B246 – Certificate of Origin – Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement

A link to the Portable Document Format (PDF) of this form is provided below. The content of the form is duplicated in HTML following the PDF link.

PDF (141 Kb) [help with PDF files]

Protected B when completed

  • 1. Exporter's name and address
    • Telephone
    • Fax
    • E-Mail
    • Free zone regime (Yes/No)
    • Tax identification number
  • 2. Blanket period: From: DD-MM-YYYY To: DD-MM-YYYY
  • 3. Producer's name and address
    • Telephone
    • Fax
    • E-Mail
    • Free zone regime (Yes/No)
    • Tax identification number
  • 4. Importer's name and address
    • Telephone
    • Fax
    • E-Mail
    • Free zone regime (Yes/No)
    • Tax identification number
  • 5. Description of good(s)
  • 6. HS tariff classification no.
  • 7. Preference criterion
  • 8. Producer
  • 9. RVC
  • 10. Other
  • 11. Observation
  • I certify that:
    • The information in this document is true and accurate and I assume the responsibility for proving such representations.  I understand that I am liable for any false statements or material omissions made on or in connection with this document.
    • I agree to maintain, and present upon request, documentation necessary to support this Certificate, and to inform, in writing, all persons to whom the Certificate was given of any changes that would affect the accuracy or validity of this Certificate.
    • The goods originate in the territory of one or both Parties, and comply with the origin requirements specified for those goods in the Canada - Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement, and unless specifically exempted in Article IV.11 or Annex IV.1, have not undergone any further production or any other operation outside the territories of the Parties.
    • This Certificate consists of (number) pages, including all attachments.
  • 12. Authorized signature
    • Company
    • Name
    • Title
    • Date: DD-MM-YYYY
    • Telephone
    • Fax

Instructions for Completing the Certificate of Origin

For purposes of obtaining preferential tariff treatment, this document must be completed legibly and in full by the exporter and be in the possession of the importer at the time the declaration is made.  This document may also be completed voluntarily by the producer for use by the exporter.  Please print or type.  If more space is needed, please use additional pages.

Field 1: State the full legal name, address (including  city and country), telephone number, fax number, e-mail address and legal tax identification number of the exporter.  The legal tax identification number is: in Canada, employer number assigned by the Canada Revenue Agency or the importer/exporter number assigned by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA); in Costa Rica, it is the legal identification number for legal persons or the identification number or the passport number for physical persons.  State whether the exporter receives benefits of the Free Zone Regime of Costa Rica.

Field 2: Complete this Field if the Certificate covers multiple shipments of identical goods as described in Field 5 that are imported into Canada or Costa Rica for a specified period of up to 12 months (blanket period).  "FROM" is the date upon which the Certificate becomes applicable to the good covered by the blanket Certificate (it may be earlier than the date this Certificate is signed).  "TO" is the date upon which the blanket period expires. The importation of a good for which preferential tariff treatment is claimed based on this Certificate must occur between these dates.

Field 3: If one producer, state the full legal name, address (including city and country), telephone number, fax number, e-mail address and legal tax identification number as defined in Field 1, of said producer.  If more than one producer is included on the Certificate, state "VARIOUS" and attach a list of all producers, including their legal names, addresses (including city and country), telephone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses and legal tax identification numbers, cross-referenced to the good(s) described in Field 5.  If you wish this information to be confidential, it is acceptable to state "AVAILABLE TO CUSTOMS UPON REQUEST".  State whether the producer(s) receives benefits of the Free Zone Regime of Costa Rica.  If the producer and the exporter are the same, complete field with "SAME".  If the producer is unknown, it is acceptable to state "UNKNOWN".

Field 4: State the full legal name, address (including city and country), telephone number, fax number, e-mail address and legal tax identification number of the importer as defined in Field 1.

Field 5: Provide a full description of each good.  The description should contain sufficient detail to relate it to the invoice description and to the Harmonized System (HS) description of the good.  If the Certificate covers a single shipment of a good, it should list the quantity and unit of measurement of each good, including the series number, if possible, as well as, the invoice number as shown on the commercial invoice.  If not known, indicate another unique reference number, such as the shipping order number, purchase order number, or any other number that can be used to identify the goods.

Field 6: For each good described in Field 5, identify the HS tariff classification to six digits.

Field 7: For each good described in Field 5, state which criterion (A through D) is applicable.  The rules of origin are contained in Chapter IV and Annex IV.1. NOTE: In order to be entitled to preferential tariff treatment, each good must meet at least one of the criteria below.

Preference Criteria

  • A The good is "wholly obtained or produced entirely "in the territory of one or both of the Parties, as referred to in Article IV.15.  NOTE: The purchase of a good in the territory does not necessarily render it "wholly obtained or produced".  (Reference: Articles IV.1(a) and IV.15).
  • B The good is produced entirely in the territory of one or both of the Parties and satisfies the specific rule of origin, set out in Annex IV.1 that applies to its tariff classification. The rule may include a tariff classification change, regional value-content requirement or a combination thereof. The good must also satisfy all other applicable requirements of Chapter IV. (Reference: Article IV.1(b)).
  • C The good is produced entirely in the territory of one or both of the Parties exclusively from originating materials.  Under this criterion, one or more of the materials may not fall within the definition of "wholly obtained or produced entirely", as set out in Article IV.15.  All materials used in the production of the good must qualify as "originating" by meeting the rules of Article IV.1(a) through (d).  (Reference: Article IV.1(c)).
  • D The goods are produced entirely in the territory of one or both of the Parties but do not meet the applicable rule of origin, set out in Annex IV.1 because certain non-originating materials do not undergo the required change in tariff classification.  The goods do nonetheless meet the regional value-content requirement specified in Article IV.1(d). This criterion is limited to the following circumstance: the good incorporated one or more non-originating materials which could not undergo a change in tariff classification because both the good and the non-originating materials are classified in the same subheading, or heading that is not further subdivided into subheadings.

NOTE: This criterion does not apply to Chapters 39 or 50 through 63 of the HS.  (Reference: Article IV.1(d)).

For each good described in Field 5, state "YES" if you are the producer of the good. If you are not the producer of the good, state "NO"

Field 8:  followed by (1), (2) or (3), depending on whether this Certificate was based upon: (1) your knowledge of whether the good qualifies as an originating good; (2) your reliance on the producer's written representation (other than a Certificate of Origin) that the good qualifies as an originating good; or (3) a completed and signed Certificate for the good, voluntarily provided to the exporter by the producer.

Field 9:  For each good described in Field 5, where the good is subject to a regional value content (RVC) requirement, indicate "NC" if the RVC is calculated according to the net cost method or "TV" if the RVC is calculated according to the transaction value method. If the RVC is calculated according to the net cost method over a period of time, further identify the beginning and ending dates (DD/MM/YYYY) of that period. (Reference: Articles IV.2.1).

Field 10:  If in determining the origin of the good one of the procedures set forth in Articles IV.3, IV.4 or IV.5 of the Agreement, was used, indicate:

  • ACC: Accumulation.
  • DMI : De Minimis.
  • FGM: Fungible goods and materials.

Field 11: This Field may be used when there is some observation relating to this Certificate, such as, when the good or goods described in Field 5 have been subject to an advance ruling or a ruling on the classification or value of materials. Indicate the issuing authority, the reference number, and the date of issuance.

Field 12: This Field must be completed, signed and dated by the exporter.  When the Certificate is completed by the producer for use by the exporter, it must be completed, signed and dated by the producer.  The date must be the date the Certificate was completed and signed.

Date modified:

B246 – Certificat d'origine – Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica

Un lien vers ce formulaire en format de document portable (PDF) est fourni ci-dessous. Le contenu du formulaire est reproduit en format HTML après le lien PDF.

PDF (146 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

Protégé B (une fois rempli)

  • 1. Nom et adresse de l'exportateur
    • Téléphone
    • Télécopieur
    • Courriel
    • Régime de zone franche (Oui/Non)
    • Numéro d'identification aux fins de l'impôt
  • 2. Période globale : Du JJ-MM-AAAA Au : Du JJ-MM-AAAA
  • 3. Nom et adresse du producteur
    • Téléphone
    • Télécopieur
    • Courriel
    • Régime de zone franche (Oui/Non)
    • Numéro d'identification aux fins de l'impôt
  • 4. Nom et adresse de l'importateur
    • Téléphone
    • Télécopieur
    • Courriel
    • Régime de zone franche (Oui/Non)
    • Numéro d'identification aux fins de l'impôt
  • 5. Description du(des) produit(s)
  • 6. Nº de classement tarifaire SH
  • 7. Critère de préférence
  • 8. Producteur
  • 9. TVR
  • 10. Autre
  • 11. Observations :
  • J'atteste que :
    • les renseignements fournis dans le présent document sont exacts et je me charge de prouver, au besoin, ce qui y est avancé. Je comprends que je suis responsable de toutes fausses assertions ou omissions importantes faites dans le présent document ou s'y rapportant.
    • je conviens de conserver et de produire sur demande les documents nécessaires à l'appui du certificat et d'informer, par écrit, toute personne à qui il a été remis, des changements qui pourraient influer sur son exactitude ou sa validité.
    • les marchandises sont originaires du territoire de l'une ou des deux Parties et sont conformes aux exigences relatives à l'origine prévues dans l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica et, sauf exemption expresse à l'article IV.II ou à l'annexe IV.I n'ont subi aucune production supplémentaire ou autre transformation à l'extérieur du territoire des Parties.
    • Le présent certificat se compose de (nombre) pages, y compris les pièces jointes.
  • 12. Signature autorisée
    • Société
    • Nom
    • Titre
    • Date JJ-MM-AAAA
    • Téléphone
    • Télécopieur

Manière de remplir le certificat d'origine

Pour donner droit au traitement tarifaire préférentiel, le présent document doit être rempli lisiblement et au complet par l'exportateur, et l'importateur doit l'avoir en sa possession au moment de la déclaration. Il peut aussi être rempli volontairement par le producteur aux fins d'utilisation par l'exportateur. Veuillez écrire en majuscules ou à la machine. Si vous avez besoin de plus de place, ajoutez d'autres pages.

Zone 1 : Inscrire le nom légal complet, l'adresse (y compris la ville et le pays), le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur, l'adresse de courriel et le numéro d'identification légale aux fins de l'impôt de l'exportateur. Au Canada , il s'agit du numéro d'employeur attribué par l'Agence du revenu du Canada ou du numéro d'un importateur ou d'exportateur attribué par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (AFSC); au Costa Rica, il s'agit du numéro d'identification légale dans le cas d'une personne morale ou du numéro d'identification ou du numéro de passeport dans le cas d'une personne physique. Indiquer si l'exportateur reçoit des avantages du régime de zone franche du Costa Rica.

Zone 2 : Remplissez ce champ si le certificat vise de nombreuses expéditions de marchandises identiques, selon la description présentée dans le champ 5, importées au Canada ou au Costa Rica pendant une période précise d'un maximum de 12 mois (période visée). « Du » est la date à laquelle le certificat devient applicable pour les marchandises visées par le certificat général (elle peut être ultérieure à la date de la signature du certificat). « Au » est la date à laquelle la période visée prend fin. L'importation d'un bien pour lequel on demande un traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu du certificat doit se faire entre ces dates.

Zone 3 : S'il y a un producteur, inscrivez l'appellation légale complète, l'adresse (y compris la ville et le pays), le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur, l'adresse de courriel et le numéro d'identification légal aux fins de l'impôt du producteur, conformément à la définition énoncée dans le champ 1. Si plus d'un producteur est visé par le certificat, inscrivez « DIVERS » et joignez une liste de tous les producteurs, y compris leur appellation légale, leur adresse (y compris la ville et le pays), les numéros de téléphone, les numéros de télécopieur, les adresses de courriel et les numéro d'identification aux fins de l'impôt et une référence croisée avec les marchandises décrites dans le champ 5. Si vous voulez que ces renseignements restent confidentiels, vous pouvez inscrire « REMIS AUX DOUANES SUR DEMANDE ». Si le producteur est le même que l'exportateur, inscrivez « MÊME » dans le champ. Si le producteur est inconnu, vous pouvez inscrire « INCONNU ».

Zone 4 : Inscrire le nom légal complet, l'adresse (y compris la ville et le pays), le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur, l'adresse de courriel  et le numéro d'identification légale de l'importateur aux fins de l'impôt, qui est défini à la zone 1.

Zone 5 : Fournissez une description complète de chaque produit. La description devrait contenir suffisamment de détails pour faire le lien avec la description de la facture et la description du produit dans le Système harmonisé (SH). Si le certificat vise une seule expédition de marchandises, il doit comporter la quantité et l'unité de mesure de chaque produit, ainsi que le numéro de série, s'il y a lieu, et le numéro de la facture commerciale. Si vous ne connaissez pas ce numéro, indiquez un autre numéro de référence unique, par exemple le numéro du bordereau d'expédition, le numéro du bon de commande ou tout autre numéro pouvant servir à identifier les marchandises.

Zone 6 : Pour chaque produit décrit dans le champ 5, indiquez le classement tarifaire harmonisé de six chiffres.

Zone 7 : Pour chaque produit décrit dans le champ 5, indiquez les critères (A à D) applicables. Les règles d'origine sont énoncées au chapitre IV et àl'annexe IV.1. NOTA : Pour avoir droit à un traitement tarifaire préférentiel, chaque produit doit satisfaire à au moins un des critèresci-dessous.

Critères de préférence

  • A Le produit est « entièrement obtenu ou produit » sur le territoire de l'une ou des deux Parties, au sens de l'article IV.15. NOTA : L'achat d'un produit sur le territoire n'en fait pas nécessairement un produit « entièrement obtenu ou produit ». (Référence : Articles IV.1(a) et IV.15)
  • B Le produit est produit entièrement sur le territoire de l'une ou des deux Parties et répond à la règle d'origine spécifique, énoncée à l'annexeIV.1, qui s'applique à son classement tarifaire. La règle peut comprendre un changement de classement tarifaire, l'exigence d'une teneur en valeur régionale ou une combinaison des deux. Le produit doit aussi respecter toutes les autres exigences applicables du chapitre IV. (Référence : Article IV.1(b)
  • C Le produit est produit entièrement sur le territoire de l'une ou des deux Parties, exclusivement à partir de matières originaires. Selon ce critère, une ou plusieurs des matières pourraient ne pas être incluses dans la définition de «  entièrement obtenu ou produit » figurant à l'article IV.15.Toutes les matières ayant servi à la production du produit doivent être admissibles en tant que matières « originaires », conformément aux règles de l'article IV.1(a) à (d). (Référence : Article IV.1(c)
  • D Un produit est produit entièrement sur le territoire de l'une ou des deux Parties mais ne respecte pas la règle d'origine applicable, énoncée à l'annexe IV.1, parce que certaines matières ne font pas l'objet du changement de classement tarifaire exigé. Le produit respecte cependant l'exigence de la teneur en valeur régionale conformément aux règles de l'article IV.1(d). Ce critère se limite à la situation suivante : le produit incorporait une ou plusieurs matières non originaires qui ne peuvent faire l'objet d'un changement de classement tarifaire parce que le produit et les matières non originaires sont classés dans la même sous-position ou dans une position qui n'est pas subdivisée en sous-positions.

NOTA : Ce critère ne s'applique pas aux chapitres 39 ou 50 à 63 du SH. (Référence : Article IV.1(d)).

Zone 8 : Pour chaque produit mentionné dans la zone 5, inscrire « OUI » si vous en êtes le producteur. Si vous n'en êtes pas le producteur, inscrire « NON », puis (1), (2) ou (3), selon que, pour remplir le présent certificat, vous vous êtes fondé sur : (1) votre connaissance du fait que le produit est admissible ou non en tant que produit originaire; (2) la confiance que vous avez accordée à l'assertion écrite (sauf un certificat d'origine) du producteur voulant que le produit soit admissible en tant que produit originaire; ou (3) un certificat rempli et signé à l'égard du produit et fourni volontairement à l'exportateur par le producteur.

Zone 9 : Pour chaque produit mentionné dans la zone 5, lorsque le produit est assujetti à une prescription de teneur en valeur régionale (TVR), il faut inscrire « CN » si la TVR est calculée selon la méthode du coût net ou « VT » si la TVR est calculée selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle. Si la TVR est calculée conformément à la méthode du coût net sur une période de temps, il faut aussi inscrire la première et la dernière date (JJ/MM/AAAA) de cette période. (Référence : Article IV.2.1)

Zone 10 : Si une des procédures aux articles IV.3, IV.4 ou IV.5 de l'Accord a été utilisée pour déterminer l'origine du produit, inscrire :

  • ACC : Accumulation.
  • DMI : De minimis.
  • PMF : Produits et matières fongibles.

Zone 11 : Cette zone peut être utilisée lorsqu'il y a une remarque relative au présent certificat, par exemple lorsque les produits décrits à la zone 5 ont fait l'objet d'une décision anticipée ou d'une décision sur le classement ou la valeur des matières. Indiquer l'autorité compétente, le numéro de référence et la date d'émission.

Zone 12 : Cette zone doit être remplie, signée et datée par l'exportateur. Lorsque le certificat est rempli par le producteur pour être utilisé par l'exportateur, il doit être rempli, signé, et daté par le producteur. La date doit être celle où le certificat a été rempli et signé.

Date de modification :