Limitations on the Use of Transaction Value Method
Memorandum D13-4-4

Ottawa, July 17, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (218 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • This memorandum has been revised to include a link to the amended paragraph 48(1)(c) of the Customs Act effected June 11, 2009. No policy or procedural amendments are included herein.

Limitations on the Use of Transaction Value Method

This memorandum outlines and explains the circumstances under which the transaction value of imported goods may not be accepted as the value for duty of those goods.

Legislation

Section 48 of the Customs Acthttp://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-52.6/index.html.

GUIDELINES AND GENERAL INFORMATION

1. Paragraphs 48(1)(a) to (d) describe four sets of circumstances that, if they occur, may preclude accepting transaction value as the value for duty of imported goods.

Restrictions (Paragraph 48(1)(a) of the Customs Act)

2. A restriction on the disposition or use of the imported goods would preclude determination of the value for duty under section 48.

3. Certain types of restrictions, described in subparagraphs 48(1)(a)(i) to (iii) may, however, be disregarded when determining whether the sale of the imported goods is subject to a restriction.

Conditions or Considerations (Paragraph 48(1)(b) of the Customs Act)

4. A condition or consideration, for purposes of establishing a value for duty, refers to an obligation undertaken by the purchaser or the vendor of the goods in connection with the sale or the price paid or payable for the imported goods.

5. The existence of a condition or consideration for which a value cannot be determined in respect of the goods will preclude accepting a transaction value as the value for duty of the goods to which it relates. For example, the purchase price of a new vehicle is reduced by an amount ascribed by the vendor to a trade-in vehicle. The amount ascribed to the trade-in is a notional value established by the vendor and may vary from one vendor to another. It cannot be considered in establishing the value for duty of the imported vehicle.

6. There are two types of conditions or considerations that are exempted from the above described treatment:

Subsequent Proceeds (Paragraph 48(1)(c) of the Customs Act)

7. If the value of any part of the proceeds of any subsequent resale, disposal or use of the goods cannot be determined and added to the price paid or payable for the goods under paragraph 48(5)(a), then a value for duty for those goods cannot be determined under the transaction value method. For additional information refer to Memorandum D13-4-7, Adjustments to the Price Paid or Payable and Memorandum D13-4-13, Post-importation Payments or Fees (Subsequent Proceeds).

Related-Party Transactions (Paragraph 48(1)(d) of the Customs Act)

8. If the purchaser and the vendor are related persons and the relationship has influenced the price paid or payable of the imported goods, then the value for duty cannot be established under Section 48. For additional information refer to Memorandum D13-4-5, Transaction Value Method for Related Persons.

Additional Information

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
79070-4-4
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Other references:
D13-4-5, D13-4-7, D13-4-13
Superseded memorandum D:
D13-4-4, June 1, 1986
Date modified:

Limitations à l'utilisation de la valeur transactionnelle (Loi sur les douanes, article 48)
Mémorandum D13-4-4

Ottawa, le 17 juillet 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (389 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin d'inclure un lien menant à l'alinéa 48(1)(c) de la Loi sur les douanes suite aux modifications effectuées le 11 juin 2009. Aucun changement n'a été effectué à la politique ou aux procédures.

Limitations à l'utilisation de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle

Références législatives

Article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes : http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-52.6/Index.html.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les alinéas 48(1)a) à d) décrivent quatre circonstances qui, le cas échéant, peuvent empêcher d'accepter la valeur transactionnelle comme la valeur en douane des marchandises importées.

Restrictions (alinéa 48(1)a) de la Loi sur les douanes)

2. Une restriction concernant la cession ou l'utilisation des marchandises importées empêcherait la détermination de la valeur en douane en vertu de l'article 48.

3. Certains types de restrictions, décrits aux sous-alinéas 48(1)a) (i) à (iii), peuvent cependant être écartés lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer si la vente des marchandises importées est sujette à une restriction.

Conditions ou prestations (alinéa 48(1)b) de la Loi sur les douanes)

4. Une condition ou une prestation, aux fins de l'établissement de la valeur en douane, désigne une obligation prise par l'acheteur ou le vendeur des marchandises à l'égard de la vente ou du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées.

5. L'existence d'une condition ou d'une prestation pour laquelle une valeur ne peut être déterminée en ce qui concerne les marchandises empêchera d'accepter une valeur transactionnelle comme la valeur en douane des marchandises auxquelles elle se rapporte. Par exemple, le prix d'achat d'un véhicule neuf est réduit par un montant attribué par le vendeur à un véhicule remis en échange. Le montant attribué pour le véhicule remis en échange est une valeur théorique établie par le vendeur et peut varier d'un vendeur à l'autre. Ce montant ne peut être considéré dans la détermination de la valeur en douane du véhicule importé.

6. Il y a deux types de conditions ou de prestations qui sont exemptés du traitement décrit ci-dessus:

Produits ultérieurs (alinéa 48(1)c) de la Loi sur les douanes)

7. Si la valeur d'une partie quelconque du produit de toute revente, cession ou utilisation ultérieure des marchandises ne peut être déterminée et ajoutée au prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises en vertu de l'alinéa 48(5)a), une valeur en douane ne peut alors être déterminée pour ces marchandises aux termes de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D13-4-7, Ajustement du prix payé ou à payer et le Mémorandum D13-4-13, Paiements ou frais après l'importation (Produits ultérieurs).

Transactions entre parties liées (alinéa 48(1)d) de la Loi sur les douanes)

8. Si l'acheteur et le vendeur sont des personnes liées et que le lien a influencé le prix payé ou à payer, alors la valeur en douane ne peut être déterminée en vertu de l'article 48. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D13-4-5, Méthode de la valeur transactionnelle en ce qui concerne les personnes liées.

Renseignements supplémentaires

9. Pour plus d'information, à l'intérieur du Canada, appelez le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. Si vous appelez de l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain s'appliquent. Des agents sont disponibles du lundi au vendredi (de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale/à l'exception des jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-4
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes
Autres références :
D13-4-5, D13-4-7, D13-4-13
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D13-4-4, 1er juin 1986
Date de modification :