ARCHIVED - NOTICE TO STAKEHOLDERS
Notification of the proposed amendments to the Presentation of Persons (2003) Regulations

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Trusted Traveller Programs, such as NEXUS and Free and Secure Trade (FAST), allow the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) to manage risk at the border by facilitating the flow of pre-approved low-risk persons and goods, and to focus resources on travellers and goods of higher or unknown risk. In an effort to improve and enhance the CBSA's Trusted Traveller Programs, the CBSA is proposing the following amendments be made to the Presentation of Persons (2003) Regulations (PoP) under the Customs Act.

Paragraphs 5(1)(b) and 6(b): Eligibility criteria that will replace the good character criterion (Proposed changes)

Building on the Letter of Notification to External Stakeholders – Notification of the proposed amendments to the Presentation of Persons (2003) Regulations, dated December 16, 2013, the CBSA is proposing to repeal the term "good character" within the PoP and replace it with eligibility criteria described below:

Paragraphs 5(1)(f) and 6(f): Residency requirement (Clarification)

These paragraphs will be amended to include the clarification that applicants "legally" reside in the stipulated countries for the specified duration in order to meet the residency requirement.

Section 14: Conditions of the authorizations (Clarification and proposed)

The CBSA is suggesting changing section 14 to provide more clarity on the conditions associated with authorizations issued under Section 11.1 of the Customs Act, including:

Paragraphs 22(1)(a) and (b): Circumstances leading to suspension, warning and/or cancellation (Clarification and proposed)

In support of the CBSA's integrated mandate, amendments are proposed to clearly identify the grounds that could lead to suspension or cancellation of an authorization, as well as circumstances that could result in a warning, specifically regarding the eligibility criteria or conditions of the authorization.

NOTE: The CBSA intends to update its policies to reflect these suggested amendments until implemented in the Regulations.

Please send all enquiries and comments regarding these proposed regulatory changes by email by August 19, 2016, 11:59 p.m. EDT to TTPpost-PVFpostes@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - AVIS AUX INTERVENANTS
Proposition de modifications au Règlement de 2003 sur l'obligation de se présenter à un bureau de douane

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les programmes des voyageurs fiables, tels NEXUS et le programme Expéditions rapides et sécuritaires (EXPRES), permettent à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) de gérer le risque à la frontière en facilitant la circulation des personnes et des marchandises préautorisées à faible risque, et de concentrer ses ressources sur les voyageurs et les marchandises à risque élevé ou inconnu. Soucieuse d'améliorer les programmes en question, l'ASFC propose aujourd'hui qu'on apporte les modifications suivantes au Règlement de 2003 sur l'obligation de se présenter à un bureau de douane (ci-après « ROPBD » ou « Règlement »), pris en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes.

Alinéas 5(1)b) et 6b) : Critères d'admissibilité qui remplaceront celui de la « bonne réputation » (Proposition de modifications)

S'appuyant sur la lettre de notification aux parties intéressées externes pour les aviser des propositions de modifications au ROPBD datée du 16 décembre 2013, l'ASFC propose d'abroger le terme « bonne réputation » dans le Règlement pour le remplacer par les critères d'admissibilité décrits ci-dessous :

Alinéas 5(1)f) et 6f) : Exigence de résidence (Clarifications)

Ces deux alinéas seront modifiés pour clarifier que les demandeurs doivent avoir demeuré « légalement » dans les pays indiqués pendant la période prescrite pour respecter l'exigence de résidence.

Article 14 : Conditions des autorisations (Clarifications et proposition)

L'ASFC suggère de changer l'article 14 pour clarifier les conditions associées aux autorisations délivrées en vertu de l'article 11.1 de la Loi sur les douanes, y compris :

Alinéas 22(1)a) et b) : Motifs de suspension, d'avertissement ou d'annulation (clarifications et proposition)

Pour mieux honorer son mandat intégré, l'ASFC propose d'identifier clairement les motifs possibles de suspension ou d'annulation d'une autorisation, de même que les motifs possibles d'avertissement, surtout à l'égard des critères d'admissibilité ou des conditions de l'autorisation.

NOTA : L'ASFC compte intégrer les changements ci-dessus à ses politiques, en attendant qu'ils soient mis en œuvre dans le Règlement.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires sur les changements proposés, veuillez les envoyer par courriel d'ici 23 h 59 HAE le 19 août 2016 à TTPpost-PVFpostes@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

Date de modification :