Commercial Carrier and Freight Forwarder Identification and Eligibility


To transact business with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), carriers require a carrier code, regardless of how often they cross the Canadian border with commercial goods.

A carrier code is a four-character unique identifier that is assigned by the CBSA to identify a carrier. Only one carrier code is issued to each legal entity (corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship) per mode of transport (highway, marine, air or rail).

For the purpose of assessing carrier code eligibility, a carrier is a person involved in international commercial transportation who operates a conveyance used to transport specified goods to or from Canada. To operate a conveyance means to have legal custody and control of the conveyance as:

  • a) an owner,
  • b) a lessee under a lease or agreement of hire,
  • c) a charterer under an agreement of hire,
  • d) as a purchaser under a conditional sale or hire purchase agreement that reserves to the vendor the title to the conveyance until the purchase price is paid or certain conditions are performed, or
  • e) a mortgagor.

Specified goods means:

  • a) commercial goods,
  • b) empty cargo containers to be imported into Canada and that are not for sale, and
  • c) any other goods to be transported to Canada for a fee.

Note: Specified goods does not include Hand Carried Goods (HCG) — goods being transported into Canada by a person other than a commercial carrier. Consult the HCG Process page for more information.

Freight Forwarders

The CBSA also issues four-character unique codes to eligible freight forwarders. Only one freight forwarder code is issued to each legal entity (corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship).

A freight forwarder is defined as an agent who arranges for the transportation of goods, and who may provide other services such as consolidation and deconsolidation of shipments, de-stuffing containers, customs brokerage and warehousing.

How to Apply

Detailed information on how to obtain a carrier or freight forwarder code is available at the following pages:

Changes to Information

Carriers and freight forwarders must advise the CBSA in writing without delay of any change to their legal entity, name, address and contact information.

Any changes to a bonded carrier or freight forwarder's financial security requires the submission of an original bond rider/endorsement, letter of reinstatement, notice of cancellation, or continuation certificate issued by the surety company or financial institution. Details are available in Customs Memorandum D1-7-1, Posting Security for Transacting Bonded Operations.


Date modified:

Identification et admissibilité des transporteurs commerciaux et des transitaire

Transporteurs

Pour faire affaire avec l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), les transporteurs ont besoin d'un code de transporteur, peu importe le nombre de fois qu'ils passent la frontière canadienne avec des marchandises commerciales.

Un code de transporteur est un identificateur unique de quatre caractères qui est attribué à un transporteur par l'ASFC. Un seul code de transporteur est attribué par personne morale (société, société de personnes ou entreprise à propriétaire unique), par moyen de transport (routier, maritime, aérien ou ferroviaire).

Dans l'optique de l'admissibilité au code de transporteur, un transporteur est une personne œuvrant dans le transport commercial international et exploitant un moyen de transport qui transporte des marchandises désignées depuis ou vers le Canada. Exploiter un moyen de transport s'entend d'en avoir la garde et la responsabilité légales :

  • a) à titre de propriétaire;
  • b) à titre de locataire en vertu d'un bail ou d'un contrat de louage;
  • c) à titre d'affréteur d'un contrat de louage;
  • d) à titre d'acheteur en vertu d'un acte de vente conditionnelle ou d'un acte de location-vente qui laisse au vendeur le titre de propriété du moyen de transport jusqu'au paiement du prix d'achat ou jusqu'à l'accomplissement de certaines conditions;
  • e) à titre de débiteur hypothécaire.

« Marchandises désignées » s'entend :

  • a) des marchandises commerciales;
  • b) des conteneurs vides qui sont importés au Canada, mais qui ne sont pas destinés à la vente;
  • c) de toutes autres marchandises qui sont transportées au Canada contre paiement.

Remarque : Les marchandises désignées ne comprennent pas les marchandises commerciales comprises dans les bagages personnels (MCBP), qui sont des marchandises commerciales transportées au Canada par une personne autre qu'un transporteur commercial. Consultez la page sur le processus de mainlevée des MCBP pour plus d'information.

Transitaires

L'ASFC fournit également des codes uniques à quatre caractères aux transitaires admissibles. Un seul code de transitaire est délivré à chaque personne morale (société, association ou entreprise individuelle).

Un transitaire s'entend d'un mandataire qui prend les dispositions nécessaires en vue du transport de marchandises et qui peut offrir d'autres services, tels que le groupement et le dégroupement d'expéditions, le dépotage des conteneurs, le courtage en douane et l'entreposage.

Pour présenter une demande

Les pages suivantes fournissent des renseignements détaillés sur la procédure à suivre pour obtenir un code de transporteur ou de transitaire :

Modification des renseignements

Les transporteurs et transitaires doivent informer l'ASFC par écrit sans délai de tout changement à la personne morale ou à leurs nom, adresse et coordonnées.

Tout changement à la garantie d'un transporteur ou d'un transitaire cautionné nécessite la présentation de l'original de l'avenant ou de l'endossement fourni, d'une lettre de remise en vigueur, d'un avis d'annulation ou d'un certificat de prolongation délivré par la société de cautionnement ou l'institution financière. Pour obtenir plus d'information, consultez le Mémorandum D1-7-1, Dépôt de garantie pour effectuer des transactions en douane.

Date de modification :