Preparation and Presentation of Blanket B2 Adjustment Requests
Memorandum D17-2-4

Ottawa, January 26, 2017

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (395 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum contains the procedures and instructions surrounding the preparation and presentation of Blanket B2 Adjustment Requests.

Corrections were made to the definitions of Blanket B2 Adjustment, Issue, and Reason. Paragraph 4 was also amended for clarification purposes.

Disclaimer: The company names and addresses are purely fictional for the purposes of outlining exactly how the information should be presented and formatted in Form B2. Any similarities presented in all examples in D17-2-4, to current or past importer or brokers are by coincidence only.

Table of contents

Legislation

Customs Act
Special Import Measures Act

Definitions

For the purpose of this memorandum, the following definitions apply:

“Act”
Means the Customs Act.
Form B3, Canada Customs Coding Form
Referred to as B3-3 (the electronic fillable version of the form) in many of the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) electronic documents. It is the customs document used to account for imported commercial goods. It is still called B3, as it will be referred to throughout this memorandum.
Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request
Referred to as Form B2. It is the CBSA's document used to request an adjustment to a commercial accounting declaration.
Blanket B2 adjustment
Is an adjustment that corrects accounting information pertaining to one issue and up to three reasons, each having 25 or more B3 transactions.
Blanket B2 Authorization Application
Is an application package submitted to the CBSA by an importer/agent, requesting authorization to submit a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request. It consists of an application form, workbook(s) containing data on all transactions for which adjustments are being requested, and an Agency Agreement if applicable.
Blanket B2 Adjustment Request
Is comprised of a Form B2 and the workbook(s) containing data on all of the transactions for which adjustments are being requested. It is submitted by an importer/agent after receiving a letter of authorization from the CBSA.
Diversion
Occurs when the conditions for which an imported good was granted relief of duty are no longer met (see Memorandum D11-8-5, Conditional Relief Tariff Item).
F Type Transaction
Is a consolidated transaction used to account for goods released under the Courier Low Value Shipment (LVS) Program.
Issue
Is the legislative authority associated with the adjustment request (e.g., 74(1) (c.1) or 32.2(2) of the Act).
Reason
Is the description of the circumstances for which a correction is being requested (e.g., correction of origin, tariff classification, value for duty).
Workbook
Is an electronic file containing multiple worksheet pages within a spreadsheet application.
Worksheet
Is a page or sheet within a workbook.

Guidelines and General Information

1. This memorandum is intended for the use of importers/agents who prepare and submit blanket B2 adjustments to the CBSA.

2. Blanket B2 adjustments are used to correct the same issue for up to three reasons affecting multiple B3 transactions with a single request rather than submitting individual B2 claims for each transaction. They are designed to reduce the administrative burden for importers/agents and the CBSA.

3. A submission is considered a blanket B2 adjustment when there are a total of 25 or more transactions, in a 12 month period, that require correction for the same reason. Adjustment requests containing 24 or fewer transactions will not be considered a blanket adjustment and should be submitted as single B2 adjustment requests. Refer to Memorandum D17-2-1, The Coding, Submission and Processing of Form B2 Canada Customs Adjustment Request for further information on single B2 adjustments.

4. A Blanket B2 Authorization Application may be submitted to correct one issue containing up to three reasons; however, the CBSA reserves the right to accept or reject any or all of the reasons for which a correction is being requested. Each reason for which a blanket B2 adjustment is being requested must be presented as an individual workbook in the application package.

5. This memorandum provides the standardized format for preparing Blanket B2 Adjustment Requests. Individual trade programs may, however, have additional requirements that must be included in the Blanket B2 Adjustment Request (e.g., Special Import Measures Act (SIMA) Compliance, Compliance Verification, Origin or Valuation).

6. The submission of a blanket B2 adjustment does not remove an importer’s obligation under section 32.2 of the Act to voluntarily amend their original declarations within 90 days of having “reason to believe” that their declaration of tariff classification, origin or value for duty of the goods was incorrect. For more information regarding “reason to believe” and the obligation to self-adjust please refer to Memorandum D11-6-6, “Reason to Believe” and Self-adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty.

7. Instances where a blanket B2 adjustment request cannot be used include:

8. “F” type transactions must be submitted separately on single B2 adjustment requests under the guidelines related to the Courier Low Value Shipment (LVS) transaction process. Please refer to Memorandum D17-4-0, Courier Low Value Shipment Program.

Special Import Measures Act

9. Adjustment requests related to issues under SIMA cannot be combined with other legislative issues on a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request. Furthermore, Blanket B2 Adjustment Requests related to SIMA require that written pre-approval be obtained from the SIMA Compliance Unit Manager. All requests related to SIMA are to be sent directly to:

Canada Border Services Agency
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
222 Queen Street, 9th floor
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0L8
Attention: Manager, SIMA Compliance Unit

10. Additional information regarding requests under SIMA legislation is contained in Memorandum D14-1-3, Re-determinations and Appeals Under the Special Import Measures Act.

Blanket B2 Authorization Application

11. Importers/agents must obtain authorization from the CBSA regional trade office, closest to where their books and records are maintained, before submitting a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request (refer to Appendix E for a list of CBSA offices that accept Blanket B2 Authorization Applications). To obtain authorization, a hard copy of the Blanket Authorization Application (see Appendix A) must be submitted along with:

12. The completed workbook(s) must be saved to a CD-R disk media only. The CD-R media must be clearly labelled as a Blanket B2 Authorization Application and include the importer’s name, business number, and adjustment period (ex: Blanket B2 Authorization Application - ABC Company, 123456789RM0001, January 2011 – January 2015). Submission of Blanket B2 Authorization Applications will not be accepted via electronic mail (e-mail) or any other electronic media.

13. The workbook must be saved under the importer’s name or business number and include the adjustment period (Example: ABC Company, 2011-2015 or 123456789RM0001, 2011-2015).

14. Supporting documentation is not required when submitting the Blanket B2 Authorization Application; however, the adjustment reason(s) for the blanket request must be clearly explained.

15. Blanket B2 Authorization Applications must be approved by the CBSA before Form B2s can be submitted. Therefore, Form B2s submitted along with the Blanket B2 Authorization Application will not be accepted.

16. The filing of a Blanket B2 Authorization Application does not constitute filing an adjustment request pursuant to section 32.2 or 74 of the Act. It in no way removes or extends the time limits to file a required adjustment pursuant to section 32.2 of the Act nor does it extend the one year (under 74 (1)) C.1)) or the four year time limits to file a refund request pursuant to section 74 of the Act. Importers/agents should submit individual B2 adjustment requests for transactions that are approaching their legislative time limits.

17. The CBSA will conduct a review of the Blanket B2 Authorization Application and will notify the importer/agent in writing of its status. Supporting documentation will be requested, when necessary.

18. Where supporting documentation is requested, the importer/agent will receive specific written instructions from the CBSA on the documentation required. Not adhering to these instructions may result in the request being rejected.

19. The CBSA will issue a blanket B2 adjustment authorization letter, for applications that have been reviewed and accepted.

Blanket B2 Adjustment Request Submission

20. Once an importer/agent receives an authorization letter, they may submit a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request. When submitting a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request, the following documentation should be included:

21. The following fields of the Form B2 must be completed:

22. If the Blanket B2 Adjustment Request contains transactions with accounting dates that cover more than one calendar year, then separate Form B2s and their associated workbooks will be required for each calendar year. Each workbook must include worksheets that separate the B2 adjustments by calendar quarter.

23. The worksheet for each quarter must contain the accounting data originally submitted on the B3, and the requested changes (i.e., B2 data). Each worksheet must be prepared in chronological order according to the accounting date.

24. The completed workbooks should be saved to CD-R disk media only. The CD-R disk media must be clearly labelled as a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request and include the importer’s name, business number, adjustment period, and authorization number provided on the CBSA’s letter of authorization (Example: Blanket Request - ABC Company, 123456789RM0001, January 2011 – January 2015, Authorization # XXXXX).

25. Each workbook must be saved under the importer’s name or business number and include the year (Example: ABC Company, 2011 or 123456789RM0001, 2011). Each worksheet, within the workbook, must be named under the importer’s name or business number and include the quarter period (Example: ABC Company Q1-2011, ABC Company Q2-2011 etc. or 123456789RM0001 Q1-2011, 123456789RM0001 Q2-2011). Either format is acceptable but must be consistent for all files.

26. When submitting blanket B2 adjustments that contain split line changes, the split line methodology, as per D17-2-1, must be used. Responsibility rests with the importer/agent to correctly number the new line resulting from the split or the sub header, when a new sub header is required.

27. When the Blanket B2 Adjustment Request results in monies owing to the CBSA (i.e., accounts receivable), payment may be submitted with the request. All requests submitted with payments should be sent to the closest CBSA Cash Office along with an envelope, addressed to the authorizing office or the CBSA officer who conducted the verification, if the request is a result of a verification. Non-revenue and/or accounts payable Blanket B2 Adjustment Requests should be submitted to the CBSA regional trade office that authorized the blanket request or to the CBSA officer that conducted the verification (see Appendix E for a list of CBSA offices). Importers/agents may also submit non-revenue and/or accounts payable Blanket B2 Adjustment Requests to their closest CBSA office, for forwarding to the appropriate CBSA regional trade services office.

Blanket Adjustment Submitted as a Result of a CBSA Trade Verification

28. Pursuant to a CBSA trade compliance verification, an importer may be required to submit corrections within 90 days from the date of the final verification report. These corrections may be submitted as a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request.

29. A Blanket B2 Authorization Application is not required for Blanket B2 Adjustment Requests submitted as a result of a CBSA trade compliance verification, provided that all the adjustment requests fall within the scope of the verification and the reassessment period. Adjustment requests outside of the verification scope or period must be submitted as single B2 adjustment requests or as a standard Blanket B2 Adjustment Request, requiring a Blanket B2 Authorization Application.

30. B2 Blanket Adjustment Requests must be directed to the officer who conducted the verification and should include:

Interest

31. When calculating interest, the median date will be considered as the date the interest begins. The median date equals the date between the first and last transaction within the respective quarter (see Appendix D for example). When the number of days in a period is an even number, the date immediately after the median date will be used. For blanket B2 adjustments that are submitted without payment, interest will continue to accumulate until the Detailed Adjustment Statement (DAS) decision date.

32. As indicated in paragraph 27, importers/agents may choose to submit the payment with their Blanket B2 Adjustment Request, if applicable. Should they choose to do so; the importer/agent is responsible for calculating interest. The interest start date should be calculated as per the calendar quarter median method described above in paragraph 31 and the end date should be the date payment is presented.

33. For further information on the application of interest, refer to Memorandum D11-6-5, Interest and Penalty Provisions: Determinations/Re-determinations, Appraisals/Re-appraisals, and Duty Relief.

Additional Information

34. For more information, from within Canada, you may call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada you may call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

 


Appendix A – Blanket B2 Authorization Application

Part 1 – Applicant Identification

Note that the filing of a Blanket B2 Authorization Application does not constitute filing an adjustment request pursuant to section 32.2 or 74 of the Act. It in no way removes or extends the time limits to file a required adjustment pursuant to section 32.2 of the Act, nor does it extend the one year (section 74(1)(c.1) of the Act) or the four year time limits to file a refund request pursuant to section 74 of the Act.

Part 2 – Workbook and Supporting Documentation

Provide a workbook of all the transactions related to the adjustment request in electronic and hard copy format. Additional supporting documentation may be required, depending on the nature of the claim.

In the case of an application being filed by an agent on behalf of an importer, also include the Agency Agreement / power of attorney

Documents in support of the adjustment(s) may include, but are not limited to:

Appendix B – Sample Form B2

Appendix B – Sample Form B2

Appendix C - Blanket B2 Worksheet Template

This worksheet template must be used when preparing and submitting a Blanket B2 Authorization Application and a Blanket B2 Adjustment Request.

Appendix C – Blanket B2 Worksheet Template


Appendix D - Establishing the Interest Median Date

Establishing the Interest Median Date

Using the sample calendar quarter above, the following table demonstrates how to establish the median date within a calendar quarter for the interest start date.

First Transaction Date Last Transaction Date Median Date
January 1, 2015 March 31, 2015 February 15, 2015
January 22, 2015 March 31, 2015 February 25, 2015
January 12, 2015 February 17, 2015 January 30, 2015

Regardless of the number of transactions in the calendar quarter, or if the majority of transactions occur in a particular month of the calendar quarter, the date range is based on the median date between the first and last transaction dates.

The following formulas are to be used:

Where “n” represents the total number of days between the first and the last transaction within the respective quarter.

Appendix E - Addresses of CBSA Regional Trade Offices That Accept Blanket B2 Authorization Applications

Quebec / Atlantic Region
Canada Border Services Agency
Trade Operations Division
c/o B2 Processing Centre
400 Youville Square, 5th floor
Montreal, QC H2Y 2C2
Canada

Greater Toronto Area / Northern Ontario Region
Canada Border Services Agency
Trade Operations Division
c/o B2 Processing Centre
1980 Matheson Blvd. E., Suite 144
Mississauga, ON L4W 5R7
Canada

Prairie Region
Canada Border Services Agency
Trade Operations Division
Victory Building
269 Main Street
Winnipeg, MB R3C 1B3
Canada

Canada Border Services Agency
Trade Operations Division
2588 - 27th Street N.E.
Calgary, AB T1Y 7G1
Canada

Pacific Region
Canada Border Services Agency
Trade Compliance Division
412 - 4th Floor 1611 Main Street
Vancouver, BC V6A 2W5
Canada

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Special Import Measures Act
Other references:
Form B2, Form B3, D11-6-5, D11-6-6, D11-8-5, D14-1-3, D17-2-1, D17-4-0
Superseded memorandum D:
D17-2-4 dated January 17, 2017
Date modified:

Préparation et soumission des demandes B2 générales
Mémorandum D17-2-4

Ottawa, le 26 janvier 2017

ISSN 2369-2405

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (426 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum expose la marche à suivre pour préparer et soumettre des demandes de rajustement B2 générales.

Des corrections ont été apportées aux définitions de rajustement B2 général, de la question et du motif. Le paragraphe 4 a également été modifié à des fins de clarification.

Avertissement: Les noms et adresses des sociétés sont purement fictifs afin de préciser la façon dont l'information doit être présentée et formatée sur un formulaire B2. Toutes les similitudes présentées dans tous les exemples du D17-2-4 concernant les importateurs ou courtiers, actuels ou passés, sont seulement de pures coïncidences.

Table de matières

Législation

Loi sur les douanes
Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation

Définitions

Le présent mémorandum emploie les définitions suivantes.

Loi
la Loi sur les douanes.
Formulaire B3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage
Formulaire pour la déclaration en détail des marchandises commerciales. Il est appelé B3-3 (version électronique à compléter) dans beaucoup des documents électroniques de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), mais ici, nous l’appellerons simplement « B3 ».
Formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement
Formulaire de l’ASFC pour demander le rajustement d’une déclaration en détail de marchandises commerciales. Il est appelé « B2 ».
Rajustement B2 général
Rajustement qui apporte des corrections pour une question et jusqu'à trois motifs, chacun ayant aux moins 25 transactions B3.
Demande d’autorisation pour B2 général
Ensemble de documents qu’un importateur ou son mandataire soumet à l’ASFC pour demander la permission de présenter un B2 général. Il s’agit d’un formulaire, d’un ou des classeur(s) contenant des données sur toutes les transactions que l’on veut faire rajuster, et enfin, d’une entente de représentation s’il y a lieu.
Demande de rajustement B2 général
Formulaire B2 et classeur(s) contenant des données sur toutes les transactions que l’on veut faire rajuster. Une telle demande est introduite par l’importateur ou son mandataire après qu’il ait reçu une lettre d’autorisation de l’ASFC.
Réaffectation
Situation où ne sont plus respectées les conditions auxquelles l’ASFC avait accordé une exonération de droits pour des marchandises données. Voir le mémorandum D11-8-5, Numéros tarifaires qui accordent une exonération conditionnelle.
Transaction de type F 
Transaction groupée pour déclarer en détail des marchandises dédouanées selon le programme des expéditions de faible valeur (EFV) par messagerie.
Question
Disposition légale associée à une demande de rajustement, p. ex. 74(1)c.1) ou 32.2(2) de la Loi.
Motif
La description des circonstances pour lesquelles une correction est demandée (p.ex. correction de l'origine, classement tarifaire, valeur en douane).
Classeur
Fchier électronique contenant des feuilles de calcul multiples, dans un tableur.
Feuille de calcul
Page ou feuille dans un classeur.

Lignes Directrices et Renseignements Généraux

1. Le présent mémorandum s’adresse aux importateurs et à leurs mandataires, qui l’utiliseront au moment de préparer des demandes B2 générales et de les soumettre à l’ASFC.

2. Des rajustements B2 général sont utilisés pour corriger la  même question et jusqu'à  trois motifs affectant  de multiples transactions B3, d'un seul coup plutôt que d'avoir à soumettre une demande B2 distincte pour chaque transaction. Les rajustements B2 généraux sont un mécanisme conçu pour réduire le fardeau administratif des importateurs, de leurs mandataires et de l'ASFC.

3. Une demande B2 sera considérée comme « générale » si elle contient au moins 25 transactions à corriger pour la même motif  dans une  période de 12 mois. En dessous de 25, ce n’est pas suffisant : il faudra donc une demande B2 individuelle par transaction. Pour plus d’information au sujet des demandes individuelles, voir le mémorandum D17-2-1, Codage, présentation et traitement d’un formulaire B2, Douanes Canada - Demande de rajustement

4. Une demande d'autorisation pour B2 générale peut être soumise pour corriger une question contenant jusqu'à trois motifs ; toutefois, l'ASFC se réserve le droit d'accepter ou de rejeter tout ou partie des motifs pour lesquelles une correction est demandée. Chaque motif pour laquelle un rajustement B2 général est demandé doit être présentée comme un classeur individuel dans le dossier de demande.

5. Le présent mémorandum donne la marche à suivre standard, mais d’autres règles s’ajouteront pour certains programmes (observation de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation [LMSI], vérification de l’observation, origine, établissement de la valeur, etc.).

6. Même s’il fait un rajustement général, l’importateur n’en garde pas moins l’obligation (article 32.2 de la Loi) de corriger volontairement sa déclaration de classement tarifaire, d’origine, ou de valeur en douane dans les 90 jours après avoir eu des « motifs de croire » qu’elle n’était pas exacte. Voir à ce propos le mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l'origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

7. Toutefois, une demande B2 générale ne passe pas dans les cas suivants :

8. Les transactions de type F à rajuster doivent faire l’objet d’autant de demandes B2 individuelles, selon le régime pour les EFV. Voir le mémorandum D17-4-0, Programme des messageries d’expéditions de faible valeur.

Loi sur les Mesures Spéciales d’Importation

9. Des questions relevant de la LMSI ne peuvent être combinées à des questions relevant d’autres lois dans une même demande de rajustement général. De plus, les demandes générales portant sur la LMSI nécessitent l’autorisation écrite préalable du gestionnaire de l’Unité de l’observation de la LMSI. Dès que cette loi entre en jeu, on prendra soin de tout adresser directement à la personne suivante :

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
222, rue Queen, 9e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0L8
Att. : Gestionnaire, Unité de l’observation de la LMSI

10. Au sujet des demandes sous le régime de la LMSI, voir le mémorandum D14-1-3, Révisions, réexamens et appels en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation.

Demande d’autorisation pour B2 général

11. L’importateur ou le mandataire qui désire soumettre une demande B2 générale doit d’abord obtenir la permission du bureau régional de l’ASFC chargés des échanges commerciaux qui se trouve le plus près du lieu où lui-même garde ses livres et ses registres (se référer à l'annexe E pour obtenir la liste des bureaux de l'ASFC qui acceptent les demandes d’autorisation pour les B2 générales). Pour ce faire, il déposera le formulaire Demande d’autorisation pour B2 général (voir l’annexe A) en version papier accompagné :

12. Le ou les classeur(s) doivent être sauvegardé(s) seulement sur disques CD-R. Chaque disque doit être clairement identifié comme demande d’autorisation pour B2 général, avec le nom de l’importateur, son numéro d’entreprise, et la période de rajustement (p. ex. « Demande d’autorisation pour B2 général – ABC inc., 123456789M0001, janvier 2011 – janvier 2015 »). L’ASFC n’acceptera pas les demandes présentées sur d’autres supports de données ni par courriel.

13. Le classeur doit porter le nom ou le numéro d’entreprise de l’importateur, accompagné de la période de rajustement (p. ex. ABC inc., 2011-2015 ou 123456789M0001, 2011-2015).

14. Il n’est pas nécessaire de soumettre des documents à l’appui lors de la présentation d’une demande d’autorisation pour B2 général, cependant, la (ou les) raison du rajustement pour la demande générale doit être clairement expliquée.

15. L’autorisation demandée doit être accordée par l’ASFC avant le dépôt du formulaire B2 lui-même. Donc, les formulaires présentés avec la demande d’autorisation ne seront pas acceptés.

16. Une demande d’autorisation pour soumettre un B2 général n’est pas une demande de rajustement conformément à l’art. 32.2 ou 74 de la Loi. Elle ne prolonge ni n’élimine les délais pour demander un rajustement qui s’impose sous le régime de l’art. 32.2, pas plus qu’elle ne prolonge les délais d’un et quatre ans (alinéa 74(1)c.1)) pour réclamer un remboursement conformément à l’art. 74 de la Loi. Pour les transactions dont l’échéance légale est proche, les importateurs et leurs mandataires feront mieux de soumettre des demandes B2 individuelles.

17. L’ASFC étudiera la demande d’autorisation pour B2 général et fera savoir à l’importateur ou à son mandataire où elle en est, par écrit. Elle lui demandera aussi des documents à l’appui si nécessaire.

18. L’importateur ou le mandataire recevra des instructions écrites précises de l’ASFC sur les documents qu’il doit fournir le cas échéant. Ne pas suivre ces instructions l’exposerait au rejet de sa demande.

19. Si après étude de la demande l’ASFC accorde la permission de présenter un rajustement B2 général, elle enverra une lettre d’autorisation.

Soumission d’une demande B2 génerale

20. Une fois sa lettre d’autorisation en main, l’importateur ou le mandataire peut soumettre une demande B2 générale. Celle-ci devra comprendre la documentation suivante :

21. Les champs à remplir sur le formulaire B2 sont les suivants :

22. Si les dates de déclaration en détail des transactions visées par la demande B2 générale s’étendent sur plusieurs années civiles, alors il faudra pour chaque année civile un formulaire B2 avec des classeurs contenant une feuille de calcul pour chaque trimestre civil.

23. La feuille de calcul pour chaque trimestre doit montrer ce qui avait été déclaré dans le B3 initial, et aussi les changements demandés (c’est-à-dire les données du B2), en ordre chronologique selon la date de la déclaration en détail.

24. Les disques CD-R sont le seul support accepté pour les classeurs. Chaque disque doit être clairement identifié comme demande B2 générale, avec le nom de l’importateur, son numéro d’entreprise, la période de rajustement, et le numéro d’autorisation fourni dans la lettre de l’ASFC (p. ex. « Demande B2 générale – ABC inc., 123456789RM0001, janvier 2011 – janvier 2015, autorisation XXXXX »).

25. Chaque classeur doit être sauvegardé sous le nom de l’importateur ou le numéro d’entreprise avec l’année (p. ex. « ABC inc., 2011 ou 123456789RM0001, 2011 »). Dans le nom des feuilles de calcul s’ajoutera le trimestre civil (p. ex. « ABC inc. T1-2011, ABC inc. T2-2011, etc. » ou « 123456789RM0001 T1-2011, 123456789RM0001 T2-2011, etc. »). Les deux formes de dénomination sont acceptables, du moment qu’on n’en utilise qu’une seule.

26. Pour demander un rajustement B2 général qui implique des divisions de lignes, l’importateur ou son mandataire suivra la méthode du mémorandum D17-2-1, et ce sera à lui de bien numéroter la nouvelle ligne ou le nouveau sous-entête au besoin.

27. Si la demande B2 générale a pour conséquence que l’on doit de l’argent à l’ASFC (comptes créditeurs), on peut envoyer le paiement en même temps. Toute demande accompagnée d’un paiement doit être envoyée au bureau de caisse de l’ASFC le plus proche, avec une enveloppe adressée soit au bureau ayant accordé l’autorisation, soit à l’agent ou agente de l’ASFC ayant fait la vérification. Quant aux demandes B2 sans incidence financière ou qui entraînent des créances contre l’ASFC, elles s’adressent soit au bureau régional de l’ASFC chargé des échanges commerciaux qui a autorisé la présentation d’un B2 général, soit à l’agent ou agente qui a fait la vérification ayant rendu nécessaire la demande générale (voir la liste des bureaux à l’annexe E), soit au bureau de l’ASFC le plus proche, qui les transmettra au bureau régional compétent.

Rajustements B2 par suite de vérifications de l’ASFC

28. Il arrivera qu’un importateur chez qui l’ASFC a fait une vérification de l’observation commerciale doive soumettre les corrections dans les 90 jours après le rapport final. La demande B2 générale est un des moyens mis à sa disposition.

29. Nul besoin d’autorisation préalable pour les demandes B2 générales par suite de vérifications de l’observation commerciale de l’ASFC, à condition qu’aucun des rajustements demandés ne tombe en dehors de la période de nouvelle cotisation ou de la portée de la vérification : ceux-là doivent faire l’objet de demandes B2 soit individuelles, soit générales standard (c.-à-d. avec autorisation préalable).

30. Adressée à l’agent ou agente qui a fait la vérification, une demande B2 générale dans ce contexte doit comprendre :

Intérêts

31. Les intérêts commencent à s’accumuler à la date médiane entre la première et dernière transaction d’un trimestre donné (voir les exemples à l’annexe D).  Lorsque le nombre de jours dans une période est un nombre pair, la date immédiatement après la date médiane sera utlisée. Pour les demandes B2 générales soumises sans paiement, les intérêts s’accumuleront jusqu’à la date de décision du relevé détaillé de rajustement (RDR).

32. Tel qu’indiqué au paragraphe 27, les importateurs et leurs mandataires sont libres d’envoyer le paiement avec leurs demandes B2 générales si applicable.  S’ils choisissent de le faire, ils sont responsables de calculer l’intérêt.  La date du début de l’intérêt doit être calculée selon la méthode médiane du trimestre d’un calendrier décrite au paragraphe 31 ci-dessus et la date finale doit être la date du paiement présenté.

33. Pour en savoir plus sur les intérêts, consulter le mémorandum D11-6-5, Dispositions relatives aux intérêts et aux pénalités : déterminations, classements ou appréciations et révisions ou réexamens et exonérations de droits.

Complément d’information

34. Pour en savoir plus, au Canada, appeler le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. Si vous appelez de l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Des agents sont disponibles du lundi au vendredi (de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale, sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.


Annexe A – Demande d’autorisation pour B2 générale

Partie 1 – Demandeur

Noter qu’une demande d’autorisation pour soumettre un B2 général n’est pas une demande de rajustement conformément à l’art. 32.2 ou 74 de la Loi. Elle ne prolonge ni n’élimine les délais pour demander un rajustement qui s’impose sous l’article 32.2 de la Loi, pas plus qu’elle ne prolonge les délais d’un ou quatre ans (alinéa 74(1)c.1)) pour réclamer un remboursement sous l’article 74 de la Loi.

Partie 2 – Classeur et documents à l’appui

Remettre un classeur faisant état de toutes les transactions concernées par la demande de rajustement, sur support papier et électronique. Des documents à l’appui additionnels peuvent être requis selon la nature de la demande.

Si c’est un mandataire qui soumet la demande à la place de l’importateur, inclure l’entente de représentation ou la procuration.

Exemples de documents à l’appui :

Annexe B – Exemple de formulaire B2

Annexe B – Exemple de formulaire B2

Annexe C – Modèle de feuille de calcul pour rajustement B2

Il s’agit du modèle de feuille de calcul à utiliser pour préparer et soumettre une demande d’autorisation pour B2 général et une demande pour rajustement B2 générale.

Annexe C – Modèle de feuille de calcul pour rajustement B2


Annexe D – Comment déterminer la date médiane pour le calcul des intérêts

Comment déterminer la date médiane pour le calcul des intérêts

Le tableau ci-dessous montre comment établir, dans un trimestre civil donné (exemple ci dessus), la date médiane où les intérêts commencent à s’accumuler.

Date de la première transaction Date de la dernière transaction Date médiane
1er janvier 2015 31 mars 2015 15 février 2015
22 janvier 2015 31 mars 2015 25 février 2015
12 janvier 2015 17 février 2015 30 janvier 2015

Quel que soit le nombre de transactions dans le trimestre civil ou si la majorité des transactions se produisent au cours d’un mois particulier du trimestre civil, la période se calcule d’après la date médiane entre la première et la dernière date des transactions.

Les formules à employer sont les suivantes : 

« n » étant le nombre total de jours entre la première et la dernière transaction du trimestre.

Annexe E - Adresses des bureaux régionaux de l’ASFC chargés des échanges commerciaux qui acceptent les demandes d’autorisation pour les B2 générales

Québec et Atlantique
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Division des opérations liées aux échanges commerciaux
a/s Centre du Traitement des B2
400, place d’Youville, 5e étage
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 2C2
Canada

Grand Toronto et Nord de l’Ontario
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Division des opérations liées aux échanges commerciaux
a/s Centre du Traitement des B2
1980 blvd. Matheson E. Suite 144
Mississauga (Ontario) L4W 5R7
Canada

Prairies
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Division des opérations liées aux échanges commerciaux
Édifice Victory
269, rue Main
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3C 1B3
Canada

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Division des opérations liées aux échanges commerciaux
2588, 27e Rue N.-E.
Calgary (Alberta) T1Y 7G1
Canada

Pacifique
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Division de l’observation commerciale
412-1611, rue Main, 4e étage
Vancouver (C.-B.) V6A 2W5
Canada

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale
 
Références légales

Loi sur les douanes
Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation

Autres références

Formulaire B2, Formulaire B3, D11-6-5, D11-6-6, D11-8-5, D14-1-3, D17-2-1, D17-4-0

Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D17-2-4 daté le 17 janvier 2017
Date de modification :