Maintenance of Records and Books in Canada by Exporters and Producers

Memorandum D20-1-5

Ottawa, January 1, 1994

This document is also available in PDF (27 Kb) [help with PDF files]


This memorandum provides information relative to the records and books that must be maintained in Canada by exporters and producers.

Statutory Instrument

Regulations respecting the keeping of records by persons who export or Cause to be exported goods for sale or for any industrial, occupational, Commercial, institutional or other like use, or by other persons who have Completed and signed a certificate in accordance with subsection 97.01(1) of The customs act.

Short Title

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Exporters' and Producers' Records Regulations.

Interpretation

2. In these Regulations,

Act
"Act" means the Customs Act; (Loi)
advance ruling
"advance ruling" means an advance ruling referred to in Article 509 of the NAFTA; (décision anticipée)
commercial goods
"commercial goods" means goods exported from Canada for sale or for any industrial, occupational, commercial, institutional or other like use; (marchandises commerciales)
indirect materials
"indirect materials" has the same meaning as in subsection 2(1) of the NAFTA Rules of Origin Regulations; (matière indirecte)
materials
"materials" has the same meaning as in subsection 2(1) of the NAFTA Rules of Origin Regulations; (matière)
producer
"producer" has the same meaning as in subsection 2(1) of the NAFTA Rules of Origin Regulations; (producteur)
production
"production" has the same meaning as in subsection 2(1) of the NAFTA Rules of Origin Regulations. (production)

General

3. Every person who exports or causes to be exported commercial goods and who is required by subsection 97.2(1) of the Act to keep records in respect of those commercial goods shall keep, for the period of six years following the exportation of the commercial goods, all records that relate to:

  1. the origin, purchase, importation, costs and value of the commercial goods;
  2. payment for the commercial goods;
  3. the usage to which the commercial goods are put in Canada; and
  4. the exportation of the commercial goods.

4. Every exporter of commercial goods who has completed and signed a certificate in accordance with subsection 97.01(1) of the Act and who is required by subsection 97.2(1) of the Act to keep records in respect of those commercial goods shall keep, for the period of six years following the date on which the certificate was signed, in addition to the records described in section 3:

  1. all records that relate to an application for, or receipt of, any advance ruling by the customs administration of a NAFTA country on the origin or marking of the commercial goods; and
  2. all written representations received from the producer of the commercial goods that state that the commercial goods meet the rules of origin set out in or contemplated by the NAFTA.

5. Every producer of commercial goods who has completed and signed a certificate in accordance with subsection 97.01(1) of the Act and who is required by subsection 97.2(1) of the Act to keep records in respect of those commercial goods shall keep, for the period of six years following the date on which the certificate was signed, all records that relate to the production of the commercial goods, including all records that relate to:

  1. the purchase, cost and value of, and payment for, the commercial goods;
  2. the purchase, cost and value of, and payment for, all materials and indirect materials used in the production of the commercial goods; and
  3. an application for, or receipt of, any advance ruling by the customs administration of a NAFTA country on the origin or marking of the commercial goods or of any materials and indirect materials used in the production thereof.

6. The records referred to in section 3 to 5 may be kept on microfilm by means of any photographic or microphotographic process that is in accordance with National Standards of Canada CAN2-72.11-79, Microfilm as Documentary Evidence, published by the Canadian General Standards Board in August 1979, as amended from time to time.

7. The records referred to in sections 3 to 5 may be kept on machine-sensible data media if the media can be related back to the supporting source documents and are supported by a system capable of producing accessible and readable copy.

Inspection of Records

8. Every person who is required to keep records in accordance with sections 3 to 5 shall make those records available for inspection at all reasonable times by an officer of the customs administration of a NAFTA country other than Canada conducting a verification visit in accordance with Article 506 of the NAFTA and shall provide a facility for the inspection thereof.

Guidelines and General Information

1. These requirements are equally applicable to both non-resident and resident exporters and producers, including persons abroad who ship to themselves from Canada. Non-resident exporters and producers generally do not maintain an office in this country but provide instructions to agents who, under authority of the exporter or producer, prepare export documentation and arrange for shipment of the goods.

2. If the exporter or producer does not maintain an office in Canada, a Customs broker, accountant, or some other authorized responsible agent may be designated by the exporter or producer to maintain the appropriate records (e.g., exporter's Certificate of Origin) on the distinct understanding that it is obligatory that the books and records required by section 97.2(1) of the Customs Act be maintained in Canada.

3. Requests for permission to maintain records at locations in Canada at a place other than the exporter's or producer's place of business, where only one Customs region is involved, are to be forwarded to the Manager, Operational Services, for the region concerned. Requests which involve more than one region are to be addressed to the Director, Inspection and Control Division, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0L5.

Record Keeping Requirements for the North American Free Trade Agreement

4. Persons who export or cause to be exported goods as eligible for benefits under the North American Free Trade Agreement are required to keep records for a period of six years following the exportation. Records relating to the origin, purchase, importation, costs and value of the goods; the Canadian usage of the goods; payment for the goods; and the exportation of the goods must be maintained. The following guidelines will assist the exporter in maintaining the appropriate records:

  1. Certificates of Origin;
  2. accounting records capable of identifying the purchase, importation, costs, value, payment and use of the commercial goods;
  3. transportation documents relating to the exportation of the commercial goods.

5. Persons who export and have completed a Certificate of Origin are required to keep records in respect of the goods for a period of six years following the date on which the certificate was signed, in addition to the records mentioned in paragraph 4. Records relating to the application and receipt of advance rulings and written representation obtained from the producer of the goods stating that the goods meet the rules of origin set out in NAFTA must be maintained. The following guidelines will assist the exporter in maintaining the appropriate records:

  1. all correspondence, requests and submissions relating to an application for, and receipt of, any advance ruling requested or issued by the the customs administration of a NAFTA country on the origin or marking of the goods;
  2. all correspondence, requests and written representations that are received from the producer of the goods that state the goods meet the rules of origin set out in the North American Free Trade Agreement.

6. Producers of goods who have completed and signed a Certificate of Origin are required to keep records in respect of the commercial goods for a period of six years following the date on which the certificate was signed. All records that relate to the production of the commercial goods must be maintained. The following guidelines will assist the producer in maintaining the appropriate records:

  1. accounting records that identify the source, quantity, purchase, costs, value and payment of the commercial goods;
  2. accounting records that identify the source, quantity, purchase, costs, value, and payment of all materials and indirect materials used in the production of the commercial goods;
  3. all correspondence, requests, and application for, or receipt of, any advance ruling by the customs administration of a NAFTA country on the origin or marking of the commercial goods or of any materials and indirect materials used in the production of the goods.

Microfilmed Records

7. In accordance with the Department's policy pertaining to the retention and disposal of records and books of account in microfilmed form, every exporter or manufacturer is required to have an acceptable microfilm program. The important factors which are necessary for the implementation of a credible program are that:

  1. the program is authorized in writing by someone in authority in the exporter's or manufacturer's organization who confirms that the program will be part of the usual and ordinary activity of the business of the organization;
  2. systems and procedures are established and documented;
  3. a log will be kept showing
    1. the date of microfilming,
    2. the signatures of the persons authorizing and performing the microfilming, and
    3. a concise description of the records microfilmed;
  4. an index will be maintained which will make any particular record readily available;
  5. the microfilm records will be of commercial quality and will exhibit a high degree of legibility and readability when displayed on a microfilm reader or reproduced on paper;
  6. a system of inspection and quality control will be established to ensure that (c), (d) and (e) above are maintained; and
  7. equipment, in good working order, will be made available upon reasonable notification to view, or to reproduce hard copy of the microfilm.

8. Permission to microfilm books and records of account must be obtained by exporters or manufacterers from the Manager, Operational Services, in the region concerned, to ensure they can meet the standard of an acceptable microfilm program.

Electronic Data Processed Records

9. Books and records maintained in machine-sensible data medium are recognized as records and books of account, provided the medium can be related back to the supporting source documents and is supported by a system capable of producing accessible and readable copy.

Availability for Inspection and Delivery

10. Persons required to keep books and records referred to in sections 3 to 5 shall, at all reasonable times, make their records, books of account and other supporting documents available for inspection by officers of the Department of National Revenue and provide every facility necessary to inspect them.

11. The Minister may require from any person the production of any book, record, writing or other document or any information, for any purpose related to the administration or enforcement of the Customs Act or any other law relating to Customs, within such reasonable time as stipulated by a registered letter or a demand served personally.

Breach of Requirements

12. Where it is determined that an exporter or manufacturer has failed to comply with any or all of the requirements for the maintenance of records in Canada, the exporter or manufacturer will be requested to fulfil these requirements within a reasonable period of time. If the exporter or manufacturer does not comply with the requirements for record maintenance under subsections 97.2(1) and 97.2(2) of the Customs Act, the penalty provisions of section 160 or 161 of the Act may be applied.

Additional Information

13. Where the exporter or manufacturer is confronted with difficulty in adequately observing these requirements, questions may be directed to the Manager, Operational Services, of the nearest regional Customs office.

References

Issuing office:
Inspection and Control Division
Headquarters file:
7635-4
Legislative references:
Customs Act sections 97.2(1), 97.2(2), and 160 and 161
Other references:
N/A
Superseded memorandum D:
D20-1-5, December 1988
Date modified:

Conservation de documents au Canada par les exportateurs et les producteurs

Mémorandum D20-1-5

Ottawa, le 1er janvier 1994

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (29 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]


Ce mémorandum fournit des renseignements sur les documents qui doivent être conservés au Canada par les exportateurs et les producteurs.

Texte réglementaire

Règlement concernant la conservation de documents par les personnes qui exportent ou font exporter des marchandises en vue de leur vente ou d'usages industriels, professionnels, commerciaux ou collectifs, ou à d'autres fins analogues, ou par les personnes qui ont rempli et signé un certificat conformément au paragraphe 97.01(1) de la loi sur les douanes

Titre abrégé

1. Règlement sur les documents de l'exportateur et du producteur.

Définition

2. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à ce règlement.

décision anticipée
« décision anticipée » Une décision anticipée rendue conformément à l'article 509 de l'ALÉNA. (advance ruling)
Loi
« Loi » La Loi sur les douanes. (Act)
indirect materials
« marchandises commerciales » Les marchandises exportées du Canada en vue de leur vente ou d'usages industriels, professionnels, commerciaux ou collectifs, ou à d'autres fins analogues. (commercial goods)
matière
« matières » S'entend au sens du paragraphe 2(1) du Règlement sur les règles d'origine de l'ALÉNA. (materials)
matières indirectes
« matières indirectes » S'entend au sens du paragraphe 2(1) du Règlement sur les règles d'origine de l'ALÉNA. (indirect materials)
producteur
« producteur » S'entend au sens du paragraphe 2(1) du Règlement sur les règles d'origine de l'ALÉNA. (producer)
production
« production » S'entend au sens du paragraphe 2(1) du Règlement sur les règles d'origine de l'ALÉNA. (production)

Dispositions générales

3. La personne qui exporte ou fait exporter des marchandises commerciales et qui est tenue, en vertu du paragraphe 97.2(1) de la Loi, de conserver des documents à l'égard de ces marchandises commerciales doit conserver, pendant une période de six ans suivant l'exportation des marchandises commerciales, toute la documentation portant sur :

  1. l'origine, l'achat, l'importation, les coûts et la valeur des marchandises commerciales;
  2. le paiement des marchandises commerciales;
  3. l'usage auquel les marchandises commerciales sont affectées au Canada;
  4. l'exportation des marchandises commerciales.

4. L'exportateur de marchandises commerciales qui a rempli et signé un certificat conformément au paragraphe 97.01 (1) de la Loi et qui est tenu, en vertu du paragraphe 97.2 (1) de la Loi, de conserver des documents relativement à ces marchandises commerciales doit, pendant une période de six ans suivant la date de s ignature du certificat, outre les documents mentionnés à l'article 3, garder :

  1. tous les documents relatifs à une demande ou à la réception d'une décision anticipée rendue par l'administration douanière d'un pays ALÉNA au sujet de l'origine ou du marquage des marchandises commerciales;
  2. toutes les observations reçues par écrit du producteur des marchandises commerciales portant que celles-ci marchandises respectent les règles d'origine énoncées ou envisagées dans l'ALÉNA.

5. Le producteur de marchandises commerciales qui a rempli et signé un certificat conformément au paragraphe 97.01 (1) de la Loi et qui est tenu, en vertu du paragraphe 97.2 (1) de la Loi, de conserver des documents relativement à ces marchandises commerciales doit, pendant la période de six ans à compter de la signature du certificat, garder tous les documents sur la production des marchandises commerciales, y compris tous les documents ayant trait à ce qui suit :

  1. l'achat, les coûts, la valeur et le paiement des marchandises commerciales;
  2. l'achat, les coûts, la valeur et le paiement de toutes les matières et matières indirectes utilisées dans la production des marchandises commerciales;
  3. toute demande ou réception d'une décision anticipée rendue par l'administration douanière d'un pays ALÉNA au sujet de l'origine ou du marquage des marchandises commerciales ou de toutes matières ou matières indirectes utilisées dans la production de telles marchandises.

6. Les documents mentionnés aux articles 3 à 5 peuvent être conservés sur microfilm au moyen d'un procédé photographique ou microphotographique conforme à la norme nationale du Canada CAN2-72.11-79, intitulée Microfilm – preuve littérale, publiée en août 1979 par l'Office des normes générales du Canada et modifiée à l'occasion.

7. Les documents dont il est fait mention aux articles 3 à 5 peuvent être conservés sur des supports d'information assimilables par une machine, à la condition que les supports permettent de remonter aux documents de base à l'appui et soient étayés d'un système capable d'en produire des copies accessibles et lisibles.

Inspection des documents

8. La personne qui est tenue de conserver des documents conformément aux articles 3 à 5 doit les mettre, pour inspection à tout moment raisonnable, à la disposition d'un agent de l'administration douanière d'un pays ALÉNA autre que le Canada qui fait une visite de vérification conformément à l'article 506 de l'ALÉNA, et la personne doit fournir un local pour leur inspection.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Ces exigences s'appliquent aussi aux exportateurs et producteurs résidants et non résidants, y compris les personnes à l'étranger qui s'expédient des marchandises à elles-mêmes depuis le Canada. En général, les exportateurs et producteurs non résidants n'ont pas de bureau au Canada, mais donnent des instructions à un agent qui, en vertu de l'autorité qui lui est conférée par l'exportateur ou le producteur, remplit les documents d'exportation et s'occupe de l'expédition des marchandises.

2. Si l'exportateur ou le producteur n'a pas de bureau au Canada, il peut charger un courtier en douane, un comptable ou un autre agent responsable autorisé de conserver les documents appropriés (par exemple le certificat d'origine de l'exportateur), étant clairement entendu qu'il est obligatoire que les documents exigés en vertu du paragraphe 97.2(1) de la Loi sur les douanes soient conservés au Canada.

3. Les demandes en vue d'obtenir la permission de conserver des documents à des endroits au Canada autres que le lieu d'affaires de l'exportateur ou du producteur, doivent être transmises au gestionnaire des Services opérationnels de la région en cause lorsqu'une seule région douanière est concernée. Les demandes qui touchent plus d'une région doivent être adressées au directeur, Division de l'inspection et du contrôle, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0L5.

Exigences liées à la tenue de registres en vertu de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain

4. La personne qui exporte ou qui fait exporter des marchandises en vertu des dispositions de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain est tenue de conserver les documents suivants pendant une période de six ans à compter de la date d'exportation : les documents liés à l'origine, à l'achat, à l'importation, au coût et à la valeur des marchandises, ainsi que les documents ayant trait à l'usage auquel les marchandises sont affectées au Canada, à leur paiement et à leur exportation. Les lignes directrices suivantes visent à aider l'exportateur à conserver les documents appropriés :

  1. les certificats d'origine;
  2. les documents comptables qui ont trait à l'achat, l'importation, les coûts, la valeur, le paiement et l'utilisation des marchandises commerciales;
  3. les documents de transport liés à l'exportation des marchandises commerciales.

5. La personne qui exporte des marchandises et qui a rempli un certificat d'origine est tenue de conserver les documents relatifs aux marchandises pendant une période de six ans à compter de la date de signature du certificat, en plus des documents mentionnés au paragraphe 4. Les documents liés à la demande et à la réception de décisions anticipées, ainsi qu'aux observations écrites du producteur, établissant que les marchandises satisfont aux règles d'origine énoncées dans l'ALÉNA, doivent être conservés. Les lignes directrices suivantes visent à aider l'exportateur à conserver les documents appropriés :

  1. toute la correspondance, les demandes et les communications liées à une demande ou à la réception d'une décision anticipée rendue par l'administration douanière d'un pays ALÉNA au sujet de l'origine ou du marquage des marchandises;
  2. toute la correspondance, les demandes et les observations reçues par écrit du producteur des marchandises, établissant le respect des règles d'origine énoncées dans l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain.

6. Les producteurs de marchandises qui ont rempli et signé un certificat d'origine sont tenus de conserver des documents à l'égard des marchandises commerciales pendant une période de six ans à compter de la date de signature du certificat. Tous les documents ayant trait à la production des marchandises commerciales doivent être conservés. Les lignes directrices suivantes visent à aider le producteur à conserver les documents appropriés :

  1. les documents comptables qui ont trait à la source, la quantité, l'achat, les coûts, la valeur et le paiement des marchandises commerciales;
  2. les documents comptables qui ont trait à la source, la quantité, l'achat, les coûts, la valeur et le paiement de toutes les matières et matières indirectes utilisées dans la production des marchandises commerciales;
  3. toute la correspondance et les communications relatives à une demande ou à une réception de décision anticipée par l'administration douanière d'un pays ALÉNA au sujet de l'origine ou du marquage des marchandises commerciales ou de toutes matières ou matières indirectes utilisées dans la production des marchandises.

Documents microfilmés

7. Conformément à la politique du Ministère sur la conservation et la destruction des documents et livres comptables sur microfilm, l'exportateur ou le fabricant est tenu d'avoir un programme de microfilmage acceptable. Voici les critères pertinents à cette fin :

  1. une autorisation confirmant que le programme fera partie de l'activité courante et ordinaire de l'entreprise doit être écrite par une personne compétente chez l'exportateur ou le fabricant;
  2. des systèmes et des procédures doivent être établis et étayés;
  3. un registre renfermant :
    1. la date du microfilmage,
    2. les signatures des personnes qui autorisent et effectuent le microfilmage, et
    3. une description concise des documents microfilmés;
  4. un index permettant de retracer facilement tout document doit être tenu;
  5. les documents sur microfilm doivent être de qualité commerciale et être bien lisibles lorsqu'ils sont consultés au moyen d'un lecteur de microfilm ou reproduits sur papier;
  6. un système d'inspection et de contrôle de la qualité doit être mis sur pied afin de s'assurer que les critères c), d) et e) énumérés ci-dessus sont respectés; et
  7. un matériel en bon état de fonctionnement doit être disponible, moyennant la signification d'un avis raisonnable, pour visionner les documents sur microfilm ou pour les reproduire sur support en papier.

8. L'exportateur ou le fabricant doit obtenir du gestionnaire des Services opérationnels de la région concernée la permission de microfilmer des documents et des livres comptables, afin de s'assurer de mettre sur pied un programme acceptable de microfilm.

Documents informatiques

9. Les documents sur supports d'information assimilables par une machine sont considérés comme des documents et des registres comptables, à condition que les supports permettent de remonter aux documents de base à l'appui et soient étayés d'un système capable d'en produire des copies accessibles et lisibles.

Disponibilité aux fins d'inspection et de transmission

10. La personne tenue de conserver les documents mentionnés aux articles 3 à 5 doit mettre, pour inspection à tout moment raisonnable, ses documents, livres comptables et autres pièces justificatives à la disposition des agents du ministère du Revenu national et fournir tout local nécessaire à cette inspection.

11. Le Ministre peut exiger d'une personne la production de tout livre, registre, pièce ou autre document, ou de toute information, lié à l'application ou à l'exécution de la Loi sur les douanes ou de toute autre loi ayant trait aux Douanes, dans un délai raisonnable précisé dans une lettre recommandée ou une sommation signifiée à personne.

Manquement aux exigences

12. Lorsqu'il est établi qu'un exportateur ou un fabricant n'a pas respecté toutes les exigences relatives à la conservation de documents au Canada, on demandera à l'exportateur ou au fabricant de satisfaire à ces exigences dans un délai raisonnable. Si l'exportateur ou le fabricant ne respecte pas les exigences de conservation de documents en vertu des paragraphes 97.2 (1) et (2) de la Loi sur les douanes, les peines prévues à l'article 160 ou 161 de la Loi peuvent être imposées.

Renseignements supplémentaires

13. Lorsque l'exportateur ou le fabricant éprouve des difficultés à se conformer aux exigences, il faut s'adresser au gestionnaire des Services opérationnels du bureau de douane régional le plus près.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Division de l'inspection et du contrôle
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
7635-4
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes, paragraphes 97.2(1), 97.2(2), et articles 160 et 161
Autres références :
s.o.
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D20-1-5, Décembre 1988
Date de modification :