Consultations
Archived – Consultation Notice: Review of the Customs Broker Licensing Regime

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is seeking input from Canadian broker and importer communities, as well as interested parties and individuals, in response to a recommendation made by the Auditor General of Canada to review the Canadian broker licensing regime.

Background Information

Licensed customs brokers are required to obtain written authorization from their clients in order to transact business with the CBSA on their behalf. There are currently over 300 licensed customs brokers in Canada (Nov. 2017).

Additional information on customs brokers licensing is available in Memorandum D1-8-1.

The Auditor General of Canada made the following recommendation in his Spring 2017 Report on Customs Duties:

The CBSA should review its customs brokers licensing regime by considering features such as

The full report is available on the Office of the Auditor General of Canada’s website.

Submission Instructions

Participants may submit responses by email or by using the text boxes provided below.

Input in either official language will be accepted until .

For any questions about this consultation, please contact the CBSA’s Assessment and Licensing Unit at: CBSA-ASFC_Assessment_and_Licensing_Unit@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

The CBSA will consider all responses and communicate the results of the review.

Please note that your input will not impact your interactions with the CBSA.

Proposed Changes

1. Assessment of Compliance Record

The CBSA is considering the merits, limitations and implications of revising the Customs Broker Licensing Regime to include additional, periodic assessments of a broker’s compliance record.

Consideration #1 – Roles of Government and Industry

The CBSA is mandated to oversee the Customs Brokers Licensing Regime on behalf of the Government of Canada. Currently, this includes overseeing the license examination process and the authority to conduct audits to ensure compliance with regulations governing broker practices.

The CBSA invites participants to provide input on the following:

Consideration #2 – Review of Compliance Record at time of Renewal

Currently, the renewal process for a licence does not incorporate a formalized, consistent assessment of a broker’s compliance record. The CBSA is considering introducing a formal review process of a broker’s compliance record as part of the licence renewal process.

The CBSA invites participants to comment on the limitations and challenges with the current licence renewal process and suggest ways to effectively and efficiently assess a broker’s compliance record as part of the license renewal process.

The CBSA is considering the following additional practices as part of the licence renewal of customs brokers:

The CBSA invites participants to comment on the potential impact of such changes on compliance rates and the limitations or potential difficulties that could arise from these additional practices.

Consideration #3 – Accurately Accounting and Paying for Goods

A broker’s responsibility in accounting and paying for goods is ensuring goods are accounted for within the applicable timeframe and that the statement of account is paid in full by the specified due date. Currently, the CBSA examines the accuracy of a broker’s accounting and timeliness in paying duties and taxes for goods as part of the compliance verification process. The CBSA is considering ways to make the current regime more efficient and effective, including the compliance verification process.

The CBSA invites participants to comment on what works well and what does not in the current compliance verification process and suggest ways to improve the process.

2. Shared Liability

Consideration #4 – Effective Implementation – Shared Liability

In accordance with recommendations by the Auditor General of Canada, the CBSA’s review of the Customs Broker Licensing Regime includes examining the possibility of establishing shared liability of licenced customs brokers and importers to comply with import requirements and the payment of duties and taxes.

Currently, importers are fully liable for the accuracy of import information and the timely payment of duties and taxes. Shared liability would involve importers and their agents sharing responsibility for providing accurate import information and payment of duties and taxes. Shared liability involves the broker facing consequences jointly with the importer in the event of an error in the provision of import information or paying duties and taxes. The CBSA may consider introducing shared liability.

The CBSA invites participants to comment on the following:

Date modified:

Consultations
Archivé – Avis de consultation : Examen du régime d'agrément des courtiers en douane

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) souhaite obtenir les commentaires des courtiers et des importateurs canadiens, ainsi que ceux des parties intéressées et des particuliers, pour donner suite à une recommandation formulée par le vérificateur général du Canada au sujet de l’examen du régime d’agrément des courtiers en douane canadiens.

Contexte

Les courtiers en douane agréés sont tenus d'obtenir une autorisation écrite de leurs clients afin de pouvoir faire des transactions avec l’ASFC en leur nom. On compte actuellement plus de 300 courtiers en douane agréés au Canada (nov. 2017).

De l’information additionnelle sur l’agrément des courtiers en douane est fournie dans le Mémorandum D1-8-1.

Le vérificateur général du Canada a formulé la recommandation suivante dans son rapport sur les droits de douane publié au printemps 2017 :

L’ASFC devrait revoir son régime d’agrément des courtiers en douane en envisageant, par exemple, les éléments suivants :

Le rapport complet est disponible sur le site Web du Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada.

Instructions pour la soumission de commentaires

Les participants peuvent soumettre leurs commentaires par courriel ou en utilisant les boîtes de texte ci-dessous.

Les commentaires formulés dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles seront acceptés jusqu’au .

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cette consultation, veuillez communiquer avec l’Unité des cotisations et des agréments de l’ASFC à :
CBSA-ASFC_Assessment_and_Licensing_Unit@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

L’ASFC prendra en considération tous les commentaires reçus et communiquera les résultats de l’examen.

Veuillez noter que vos commentaires n’auront aucune incidence sur vos interactions avec l’ASFC.

Changements proposés

1. Évaluation du dossier d’observation

L’ASFC étudie les avantages, les limites et les répercussions de l’examen du régime d’agrément des courtiers en douane pour inclure des évaluations additionnelles périodiques du dossier d’observation du courtier.

Considération 1 – Les rôles du gouvernement et de l’industrie

L’ASFC a pour mandat de surveiller le régime d’agrément des courtiers en douane au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Actuellement, cela inclut la surveillance du processus d’examen relatif à l’agrément et la réalisation de vérifications pour assurer l’observation des règles régissant les pratiques des courtiers.

L’ASFC invite les participants à fournir des commentaires sur :

Considération 2 – Examen du dossier d’observation au moment du renouvellement de l’agrément

Actuellement, le processus de renouvellement de l’agrément n’inclut pas une évaluation officielle uniforme du dossier d’observation du courtier. L’ASFC envisage l’intégration d’un processus d’examen officiel du dossier d’observation du courtier dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement de l’agrément.

L’ASFC invite les participants à fournir des commentaires sur les limites et les défis que présente le processus de renouvellement de l’agrément actuel et à suggérer des moyens d’évaluer de manière efficace et efficiente le dossier d’observation du courtier dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement de l’agrément.

L’ASFC envisage les pratiques additionnelles suivantes dans le cadre du renouvellement de l’agrément des courtiers en douane :

L’ASFC invite les participants à fournir des commentaires sur les répercussions possibles de ces changements sur les taux d’observation, ainsi que des commentaires sur les limites et les difficultés qui pourraient survenir en raison de ces pratiques additionnelles.

Considération 3 – Exactitude de la déclaration et du paiement pour les marchandises

La responsabilité du courtier en matière de déclaration et de paiement pour les marchandises consiste à s’assurer que les marchandises sont déclarées dans le délai prescrit et que le relevé de compte est payé intégralement au plus tard à la date d’échéance précisée. Actuellement, l’ASFC vérifie l’exactitude de la déclaration du courtier et le respect des délais de paiement des droits et taxes pour les marchandises dans le cadre du processus de vérification de l’observation. L’ASFC envisage des moyens d’accroître l’efficacité et l’efficience du régime actuel, y compris le processus de vérification de l’observation.

L’ASFC invite les participants à fournir des commentaires sur ce qui fonctionne bien et ce qui ne fonctionne pas bien dans le processus de vérification de l’observation actuel, ainsi qu’à fournir des suggestions pour améliorer le processus.

2. Partage de la responsabilité

Considération 4 – Mise en œuvre efficace – Partage de la responsabilité

Conformément aux recommandations du vérificateur général du Canada, l’examen par l’ASFC du régime d’agrément des courtiers en douane inclut l’examen de la possibilité de partage de la responsabilité entre les courtiers en douane agréés et les importateurs à l’égard du respect des règles d’importation et du paiement des droits et des taxes exigibles.

Actuellement, les importateurs sont entièrement responsables de l’exactitude de l’information sur les importations et du paiement des droits et des taxes en temps opportun. Dans le cas d’un partage de la responsabilité, les importateurs et leurs agents assumeraient ensemble la responsabilité de fournir de l’information exacte sur les importations et de payer les droits et les taxes. Le partage de la responsabilité signifie que le courtier et l’importateur sont conjointement responsables en cas d’erreur dans l’information sur les importations ou dans le paiement des droits et des taxes. L’ASFC envisage la mise en œuvre du partage de la responsabilité.

L’ASFC invite les participants à fournir des commentaires sur :

Date de modification :