Forward Regulatory Plan: 2018-2020
Enforcing Removal Orders When a Person is Confirmed to be Outside of Canada

Description of the objective

Inadmissible persons may be issued a removal order. If an individual fails to confirm departure with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), the removal order may remain unenforced. Currently, a removal order can only be enforced by an officer outside of Canada in very limited circumstances. Regulatory amendments to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations are being considered to expand officer authority to enforce a removal order where the person concerned is confirmed to be outside of Canada.

Enabling Act: Immigration and Refugee Protection Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

Initial public consultations on the proposed regulatory amendments were undertaken in summer 2017 via an online consultation that was posted on the CBSA and Consulting with Canadians websites. Various key stakeholders were notified and invited to provide comments, including:

Additional opportunity to participate in the development of these regulations will be available when these proposed regulations are pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette. Pre-publication is currently planned for spring 2018.

Departmental Contact

Richard St. Marseille
Manager
Programs Branch
Canada Border Services Agency
Tel: 613-954-3923
Richard.StMarseille@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca



For more information

Date modified:

Plan prospectif de la réglementation : 2018-2020
Exécution des mesures de renvoi lorsqu'il est confirmé que la personne est à l'extérieur du Canada

Description de l'objectif

Les personnes interdites de territoire peuvent faire l'objet d'une mesure de renvoi. Si une personne ne confirme pas auprès de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) qu'elle a quitté le pays, la mesure de renvoi peut demeurer non exécutée. Actuellement, une mesure de renvoi ne peut être exécutée par un agent à l'extérieur du Canada qu'en des circonstances très restreintes. Des modifications réglementaires à la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés sont envisagées afin d'élargir les pouvoirs des agents pour l'exécution d'une mesure de renvoi quand il y a confirmation que la personne visée est à l'extérieur du Canada.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés

Répercussions sur les entreprises

On ne prévoit aucune répercussion sur les entreprises.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Des consultations publiques initiales sur les modifications réglementaires proposées ont eu lieu à l'été de 2017, sur le site Web de l'ASFC et le site Consultations auprès des Canadiens. Différents intervenants clés en ont été informés et ont été invités à formuler des commentaires, notamment :

D'autres intervenants intéressés pourront participer à l'élaboration du règlement à la suite de la publication préalable des modifications proposées dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. La publication préalable est prévue au printemps de 2018.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Richard St. Marseille
Gestionnaire
Direction générale des programmes
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Tél : 613-954-3923
Richard.StMarseille@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca



Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Date de modification :