Forward Regulatory Plan: 2017-2019
Entry/Exit Initiative

Description of the objective

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is proposing to create new regulations to govern the collection of information on all persons leaving Canada in support of proposed amendments to the Customs Act and the ongoing implementation of the Entry/Exit initiative. The collection of reliable exit information on all persons leaving Canada is necessary to further improve border management and support public policy priorities across the Government of Canada, including enhanced law enforcement, national security and program integrity.

Under this proposal, the CBSA would begin by collecting routine biographic information on all persons leaving Canada by land and by air as these two modes account for the significant volume of outbound travellers each year. The collection of information on persons departing Canada by marine and rail may be undertaken at a later date.

Enabling Act: Customs Act (pending passage through Parliament of the amended legislation and the receipt of Royal Assent of Bill C-21 An Act to amend the Customs Act)

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The "One-for-One" Rule and/or the Small Business Lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities

Public consultations with impacted stakeholders regarding the implementation of the Entry/Exit initiative have been ongoing since the announcement of the Beyond the Border Action Plan. A new round of consultations will be held following the Royal Assent of Bill C-21 to provide impacted stakeholders with an overview of the proposed regulations and identify any new requirements.

All interested parties will be provided the opportunity to participate in the regulatory development process following the pre-publication of the regulations in Part I of the Canada Gazette and by announcement on the Consulting with Canadians website.  

Departmental Contact

Andrew Lawrence
Director
Programs Branch
Canada Border Services Agency
Tel.: 343-291-7534
Andrew.Lawrence@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca



For more information

Date modified:

Plan prospectif de la réglementation : -
Initiative sur les entrées et les sorties

Description de l'objectif

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l'Initiative sur les entrées et les sorties, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) propose la création de nouveaux règlements qui régiront la collecte de renseignements sur toutes les personnes qui quitte le Canada. Ceux-ci prendront la forme de modifications proposées à la Loi sur les douanes. La collecte de données fiables sur les sorties de toutes les personnes qui quittent le Canada est nécessaire afin d'améliorer la gestion de la frontière et de soutenir les priorités en matière de politique publique à travers le gouvernement du Canada, incluant l'amélioration de l'exécution de la loi, la sécurité nationale et l'intégrité des programmes.

En vertu de cette initiative, l'ASFC commencerait par recueillir les renseignements biographiques courants relatifs à toutes les personnes qui quittent le Canada par voie terrestre et aérienne puisque ces deux modes de transport sont les plus importants en matière de volume de voyageurs sortants chaque année. La collecte de renseignements sur les personnes qui quittent le Canada par voie maritime et ferroviaire pourra se faire plus tard.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les douanes

Répercussions sur les entreprises

La règle du « un pour un » et/ou la Lentille des petites entreprises peuvent s'appliquer.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Des consultations publiques avec les intervenants concernés en ce qui a trait à la mise en œuvre de l'Initiative sur les entrées et les sorties sont en cours depuis l'annonce du Plan d'action par-delà la frontière.

Toutes les parties intéressées auront l'occasion de participer au processus d'élaboration de la réglementation qui suivra la publication préalable des règlements dans la Partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada et par l'annonce sur la page Internet Consultations auprès des canadiens.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Andrew Lawrence
Directeur
Direction générale des programmes
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Tél. : 343-291-7534
Andrew.Lawrence@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca



Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Date de modification :