Computed Value Method

Memorandum D13-8-1

Ottawa, February 4, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (67 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.


This memorandum outlines the manner in which a value for duty is determined under the computed value method.

Legislation

Sections 47 to 52 of the Customs Act.


Guidelines and General Information

1. The computed value method is used in those cases where the conditions of the transaction involving the imported goods are such that the importer cannot determine the value for duty under any of the previous methods of valuation. The importer may, under the provisions of subsection 47(3) of the Customs Act (the Act), reverse the order of application of the deductive value method (section 51 of the Act) and the computed value method (section 52 of the Act).

2. Paragraphs 52(2)(a) and (b) of the Act set out the elements which are to be included in the computed value.

Materials and Production or Other Processing

3. In calculating the computed value, subparagraphs 52(2)(a)(i) and (ii) of the Act require that the costs, charges, and expenses or the value of the following be included:

  • (a) materials employed in producing the goods being appraised; and
  • (b) the production or other processing of the goods being appraised.

4. Under the provisions of subparagraphs 52(3)(a) to (c) of the Act, the following are considered to be included in the elements shown above and are therefore to be included in the computed value:

5. The amounts referred to in paragraphs 3 and 4 above, under subsection 6(1) of the Valuation for Duty Regulations, must be determined on the basis of the commercial accounts of the producer or other sufficient information relating to the production of the goods being appraised. This information is to be supplied by or on behalf of the producer of the goods and prepared in a manner consistent with the generally accepted accounting principles of the country of production (refer to memoranda D13-1-1, Value for Duty of Imported Goods, and D13-3-8, Generally Accepted Accounting Principles).

Assists

6. The value of the goods and services referred to in paragraph 4(b) of this memorandum is to be determined and apportioned to the goods being appraised in the manner described in subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iii) the Act.

7. While the value of the assists is considered as part of the elements specified in subparagraphs 52(2)(a)(i) and (ii) of the Act and therefore part of the computed value, the manner in which the value is added to the computed value depends on whether the assist has been provided free or at a reduced charge. The value of an assist provided free of charge should not be included as part of the elements in subparagraphs 52(2)(a)(i) and (ii) of the Act for the purposes of calculating an amount for profit and general expenses over costs as specified in paragraph 52(2)(b) of the Act, but should be added as part of the elements of subparagraphs 52(2)(a)(i) and (ii) of the Act only after this calculation has been made. The value of an assist provided at a reduced cost is to be treated as above, for that portion of the value provided at no cost to the producer. The portion of the value for which the producer incurs a cost or charge is to be added to the elements in subparagraphs 52(2)(a)(i) and (ii) of the Act when calculating the amount for profit and general expenses over costs as specified in paragraph 52(2)(b) of the Act. The examples provided in paragraphs 16 and 17 of this memorandum illustrate the calculation of a computed value in the situations described above.

Engineering, Development Work, etc., Undertaken in Canada

8. The amount of costs, charges, and expenses referred to in paragraph 4(c) of this memorandumis to be apportioned to the goods being appraised in the manner described in subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iii) of the Act (refer to Memorandum D13-3-12).

Profit and General Expenses

9. Under paragraph 52(2)(b) of the Act, an amount for profit and general expenses, considered together as a whole, is to be added to the cost of production of the goods being appraised. This amount to be added is that which is generally reflected in sales for export to Canada of goods of the same class or kind as the goods being appraised made by producers in the country of export.

10. Subsection 6(2) of the Valuation for Duty Regulations states that the amount for profit and general expenses is to be calculated on a percentage basis and determined from sufficient information prepared in a manner consistent with the generally accepted accounting principles of the country of production.

11. Under subsection 6(2) of the Valuation for Duty Regulations, this information is, in the first instance, to be supplied by or on behalf of the producer of the imported goods. Normally, this information need only relate to the producer’s own figures for export sales to Canada. These figures will be used as the basis for the adjustment if they are themselves based on sufficient information, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, and if it can be determined that they are consistent with those figures generally reflected in sales for export to Canada of goods of the same class or kind. The figures used by the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) to verify if the producer’s own figures are consistent will be obtained from export sales to Canada of goods of the same class or kind by producers who are not related to the purchaser or from producers who, though related to the purchaser, have previously demonstrated to the CBSA that the price paid or payable has not been influenced by the relationship. The sales examined will be from the narrowest group or range of goods of the same class or kind as the goods being appraised.

12. Where the CBSA determines that figures for profit and general expenses supplied by or on behalf of the importer are unacceptable, the CBSA will apply an amount determined in accordance with section 6 of the Valuation for Duty Regulations and paragraph 11 of this memorandum.

13. In this regard, it should be noted that the amount for profit and general expenses will be taken as a whole. If, in a particular case, the producer’s profit figure is low and its general expenses are high, the profit and general expenses taken together may nevertheless be consistent with that usually reflected in sales of the goods of the same class or kind. Such a situation might occur, for example, where a product is being introduced and the producer accepts a nil or low profit to offset high general expenses associated with the introduction of the new product.

14. In other cases, the producer’s figures for profit and general expenses taken together may be lower than those usually reflected in sales for export to Canada because the producer’s profit on these sales is lower. There may be valid commercial reasons, in terms of the usual marketing or pricing practices of the branch of industry concerned, for the producer taking a lower profit. In such cases, the CBSA would be prepared to consider representations by or on behalf of the producer which would establish that these profit figures, although inconsistent with those generally reflected in sales for export to Canada of goods of the same class or kind, are acceptable when account is taken of the usual marketing or pricing practices of the branch of industry concerned.

15. Under subsection 6(3) of the Valuation for Duty Regulations, where information supplied by or on behalf of the producer is not sufficient information, the amount added for profit and general expenses will be based on information drawn from an examination of sales for export to Canada. The sales examined would be of the narrowest group or range of goods of the same class or kind as the goods being appraised made by producers in the country of export, including the goods being appraised, from which sufficient information can be obtained.

Examples of Calculating a Computed Value

16. This first example illustrates the calculation of the computed value where an assist has been supplied free of charge to the producer of the goods being appraised:

  • (a) A Canadian firm purchases and imports architectural equipment from foreign firm A. The methods of valuation described in sections 48 to 51 of the Act are found to be inapplicable, and the value for duty is determined under section 52 of the Act.
  • (b) Drawing on the commercial accounts of the producer A, the following costs are determined:
    materials $10
    direct labour 8
    factory overhead 12
    packing 1
      $31
  • (c) In addition to the above, the Canadian purchaser provides firm A, free of charge, plans undertaken outside Canada and necessary for the production of the imported goods. The value of these plans, apportioned over the total number of units imported, equals $1 per unit.
  • (d) Firm A is able to provide sufficient information relating only to the profit and general expenses generally reflected in that firm’s own sales for export to Canada of goods of the same class or kind: 20%. However, that figure is consistent with the amount generally reflected by producers in the country of export in sales of such goods for export to Canada and, thus, is acceptable.
  • (e) Expressed as a percentage of the costs incurred by the producer, the amount for profit and general expenses equals $6.20 (20% of $31.00).
  • (f) The computed value of the imported goods is therefore $38.20. This value has been calculated by taking the costs (plus the value of the assist provided free) plus the amount of profit and general expenses as a percentage of actual costs incurred by the producer, i.e., $31.00 + $1.00 + $6.20 = $38.20.

17. This second example is based on the first one, except that the plans undertaken outside Canada and necessary for the production of the imported goods have been charged at a reduced cost to foreign producer A.

  • (a) The value of the plans charged to the producer, and apportioned over the total number of units imported equals $0.50 per unit.
  • (b) The value of the plans not charged to the producer (“assist”) and apportioned over the total number of units imported equals $0.50 per unit.
  • (c) Assuming the commercial accounts of the producer A do not include the value of the plans charged to him, his costs equal $31.00 as in the previous example.
  • (d) The producer’s profit and general expenses figure remains the same since it represents the firm’s profit and general expenses on its sales for export to Canada of goods of the same class or kind.
  • (e) The computed value of the imported goods is, in this example, $38.30:                                                                                                                                       
    materials, processing costs, packing$31.00
    plans (assist) to the extent incurred by the producer0.50
      $31.50
    plans (assist) not charged to the producer0.50
      $32.00
    profit and general expenses (20% × 31.50)$  6.30
    computed value for duty$38.30

Additional Information

18. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file
79070-4-6
Other references
Superseded memorandum D
D13-8-1, dated March 22, 2001
Date modified:

Méthode de la valeur reconstituée

Mémorandum D13-8-1

Ottawa, le 4 février 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (70 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.


Le présent mémorandum indique comment une valeur en douane est déterminée en vertu de la méthode de la valeur reconstituée.

Législation

Articles 47 à 52 de la Loi sur les douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. La méthode de la valeur reconstituée est utilisée lorsque les conditions de la transaction visant les marchandises importées sont telles que l’importateur ne peut déterminer la valeur en douane sous aucune des méthodes de détermination précédentes. L’importateur peut, en vertu du paragraphe 47(3) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi), inverser l’ordre d’application de la méthode de la valeur de référence (article 51 de la Loi) et la méthode de la valeur reconstituée (article 52 de la Loi).

2. Les alinéas 52(2)a) et b) de la Loi énumèrent les éléments qu’il faut inclure dans la valeur reconstituée.

Matières et opérations de production, ou autres

3. Lors du calcul de la valeur reconstituée, les sous-alinéas 52(2)a)(i) et (ii) de la Loi exigent que soient inclus la valeur ou les coûts et les frais des éléments suivants :

  • a) matières utilisées dans la production des marchandises à apprécier;
  • b) opérations de production ou de transformation des marchandises à apprécier.

4. Selon les dispositions des alinéas 52(3)a) à c) de la Loi, les éléments suivants sont compris dans les éléments susmentionnés et doivent, par conséquent, être inclus dans la valeur reconstituée :

  • a) les coûts et frais d’emballage mentionnés au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(ii) de la Loi. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-7, Ajustements au prix payé ou à payer;
  • b) la valeur des marchandises et des services mentionnés au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iii) de la Loi. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D13-3-12, Traitement des aides lors de l’établissement de la valeur en douane;
  • c) les coûts, frais et dépenses supportés par le producteur en ce qui concerne les travaux d’ingénierie, d’étude, d’art, d’esthétique industrielle, de plans ou de croquis exécutés au Canada.

5. Les montants mentionnés aux paragraphes 3 et 4 ci-dessus doivent, selon le paragraphe 6(1) du Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane, être déterminés à partir des comptes commerciaux du producteur ou d’autres renseignements suffisants sur la production des marchandises à apprécier. Ces renseignements doivent être fournis par le producteur des marchandises à apprécier ou en son nom et établis d’une manière compatible avec les principes de comptabilité généralement reconnus dans le pays de production (consultez les mémorandums D13-1-1, Détermination de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées, et D13-3-8, Principes de comptabilité généralement reconnus).

Aides

6. La valeur des marchandises et des services mentionnée à l’alinéa 4b) du présent mémorandum,doit être déterminée et imputée aux marchandises à apprécier de la façon décrite au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iii) de la Loi.

7. Bien que la valeur des aides soit tenue comme faisant partie des éléments mentionnés aux sous-alinéas 52(2)a)(i) et (ii) de la Loi et, donc, faisant partie de la valeur reconstituée, la façon dont cette valeur est ajoutée à la valeur reconstituée varie selon que les éléments ont été fournis gratuitement ou à coût réduit. La valeur d’une aide fournie gratuitement ne devrait pas être comprise dans les éléments donnés aux sous-alinéas 52(2)a)(i) et (ii) de la Loi aux fins du calcul d’un montant pour les bénéfices et frais généraux sur les coûts comme il est décrit à l’alinéa 52(2)b) de la Loi, mais elle devrait être ajoutée en tant que partie des éléments donnés aux sous-alinéas 52(2)a)(i) et (ii) de la Loi seulement après que ce calcul a été fait. Les procédures susmentionnées s’appliquent aussi au traitement de partie gratuite de la valeur d’une aide fournie à coût réduit au producteur. La partie de la valeur pour laquelle le producteur supporte un coût ou un frais doit être ajoutée aux éléments donnés aux sous-alinéas 52(2)a)(i) et (ii) de la Loi lors du calcul du montant pour les bénéfices et frais généraux sur les coûts, comme il est décrit à l’alinéa 52(2)b) de la Loi. Les paragraphes 16 et 17 du présent mémorandum contiennent des exemples du calcul d’une valeur reconstituée dans les deux cas décrits ci-dessus.

Travaux d’ingénierie, d’étude, etc., exécutés au Canada

8. Le montant des coûts et des frais mentionné à l’alinéa 4c) du présent mémorandumdoit être imputé aux marchandises à apprécier de la façon décrite au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iii) de la Loi (consultez le Mémorandum D13-3-12).

Bénéfices et frais généraux

9. Selon l’alinéa 52(2)b) de la Loi, un montant doit être ajouté au coût de production des marchandises à apprécier pour l’ensemble des bénéfices et des frais généraux. Ce montant doit représenter celui qui est généralement supporté dans les ventes de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce que les marchandises à apprécier, effectuées pour l’exportation au Canada par des producteurs qui se trouvent dans le pays d’exportation.

10. Le paragraphe 6(2) du Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane stipule que le montant de l’ensemble des bénéfices et frais généraux qui y est visé est un pourcentage calculé à partir de renseignements suffisants établis d’une manière compatible avec les principes de comptabilité généralement reconnus dans le pays de production.

11. Selon le paragraphe 6(2) du Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane, ces renseignements doivent d’abord être fournis par le producteur des marchandises importées ou en son nom. Normalement, il suffit que ces renseignements se rapportent aux propres chiffres du producteur pour des ventes aux fins d’exportation au Canada. Ces chiffres serviront de base pour l’ajustement s’ils sont eux-mêmes fondés sur des renseignements suffisants établis d’une manière compatible avec les principes de comptabilité généralement reconnus et s’ils sont conformes aux chiffres généralement inclus dans des ventes pour exportation au Canada de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce. Les chiffres utilisés par l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) pour vérifier si ceux du producteur sont uniformes, seront tirés de ventes pour exportation au Canada de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce, par des producteurs qui ne sont pas liés à l’acheteur, ou par des producteurs qui, bien qu’ils soient liés à l’acheteur, ont déjà démontré à l’ASFC que le prix payé ou à payer n’a pas été influencé par ce lien. Les ventes examinées seront celles de la plus proche catégorie ou gamme de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce que les marchandises à apprécier.

12. Lorsque l’ASFC détermine que les chiffres pour les bénéfices et frais généraux fournis par l’importateur ou en son nom sont inacceptables, l’ASFC appliquera un montant déterminé conformément à l’article 6 du Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane et au paragraphe 11 du présent mémorandum.

13. À ce propos, il y a lieu de noter qu’il s’agit d’un montant pour l’ensemble des bénéfices et frais généraux. Si, dans un cas donné, les bénéfices du producteur ne sont pas élevés tandis que ses frais généraux le sont, le montant pour l’ensemble des bénéfices et frais généraux peut néanmoins être conforme à celui inclus habituellement dans des ventes de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce. Une situation semblable pourrait se produire, par exemple, si un produit était lancé et si le producteur acceptait un bénéfice nul ou faible pour contrebalancer les frais généraux élevés afférents au lancement du nouveau produit.

14. Dans d’autres cas, les chiffres du producteur pour l’ensemble des bénéfices et frais généraux peuvent être inférieurs à ceux qui sont habituellement inclus dans des ventes pour l’exportation au Canada parce que le bénéfice du producteur sur ces ventes est faible. Il peut y avoir des raisons commerciales valables étant donné les pratiques de commercialisation et de fixation des prix du secteur de production concerné qui amèneraient le producteur à se contenter d’un faible bénéfice. Dans une telle situation, l’ASFC serait prête à étudier les observations, formulées par le producteur ou en son nom, qui établiraient que ces chiffres, même s’ils ne sont pas conformes à ceux qui sont généralement inclus dans des ventes pour l’exportation au Canada de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce, sont acceptables compte tenu des pratiques habituelles de commercialisation et de fixation des prix dans le secteur de production en question.

15. Selon le paragraphe 6(3) du Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane, lorsque les renseignements fournis par le producteur ou en son nom ne sont pas suffisants, le montant ajouté pour les bénéfices et frais généraux se fondera sur les renseignements tirés de l’examen de ventes pour l’exportation au Canada. Les ventes examinées seraient celles de marchandises d’un groupe ou d’une gamme le plus restreint possible qui sont de même nature ou de même espèce que les marchandises à apprécier faites par les producteurs dans le pays d’exportation, y compris les marchandises à apprécier, sur lesquelles des renseignements suffisants peuvent être obtenus.

Exemples de calcul d’une valeur reconstituée

16. Ce premier exemple illustre le calcul de la valeur reconstituée lorsqu’une aide a été fournie gratuitement au producteur des marchandises à apprécier :

  • a)  Une firme canadienne achète et importe du matériel d’architecture de la firme A située à l’étranger. Les méthodes de détermination de la valeur décrites aux articles 48 à 51 de la Loi sont jugées inapplicables et la détermination de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées se fait donc en vertu de l’article 52 de la Loi.
  • b)  Les coûts suivants sont tirés des comptes commerciaux du producteur A :
    matières 10 $
    main-d’oeuvre directe  8
    frais de fabrication 12
    emballage  1
      31 $
     
  • c)  En plus de ce qui précède, l’acheteur canadien fournit gratuitement à la firme A des plans exécutés à l’extérieur du Canada et qui sont nécessaires à la production des marchandises importées. La valeur de ces plans, imputée à la totalité des unités importées, est de 1 $ l’unité.
  • d)  La firme A ne peut fournir des renseignements suffisants que sur les bénéfices et frais généraux généralement inclus dans ses propres ventes pour l’exportation au Canada de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce : 20 %. Toutefois, ce chiffre est compatible avec le montant que des producteurs dans le pays d’exportation incluent généralement dans les ventes de telles marchandises aux fins d’exportation au Canada; il est donc acceptable.
  • e)  Exprimé en un pourcentage des coûts supportés par le producteur, le montant pour les bénéfices et frais généraux est de 6,20 $ (20 % de 31,00 $).
  • f)  La valeur reconstituée des marchandises importées est donc de 38,20 $. Cette valeur a été calculée en prenant les coûts (plus la valeur de l’aide fournie gratuitement) plus le montant pour les bénéfices et frais généraux en tant que pourcentage des coûts réels supportés par le producteur, c’est-à-dire 31,00 $ + 1,00 $ + 6,20 $ = 38,20 $.

17. Ce second exemple se fonde sur le premier, sauf que les plans exécutés à l’extérieur du Canada qui sont nécessaires à la production des marchandises importées ont été fournis à un coût réduit au producteur A situé à l’étranger.

  • a) La valeur des plans que doit payer le producteur, et qui est imputée à la totalité des unités importées, est de 0,50 $ l’unité.

  • b) La valeur des plans que le producteur n’a pas à payer (« aide »), et qui est imputée à la totalité des unités importées, est de 0,50 $ l’unité.
  • c) Supposant que les comptes commerciaux du producteur A ne comprennent pas la valeur des plans qu’il doit payer, ses coûts sont de 31,00 $, à l’instar de l’exemple précédent.
  • d) Le chiffre du producteur pour les bénéfices et frais généraux demeure le même puisqu’il représente les bénéfices et frais généraux de la firme sur ses ventes pour l’exportation au Canada de marchandises de même nature ou de même espèce.
  • e) La valeur reconstituée des marchandises importées est, dans cet exemple, de 38,30 $ :
    matières, coûts des opérations de production, emballage 31,00 $
    plans (aide) dans la mesure où ils sont supportés par le producteur  0,50
      31,50 $
    plans (aide) que le producteur n’a pas à payer  0,50
      32,00 $
    bénéfices et frais généraux (20 % × 31,50)  6,30 $
    valeur en douane reconstituée 38,30 $

Renseignements supplémentaires

18. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale
79070-4-6
Autres références
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D13-8-1 daté le 22 mars 2001
Date de modification :