Canada Border Services Agency's Policy on the Classification of Hate Propaganda, Sedition and Treason

Memorandum D9-1-15

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, January 7, 2016

This document is also available in PDF (76 Kb)
[help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to reflect legislative amendments, particularly the expanded definition of "identifiable" group in reference to suspect hate propaganda as per Tariff Item 9899.00.00 of the Schedule to the Customs Tariff.

This memorandum outlines and explains the interpretation of tariff item 9899.00.00, paragraphs (b), (c) and (d), of the Schedule to the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff - Tariff Item 9899.00.00
Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms – section 1 and subsection 2(b)
Criminal Code - subsections 46(2), 59(4), and 320(8)
Customs Act - sections 36, 58, 60 and 142 and subsection 152(3)


Guidelines and General Information

The Uniqueness of Hate Propaganda, Sedition and Treason Decisions in the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) Mandate

1.   In the course of administering the many laws of Parliament that regulate, control or prohibit the importation of goods into Canada, CBSA officials deal with a wide range of goods.

2.   Importation of certain categories of goods is prohibited under Customs Tariff item 9899.00.00. One category under tariff item 9899.00.00 involves material that is suspected of constituting hate propaganda, sedition or treason as defined in subsections 46(2), 59(4) and 320(8) of the Criminal Code. The Customs Tariff prohibits the importation of such material into Canada, including written, visual and audio materials.

3.   Unlike many other goods routinely dealt with by CBSA officials, expressive materials have been found by the courts to be protected by the freedom of expression guarantee set out in subsection 2(b) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Although not specifically tested in the courts to date, it is believed that, in respect to hate propaganda, sedition and treason, as with obscenity, the infringement of section 2(b) of the Charter is justified under its own section 1, because the overriding objective of the law is the avoidance of harm to society and that is a sufficiently substantial concern to warrant a restriction on freedom of expression.

4.   As a result the handling of suspect hate propaganda, sedition and treason, and the decision-making process for classifying material as hate propaganda under tariff item 9899.00.00, have different repercussions for the CBSA and for importers than do comparable decisions made in relation to other goods that do not involve Charter issues.

Service Standard

5. Decisions concerning the classification of goods detained as suspect hate propaganda, sedition and treason must be made in a timely manner. The CBSA provides a 30-day service standard at both the determination and re-determination levels. This means that, in general, suspect goods must be classified within 30 days of the date of detention, and that the importer must be promptly notified of the decision. Where an importer makes a request for a re-determination of the classification, pursuant to Section 60 of the Customs Act, the decision must also be made within 30 days of the receipt of the importer’s request. If a determination or re-determination is not rendered within the 30-day period, those specific goods should be allowed importation. It should be noted that the size and complexity of the shipment might have an impact on meeting the service standard.

Determining Whether Goods are Hate Propaganda

6.   Goods that constitute hate propaganda under the Criminal Code are those that contain depictions and/or descriptions that advocate or promote genocide or that publicly incite or willfully promote hatred against an identifiable group, distinguished by colour, race, religion, national or ethnic origin, age, sex, sexual orientation, or mental or physical disability.

7.  Goods may be prohibited as hate propaganda if they advocate or promote the genocide of an identifiable group. Genocide is defined as acts committed with the intent to destroy, in whole or in part, an identifiable group, either by killing members of the group or by deliberately inflicting on the group conditions of life calculated to bring about its physical destruction.

8.  Goods that incite or promote hatred against an identifiable group, by incorporating some or all of the following allegations, may be prohibited as hate propaganda:

  • (a) allegations that an identifiable group is to blame for serious economic or social problems;
  • (b) allegations that an identifiable group manipulated media, trade, finance, government or world politics to the detriment of society;
  • (c) allegations that an identifiable group is inferior or superior to another group; and/or
  • (d) allegations that an identifiable group weakens or threatens society, in whole or in part.

Determining Whether Goods are Seditious

9. Goods that are of a seditious character are, for example, goods that contain depictions and/or descriptions that advocate the use of force, without the authority of law, as a means of accomplishing governmental change within Canada.

Determining Whether Goods are Treasonable

10. Goods that are of a treasonable character are, for example, goods that contain depictions and/or descriptions that advocate the use of force or violence to overthrow the Government of Canada or a province, or which communicate or make available to an agent of a state other than Canada, without lawful authority, any military or scientific information that may be used by the state for a purpose prejudicial to the safety or defence of Canada.

Defences and Exceptions

11. Goods that may constitute hate propaganda, through their willful promotion of hatred, will not be classified under tariff item 9899.00.00 if the goods are found to:

  • (a) communicate statements that are established to be true;
  • (b) predominately express, in good faith, an opinion on a religious subject or an opinion based on a belief in a religious text;
  • (c) be relevant to any subject of public interest, the discussion of which is for the public benefit and, on reasonable grounds, are believed to be true; or
  • (d) be intended, in good faith, to point out, for the purposes of removal, matters producing or tending to produce feelings of hatred towards an identifiable group in Canada.

12. Similarly, goods that may constitute sedition will not be classified under tariff item 9899.00.00 if the goods are found to have only the intention, in good faith to:

  • (a) show that Her Majesty has been misled or mistaken in her measures;
  • (b) point out errors or defects in the government or constitution of Canada or a province, in the Parliament or the legislature of a province, or in the administration of justice in Canada;
  • (c) procure, by lawful means, the alteration of any matter of government in Canada; or
  • (d) point out, for the purposes of removal, matters that produce or tend to produce feelings of hostility or ill-will between different classes of persons in Canada.

Other Considerations

13. It should be emphasized that every suspect item is to be assessed in its entirety, with full recognition given to freedom of expression. Each item is to be considered as a whole and its overall nature and dominant characteristics assessed. A section of work that is found to contain areas of concern, as outlined in this memorandum, must be assessed as part of the entire work and in the context of the entire work’s theme. However, goods essentially made up of many individual elements are not to be treated as a whole and may be prohibited on the basis of any one of the elements that falls within the provisions of tariff item 9899.00.00. For example, a magazine or newspaper may be considered on a segment-by-segment basis.

  • Note: For the purposes of tariff item 9899.00.00, goods that are made (manufactured, printed, purchased, etc.) in Canada and subsequently exported are considered to constitute an importation on their return to Canada.

Additional Information

14. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Advance Reviews and Importers' Rights

Advance Reviews

1. Individuals or commercial importers who encounter difficulty in determining whether goods are in compliance with these guidelines may submit a sample of the goods, prior to importation, to the Prohibited Importations Unit (PIU), at Headquarters, for review. An official from the Unit will then provide an opinion regarding the admissibility of the goods into Canada. This service is designed to promote voluntary compliance with the legislation in cases where the classification of specific materials is not immediately clear. Importers can arrange for an advance review by contacting the PIU in Ottawa, at 613 954 7049. It should be noted that any sample goods submitted to the PIU for the purposes of an advance review will not be returned.

Importers' Rights

When Suspect Goods are Detained - Notification

2. An importer, whose goods are suspected of being hate propaganda according to the legislation, will be provided with a written notice of detention containing the following information: a brief description of the goods detained as suspected hate propaganda; the port of entry where the goods are detained; the date of detention; and a contact name and telephone number. This information will be provided in the top portion of the Form K27, Notice of Detention/Determination.

3. Once a full review of the goods has been conducted, generally within 30 days of the date of detention, the importer will be notified of the determination in writing (i.e. whether the goods are prohibited or released).

4. If the goods are found to be admissible, the importer will receive a written notice of determination containing a brief description of the goods and the date of determination. This information will be provided by way of Part B of the Form K27. The goods will then be released to the importer, subject to the payment of any applicable duties and/or taxes.

5. If the goods are prohibited as hate propaganda, the importer will receive a written notice of determination containing the following information: a brief description of the goods; the date of determination; the reasons for prohibition; and a list of options available to the importer, including instructions for appeal. This information will be provided by way of Part B of the Form K27.

6. If a shipment contains more than one prohibited title, the Form K27A, Continuation Sheet, will be used by CBSA officials to indicate to the importer the specific reasons for which each title was prohibited. A completed Form K27A will then accompany the completed Form K27.

When Goods are Prohibited – Importers’ Rights

7. When goods are deemed to be hate propaganda, and are therefore prohibited, the importer may exercise any one of the following options, as set out on the reverse of the Form K27, Notice of Detention/Determination:

  • (a) the decision may be appealed by writing to the Prohibited Importations Unit-Appeals, within 90 days of the date of the determination, referring to the title of the material, the applicable Form K27 control number, and any other applicable information;
  • (b) the goods may be exported, under customs control and at the importer’s expense and arrangement; or
  • (c) the goods may be abandoned to the Crown, pursuant to section 36 of the Customs Act, in which case the material will be destroyed, pursuant to section 142.

8. If the importer fails to appeal or to provide instructions either to export or to abandon the goods within 90 days of the date of decision, the goods will be considered forfeit and will be destroyed.

References

Issuing office
Prohibited Importations Unit – Traveller Compliance Unit
Program Compliance and Outreach Division
Programs Branch
Headquarters file
5905-7-2
Other references
N/A
Superseded memorandum D
D9-1-15 dated
Date modified:

Politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada sur le classement de la propagande haineuse et du matériel de nature à fomenter la sédition et la trahison

Mémorandum D9-1-15

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 7 janvier 2016

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (71 Ko)
[aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce mémorandum a été modifié pour refléter des modifications législatives, particulièrement la définition élargie de l'expression « groupe identifiable » au sujet du matériel pouvant constituer de la propagande haineuse prévu au numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00 de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes.

Le présent mémorandum expose et explique l'interprétation des alinéas b), c) et d) du numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00 de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes - numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00
Charte canadienne des droits et libertés - article 1 et alinéa 2b)
Code criminel – paragraphes 46(2), 59(4) et 320(8)
Loi sur les douanes – articles 36, 58, 60 et 142 et paragraphe 152(3)


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Le caractère particulier des décisions en matière de propagande haineuse, de sédition et de trahison dans le mandat de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC)

1.  Au moment d'appliquer les nombreuses lois du Parlement régissant, contrôlant ou prohibant l'importation de marchandises au Canada, les fonctionnaires de l'ASFC traitent un large éventail de marchandises.

2. L'importation de certaines catégories de marchandises est prohibée en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00 du Tarif des douanes. Une catégorie de marchandises classée sous le numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00) diffère cependant de toutes les autres; il s'agit du matériel soupçonné de constituer de la propagande haineuse ou d'être de nature à fomenter la sédition ou la trahison au sens des paragraphes 46(2), 59(4) et 320(8) du Code criminel. Le Tarif des douanes prohibe l'importation de ce matériel au Canada, y compris le matériel écrit, visuel et audio.

3.  Contrairement aux nombreuses autres marchandises que les fonctionnaires de l'ASFC traitent de façon régulière, ce genre de matériel a été déclaré par les tribunaux comme étant protégé en vertu de l'alinéa 2(b) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, qui garantit la liberté d'expression. Bien que la preuve n'en ait pas encore été faite, il semble qu'une limitation des droits garantis par cet alinéa soit justifiée en vertu de l'article premier de la Charte dans le cas de la propagande haineuse et du matériel de nature à fomenter la sédition et la trahison, tout comme dans le cas du matériel obscène, puisque l'objectif primordial de la loi est la protection de la société et que cet objectif est assez important pour justifier une restriction de la liberté d'expression.

4. Par conséquent, le traitement du matériel pouvant constituer de la propagande haineuse ou être de nature à fomenter la sédition et la trahison et le processus décisionnel visant le classement de ce matériel à titre de propagande haineuse sous le numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00 ont, pour l'ASFC et les importateurs, des répercussions différentes de celles qui découlent des décisions comparables concernant d'autres marchandises non visées par la Charte.

Norme de service

5. Les décisions concernant le classement des marchandises retenues à titre de propagande haineuse ou parce qu'elles sont de nature à fomenter la sédition ou la trahison, doivent être prises en temps opportun. L'ASFC offre une norme de service de 30 jours pour la détermination et la révision. En d'autres termes, les marchandises soupçonnées doivent être classées dans les 30 jours suivant la date à laquelle elles ont été retenues, et l'importateur doit être rapidement avisé de la décision rendue. Lorsque l'importateur présente une demande de révision du classement en vertu de l'article 60 de la Loi sur les douanes, la décision doit également être rendue dans les 30 jours suivant la date de réception de la demande. Si le délai de 30 jours prévu pour le classement ou la révision du classement n'a pas été respecté, l'importation des marchandises devrait être permise. Il est à noter que la taille et la complexité de l'expédition peuvent influer sur le respect de la norme de service.

Déterminer si des marchandises constituent de la propagande haineuse

6. Les marchandises constituant de la propagande haineuse au sens du Code criminel sont celles qui contiennent des représentations et/ou des descriptions qui préconisent ou fomentent le génocide ou qui incitent publiquement à la haine ou la fomentent volontairement, contre un groupe identifiable qui se différencie des autres par la couleur, la race, la religion, l'origine nationale ou ethnique, l'âge, le sexe, l'orientation sexuelle ou la déficience mentale ou physique.

7. Des marchandises peuvent être prohibées à titre de propagande haineuse si elles préconisent ou fomentent le génocide d’un groupe identifiable. Le terme « génocide » s’entend des actes commis avec l’intention de détruire totalement ou partiellement un groupe identifiable, à savoir le fait de tuer des membres du groupe ou le fait de soumettre délibérément le groupe à des conditions de vie propres à entraîner sa destruction physique.

8. Les marchandises qui incitent à la haine contre un groupe identifiable, ou la fomentent, en attribuant à ce groupe une ou plusieurs des caractéristiques mentionnées ci après peuvent aussi être prohibées à titre de propagande haineuse, c’est-à-dire :

  • a) celles qui blâment un groupe identifiable pour de graves problèmes économiques ou sociaux;
  • b) celles qui prétendent ou allèguent qu’un groupe identifiable manipule les médias, le commerce, les finances, le gouvernement ou la politique mondiale au détriment de la société;
  • c) celles qui prétendent ou allèguent qu’un groupe identifiable est inférieur ou supérieur à un autre groupe;
  • d) celles qui prétendent ou allèguent qu’un groupe identifiable affaiblit ou menace une partie ou l’ensemble de la société.

Déterminer si des marchandises sont de nature à fomenter la sédition

9. Les marchandises qui sont de nature à fomenter la sédition comprennent entre autres les représentations et/ou les descriptions qui préconisent l’usage, sans l’autorité des lois, de la force comme moyen d’opérer un changement de gouvernement au Canada.

Déterminer si des marchandises sont de nature à fomenter la trahison

10. Les marchandises qui sont de nature à fomenter la trahison comprennent entre autres les représentations et/ou les descriptions qui incitent à recourir à la force ou à la violence pour renverser le gouvernement du Canada ou celui d’une province et celles qui servent à communiquer à l’agent d’un État étranger ou à mettre à la disposition d’un tel agent, sans autorisation légitime, des renseignements d’ordre militaire ou scientifique que cet État pourrait utiliser à des fins préjudiciables à la sécurité ou à la défense du Canada.

Défenses et exceptions

11. Les marchandises qui peuvent constituer de la propagande haineuse, parce qu’elles fomentent volontairement la haine, ne seront pas classées sous le numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00 si les marchandises sont jugées :

  • a)  être des déclarations dont la vérité a été établie;
  • b)  exprimer principalement, de bonne foi, une opinion sur un sujet religieux ou une opinion fondée sur une croyance dans un contexte religieux;
  • c)  se rapporter à une question d'intérêt public dont l'examen a été fait dans l'intérêt du public, et être des déclarations considérées comme vraies, pour des motifs raisonnables;
  • d)  viser de bonne foi à attirer l'attention, afin qu'il y soit remédié, sur des questions provoquant ou de nature à provoquer des sentiments de haine à l'égard d'un groupe identifiable au Canada.

12. Dans le même ordre d’idées, les marchandises qui peuvent être de nature à fomenter la sédition ne seront pas classées sous le numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00 si les marchandises sont jugées viser uniquement, de bonne foi :

  • a) à démontrer que Sa Majesté a été induite en erreur ou s’est trompée dans ses mesures;
  • b) à souligner des erreurs ou des irrégularités au gouvernement ou dans la constitution du Canada ou d’une province, au Parlement ou dans l’assemblée législative d’une province, ou dans l’administration de la justice au Canada;
  • c) à obtenir, par des moyens légaux, la modification de toute question touchant l’administration publique au Canada;
  • d) à attirer l’attention, afin qu’il y soit remédié, sur des questions provoquant ou de nature à provoquer des sentiments d’hostilité ou de mauvaise volonté entre différentes catégories de personnes au Canada.

Autres considérations

13. Il convient de signaler qu’il faut évaluer chaque article soupçonné dans son ensemble, en reconnaissant pleinement le droit à la liberté d’expression. Il faut considérer chaque article comme un tout et en déterminer la nature générale et la caractéristique dominante. On doit évaluer toute section d’un oeuvre suscitant des préoccupations visées par le présent mémorandum en tenant compte de l’œuvre entière et de son thème. Toutefois, les marchandises essentiellement constituées de nombreux éléments ne seront pas traitées comme un tout et pourront être prohibées si un seul de ces éléments répond aux critères du numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00. Par exemple, les différents segments d’une revue ou d’un journal pourraient faire l’objet d’une évaluation distincte.

  • Nota : Pour les besoins du numéro tarifaire 9899.00.00, les marchandises qui sont produites (fabriquées, imprimées, achetées, etc.) au Canada et qui en sont par la suite exportées seront considérées comme une importation au moment de leur retour au Canada.

Renseignements supplémentaires

14. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Examens anticipés et droits des importateurs

Examens anticipés

1. Les personnes ou les importateurs commerciaux qui éprouvent des difficultés à déterminer si des marchandises sont conformes aux lignes directrices énoncées dans ce document peuvent, avant l’importation, présenter des échantillons à l’Unité des importations prohibées (UIP) à l’Administration centrale à des fins d’examen. Un fonctionnaire de l’Unité fournira ensuite au demandeur une opinion concernant l’admissibilité des biens au Canada. Ce service vise à encourager l’observation volontaire de la législation dans les cas où le classement du matériel précis n’est pas clair de prime abord. Les importateurs peuvent prendre les dispositions nécessaires en vue d’un examen anticipé en communiquant avec l’UIP à Ottawa, au 613-954-7049. Il est à noter que les échantillons de marchandises soumis à l’UIP en vue d’un examen anticipé ne seront pas retournés à l’expéditeur.

Droits des importateurs

Lorsque les marchandises suspectes sont retenues – Avis

2. Les importateurs dont les marchandises sont soupçonnées être de la propagande haineuse en vertu de la législation pertinente reçoivent par écrit un avis de retenue contenant les renseignements suivants : une description sommaire des marchandises retenues, le bureau d'entrée où les marchandises sont retenues, la date de la retenue, ainsi que le nom et le numéro de téléphone d'une personne-ressource. Cette information sera inscrite dans la partie supérieure du formulaire K27, Avis de retenue ou de classement tarifaire.

3. Lorsqu’un examen exhaustif des marchandises aura été effectué, généralement dans un délai de 30 jours suivant la date de la retenue, l’importateur sera avisé par écrit de la décision (c.-à-d. si les marchandises sont prohibées ou dédouanées).

4. Si les marchandises sont jugées admissibles, l’importateur recevra par écrit un avis de détermination contenant une description sommaire des marchandises et indiquant la date de la décision. Cette information sera fournie au moyen de la partie B du formulaire K27. Les marchandises seront par la suite acheminées à l’importateur, sous réserve du paiement des droits et/ou des taxes applicables.

5. Si les marchandises sont jugées constituer de la propagande haineuse et donc prohibées, l’importateur recevra par écrit un avis de détermination contenant les renseignements suivants : une description sommaire des marchandises, la date de la décision, les raisons justifiant la prohibition, ainsi qu’une liste des options à la disposition de l’importateur, y compris les instructions à suivre pour interjeter appel. Cette information sera fournie au moyen de la partie B du formulaire K27.

6. Si une expédition renferme plus d'un titre prohibé, les fonctionnaires de l'ASFC utiliseront le formulaire K27A, Feuille supplémentaire, pour communiquer à l'importateur les raisons précises pour lesquelles chaque titre a été prohibé. Un formulaire K27A rempli sera joint au formulaire K27.

Lorsque les marchandises suspectes sont retenues – Droits des importateurs

7. Lorsque l'on détermine que les marchandises constituent de la propagande haineuse et qu'elles sont donc prohibées, l'importateur peut se prévaloir d'une des options suivantes, tel qu'exposées au verso du formulaire K27, Avis de retenue ou de classement tarifaire :

  • a) il peut appeler de la décision en écrivant à l’Unité des importations prohibées – Recours, dans un délai de 90 jours suivant la date de la décision, et en faisant mention du titre du matériel, du numéro de contrôle applicable du formulaire K27 et de tout autre renseignement pertinent;
  • b) les marchandises peuvent être exportées, sous le contrôle des douanes et aux frais de l’importateur;
  • c) les marchandises peuvent être abandonnées à la Couronne en vertu de l'article 36 de la Loi sur les douanes; en pareil cas, elles seront détruites conformément à l'article 142.

8. Si l’importateur n’interjette pas appel ou qu’il ne fournit pas de directives au sujet de l’exportation ou de l’abandon des marchandises dans un délai de 90 jours suivant la date de la décision, celles ci seront considérées comme étant abandonnées et seront détruite.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Unité des importations prohibées – Unité de la conformité des voyageurs
Division de la conformité au programme et de la sensibilisation
Direction générale des programme
Dossier de l'administration centrale
5905-7-2
Autres références
 
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D9-1-15 daté le
Date de modification :