity to comment on the CBSA’s intent to seek amendments to the IRPR related to general factors to consider when determining whether a guarantor is able to ensure that the person(s) in respect of whom the guarantee is required will comply with the conditions imposed. The scope of this public consultation is limited to the Deposits or Guarantees section of the IRPR (sections 45 to 49).

Contact us

Please submit your questions or comments by email:

Manager
Immigration Enforcement Policy Unit
Enforcement and Intelligence Programs
Canada Border Services Agency
100 Metcalfe St,
Ottawa ON K1A 0L8
IEPU-UPELI@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Consultations
Modifications proposées aux articles 45 à 49 (Garanties) du Règlement sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés

État actuel : Fermé

Ouvert le et sera fermé aux commentaires le .

Description

Les modifications envisagées visent, notamment, à donner suite aux commentaires du Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation. Ce comité, qui est responsable d’examiner en profondeur les règlements et autres textes réglementaires, se penche exclusivement sur les questions de légalité et sur les aspects procéduraux des règlements. Il n’évalue pas le bien-fondé des règlements ou des politiques à mettre en œuvre.

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) propose d’apporter des modifications au Règlement afin de résoudre la question soulevée par le Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation. Ces modifications comprennent l’ajout d’un ensemble de facteurs minimaux que les décideurs (p. ex. un agent, la Section de l’immigration [SI] de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada, ou le Ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, tel qu'autorisé dans la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR)), seraient tenus de prendre en considération afin de répondre aux exigences énoncées au alinéa 47(2)(b) du Règlement sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (RIPR). Ces facteurs sont les suivants :

Il incombera aux cautions proposés de fournir des preuves satisfaisant le décideur lorsqu'il examinera cet ensemble de facteurs minimaux.

Ces facteurs sont déjà pris en compte dans la politique opérationnelle; leur établissement dans la loi vise à garantir une application cohérente, transparente et uniforme d'une base minimale de facteurs à prendre en compte par tous les décideurs.

La modification proposée vise également à clarifier les exigences aux cautions, en restructurant la section relative aux exigences générales et en incorporant l’ensemble de facteurs minimaux susmentionné pour toutes les cautions proposées.

De plus, la modification proposée vise à modifier l’alinéa 47(2)(c) et le paragraphe 47(3) du RIPR afin d’inclure la SI et le Ministre en tant que décideurs concernés, en plus d’un agent, lorsqu'ils sont autorisés à imposer des conditions, notamment l'obligation de payer un dépôt ou poster une garantie. Cela vise à assurer la cohérence de tous les décideurs autorisés à exiger un dépôt ou une garantie afin de respecter les conditions imposées. Le décideur prend la décision finale sur la caution, à l'exception de toute nouvelle information mettant en cause l'éligibilité de caution ou la légalité de la source des fonds.

Finalement, l’ASFC demande d’apporter deux modifications de forme conséquentes à l’article 46 du RIPR, qui indique les articles de la LIPR auxquels les dispositions réglementaires sur les garanties s’appliquent. À la suite de modifications législatives apportées en 2010 et en 2012, des parties de la LIPR auxquelles le RIPR renvoie ont changé, ce qui doit être pris en compte à l’article 46 du RIPR. Par conséquent, une modification de forme est demandée afin de mettre à jour ces renvois, de manière à remplacer le renvoi à l’article 56 de la LIPR par un renvoi au paragraphe 56(1) de la LIPR, compte tenu de la renumérotation effectuée à la suite des modifications législatives apportées en 2012; et à faire mention du paragraphe 58.1 de la LIPR, qui a été ajouté dans le cadre des modifications législatives apportées en 2010.

Dans le but d’éclairer le processus, l’ASFC entreprend des consultations publiques afin de permettre à tous les intervenants intéressés de faire valoir leurs points de vue et de formuler des commentaires. Les parties qui souhaitent participer à ce processus sont invitées à répondre aux deux questions suivantes :

  1. Est-ce que d’autres facteurs devraient faire partie de l’ensemble de facteurs minimaux qu’un agent de l’ASFC, un membre de la SI, ou le ministre devrait prendre en considération au moment de déterminer si un garant est capable de faire en sorte que la personne visée par la garantie respecte les conditions imposées? Veuillez justifier votre réponse.
  2. Avez-vous d’autres commentaires à formuler au sujet du cadre réglementaire, aux termes des articles 45 à 49 du RIPR, en ce qui a trait aux garanties?

Participez : Comment participer

  1. Consulter l'avis
  2. Contactez-nous pour fournir vos commentaires

Détails

Le présent avis a pour but de donner, aux intervenants intéressés, l’occasion de formuler des commentaires sur les modifications que l’ASFC souhaite faire apporter au RIPR concernant les facteurs généraux à prendre en considération au moment de déterminer si un garant est capable de faire en sorte que la personne visée par la garantie respecte les conditions imposées. Cette consultation publique porte exclusivement sur les articles 45 à 49 du RIPR, qui ont trait aux garanties.

Contactez-nous

Si vous avez des commentaires ou des questions concernant les modifications, veuillez les transmettre à l’adresse suivante :

Gestionnaire
Unité de la politique d’exécution en matière d’immigration
Programmes de l’exécution de la loi et du renseignement
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
100, rue Metcalfe
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L8
IEPU-UPELI@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Date de modification :