Obsolete or Surplus Goods

Memorandum D7-2-3

Ottawa, March 16, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (65 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures

This memorandum outlines and explains the legislative requirements in order to obtain a drawback (i.e., refund) of the duties and excise taxes paid on goods that are deemed obsolete or surplus goods and have been destroyed in Canada.


Guidelines and General Information

Definitions

1. For the purposes of the Obsolete or Surplus Goods Program, the following definitions apply:

Damaged
refers to goods that have been subject to a loss or deterioration that has changed the original state of the goods making them less effective, usable, or valuable. Examples of damage to goods includes scratches, dents, blemishes, breakage, rips, tears, mutilations, defects, imperfections, and other impairments that have diminished the strength, quality, value or utility of the goods. For example, clothing store customer-returned apparel that has suffered fading, broken zippers, defects, rips or shrinkage would be considered damaged goods and therefore not eligible for a drawback.
Destroyed
refers to goods that are completely destroyed so that they are fully ruined or rendered useless and therefore cannot be considered to be an article of commerce. This applies equally to any remains of the imported good following destruction. Examples of destruction include incineration or entering environmentally-friendly obsolete or surplus goods into the landfill of a dump. Alteration processes that change the characteristics of the goods such as further processing, manufacturing, recycling, conversion and transformation do not qualify as destruction, as the resulting goods constitute articles of commerce. For example, melting jewelry to produce bullion or ingots does not constitute destruction, as it is simply a transformation of the precious metal.
Obsolete
refers to goods that are no longer useful or are antiquated. Examples include unfashionable, outdated, archaic or superseded goods. Typically, obsolescence is preceded by a gradual decline in popularity. Examples of obsolete goods include eight track cassettes, typewriters, black and white televisions, and expired medication.
Surplus
refers to goods that are more than, or in excess of, what is needed or required. Typically, surplus goods include excess purchases that have not been sold. Examples of surplus goods include seasonal items remaining in inventory after the season has ended or a souvenir remaining in inventory after an event has concluded.
Used
refers to imported goods that have been entered into commerce. In order to qualify under the Obsolete or Surplus Goods Program, the imported goods must not have been used and must be in the exact same physical state from the time of entry to the time of destruction. Retail and wholesale items remaining in inventory that have not been sold at the consumer level may qualify. Used goods that do not qualify as obsolete or surplus, include rentals and customer- returned items, as those goods have been entered into commerce. The only usage permitted under the Obsolete or Surplus Goods Program is the manufacture of products from imported raw materials.

2. The purpose of the Obsolete or Surplus Goods Program is to assist Canadian industry in competing internationally by reducing exportation costs on valueless goods that will not enter the domestic market. By allowing the destruction of obsolete or surplus goods, the necessity to export the imported goods in order to qualify for a drawback is removed. This eliminates the shipping costs associated with exporting valueless goods.

3. There is no provision for the refund of the Goods and Services Tax (GST), Provincial Sales Tax (PST) or the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) under this program.

4. In order for obsolete or surplus goods to qualify for a refund of duties, all of the following conditions must be met in accordance with section 109 of the Customs Tariff:

  • (a) the goods must be found to be obsolete or surplus
    • (i) in the case of imported goods, by their importer or owner, or
    • (ii) in any other case, by their manufacturer, producer or owner;
  • (b) the goods cannot have been used in Canada;
  • (c) the goods must be destroyed; and
  • (d) the goods cannot be damaged prior to their destruction.

5. The Obsolete or Surplus Goods Program does not apply to wipers or rags that remain in the commerce of Canada as a result of a manufacturing process of imported used clothing. These wipers or rags can be considered to be a diversion to a conditional relief tariff item and a re-determination of tariff classification may occur. These types of goods may be eligible for a refund of duties under paragraph 74(1)(f) of the Customs Act by filing a Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request.

How to Apply for a Refund Under the Obsolete or Surplus Goods Program

6. A claimant must complete a Form K32, Drawback Claim, and submit it, together with supporting documentation, to the nearest Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) regional office. Completion instructions are on the back of the form.

Supporting Documentation

7. The following documents must accompany the drawback claim:

8. All supporting documentation must contain a complete and detailed description of the obsolete or surplus goods.

9. The obsolete or surplus goods being declared on the drawback claim must match the original importation documents. The Form E15, Certificate of Destruction/Exportationmust describe the goods in sufficient detail and state any applicable serial, model, or part numbers, or other identifying marks to enable the CBSA officers to verify that the goods being destroyed are the same as the imported goods.

10. Substantiating import documentation must be available to support all claims.

11. Additional information or documents may be required in order to establish the validity of the claim and must be provided to the CBSA upon request.

Filing Time Limits

12. A Form K32, Drawback Claim,must be filed within five years of the date that the related imported goods were released by the CBSA.

Destruction of Goods

13. The destruction of the goods may be substantiated by means of a Form E15, Certificate of Destruction/Exportation, witnessed by a CBSA officer or by third party documentation that contains similar information.

14. Acceptable methods of destruction will vary depending upon the nature of the goods being destroyed. Any questions regarding how goods may be destroyed should be addressed to the CBSA Border Information Service noted in paragraph 17 prior to destruction.

15. In all cases, if the obsolete or surplus goods are not destroyed in their entirety, the value of the good (including any associated duties) remaining in Canada must be deducted from the declared value on the drawback claim. For example, if beer beyond its shelf life is destroyed, then the value of the empty kegs or bottles remaining in Canada must be deducted from the value (including all associated duties) of the imported goods being declared on the drawback claim.

Non-compliance

16. If a drawback is paid on goods thought to be destroyed that are then found to have not been destroyed, the amount of the drawback will be recovered including interest paid. Interest will be charged at the specified rate beginning on the first day after the refund or drawback was granted in error and ending on the day the amount is recovered in full.

Additional Information

30. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
6550-0
Other references
Memoranda D7-4-1, D7-4-3
Forms B2, B3-3, E15, K32, K32A
Superseded memorandum D
D7-2-3 dated October 21, 2009
Date modified:

Marchandises surannées ou excédentaires

Mémorandum D7-2-3

Ottawa, le 16 mars 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (70 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les exigences législatives qui doivent être respectées pour obtenir le drawback (c.-à-d. remboursement) des droits et des taxes d’accise payés sur les marchandises surannées ou excédentaires détruites au Canada.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1. Dans le cadre du Programme des marchandises surannées ou excédentaires, les définitions suivantes s’appliquent :

Détruites
s’entend de marchandises qui sont complètement détruites de façon à ce qu’elles soient entièrement abîmées ou inutilisables de sorte à ce qu’elles ne peuvent aucunement être considérées un élément négociable. Ceci s’applique également à toute matière restante par suite de la destruction de la marchandise importée. Des exemples de méthodes de destruction sont l’incinération ou le versement de marchandises surannées ou excédentaires écologiques dans un site d’enfouissement. Les processus d’altération qui modifient les caractéristiques de la marchandise, tel un complément d’ouvraison, une transformation complémentaire, le recyclage, la conversion et la transformation, ne sont pas considérés des méthodes de destruction, car les marchandises ainsi obtenues sont considérées des éléments négociables. Par exemple, faire fondre des bijoux pour en faire des lingots n’est pas considéré comme une méthode de destruction, car il s’agit simplement d’une transformation du métal précieux.
Endommagées
s’entend de marchandises qui ont été assujetties à une perte ou une détérioration qui a modifié l’état original de ces dernières, de façon à réduire leur efficacité, utilité ou valeur. Des exemples de dommage causé à des marchandises comprennent les égratignures, bosselures, défauts, cassures, fentes, déchirures, mutilations, irrégularités, imperfections et autres déficiences qui diminuent la force, la qualité, la valeur ou l’utilité des marchandises. Par exemple, un vêtement retourné par un consommateur qui a pâli, comporte des fermetures éclair brisées, des défauts, des fentes ou qui s’est rétréci est considéré endommagé et, de ce fait, n’est pas admissible au drawback des droits.
Excédentaire
s’entend de marchandises qui sont en quantités supérieures, ou excédentaires, aux besoins ou exigences. En règle générale, il peut s’agir d’achats excédentaires qui n’ont pas été vendus, par exemple, des articles saisonniers qui demeurent dans l’inventaire une fois la saison terminée ou un souvenir à l’inventaire par suite de la fin de l’événement.
Surannée
s’entend de marchandises qui ne sont plus utiles ou vieillies. Il peut s’agir de marchandises passées de mode, démodées, archaïques ou remplacées. En règle générale, l’obsolescence est précédée d’une diminution graduelle de sa popularité. Des exemples de marchandises surannées sont les cassettes huit pistes, les machines à écrire, les téléviseurs à affichage monochrome et les médicaments expirés.
Usagée
s’entend de marchandises importées qui ont été versées au commerce. Pour être admissibles au Programme des marchandises surannées et excédentaires, les marchandises importées ne doivent pas avoir été utilisées et doivent être dans le même état physique de leur entrée au pays jusqu’à leur destruction. Les marchandises au détail et les marchandises en gros à l’inventaire qui n’ont pas été vendues à des consommateurs peuvent être admissibles. Les marchandises usagées, telles les marchandises louées et les marchandises retournées par le consommateur, ne sont pas admissibles en tant que marchandises surannées ou excédentaires, car elles ont été versées au commerce. La seule utilisation permise en vertu du Programme des marchandises surannées et excédentaires est la fabrication de produits à partir de matières premières importées.

2. Le programme des marchandises surannées ou excédentaires a pour but d'accroître la compétitivité internationale de l'industrie canadienne en réduisant les coûts d'exportation sur des marchandises sans valeur qui ne se retrouveront pas sur le marché canadien. En permettant la destruction des marchandises surannées ou excédentaires, nous dispensons de la nécessité d'exporter les marchandises importées qui auraient été admissibles à un drawback. Ceci élimine les coûts d'expédition associés à l'exportation de marchandises sans valeur.

3. En vertu de ce programme, il n'existe aucune disposition relative au remboursement de la Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), de la Taxe de vente provinciale (TVP) ou de la Taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH).

4. Pour être admissible au remboursement des droits payés, les marchandises surannées ou excédentaires doivent respecter toutes les conditions suivantes, conformément à l'article 109 du Tarif des douanes :

  • a) les marchandises doivent être jugées surannées ou excédentaires
    • i) dans le cas des marchandises importées, par leur importateur ou leur propriétaire;
    • ii) dans les autres cas, par leur fabricant, producteur ou propriétaire
  • b) les marchandises ne sont pas utilisées au Canada;
  • c) les marchandises sont détruites; et
  • d) les marchandises n'ont pas été endommagées avant leur destruction.

5. Le Programme des marchandises surannées ou excédentaires ne s'applique pas aux chiffons ou torchons produits à partir de vêtements usagés importés qui demeurent dans le marché canadien. Ces chiffons ou torchons peuvent être considérés des marchandises réaffectées à un numéro tarifaire d'exonération conditionnelle et une révision du classement tarifaire peut avoir lieu. Ce type de marchandises peut être admissible au remboursement des droits en vertu de l'alinéa 74(1)f) de la Loi sur les douanes en présentant un formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement.

Comment présenter une demande en vertu du Programme des marchandises surannées ou excédentaires

6. Le demandeur doit remplir un formulaire K32, Demande de drawback. Le formulaire doit être assorti de documents à l'appui et présenté au bureau régional de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) le plus près. Les instructions pour remplir le formulaire sont incluses à son verso.

Documents à l'appui

7. Les documents suivants doivent accompagner la demande de drawback :

8. Tous les documents à l'appui doivent contenir une description complète et détaillée des marchandises surannées ou excédentaires.

9. Les marchandises surannées ou excédentaires faisant l'objet de la demande de drawback doivent correspondre aux marchandises indiquées sur les documents d'importation originaux. Le formulaire E15, Certificat de destruction/exportation, doit décrire les marchandises en suffisamment de détail et indiquer tout numéro de série, de modèle ou de partie, ainsi que toutes autres marques d'identification qui permettront à l'ASFC de vérifier que les marchandises devant être détruites sont les mêmes que les marchandises importées.

10. Des documents d'importation à l'appui doivent être disponibles pour soutenir toute demande.

11. D'autres renseignements ou documents peuvent être exigés afin de vérifier la validité de la demande. Ces renseignements supplémentaires doivent être fournis sur demande.

Délais de présentation

12. Un formulaire K32, Demande de drawback, doit être présenté dans les cinq ans qui suivent la date du dédouanement des marchandises importées connexes par l'ASFC.

Destruction des marchandises

13. La destruction des marchandises peut être confirmée à l'aide d'un formulaire E15, Certificat de destruction/d'exportation, authentifié par un agent de l'ASFC ou par des documents d'une tierce partie qui contiennent des renseignements semblables.

14. Les méthodes de destruction acceptables seront différentes selon la nature des marchandises devant être détruites. Toute question concernant la façon dont les marchandises peuvent être détruites doit être transmise au Service d'information à la frontière aux coordonnées indiquées au paragraphe17 et ce, avant leur destruction.

15. Dans tous les cas, si les marchandises surannées ou excédentaires ne sont pas complètement détruites, la valeur de la marchandise (y compris tous les droits connexes) qui demeure au Canada doit être déduite de la valeur déclarée sur la demande de drawback. Par exemple, si une bière, dont la durée de conservation a pris fin, est détruite, la valeur des fûts ou des bouteilles vides qui demeurent au Canada doit être déduite de la valeur (y compris tous les droits connexes) des marchandises importées qui ont été déclarées sur la demande de drawback.

Inobservation

16. Si un drawback est payé pour des marchandises présumées avoir été détruites qui ne sont pas détruites, le montant du drawback, y compris des intérêts, sera recouvré. Les intérêts seront imposés au taux précisé à compter du moment où le remboursement ou le drawback a été accordé par erreur jusqu'à ce que le montant soit récupéré en entier.

Renseignements supplémentaires

17. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
6550-0
Autres références
mémorandums D7-4-1, D7-4-3
formulaires B2, B3-3, E15, K32, K32A
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D7-2-3 daté le 21octobre 2009
Date de modification :