Commissions and Brokerage

Memorandum D13-4-12

Ottawa, November 24, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (63 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any existing policies or procedures.


This memorandum explains the treatment of commissions and brokerage in a calculation of value for duty made under the transaction value method.

Legislation

Sections 45 and 48 of the Customs Act


Guidelines and General Information

1. Subparagraph 48(5)(a)(i) of the Customs Act (the Act) indicates that the price paid or payable in the sale of goods for export to Canada, to a purchaser in Canada, will be adjusted by adding amounts for commissions and brokerage for the goods incurred by the purchaser, except when the amounts are paid or payable to an agent to represent the purchaser abroad in the purchase of the imported goods. These excepted amounts are usually referred to as buying commissions, and if they are invoiced or identified separately from the goods, they do not need to be added to the price paid or payable for the goods.

2. An agent is a person in a commercial relationship with a principal. An agent acts on a principal’s behalf and ordinarily is a separate business entity. An agent can buy or sell goods, possibly in his or her own name, but always for the account of his or her principal. An agent can act on behalf of either a purchaser or vendor in concluding a contract of sale for goods. An agent’s remuneration generally takes the form of a commission, usually expressed as a percentage of the selling price of the goods. To determine whether a payment to an agent is to be added to the price paid or payable, it is necessary to determine whether the agent is a selling agent acting on behalf of a vendor, a buying agent acting on behalf of a purchaser or a broker.

3. A selling agent is a person who acts for the account of a vendor. The agent looks for customers and collects orders on behalf of the vendor and, in some cases, may arrange for storage and delivery of goods. A payment made to a selling agent for services rendered in the conclusion of a contract is generally called a selling commission. Usually, goods sold through a selling agent cannot be bought without payment of the selling agent’s commission. This payment can be made in one of the following two ways:

  • (a) Foreign suppliers who deliver their goods for orders placed through a selling agent pay for the agent’s services themselves and quote prices to their customers that include the agent’s commission. In such cases, the invoice price is not to be adjusted to exclude the amount for the agent’s services; or
  • (b) The terms of the sale require the purchaser to pay an amount other than the price paid or payable for the goods, either through the vendor or separately, for the agent’s services. This amount must be added to the price paid or payable when determining the value for duty.

4. A buying agent is a person who acts for the account of a purchaser. The buying agent performs its activities using funds provided by the purchaser. A buying agent’s activities include finding suppliers, informing the vendor of the desires of the purchaser, placing orders, collecting samples, inspecting goods and, in some cases, arranging for the insurance, transport, storage or delivery of the goods. A payment made by a purchaser to an agent to represent the purchaser abroad in buying imported goods is usually referred to as a buying commission and is not added to the price paid or payable for the imported goods if it is invoiced or identified separately from the price for the goods. However, if the invoiced price for the goods includes such an amount, it cannot be deducted from the price paid or payable.

5. A broker is generally a third party that does not act on its own account, but rather acts for both the vendor and the purchaser together and usually has no role other than to put both parties in touch with each other. The broker’s remuneration is called brokerage and is usually calculated as a percentage of the selling price of the goods. The percentage amount earned by brokers reflects their limited risks and responsibilities in a transaction.

6. “Brokerage” does not mean amounts charged by a customs broker for services rendered to clear goods through customs. Brokerage is a payment made to an intermediary for its participation in concluding a contract of sale.

7. If the brokerage is paid by the vendor of the goods, it will usually be included in the invoice price charged to the purchaser. In such cases, it will be represented in the calculation of value for duty as part of the price paid or payable. In cases where the brokerage is paid by the vendor and charged separately to the purchaser, it must be added to the price paid or payable. Alternatively, the purchaser and vendor may each pay part of the brokerage charge, or the purchaser alone may pay the charge. In these cases, if not already included in the invoice price, the amount of the brokerage charge incurred by the purchaser must be added to the price paid or payable for the imported goods.

Fiduciary responsibility of agent to purchaser

8. The buying agent has a fiduciary responsibility to his or her principal, the purchaser. This responsibility means that the agent must act in the interest of the purchaser. The purchaser is entitled to complete disclosure from the agent regarding:

  • (a) transactions initiated by the agent for the purchaser;
  • (b) relationships or activities occurring between the agent and the vendor of the goods; and
  • (c) parties controlled by, related to or engaged in business with the agent or the vendor of the goods.

9. If the agent makes a complete disclosure to the purchaser, and the purchaser contracts to engage the agent, then the agent’s fiduciary responsibility has been satisfied, and the agent is deemed to be acting in the best interest of the purchaser. An agency agreement alone is not sufficient evidence that a principal-agent relationship exists in which an agent has met its fiduciary responsibility to a purchaser.

10. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) may request that an importer provide documentation, such as contracts, invoices, letters of credit and correspondence, which establishes the nature of the arrangement between the purchaser and the agent or identifies any relationship between the agent and a stranger to the agent-purchaser agreement. The importer may be requested to obtain information from the agent identifying all activities in which the agent has an interest in respect of the imported goods before the agent can be deemed to have met its fiduciary responsibility to its principal (the purchaser). If the information provided to the CBSA indicates that full disclosure of an agent’s activities was not made to its principal, a payment made by a purchaser to its agent may be identified as:

  • (a) an addition to the price paid or payable of the goods under subparagraph 48(5)(a)(i) of the Act; or alternatively
  • (b) an element of the price paid or payable as required by subsection 45(1) of the Act.

11. In the event that an agent does not meet its fiduciary responsibility to its purchaser, the amount of the payment made to the agent will be included in the calculation of the value for duty of the imported goods.

Treatment of bundled payments

12. A purchaser may enter into an agreement with an agent to pay an amount for more than the service of representing the purchaser abroad in respect of a sale. If charges or amounts payable to an agent other than an agent’s commission are identified but are itemized separately, then the individual charges or amounts may be:

  • (a) an addition to the price paid or payable of the goods under an alternative provision of subparagraph 48(5)(a) of the Act; or
  • (b) an element of the price paid or payable as required by subsection 45(1) of the Act.

13. If sufficient information cannot be provided, either to support the necessary apportionment of a payment made to a buying agent, or to identify the amount of a payment made to a selling agent or a broker, valuation under the transaction value method is precluded. In accordance with the authority of subsection 48(6) of the Act, the value for duty must be calculated using one of the alternate valuation methods.

Additional information

14. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-4
Legislative references :
Other references :
 
Superseded memorandum "D"-
D13-4-12 dated June 13, 2008
Date modified:

Commissions et frais de courtage

Mémorandum D13-4-12

Ottawa, le 24 novembre 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (59 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications apportées au texte ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la façon de traiter les commissions et les frais de courtage lors de la détermination de la valeur en douane de marchandises selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.


Législation

Articles 45 et 48 de la Loi sur les douanes


Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(i) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi) prévoit que, dans le cas d’une vente de marchandises pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada, le prix payé ou à payer est ajusté par addition pour les montants représentants les commissions et les frais de courtage supportés par l’acheteur, à l’exclusion des honoraires versés ou à verser par celui-ci à son mandataire à l’étranger à l’occasion de la vente. Ces montants, habituellement désignés sous le nom de commissions d’achat, n’ont pas à être ajoutés au prix payé ou à payer pourvu qu’ils soient facturés ou indiqués séparément des marchandises.

2. Un mandataire est une personne ayant un rapport commercial avec un mandant. Un mandataire agit au nom du mandant et est ordinairement une entité distincte de l’entreprise. Un mandataire peut acheter ou vendre des marchandises, possiblement en son nom, mais toujours au compte d’un mandant. Le mandataire peut représenter soit l’acheteur ou le vendeur lors de la conclusion d’un contrat de vente de marchandises. La rémunération du mandataire prend habituellement la forme d’une commission, équivalant généralement à un certain pourcentage du prix de vente des marchandises. Pour déterminer si la commission versée au mandataire doit être ajoutée au prix payé ou à payer, il faut d’abord établir si le mandataire est un mandataire à la vente agissant au nom du vendeur, un mandataire à l’achat agissant au nom de l’acheteur ou un courtier.

3. Le mandataire à la vente représente un vendeur. Il cherche des clients et prend les commandes pour le compte du vendeur, et dans certains cas, il peut même organiser l’entreposage et la livraison des marchandises. Un paiement effectué à un mandataire à la vente pour les services rendus au moment de la conclusion d’un contrat est habituellement appelé commission de vente. Les marchandises vendues par son entremise ne peuvent habituellement pas être achetées sans qu’il reçoive une commission. Cette rémunération peut s’effectuer de l’une des façons suivantes :

  • a) Les fournisseurs étrangers qui livrent leurs marchandises par suite de commandes passées par l’entremise d’un mandataire à la vente paient habituellement eux-mêmes pour les services de ce dernier et fixent un prix global à leurs clients. Dans ce cas, le prix facturé ne doit pas être ajusté pour tenir compte des services du mandataire; ou
  • b) Les conditions de la vente peuvent exiger que l’acheteur paie au mandataire à la vente, directement ou séparément, une commission en sus du prix facturé pour les marchandises. Dans ce cas, cette commission doit être ajoutée au prix payé ou à payer lors de la détermination de la valeur en douane.

4. Le mandataire à l’achat représente un acheteur qui lui fournit les fonds nécessaires pour s’acquitter de ses fonctions. Celles-ci consistent à trouver des fournisseurs, informer le vendeur des intentions de l’acheteur, passer des commandes, recueillir des échantillons, inspecter les marchandises et, à l’occasion, prendre les dispositions relatives à l’assurance, au transport, à l’entreposage ou à la livraison des marchandises. La rémunération du mandataire, habituellement appelée commission d’achat, lui est versée par l’acheteur et ne sera pas ajoutée au prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées si elle est facturée ou identifiée séparément du prix des marchandises. Cependant, si le prix facturé pour les marchandises comprend la commission d’achat, celle-ci ne peut pas être déduite du prix payé ou à payer.

5. Le courtier est généralement un tiers qui n’agit pas pour son propre compte mais représente plutôt le vendeur et l’acheteur, et son rôle se limite habituellement à mettre en contact les deux parties. Sa rémunération, appelée frais de courtage, est normalement calculée en tant que pourcentage du prix de vente des marchandises. Ce pourcentage correspond habituellement au niveau limité des risques et responsabilités qu’il doit assumer lors d’une transaction.

6. L’expression « frais de courtage » ne désigne pas la somme qu’un courtier en douane demande pour les services qui se rattachent au dédouanement des marchandises au Canada. Elle désigne plutôt les sommes versées à un intermédiaire pour sa participation à la conclusion d’un contrat de vente.

7. Lorsque le courtier est payé par le vendeur, les frais de courtage sont normalement inclus dans le prix facturé. Dans ce cas, ces frais font partie du prix payé ou à payer et sont déjà inclus dans le calcul de la valeur en douane. Lorsque les frais de courtage sont payés par le vendeur et facturés séparément à l’acheteur, ces frais doivent être ajoutés au prix payé ou à payer. Par ailleurs, le courtier peut être payé soit par l’acheteur, soit par chacune des parties qui se divisent alors le montant total des frais de courtage. Dans ce cas, si les frais ne sont pas inclus dans le prix facturé, la partie des frais supportée par l’acheteur doit être ajoutée au prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées.

Responsabilité fiduciaire du mandataire à l’égard de l’acheteur

8. Le mandataire à l’achat a une responsabilité fiduciaire à l’égard de l’acheteur, c’est-à-dire que celui-ci doit servir en tout temps les intérêts de l’acheteur. L’acheteur a le droit d’obtenir une divulgation complète de la part du mandataire à l’égard de :

  • a) toute transaction initiée par le mandataire pour l’acheteur;
  • b) toute relation ou activité effectuée entre le mandataire et le vendeur des marchandises; et
  • c) toute partie contrôlée par, liée à ou engagée en affaires avec le mandataire ou le vendeur des marchandises.

9. Si le mandataire effectue une divulgation complète à l’acheteur et que l’acheteur attribue un contrat visant à engager le mandataire, la responsabilité fiduciaire du mandataire a alors été satisfaite et le mandataire est présumé servir les intérêts de l’acheteur. À lui seul, un contrat établissant un mandat ne constitue pas une preuve suffisante pour établir l’existence d’une relation dans lequel le mandataire a respecté sa responsabilité fiduciaire à l’égard de l’acheteur.

10. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) peut demander à l’importateur de fournir les documents, tels que les contrats, les factures, les lettres de crédit et toute correspondance, qui établissent la nature de l’entente entre l’acheteur et le mandataire ou qui identifient toute relation entre le mandataire et un individu non inclus dans l’entente conclue entre le mandataire et l’acheteur. L’importateur peut se faire demander d’obtenir des renseignements de la part du mandataire identifiant toute activité dans lequel celui-ci a des intérêts à l’égard des marchandises importées avant même que le mandataire puisse être présumé d’avoir rempli la responsabilité fiduciaire dont il est redevable envers son mandant (l’acheteur). Si les renseignements fournis à l’ASFC indiquent qu’une divulgation complète des activités du mandataire n’a pas été effectuée à son mandant, un versement effectué par l’acheteur à son mandataire pourrait être identifié:

  • a) à titre d’ajout au prix payé ou à payer des marchandises en vertu du sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(i) de la Loi; ou bien
  • b) à titre d’élément du prix payé ou à payer tel que requis en vertu du paragraphe 45(1) de la Loi.

11. Dans le cas où un mandataire n’acquitterait pas sa responsabilité fiduciaire envers l’acheteur, le montant du paiement effectué au mandataire devra être inclus dans le calcul de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées.

Traitement de paiements globaux

12. Un acheteur peut avoir une entente avec un mandataire dans lequel il verse un montant supplémentaire en raison d’un service rendu allant au-delà de la représentation de l’acheteur à l’étranger en ce qui concerne une vente. Si des frais ou des montants payables au mandataire autre que la commission de ce dernier sont identifiés mais détaillés séparément, ces frais ou montants peuvent être considérés comme :

  • a) un ajout au prix payé ou à payer des marchandises en vertu d’une disposition alternative de l’alinéa  48(5)a) de la Loi; ou
  • b) à titre d’élément du prix payé ou à payer tel que requis en vertu du paragraphe 45(1) de la Loi.

13. Si l’information appropriée ne peut être fournie, ni pour supporter la répartition nécessaire d'un paiement fait à un mandataire à l'achat, ni pour identifier le montant d'un paiement fait à un mandataire à la vente ou un courtier, l’établissement de la valeur en douane ne pourra s’effectuer selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle. Conformément aux dispositions du paragraphe 48(6) de la Loi, la valeur en douane devra alors être calculée en utilisant une des autres méthodes de calcul figurant aux articles 49 à 53 de la Loi.

Renseignements supplémentaires

14. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-4
Références légales :
Autres références :
 
Ceci annule le mémorandum « D »
D13-4-12 daté le 13 juin 2008
Date de modification :