Release of Personal Effects of Canadian Armed Forces Personnel
Memorandum D2-3-4

Ottawa, February 22, 2005

This document is also available in PDF (175 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The "References" page has been revised in order to update the information.

This Memorandum outlines the procedure for the release of in-bond personal effects shipped in advance by Canadian Armed Forces personnel.

Guidelines and General Information

1. When personal effects are shipped in bond, in advance, by a returning member of the Canadian Armed Forces, that member may prepare a Power of Attorney in the form outlined in the Appendix, and forward it to the Unit Commander or Transportation Officer at the establishment to which the member has been posted. It may not be possible in every instance for the member of the Canadian Armed Forces to give the name of the Commander or Transportation Officer. In such cases the relevant lines on the Power of Attorney should be left blank. The Commander or Transportation Officer concerned will complete the form by adding his or her name and rank.

2. On presentation to Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) of Form E29B, Temporary Admission Permit, the effects will be released into the care and custody of the Department of National Defence and held in a designated area, approved by the CBSA, pending the arrival of the owner. Form E29B will be signed by the Commander or Transportation Officer holding the Power of Attorney, who will then give the copies of the permit to the owner when the owner arrives to take possession of the shipment. The owner will then report to the CBSA office and present these copies, which will be cancelled by Form B4, Personal Effects Accounting Document.

3. For further information on tariff item No. 9805.00.00, see Memorandum D2-3-2, Former Residents of Canada – Tariff Item No. 9805.00.00.


Power of Attorney

Short Form of Power of Attorney for Temporary Importation of Household and Personal Effects of Canadian Armed Forces Personnel

Commander or Transportation Officer (Name and Rank) of (Unit) is authorized to act on my behalf at the CBSA office at (location) and obtain the temporary importation of the following shipment of personal and household effects. I hereby certify that, as of this date, all goods contained in this shipment with the exceptions reported below meet the ownership, possession, and use requirements specified in tariff item No. 9805.00.00. A true and complete accounting in respect of these goods will be made by me when I return to Canada to resume residence.



Dated at (location) on (date)


Issuing office:
Partnerships Division
Headquarters file:
Legislative references:
Other references:
Superseded memorandum D:
D2-3-4, January 4, 1999
Date modified:

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Mémorandum D2-3-4

Dédouanement des effets personnels des membres des Forces armées canadiennes

Le 22 février 2005

PDF (179 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

La page des « Références » a été modifiée afin de mettre à jour l'information.

Dédouanement des effets personnels des membres des Forces armées canadiennes

Ce mémorandum explique comment dédouaner les effets personnels en douane qui sont expédiés à l'avance par un membre des Forces armées canadiennes.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Lorsqu'un membre des Forces armées canadiennes qui revient au pays expédie à l'avance en douane des effets personnels, il peut préparer une procuration conforme au format indiqué à l'annexe et l'envoyer au commandant d'unité ou à l'officier des transports de son lieu d'affectation. Si le membre des Forces armées canadiennes ne connaît pas le nom du commandant ou de l'officier des transports, il n'a qu'à ne pas remplir les lignes pertinentes sur la procuration. Le commandant ou l'officier des transports concerné complétera le formulaire en indiquant son nom et son rang.

2. Sur présentation à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) du formulaire E29B, Permis d'admission temporaire, les effets seront libérés et confiés aux soins et à la garde du ministère de la Défense nationale. Ils seront retenus dans un endroit approuvé par l'ASFC en attendant l'arrivée du propriétaire. Le commandant ou l'officier des transports qui détient la procuration doit signer le formulaire E29B et remettre les exemplaires du permis au propriétaire lorsque ce dernier viendra prendre possession de l'expédition. Le propriétaire doit ensuite se présenter au bureau de l'ASFC et remettre ces exemplaires, lesquels seront annulés par le formulaire B4, Document de déclaration en détail des effets personnels.

3. Pour en savoir plus sur le numéro tarifaire 9805.00.00, reportez-vous au mémorandum D2-3-2, Anciens résidents du Canada – Numéro tarifaire 9805.00.00.

Annexe

Procuration

Formulaire abrégé de procuration pour l'importation temporaire d'effets personnels et domestiques appartenant à un membre des Forces armées canadiennes

Commandant ou officier des transports (Nom et rang) de (Unité) est autorisé à agir en mon nom au bureau de l'ASFC (lieu) et à obtenir l'importation temporaire de l'expédition suivante d'effets personnels et domestiques. J'atteste par la présente que, en date d'aujourd'hui, les marchandises contenues dans cette expédition, sauf celles déclarées ci-dessous, m'ont effectivement appartenu et qu'elles ont été en ma possession et à mon usage à l'étranger, conformément au numéro tarifaire 9805.00.00. Lors de mon retour définitif au Canada pour m'y établir de nouveau, je ferai une déclaration complète et exacte de ces marchandises.

  • Date d'expédition :
  • Nom et adresse du propriétaire :
  • Valeur des marchandises :
  • Marchandises qui ne sont pas admissibles sous le numéro tarifaire 9805.00.00 :

Signature :

Adresse :

Fait à (lieu) le (date)

Références

Bureau de diffusion Division des partenariats
Références légales s.o.
Dossier de l'administration centrale 7804
Autres références D2-3-2
Ceci annule les mémorandums « D » D2-3-4, le 4 janvier 1999