Confirming Commissions and Credit Risk Insurance
Memorandum D13-4-11

Ottawa, August 8, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (213 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the treatment, under the transaction value method, of payments made by purchasers of imported goods in respect of confirming commissions for letters of credit and insurance against risk of financial loss to the vendor of the goods.

Legislation

Section 48 of the Customs Act

Guidelines and General Information

1. The term "confirming commission" applies to a payment made to a financial institution, usually in a country other than Canada, in consideration of that institution guaranteeing payment to the vendor in the event that the letter of credit issued by the purchaser's bank is not paid.

2. The term "credit risk insurance" applies to a broad range of insurance and credit arrangements wherein the vendor of the goods obtains insurance against non-payment and/or obtains a loan, usually from a financial institution in his own country. Payments for "credit risk insurance" may be called by different names in different countries, but in Canada they are often referred to as "export credit insurance" and "exposure fees."

Application of the Transaction Value Method

3. To determine whether such payments by a purchaser are to be included in the value for duty, it is necessary to know whether the payment:

4. If the payment is either not in respect of the goods, as in paragraph 3(a), or is not to or for the benefit of the vendor, as in paragraph 3(b), it does not form part of the price paid or payable for the goods and is not dutiable.

5. A confirming commission as described in paragraph 1 will be paid by the purchaser at the request of the vendor and for his benefit. It is therefore part of the price paid or payable for the imported goods and included in the value for duty. However, fees paid by a purchaser to a financial institution for the initial issuance of a letter of credit in favour of the vendor are not dutiable as they are considered usual expenses in establishing the purchaser's ability to pay for the goods.

6. Export credit insurance charges or premiums, paid by the purchaser to the vendor or to the vendor's financial institution or insurer, are considered to be part of the price paid or payable and therefore dutiable. They are for the benefit of the vendor because it is the vendor who wishes to be insured against the risk of non-payment of the sale price of the goods.

7. Where a vendor negotiates a loan in advance of the goods being exported, liability for repayment of which is later assumed by the purchaser, any exposure fee (or similar fee by another name) charged by the financial institution in consideration of the risk involved in the sale, is considered to be for the benefit of the vendor. If this fee is paid by the purchaser, it is to be included in the price paid or payable and therefore dutiable. Interest charges applicable to the period commencing on the day the loan is assumed by the purchaser and which are paid to the financial institution are not to be included in the value for duty of the imported goods (see Memorandum D13-3-13, Customs Valuation: Interest Charges for Deferred Payment for Imported Goods (Customs Act, Sections 48 to 53), for a consideration of the treatment of interest payments made by the purchaser to the vendor).

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
79070-4-4
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Other references:
D13-3-13
Superseded memorandum D:
D13-4-11, March 5, 2001
Date modified:

Commissions de confirmation et assurance des risques de crédit
Mémorandum D13-4-11

Ottawa, le 8 août 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (274 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Ce mémorandum indique et explique le traitement à appliquer, aux fins de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle, aux paiements effectués par des acheteurs de marchandises importées relativement aux commissions de confirmation pour les lettres de crédit et à l'assurance contre le risque de pertes financières encouru par le vendeur des marchandises.

Législation

Article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. L'expression ' commission de confirmation ' s'applique à un paiement fait à une institution financière, habituellement dans un pays autre que le Canada, pour que cette institution garantisse au vendeur le paiement d'une lettre de crédit au cas où la banque de l'acheteur ne serait pas en mesure d'honorer l'engagement qu'elle a souscrit en émettant la lettre de crédit.

2. L'expression ' assurance des risques de crédit ' s'applique à une gamme étendue de dispositions en matière d'assurance et de crédit, selon lesquelles le vendeur des marchandises contracte une assurance contre non-paiement ou obtient un prêt, habituellement auprès d'une institution financière de son propre pays. Les paiements effectués pour cette ' assurance des risques de crédit ' peuvent prendre différents noms selon les pays; au Canada, on les désigne souvent par les expressions ' assurance du crédit à l'exportation ' et ' commission pour risque '.

Application de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle

3. Afin de déterminer si de tels paiements effectués par un acheteur doivent être inclus dans la valeur en douane, il faut savoir si le paiement :

4. Si le paiement n'est pas effectué à l'égard des marchandises, comme indiqué au paragraphe 3 a), ou s'il n'est pas fait au vendeur ou pour son compte, comme indiqué au paragraphe 3 b), il ne fait pas partie du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises et il n'est pas assujetti aux droits.

5. Une commission de confirmation du type décrit au paragraphe 1 est payée par l'acheteur à la demande du vendeur et pour son compte. Ce montant fait partie du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées et il est donc inclus dans la valeur en douane. Par ailleurs, les frais versés par un acheteur à une institution financière pour que celle-ci émette à l'origine une lettre de crédit pour le vendeur ne sont pas assujettis aux droits étant donné qu'ils sont considérés comme des dépenses engagées normalement pour établir la solvabilité de l'acheteur.

6. Les frais ou primes d'assurance de crédit à l'exportation, versés par l'acheteur au vendeur, à la banque du vendeur ou à son assureur, sont considérés comme faisant partie du prix payé ou à payer, et ils sont par conséquent assujettis aux droits. Ces frais sont engagés pour le compte du vendeur étant donné que c'est le vendeur qui désire être assuré contre le risque de non-paiement du prix de vente des marchandises.

7. Lorsqu'un vendeur contracte un emprunt avant que les marchandises soient exportées et que la responsabilité du paiement de cet emprunt est ensuite assumée par l'acheteur, toute commission pour risque (ou frais semblables désignés sous un autre nom) demandée par l'institution financière en considération du risque lié à la vente, est réputée payée pour le compte du vendeur. Si ce montant est payé par l'acheteur, il doit être inclus dans le prix payé ou à payer, et il est par conséquent assujetti aux droits. Les frais d'intérêt qui s'appliquent à la période commençant le jour où la responsabilité de l'emprunt est assumée par l'acheteur et qui sont payés à l'institution financière ne doivent pas être inclus dans la valeur en douane des marchandises importées (voir le mémorandum D13-3-13, Valeur en douane : Frais d'intérêt relatifs aux paiements différés pour des marchandises importées (Loi sur les douanes, articles 48 à 53), en particulier le traitement des frais d'intérêt payés par l'acheteur au vendeur).

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-4
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes
Autres références :
D13-3-13
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D13-4-11, le 1er juin 1986
Date de modification :