Application of Sections 49 and 50 of the Customs Act

Memorandum D13-5-1

Ottawa, February 25, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (57 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. This memorandum has been updated to reflect the amendments to sections 49 and 50 of the Customs Act that came into effect on June 11, 2009.
  2. The amendments to these legislative provisions do not change the current valuation policy.

This memorandum outlines and explains the method of determining the value for duty based upon the transaction value of identical or similar goods, as set out in sections 49 and 50 of the Customs Act.

Legislation

Sections 48, 49, and 50 of the Customs Act.


Guidelines and General Information

1.   For the purpose of this memorandum, explanations referring to the method for determining the value for duty under sections 49 and 50 of the Customs Act (the Act) are discussed together. However, sections 49 and 50 of the Act are applied separately and sequentially when determining the value for duty.

2.   Under sections 49 and 50 of the Act, value for duty is based on the transaction value of identical or similar goods, respectively, adjusted as appropriate to account for relevant differences in the transportation and associated costs, and where appropriate, in the trade level and the quantities sold.

Requirements

3.   Three requirements must be met for the value for duty to be based upon the transaction value of identical or similar goods:

  • (a)  the transaction value of the identical or similar goods must be the value for duty previously established according to the provisions of the transaction value method (section 48 of the Act);
  • (b)  the identical or similar goods must be exported at the same or substantially the same time as the goods being appraised; and
  • (c)  the identical or similar goods must be sold at the same or substantially the same trade level and sold in the same or substantially the same quantities as the goods being appraised.

Time Element

4.   The date of export is the date on which the goods are shipped from the country of export directly to Canada. For more information, refer to Memorandum D13-3-4, Place of Direct Shipment. A difference between the date of export of the identical or similar goods and the goods being appraised could lead to a distortion of the value for duty under sections 49 and 50 of the Act. Under subsections 49(1) and 50(1) of the Act, the identical or similar goods must be exported at the same or substantially the same time as the goods being appraised.

5.   Generally, the expression “at the same or substantially the same time” will be taken to mean a period extending 30 days prior to and 30 days following the exportation of the goods being appraised.

6.   If the market or manufacturing conditions are such that the price of the goods in question remains relatively stable over a longer period of time than described above, the transaction value of goods exported outside of that period may be considered for use as the basis for the value for duty under sections 49 and 50 of the Act. Conversely, if market or manufacturing conditions result in frequent changes in the price of identical or similar goods, a shorter period of time may be more appropriate.

Differences in Trade Level and Quantity

7.   If the identical or similar goods are not sold at the same or substantially the same trade level or are not sold in the same or substantially the same quantities as the goods being appraised, then sales at different trade levels and/or in different quantities may be used as the basis for a calculation of value for duty. In these cases, the transaction value of identical or similar goods would be adjusted, under subsections 49(3) and 50(2) of the Act respectively, to account for differences in the trade level and/or the quantity with the goods being appraised.

8.   In ascertaining whether identical or similar goods are sold at the same or substantially the same trade level, the Canada Border Services Agency will examine the services offered by the vendor to the purchaser of the goods in question. If the services offered are the same, or if any differences are such that an adjustment to the price paid or payable is not required, then the trade levels can be considered to be the same or substantially the same.

9.   Subsections 49(4) and 50(2) of the Act require that an adjustment to a transaction value due to differences in trade level and/or quantity between goods accounted for under section 48 of the Act and the goods being appraised under section 49 or 50 of the Act be based on sufficient information. For example, the imported goods being valued consist of a shipment of 10 units and the only similar imported goods for which a transaction value exists involved a sale of 500 units, and it is recognized that the seller grants quantity discounts. The required adjustment may be accomplished by resorting to the seller’s price list and using the price applicable to a sale of 10 units. This does not require a sale to have been made in the quantity of 10, as long as the price list had been established as being “bona fide” through sales of other quantities. In the absence of such objective and quantifiable information, the determination of the value for duty under sections 49 and 50 of the Act is not appropriate.

Differences in Transportation and Associated Costs

10. In calculating the value for duty under sections 49 and 50 of the Act, adjustments must be made to the transaction value of identical or similar goods in order to account for differences between the transportation and associated costs incurred prior to the place of direct shipment in respect of those goods and the goods being appraised. In accordance with paragraph 49(3)(a) and subsection 50(2) of the Act, adjustments are to be made only for differences in distance and mode of transportation. No adjustments can be made for differences in transportation costs for other reasons, for example differences in the quantities shipped.

11. Adjustments resulting from differences in distances or modes of transportation must be based upon sufficient information as referred to in subsections 49(4) and 50(2) of the Act. For example, freight invoices.

Lowest of Two or More Transaction Values

12. In relation to the goods being appraised, when there are several transaction values of identical or similar goods that do not require adjustment for trade level and/or quantity, then under subsections 49(5) or 50(2) of the Act, the lowest of these values will be used as the basis of establishing the value for duty.

13. When a transaction value of identical or similar goods that does not require adjustment cannot be found, but there are two or more transaction values of identical or similar goods that do require adjustment for differences in the trade level and/or the quantities as outlined in subsections 49(3) and 50(2) of the Act, then the lowest of these adjusted transaction values will be used as the basis of the value for duty.

Additional Information

14. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada:  1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-9
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum "D"
D13-5-1 dated April 20, 2001
Date modified:

Application des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi sur les douanes

Mémorandum D13-5-1

Ottawa, le 25 février, 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (66 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Le présent mémorandum a été modifié afin de refléter les changements législatifs aux articles 49 et 50 de la Loi sur les douanes qui sont entrés en vigueur le 11 juin 2009.
  2. Ces modifications aux dispositions législatives n’apportent pas de changement à la politique actuelle sur l’établissement de la valeur.

Le présent mémorandum indique et explique comment déterminer la valeur en douane d’après la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables en vertu des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Législation

Articles 48, 49 et 50 de la Loi sur les douanes.


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   Les explications concernant la façon de déterminer la valeur en douane en vertu des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi) sont traitées ensemble aux fins de ce mémorandum. Cependant, les articles 49 et 50 de la Loi sont appliqués séparément et successivement lors de la détermination de la valeur en douane.

2.   Selon les articles 49 et 50 de la Loi, la valeur en douane est basée sur la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables, respectivement, ajustée au besoin pour tenir compte des différences découlant de coûts de transport et de frais connexes, du niveau commercial et des quantités vendues.

Exigences

3.   Pour que la valeur en douane soit basée sur la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables, il faut respecter les trois exigences suivantes :

  • a)  la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises identiques ou semblables doit être la valeur en douane des marchandises qui fut au préalable déterminée selon les dispositions de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle (article 48 de la Loi);
  • b)  les marchandises identiques ou semblables doivent être exportées au même moment ou à peu près au même moment que les marchandises à apprécier;
  • c)  les marchandises identiques ou semblables doivent être vendues approximativement au même niveau commercial et en une quantité égale ou sensiblement égale à celle des marchandises à apprécier.

Élément de temps

4.   La date d’exportation est la date à laquelle les marchandises sont expédiées directement du pays d’exportation au Canada. Pour plus d’information, voir le Mémorandum D13-3-4, Lieu d’expédition directe. Une différence entre la date d’exportation des marchandises identiques ou semblables et celle des marchandises à apprécier pourrait fausser la valeur en douane en vertu des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi. Selon les paragraphes 49(1) et 50(1) de la Loi, les marchandises identiques ou semblables doivent être exportées au même moment ou à peu près au même moment que les marchandises à apprécier.

5.   En règle générale, l’expression « au même moment ou à peu près au même moment » s’entend d’une période commençant 30 jours avant l’exportation des marchandises à apprécier et se terminant 30 jours après celle-ci.

6.   Si le marché ou les conditions de la fabrication sont tels que le prix des marchandises en question demeure relativement stable sur une période plus longue que celle décrite ci-dessus, on peut envisager l’utilisation de la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises exportées avant ou après cette période comme base de la valeur en douane en vertu des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi. En revanche, si le marché ou les conditions de la fabrication entraînent des changements fréquents dans le prix de marchandises identiques ou semblables, il pourrait y avoir lieu d’utiliser une période plus courte.

Différences de niveau commercial et de quantité

7.   Si les marchandises identiques ou semblables ne sont pas vendues au même ou approximativement au même niveau commercial, ou si elles ne sont pas vendues en une quantité égale ou sensiblement égale à celle des marchandises à apprécier, on peut alors utiliser des ventes à des niveaux commerciaux différents et/ou en quantités différentes comme base d’établissement de la valeur en douane. La valeur transactionnelle des marchandises identiques ou semblables sera alors ajustée en vertu des paragraphes 49(3) et 50(2) de la Loi respectivement, afin de tenir compte des différences de niveau commercial et/ou de quantité avec les marchandises à apprécier.

8.   Pour déterminer si des marchandises identiques ou semblables sont vendues au même ou approximativement au même niveau commercial, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada examinera les services offerts par le vendeur à l’acheteur des marchandises en question. Si les services offerts sont les mêmes, ou si les différences entre eux ne justifient pas un ajustement du prix payé ou à payer, le niveau commercial peut alors être considéré le même ou approximativement le même.

9.   Les paragraphes 49(4) et 50(2) de la Loi exigent qu’un ajustement à la valeur transactionnelle en raison de différences de niveau commercial et/ou de quantité entre les marchandises déclarées en vertu de l’article 48 et les marchandises à apprécier vertu de l’article 49 ou 50 de la Loi, soit fondé sur des renseignements suffisants. Par exemple, les marchandises importées à apprécier consistent en une expédition de 10 unités, mais les seules marchandises importées semblables pour lesquelles il existe une valeur transactionnelle ont été vendues en quantité de 500 unités, et il est reconnu que le vendeur accorde des escomptes sur la quantité. L’ajustement nécessaire peut être effectué en invoquant le prix courant du vendeur et en utilisant le prix applicable à une vente de 10 unités. Il n’est pas nécessaire pour cela qu’une vente de 10 unités ait eu lieu, tant que l’authenticité du prix courant peut être établie en se basant sur des ventes portant sur des quantités différentes. En l’absence de tels renseignements objectifs et quantifiables, la détermination de la valeur en douane en vertu des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi n’est pas appropriée.

Différences de coûts de transport et de frais connexes

10. Lors du calcul de la valeur en douane en vertu des articles 49 et 50 de la Loi, des ajustements doivent être apportés à la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables afin de tenir compte des différences entre les coûts de transport et les frais connexes encourus avant que ces marchandises et les marchandises à apprécier n’atteignent leur lieu d’expédition directe. En vertu de l’alinéa 49(3)a) et du paragraphe 50(2) de la Loi, des ajustements ne doivent être effectués que pour les différences de distance et de mode de transport. Aucun ajustement ne peut être effectué pour des différences de coûts de transport, par exemple, différences entre quantités expédiées.

11. Les ajustements découlant de différences de distance ou de mode de transport doivent être fondés sur des renseignements suffisants tel que mentionné aux paragraphes 49(4) et 50(2) de la Loi. Par exemple, des factures de fret.

La plus basse de deux valeurs transactionnelles ou plus

12. Lorsqu’il existe, pour les marchandises à apprécier, plusieurs valeurs transactionnelles de marchandises identiques ou semblables qui ne nécessitent aucun ajustement en raison du niveau commercial et/ou de la quantité, les paragraphes 49(5) et 50(2) de la Loi exigent que la plus basse des valeurs soit utilisée comme base d’établissement de la valeur en douane.

13. Lorsqu’on ne peut trouver une valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques ou semblables qui ne nécessite aucun ajustement mais qu’il existe plusieurs valeurs transactionnelles de marchandises identiques ou semblables qui exigent un ajustement en raison de différences de niveau commercial et/ou de quantité, la plus basse de ces valeurs ajustées sera utilisée pour déterminer la valeur en douane tel qu’énoncé aux paragraphes 49(3) et 50(2) de la Loi.

Renseignements supplémentaires

14. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-9
Références légales :
Autres références :
Ceci annule le mémorandum « D »
D13-5-1 daté le 20 avril 2001
Date de modification :