Information relating to Expiry Review Investigations conducted pursuant to the Special Import Measures Act

This is an extract from Chapter 7 of the SIMA Handbook

7. EXPIRY REVIEW INVESTIGATIONS

7.1. Introduction

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is responsible for conducting a portion of the expiry review of orders or findings made by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT or the Tribunal) pursuant to section 76.03 of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA). The following outlines the CBSA’s policies and procedures with respect to the conduct of expiry review investigations under subsection 76.03(7) of SIMA. These policies and procedures do not supplant the provisions of SIMA.

7.2. Phases of an Expiry Review

There are three major phases of an expiry review. The first phase is the notice of expiry proceedings conducted by the Tribunal to decide whether to initiate an expiry review. If the Tribunal decides to initiate an expiry review, the second phase is the expiry review investigation by the President of the CBSA (the President) to determine whether there is a likelihood of continued or resumed dumping or subsidizing of the goods if the order or finding (subsequently referred to as “the order”) is rescinded. Finally, if the President determines that such likelihood exists, the third phase is the Tribunal's inquiry into the likelihood of injury or retardation to Canadian industry if the order is rescinded.

These policies and procedures pertain to the expiry review investigation conducted by the CBSA.

Information concerning the role and procedures of the Tribunal in an expiry review can be found on the CITT website.

7.3. Expiry Review Investigation

If the Tribunal decides to initiate an expiry review, it issues a notice of expiry review, notifies the President of its decision and provides the President with a copy of the administrative record on which it based its decision.

The President then initiates the expiry review investigation to determine whether the expiry of the order in respect of goods of a country or countries is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods.  The CBSA sends questionnaires, commonly referred to as Expiry Review Questionnaires or ERQs, requesting information for purposes of its investigation.

The President has 120 days from receipt of the Tribunal's notice of initiation to complete the expiry review investigation and to make the determination. In addition to information provided by the Tribunal, the President makes the determination regarding the likelihood of continued or resumed dumping or subsidizing on the basis of the information available, including as appropriate:

  • responses to questionnaires sent to domestic producers in Canada, importers, and exporters (including foreign producers and vendors) and, in subsidy cases, foreign governments;
  • CBSA import statistics and enforcement data;
  • determinations from CBSA investigations and re-investigations (e.g., normal values, export prices and amounts of subsidy);
  • representations, case arguments and reply submissions submitted to the President by parties to the proceedings and persons interested;
  • other relevant information.

In an expiry review investigation, the President is required to determine whether the expiry of the order made by the Tribunal (declaring to what goods, including, where applicable, from what supplier and from what country of origin or export, the order applies) is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods. Where the Tribunal made orders with respect to classes of goods of a country or (rarely) with respect to goods of a supplier (exporter, foreign producer or vendor) of a country, the President makes a determination regarding each order. Where the Tribunal made an order with respect to goods, as described, of a country or countries, the President may not modify the description of the goods, but may make different expiry review determinations with respect to such goods in relation to each country. Where the order involves both the dumping and the subsidizing of goods, the President makes separate expiry review determinations in relation to the dumping and in relation to the subsidizing of the goods of each country or of all countries.

Therefore, the President makes a determination  regarding the likelihood of continued or resumed dumping or subsidizing of the goods, as described, of each country or of all countries, as named, in the order made by the Tribunal.

At the conclusion of the expiry review investigation, the President provides notice of the determination to the Tribunal, to all parties to the proceedings and to any other persons interested. The Statement of Reasons is issued within 15 days of the notice of the determination.

If the President determines that the expiry of the order in respect of any goods of a country is likely to result in a continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods, the President also provides the Tribunal with the information required under section 73.3 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules (CITT Rules).   This information is generally referred to as the “administrative record” and includes the reasons for the determination, customs information relating to enforcement of the Tribunal’s order and customs information relating to the volume and value of all imports whether or not dumped or subsidized, and any other information taken into consideration by the President.

Where the President makes any determination that the expiry of the order is likely to result in a continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods, the complete administrative record is provided to the Tribunal.  This may include information relating solely to goods of a country or countries in respect of which the President determines that the expiry of the order is unlikely to result in a continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing.

7.3.1. Expiry Review Factors

In making the determination, the President may take into consideration the specific factors provided for in the Special Import Measures Regulations (SIMR), including any other factors that are relevant in the circumstances. The SIMR subsection 37.2(1) provides the following:

37.2 (1) In making a determination under paragraph 76.03(7)(a) of the Act, the President may consider

  1. whether there has been dumping of goods while a finding or order in respect of the goods is in effect and, if applicable,
    1. the period during which the dumping occurred,
    2. the volume and prices of the dumped and non-dumped goods,
    3. the margin of dumping, and
    4. for non-dumped goods, the amount by which the export prices exceed the normal values of the goods;
  2. whether there has been subsidizing of goods while a finding or order in respect of the goods is in effect and, if applicable,
    1. the nature and duration of the foreign subsidy program in respect of the goods,
    2. the period during which the subsidizing occurred,
    3. the volume of the subsidized goods, and
    4. the amount of subsidy;
  3. the performance of the exporters, foreign producers, brokers and traders including, where applicable, in respect of production, capacity utilization, costs, sales volumes, prices, inventories, market share, exports and profits;
  4. the likely future performance of the exporters, foreign producers, brokers and traders on the basis of factors, where applicable, such as production, capacity utilization, sales volumes, prices, inventories, market share, exports and profits;
  5. the potential for the foreign producers to produce the goods in facilities that are currently used to produce other goods;
  6. evidence of the imposition of anti-dumping or countervailing measures by the authorities of a country other than Canada in respect of goods of the same description or in respect of similar goods;
  7. whether measures taken by the authorities of a country other than Canada are likely to cause a diversion of dumped or subsidized goods into Canada;
  8. any changes in market conditions domestically or internationally, including changes in the supply of and demand for the goods, in sources of imports into Canada, and in prices, market share and inventories;
  9. the imposition of anti-dumping or countervailing measures by authorities of Canada in respect of similar goods while an order or finding in respect of the goods was in effect; and
  10. any other factors that are relevant in the circumstances.

7.3.2. Expiry Review Investigation Schedule

A standard schedule for the key events in the expiry review investigation is provided below. This schedule is subject to modification depending on the circumstances of a particular investigation. The scheduling of events in a specific investigation will be made known at the time the President initiates the investigation.

Expiry Review Investigation Schedule

Day 0

The Tribunal issues Notice of Expiry Review and provides the President with a copy of the administrative record

Day 1

The CBSA initiates an Expiry Review Investigation and sends ERQs to domestic producers in Canada, importers, exporters (including foreign producers and vendors) and foreign governments

Initial CBSA information, including customs information, enforcement data, import statistics, market volume, value and shares, and any other relevant CBSA information, that is available is placed on Exhibit List

Day 28

Submission of Letters of Representation and Disclosure Undertakings (SIMA and Customs Act) by counsel are provided to the CBSA

Day 30

Additional CBSA information may be available

Day 38

Responses to ERQs and other information are due from importers, domestic producers in Canada, exporters (including foreign producers and vendors), and foreign governments

Day 38 to Day 50

Dissenting or additional information relating to responses to ERQs and other information are submitted to the CBSA

Day 50

Closing of the record date

Day 51

Finalized import statistics and estimates of the Canadian market are available

Day 60

Case arguments as to whether the expiry of the order or finding is likely or unlikely to result in continued or resumed dumping or subsidizing are due

Day 75

Reply submissions in response to the case arguments are due

Day 120

President's determination, notification to parties to the proceedings, to persons interested and to the Tribunal, and, if the President determines that the expiry of the order is likely to result in continued or resumed dumping or subsidizing, provision of the administrative record to the CITT as required under the CITT Rules

Day 135

Statement of Reasons issued

7.3.3. Expiry Review Questionnaire (ERQ)

The CBSA prepares the expiry review questionnaire (ERQ) to elicit the information necessary to make a determination as to whether the expiry of the order is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods. The questions request information relating to the expiry review factors as provided in SIMR 37.2(1) which are considered by the President in making a determination. Questionnaires follow a standard format, but are modified on a case-by-case basis, as necessary.

The CBSA sends questionnaires to domestic producers of like goods in Canada and to exporters (including foreign producers and vendors) and importers of the subject goods. In an expiry review investigation concerning the subsidizing of goods, the government of the country of origin or export of the goods is also sent a questionnaire.

Examples of a standard ERQ for domestic producers in Canada, importers, exporters (including foreign producers and vendors) and foreign governments for purposes of the expiry review investigation are available on the directorate common drive.

See Part 4.12.1.1. for additional information about ERQs.

7.3.4. Period of Review

The Period of Review (POR) is selected by the CBSA for purposes of identifying the sales, exports and imports of the subject goods, to be examined for purposes of determining if the expiry of the order is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods. The ERQs request information from domestic producers of like goods in Canada, from exporters (including foreign producers and vendors) and from importers of the goods in relation to this period in order to consider the expiry review factors listed in SIMR 37.2(1).

The POR is usually a minimum of 3 calendar years, but may be more in order to capture the most recent information, ending in the three months prior to the date of initiation of the expiry review.  The same POR is used for all countries included in the investigation.
The objective is to select a period which accurately reflects the performance of exporters and foreign producers with regard to dumping, subsidizing, production, capacity utilization, costs, sales volumes, prices, inventories, market share, exports and profits, etc., and which is sufficiently long to consider changes in the global market for the goods.

For related guidance on the Period of Review for the expiry review investigation, refer to the SIMA Policy on the Period of Investigation in Part 4.4.3.2. of the Handbook .

7.4. Procedural Requirements

7.4.1. Notification

The Tribunal provides notice of the initiation of the expiry review to all parties to the proceedings.  The CBSA also provides notice of the initiation of its expiry review investigation, to all parties to the proceedings, including the complainant(s), other domestic producers in Canada, importers, exporters, and governments of the named countries, and provides the investigation schedule which is published on the CBSA website.

At the conclusion of the expiry review investigation, the President provides notice of the determination to the Tribunal, to the parties to the proceedings and to the public, and issues the Statement of Reasons (SOR) within 15 days of the date of the determination. These are also published on the CBSA website.

See Part 4.12.4.9. for checklists which list the notices and documents required for an expiry review investigation.  Examples of expiry review investigation notices are available on the CBSA website.

7.4.2. Information Provided to the President by the Tribunal

Pursuant to paragraph 76.03(6)(b) of SIMA, the Tribunal provides a copy to the President of the administrative record on which it based its decision to initiate an expiry review. This may include the public and confidential prehearing staff reports from the previous or related inquiry or most recent review, whichever is applicable.

At the request of the President or of any party to the proceedings, additional information from previous or related Tribunal proceedings, that was not included in the administrative record based on which the Tribunal decided to initiate the expiry review, may be submitted to the President by the Tribunal in an expiry review.

Information provided to the Tribunal that has been designated confidential under the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act (CITTA) and has subsequently been provided by the Tribunal to the President in the administrative record is not disclosed by the President.  Parties are required to obtain disclosure of this information from the Tribunal. The Tribunal decides if disclosure is made and sets the terms and conditions under which such information is disclosed.

CBSA includes the Tribunal's Statement of Reasons from the previous related inquiry and the past expiry reviews in the expiry review investigation administrative record. These documents are non-confidential and may be disclosed by the President.

Part 2.4.3. of the Handbook also refers to Information Provided to the President by the CITT.

7.4.3. Information Provided to the Tribunal by the President

At the conclusion of an expiry review investigation, the President provides the Tribunal with a notice of the determination. If the President determines that the expiry of the order or finding is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods, the President provides the Tribunal with the complete administrative record.

The information required is described under section 73.3 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules (CITT Rules). 

The CBSA administrative record should include information relating solely to goods of a country or countries in respect of which the President determines that the expiry of the order is unlikely to result in a continuation or resumption of dumping or subsidizing of the goods. For more guidance on the documentation the CBSA provides to the CITT, refer to Part 4.13. of the Handbook.

7.5. Judicial Review of the President's Determination

In accordance with subsection 96.1(1) of SIMA, the President's determination under paragraph 76.03(7)(a) of SIMA is subject to judicial review by the Federal Court of Appeal. The determination is not subject to review within the CBSA and there is no appeal to the Tribunal.

 

Date modified:

Informations relatives aux enquêtes sur les réexamens relatifs à l'expiration effectuées conformément à la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation

Ceci est un extrait du chapitre 7 du Guide LMSI.

7. Enquêtes sur les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration

7.1. Introduction

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) est responsable de mener une partie des réexamens relatifs à l’expiration des ordonnances et des conclusions rendues par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le TCCE ou le Tribunal), conformément à l’article 76.03 de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (LMSI). Le présent document énonce les politiques et procédures de l’ASFC en ce qui a trait aux réexamens relatifs à l’expiration en vertu du paragraphe 76.03(7) de la LMSI. Ces politiques et procédures ne remplacent pas les dispositions de la LMSI.

7.2. Étapes d'un réexamen relatif à l'expiration

Les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration comportent trois étapes principales. Dans un premier temps, un avis est publié selon lequel le Tribunal entame la procédure par laquelle il doit décider de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Si le Tribunal décide de procéder à un réexamen, la deuxième étape se rapporte à l’enquête du président de l’ASFC (le président) pour déterminer si l’expiration de l’ordonnance ou des conclusions (ci-après, « ordonnance ») causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises. Finalement, si le président détermine que la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement est vraisemblable, la troisième étape sera l’enquête du Tribunal sur la possibilité de retard ou de dommage causé à la branche de production nationale si l’ordonnance est annulée.

Les présentes politiques et procédures portent sur l’enquête de l’ASFC concernant le réexamen relatif à l’expiration.

Les renseignements sur le rôle et les procédures du Tribunal dans le cadre des réexamens relatifs à l’expiration figurent sur leur site Web.

7.3. Enquête sur le réexamen relatif à l'expiration

Si le Tribunal décide de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, il publie un avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration, avise le président de sa décision et lui fournit une copie du dossier administratif sur lequel il a fondé sa décision.

Le président débute  ensuite un réexamen relatif à l’expiration pour déterminer si l’expiration de l’ordonnance visant les marchandises d’un ou de plusieurs pays causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises. L’ASFC envoie des questionnaires, connus sous le nom de Questionnaires de réexamen relatif à l’expiration (QRE), demandant des renseignements aux fins du réexamen.

Le président doit compléter le réexamen relatif à l’expiration et rendre sa décision dans les 120 jours suivant la réception de l’avis du Tribunal. En plus de des renseignements fournis par le Tribunal, le président détermine si la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises est vraisemblable en se fondant sur les renseignements à sa disposition, y compris, au besoin :

  • les réponses aux questionnaires envoyés aux producteurs nationaux au Canada, aux importateurs et aux exportateurs (incluant les producteurs et vendeurs étrangers) et, dans les cas de subventionnement, aux gouvernements étrangers;
  • les statistiques sur les importations et les données sur l’exécution de la loi émanant de l’ASFC;
  • les conclusions des enquêtes et des réexamens de l’ASFC (p. ex. les valeurs normales, les prix à l’exportation et les montants de subvention);
  • les observations, les mémoires et les contre-exposés soumis au président par les parties visées par les procédures et les personnes intéressées;
  • tout autre renseignement pertinent.

Lors d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, le président doit déterminer si l’expiration de l’ordonnance du Tribunal (déclarant à quelles marchandises y compris, le cas échéant, à quel fournisseur et à quel pays d’origine ou d’exportation l’ordonnance s’applique) pourrait vraisemblablement entraîner la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises. Lorsque le Tribunal a rendu une ordonnance relativement aux classes de marchandises d’un pays ou (rarement) relativement aux marchandises d’un fournisseur (exportateur, producteur étranger ou vendeur) d’un pays, le président doit rendre une décision pour chacune des ordonnances. Lorsque le Tribunal a rendu une ordonnance à l’égard de marchandises, tel que décrit, d’un ou de plusieurs pays, le président ne peut pas modifier la description des marchandises, mais il peut prendre des décisions différentes envers les marchandises provenant de chacun des pays visés lors du réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Lorsque l’ordonnance porte sur le dumping et le subventionnement des marchandises, le président rend des décisions séparées quant à l’examen relatif à l’expiration du dumping et du subventionnement des marchandises de chaque pays ou de l’ensemble des pays.

Par conséquent, le président prend une décision à propos de la probabilité de la poursuite ou de la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises, tel que décrit, pour chaque pays ou pour tous les pays, indiqués dans l’ordonnance du Tribunal.

À la conclusion du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, le président remet un avis de sa décision au Tribunal, à toutes les parties visées par les procédures ainsi qu’aux personnes intéressées. L’énoncé des motifs est communiqué dans un délai de 15 jours suivant l’avis de la décision.

Si le président décide que l’expiration de l’ordonnance visant des marchandises d’un pays pourrait vraisemblablement entraîner la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement à l’égard de certaines marchandises, le président communique au Tribunal l’information nécessaire en vertu de l’article 73.3 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (Règles du TCCE).   Cette information, communément appelé le « dossier administratif », inclut les motifs de la décision rendue, les renseignements douaniers relatifs à l’application de l’ordonnance du Tribunal et les renseignements douaniers concernant le volume et la valeur de l’ensemble des importations ayant été le résultat ou non de dumping et/ou subventionnement, ainsi que toute autre information prise en compte par le président.

Lorsque le président prend une décision selon laquelle l’expiration de l’ordonnance va vraisemblablement donner lieu à la poursuite ou à la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises, l’ensemble du dossier administratif est transmis au Tribunal. Ce dossier peut comprendre, entre autres, de l’information spécifique concernant les marchandises provenant d’un pays ou de plusieurs pays pour lesquels le président décide que l’expiration de l’ordonnance ne devrait pas donner lieu à la poursuite ou à la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement.

7.3.1. Facteurs du réexamen relatif à l'expiration

Pour rendre sa décision, le président peut tenir compte des facteurs spécifiques prévus dans le Règlement sur les mesures spéciales d’importation (RMSI), de même que tout autre facteur pertinent, compte tenu des circonstances. Le paragraphe 37.2 (1) du RMSI contient les éléments suivants :

37.2 (1) Pour prendre la décision visée à l’alinéa 76.03(7)a) de la Loi, le commissaire peut prendre en compte les facteurs suivants :

  1. le fait qu'il y a eu ou non dumping des marchandises alors qu'elles font l'objet d'une ordonnance ou de conclusions et, le cas échéant:
    1. la période de dumping,
    2. le volume et le prix des marchandises sous-évaluées et de celles ne faisant pas l'objet de dumping,
    3. la marge de dumping,
    4. dans le cas des marchandises ne faisant pas l'objet de dumping, l'excédent des prix à l'exportation sur les valeurs normales de ces marchandises;
  2. le fait qu'il y a eu ou non subventionnement des marchandises alors qu'elles font l'objet d'une ordonnance ou de conclusions et, le cas échéant:
    1. la nature et la durée du programme de subventionnement étranger à l'égard de ces marchandises,
    2. la période de subventionnement,
    3. le volume des marchandises subventionnées,
    4. le montant de subvention;
  3. le rendement des exportateurs, des producteurs étrangers, des courtiers et des négociants, notamment, le cas échéant, en ce qui concerne la production, l'utilisation de la capacité, les coûts, les volumes des ventes, les prix, les stocks, la part de marché, les exportations et les bénéfices;
  4. le rendement futur probable des exportateurs, des producteurs étrangers, des courtiers et des négociants selon des facteurs tels que, le cas échéant, la production, l'utilisation de la capacité, les volumes des ventes, les prix, les stocks, la part de marché, les exportations et les bénéfices;
  5. la possibilité pour les producteurs étrangers de produire les marchandises dans des installations servant actuellement à la production d'autres marchandises;
  6. la preuve de l'imposition de mesures antidumping ou compensatoires par les autorités d'un pays autre que le Canada sur des marchandises de même description ou des marchandises semblables;
  7. le fait que les mesures prises par les autorités d'un pays autre que le Canada causeront vraisemblablement ou non une réaffectation au Canada des marchandises sous-évaluées ou subventionnées;
  8. tout changement des conditions du marché à l'échelle nationale et internationale, y compris les variations de l'offre et de la demande des marchandises, des sources des importations au Canada, des prix, de la part de marché et des stocks;
  9. l'assujettissement par le Canada de marchandises semblables à des mesures antidumping ou compensatoires alors que les marchandises faisaient l'objet d'une ordonnance ou de conclusions;
  10. tout autre facteur pertinent, compte tenu des circonstances.

7.3.2. Calendrier du réexamen relatif à l’expiration

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez un calendrier type des principales étapes d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Ce calendrier peut être modifié selon les circonstances de chaque réexamen. Il sera communiqué au moment où le président débutera le réexamen.

Calendrier de l'enquête pour les réexamens relatifs à l’expiration

Jour 0

Le Tribunal envoie un avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration et fournit au président une copie du dossier administratif.

Jour 1

L’ASFC débute un réexamen relatif à l’expiration et envoie des QRE aux producteurs canadiens, aux importateurs, aux exportateurs (comprenant les producteurs et les vendeurs étrangers) et aux gouvernements étrangers. L’ensemble des renseignements de l’ASFC initialement disponible, notamment les renseignements douaniers, les données sur l’exécution de la loi, le volume, la valeur et les parts de marché, ainsi que tout autre renseignement pertinent de l’ASFC, sont inscrits sur la liste des pièces.

Jour 28

Date limite pour les conseillers pour soumettre les lettres d’autorisation et les engagements de non-divulgation (LMSI et Loi sur les douanes) à l’ASFC.

Jour 30

Des renseignements supplémentaires de l’ASFC peuvent être disponibles.

Jour 38

Date limite pour les réponses aux QRE et les renseignements supplémentaires de la part des importateurs, des producteurs nationaux au Canada, des exportateurs (incluant les producteurs et les vendeurs étrangers) et des gouvernements étrangers.

Jours 38 à 50

Dépôt de renseignements dissidents et supplémentaires à l’égard des réponses aux QRE et autres renseignements présentés à l’ASFC.

Jour 50

Date de clôture du dossier administratif.

Jour 51

Statistiques sur les importations et études du marché canadien complètes disponibles.

Jour 60

Date limite pour présenter les mémoires à savoir si l’expiration de l’ordonnance ou des conclusions causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement.

Jour 75

Présentation des contre-exposés de toutes les parties concernant les mémoires.

Jour 120

Décision du président, avis à toutes les parties à la procédure, aux personnes intéressées et au Tribunal et, si le président détermine que l’expiration de l’ordonnance causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement, la transmission du dossier administratif au TCCE tel qu’exigé par les règles du TCCE.

Jour 135

Publication de l’Énoncé des motifs.

7.3.3. Questionnaire de réexamen relatif à l'expiration (QRE)

L’ASFC prépare le Questionnaire de réexamen relatif à l’expiration (QRE) pour obtenir l’information nécessaire pour rendre une décision à savoir si l’expiration de l’ordonnance causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises.  Les questions visent à obtenir de l’information sur les facteurs du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, conformément au paragraphe 37.2(1) du RMSI; ces renseignements sont pris en compte par le président lorsqu’il rend une décision.  Les questionnaires suivent un modèle général, mais sont modifiés au besoin, selon le dossier.

L’ASFC envoie des questionnaires aux producteurs nationaux des marchandises visées au Canada, ainsi qu’aux exportateurs (incluant les producteurs et les vendeurs étrangers) et aux importateurs des marchandises visées. Dans le cadre d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration portant sur le subventionnement des marchandises, les gouvernements des pays d’origine ou d’exportation des marchandises reçoivent également un questionnaire.

Des exemples de QRE standards pour les producteurs nationaux au Canada, les importateurs, les exportateurs (incluant les producteurs et les vendeurs étrangers) ainsi que les gouvernements étrangers aux fins de réexamen relatif à l’expiration peuvent être consultés sur le lecteur commun de la Direction.

Consultez la section 4.12.1.1 pour plus de détails sur les QRE.

7.3.4. Période visée par le réexamen

La période visée par le réexamen (PVR) est choisie par l’ASFC en vue d’établir les ventes, les exportations et les importations des marchandises en cause, qui seront examinées afin de déterminer si l’expiration de l’ordonnance causera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises.  Les QRE servent à obtenir de l’information sur la période visée de la part des producteurs nationaux des marchandises visées au Canada, des exportateurs (incluant les producteurs et les acheteurs étrangers) et des importateurs des marchandises afin de pouvoir prendre en compte les facteurs du réexamen relatif à l’expiration prévus au paragraphe 37.2(1) du RMSI.

La PVR est généralement d’une durée minimale de trois années civiles, mais elle peut être prolongée afin d’obtenir l’information la plus à jour. Elle se termine généralement dans les trois mois précédant la date d’ouverture du réexamen relatif à l’expiration.  La même PVR est utilisée pour l’ensemble des pays faisant partie de l’enquête.

L’objectif consiste à sélectionner une période qui reflète adéquatement le rendement des exportateurs et des producteurs étrangers en ce qui concerne le dumping, le subventionnement, la production, l’utilisation de la capacité, les coûts, les volumes de ventes, les prix, les inventaires, les parts de marché, les exportations, les profits, etc., et qui est assez longue pour examiner les changements survenus dans le marché mondial des marchandises en cause.

Pour plus de détails sur la période de réexamen utilisée pour le réexamen relatif à l’expiration, veuillez consulter la Politique de la LMSI sur la période visée par le réexamen à la partie 4.4.3.2 du Guide.

7.4. Exigences procédurales

7.4.1. Avis

Le tribunal communique un avis d’ouverture de réexamen relatif à l’expiration à toutes les parties intéressées.  L’ASFC communique également un avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration à toutes les parties intéressées, soit aux plaignants, aux autres producteurs nationaux au Canada, aux importateurs, aux exportateurs et aux gouvernements des pays désignés. De plus, l’ASFC communique le calendrier de l’enquête, qui est aussi publié sur le site Web de l’ASFC.

À la conclusion du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, le président remet un avis de sa décision au Tribunal, aux parties intéressées et au public, et publie un Énoncé des motifs (EM) dans les 15 jours suivant la date de la décision. Ces documents sont également publiés sur le site Web de l’ASFC.

Consulter la partie 4.12.4.9. pour voir des listes de vérification sur les avis et les documents nécessaires dans le cadre d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration.  Vous trouverez des exemples d’avis de réexamen relatif à l’expiration sur le site Web de l’ASFC.

7.4.2. Renseignements fournis au président par le Tribunal

Le Tribunal fournit au président une copie du dossier administratif sur lequel il a fondé sa décision de procéder à un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, et ce, en vertu de l’alinéa 76.03(6)b) de la LMSI. Ceci peut comprendre les rapports publics et confidentiels préalables à l’audience qui ont été rédigés dans le cadre de l’enquête connexe ou antérieure ou du plus récent réexamen, selon le cas.

À la demande du président ou d’une autre partie prenant part aux procédures, des renseignements complémentaires provenant de procédures antérieures ou connexes du tribunal qui ne faisait pas partie du dossier administratif sur lequel s’est fondé le tribunal lors de l’ouverture du réexamen relatif à l’expiration, peuvent être présentés au président par le tribunal lors d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration.

Les renseignements désignés confidentiels qui ont été fournis au Tribunal en vertu de la Loi sur le tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (LTCCE) et ensuite présentés par le Tribunal au président dans le dossier administratif ne sont pas divulgués par le président.  Les parties doivent demander la divulgation de ces renseignements au tribunal. Le tribunal décide de la divulgation ou non de ces renseignements et établit les modalités selon lesquelles ces renseignements sont divulgués.

L’ASFC inclut l’Énoncé des motifs du Tribunal de la dernière procédure connexe ainsi que les derniers réexamens relatifs à l’expiration dans le dossier administratif du réexamen relatif à l’expiration. Ces documents ne sont pas confidentiels et peuvent être divulgués par le président.

La section 2.4.3. du Guide traite également des renseignements fournis au président par le TCCE.

7.4.3. Information fournie au Tribunal par le président

À la conclusion d’un réexamen relatif à l’expiration, le président envoie au Tribunal un avis de sa décision. Si le président détermine que l’expiration de l’ordonnance ou de la conclusion entraînera vraisemblablement la poursuite ou la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des biens, il doit fournir le dossier administratif complet au Tribunal.

L’information nécessaire est décrite à l’article 73.3 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (Règles du TCCE).

Le dossier administratif de l’ASFC doit ainsi comprendre l’information spécifique concernant les marchandises provenant d’un pays ou de plusieurs pays pour lesquels le président décide que l’expiration de l’ordonnance ne devrait pas donner lieu à la poursuite ou à la reprise du dumping ou du subventionnement des marchandises. Pour plus de détails sur la documentation fournie par l’ASFC au Tribunal, veuillez consulter la section 4.13. du Guide.

7.5. Révision judiciaire de la décision du président

Conformément au paragraphe 96.1(1) de la LMSI, une demande de révision judiciaire peut être présentée à la Cour d’appel fédérale relativement à la décision rendue par le président en vertu de l’alinéa 76.03(7)a) de la LMSI. La décision du président ne peut pas être révisée par l’ASFC et un appel de la décision ne peut pas être déposé auprès du Tribunal.

 

Date de modification :