Residual Basis of Appraisal Method

Memorandum D13-9-1

Ottawa, November 19, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (185 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the application of the residual basis of appraisal method for determining the value for duty of imported goods (section 53 of the Customs Act).

Legislation

Sections 48 to 53 of the Customs Act.


Guidelines and General Information

Explanation

1. If the value for duty of imported goods cannot be determined under sections 48 to 52 of the Customs Act (the Act), it is to be determined under section 53 of the Act. The provisions of sections 48 to 52 of the Act may, under the authority of section 53 of the Act, be interpreted or applied in a flexible manner in order to arrive at a value for duty. This value is to be derived from whichever method of valuation set out in sections 48 to 52 of the Act requires the least amount of adjustment in order to be applied. Within this context, the sequential application of sections 48 to 52 of the Act should be maintained.

2. In flexibly applying the provisions of sections 48 to 52 of the Act, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will be guided, to the greatest extent possible, by the principles and spirit of the World Trade Organization’s International Agreement on Customs Valuation. These principles state that values should be fair, reasonable, uniform, neutral, and reflect commercial reality. Thus, deriving a value under the provisions of section 53 of the Act will, in many cases, require close consultation and cooperation between importers and the CBSA to ensure adherence to the principles inherent in the Agreement.

3. In applying section 53 of the Act, the value for duty is to be determined on the basis of information available in Canada.

Application

4. The following are examples of how section 53 of the Act might be applied:

  • (a) If there were no sales of similar goods produced in the same country as the country in which the goods being appraised were produced but there are sales of similar goods produced in another country, it may be possible to use the latter as the basis for determining the value for duty under section 53 of the Act provided the requirements of section 50 of the Act were otherwise met.
  • (b) If there are no sales which meet the 90-day requirement under section 51 of the Act, but there are sales which occurred 100 days after the importation of the goods being appraised, it may be possible to use the latter as the basis for determining the value for duty under section 53 of the Act provided the requirements of section 51 of the Act are otherwise met.

5. If a value determined under a preceding section is unacceptable because the method of valuation is found to be inapplicable, the provisions of section 53 of the Act cannot be used simply to accept that value. Briefly stated, section 53 of the Act permits the requirements of previous sections to be flexibly applied but not disregarded completely.

6. In applying the previous sections flexibly, the principles of valuation implicit in those sections must be respected and care taken to ensure that the value derived from the method of valuation is not distorted either upwards or downwards. Thus, for example, if the “sufficient information” required to make an adjustment under subsection 49(3) of the Act was not available, it would not be appropriate, under section 53 of the Act, to accept the transaction value of the identical goods as the value for duty of the goods being appraised, without the necessary adjustments. In a similar way, if a transaction value was found to be unacceptable under paragraph 48(1)(a) of the Act because the vendor restricted the purchaser’s disposition or use of the imported goods, the transaction value could not then be accepted under section 53 of the Act.

Prohibited Methods

7. No value for duty shall be determined, under the provisions of section 53 of the Act, on the basis of:

  • (a) the selling price in Canada of goods produced in Canada;
  • (b) a system which provides for the acceptance for customs purposes of the higher of two alternative values;
  • (c) the price of goods on the domestic market of the country of exportation;
  • (d) the cost of production other than computed values which have been determined for identical or similar goods in accordance with the provisions of section 52 of the Act;
  • (e) the price of the goods for export to a country other than Canada;
  • (f) minimum customs values; or
  • (g) arbitrary or fictitious values.

Verification

8. The CBSA may require the importer to provide documentation to substantiate the value for duty declared. This documentation could include contracts of sale, price lists, financial statements, commercial invoices, bills of lading, etc. The importer should also be prepared to satisfy the CBSA that a value for duty could not have been determined by the application of the valuation methods as outlined in sections 48 to 52 of the Act.

Additional Information

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada:1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-7
Legislative references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D13-9-1 dated March 8, 2001
Date modified:

Méthode de la dernière base de l’appréciation

Mémorandum D13-9-1

Ottawa, le 19 novembre 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (254 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum indique et explique comment appliquer la méthode de la dernière base de l’appréciation afin de déterminer la valeur en douane des marchandises importées (article 53 de la Loi sur les douanes).

Référence législative

Articles 48 à 53 de la Loi sur les douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Explication

1. Si la valeur en douane des marchandises importées ne peut être déterminée en vertu des articles 48 à 52 de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi), elle doit alors être déterminée en vertu de l’article 53 de la Loi. Les dispositions des articles 48 à 52 de la Loi peuvent, selon l’article 53 de la Loi, être interprétées ou appliquées avec suffisamment de souplesse pour obtenir une valeur en douane. Cette valeur doit être obtenue de l’une des méthodes d’appréciation énoncées aux articles 48 à 52 de la Loi, en prenant celle dont l’application nécessite le moins d’ajustements. Dans ce contexte, l’application séquentielle des articles 48 à 52 de la Loi devrait être maintenue.

2. Pour appliquer de façon souple les dispositions des articles 48 à 52 de la Loi, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) sera guidée, dans la mesure du possible, par les principes et l’esprit de l’Accord international sur la valeur en douane de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce. Ces principes énoncent que les valeurs devraient être équitables, raisonnables, uniformes, neutres et également conformes à la réalité commerciale. Par conséquent, pour veiller à ce que les principes propres à l’Accord soient respectés, l’établissement d’une valeur en douane en vertu des dispositions de l’article 53 de la Loi nécessitera, dans plusieurs cas, des consultations et une collaboration étroite entre les importateurs et l’ASFC.

3. Lorsque l’article 53 de la Loi est appliqué, la valeur en douane doit être déterminée d’après les données accessibles au Canada.

Application

4. Voici des exemples de la façon dont l’article 53 de la Loi pourrait être appliqué :

  • a) S’il n’y a pas eu de ventes de marchandises semblables produites dans le pays de production des marchandises à apprécier, mais qu’il existe des ventes de marchandises semblables produites dans un autre pays, ces dernières pourraient être utilisées comme base de la détermination de la valeur en douane en vertu de l’article 53 de la Loi pourvu que les exigences de l’article 50 de la Loi aient été respectées sous tous les autres aspects.
  • b) S’il n’y a pas eu de ventes qui respectent le délai de 90 jours prévu à l’article 51 de la Loi, mais qu’il existe des ventes qui se sont produites 100 jours après l’importation des marchandises à apprécier, ces dernières pourraient être utilisées comme base de la détermination de la valeur en douane en vertu de l’article 53 de la Loi pourvu que les exigences de l’article 51 de la Loi soient respectées sous tous les autres aspects.

5. Si une valeur déterminée en vertu d’un article précédent ne peut être acceptée parce que la méthode d’appréciation est inapplicable, on ne peut se servir de l’article 53 de la Loi dans le seul but d’accepter cette valeur. En résumé, l’article 53 de la Loi permet d’appliquer de façon assez souple les exigences des articles précédents, mais non pas de les négliger entièrement.

6. L’application souple des articles précédents doit respecter les principes d’appréciation que contiennent ces articles et la valeur obtenue en utilisant cette méthode d’appréciation ne doit pas donner une valeur qui soit trop ou pas assez élevée. Par exemple, si les « renseignements suffisants » nécessaires au rajustement en vertu du paragraphe 49(3) de la Loi ne sont pas disponibles, il ne conviendrait pas d’accepter, en vertu de l’article 53 de la Loi et sans les ajustements nécessaires, la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques comme valeur en douane des marchandises faisant l’objet d’appréciation. De même, si la valeur transactionnelle ne peut être acceptée en vertu de l’alinéa 48(1)a) de la Loi parce que le vendeur a restreint la cession ou l’utilisation des marchandises importées à l’acheteur, elle ne peut non plus être acceptée en vertu de l’article 53 de la Loi.

Méthodes prohibées

7. Aucune valeur en douane ne doit être déterminée, en vertu de l’article 53 de la Loi, en se fondant sur :

  • a) le prix de vente au Canada de marchandises produites au Canada;
  • b) un système qui prévoit l’acceptation à des fins douanières, de la plus élevée de deux valeurs possibles;
  • c) le prix de marchandises sur le marché intérieur du pays d’exportation;
  • d) le coût de production, sauf les valeurs reconstituées qui ont été déterminées pour des marchandises identiques ou semblables conformément aux dispositions de l’article 52 de la Loi;
  • e) le prix de marchandises vendues pour l’exportation à destination d’un pays autre que le Canada;
  • f) des valeurs en douane minimales;
  • g) des valeurs arbitraires ou fictives.

Vérification

8. L’ASFC peut exiger que l’importateur fournisse les documents à l’appui de la valeur en douane déclarée. Il pourrait s’agir de contrats de vente, de prix courants, d’états financiers, de factures commerciales, de connaissements, etc. L’importateur devrait aussi être prêt à démontrer à l’ASFC qu’une valeur en douane n’aurait pu être déterminée par l’application des méthodes d’appréciation énoncées aux articles 48 à 52 de la Loi.

Renseignements supplémentaires

9. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux
(8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-7
Références légales :
Ceci annule le mémorandum  D  :
D13-9-1, daté le 8 mars 2001
Date de modification :