Engineering, Development Work, etc., Undertaken Elsewhere Than in Canada

Memorandum D13-3-7

Ottawa, August 22, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (265 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the meaning and application of the term "undertaken elsewhere than in Canada" as it relates to certain goods and services provided by the purchaser free of charge, at a reduced cost, or paid to the vendor in connection with the production and sale for export of imported goods.

Legislation

Sections 45 to 53 of the Customs Act.


Guidelines and General Information

1. The term "undertaken elsewhere than in Canada" is introduced in subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iii) of the Customs Act, which provides for the treatment of "assists". Refer to Memorandum D13-3-12, Treatment of Assists in the Determination of the Value for Duty.

2. Clause (D) of subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iii) states that the value of engineering, development work, art work, design work, plans and sketches "undertaken elsewhere than in Canada" and necessary for the production of the imported goods is to be added to the price paid or payable in determining the value for duty.

3. The implication in paragraph 2 is that the value of engineering, development work, etc., "undertaken in Canada" is not to be added to the price paid or payable in determining the value for duty under the transaction value method even when the conditions of subparagraph 48(5)(a)(iii) are met.

4. Payments for engineering, development work, art work, design work, plans and sketches that are made to the vendor are "in respect of the goods" pursuant to the definition of the price paid or payable in subsection 45(1). Such activities for which payment is made to the vendor by a purchaser, regardless of the stage of design or production at which they occur, are considered necessary for the production of imported goods and cannot be excluded in whole or in part from the price paid or payable for the goods. Such payments are not assists pursuant to paragraph 48(5)(a).

5. "Undertaken in Canada" means that the above goods and services must be carried out within the geographical boundaries of Canada.

6. Subsection 45(1) in defining "identical goods" and "similar goods" states that imported goods for which engineering, development work, art work, design work, plans and sketches undertaken in Canada were supplied by the purchaser free of charge or at a reduced cost for use in connection with the production of the imported goods cannot be considered "identical" or "similar" goods to other imported goods. Therefore such goods cannot be used in applying the following provisions:

  • (a) subsection 48(3), in which the transaction value of identical or similar goods is used to establish the acceptability of a transaction value in a sale between related persons (refer to Memorandum D13-4-5, Transaction Value Method for Related Persons);
  • (b) sections 49 and 50, in which the value for duty is determined on the basis of the transaction value of identical or similar goods (refer to Memorandum D13-5-1, Application of Sections 49 and 50 of the Customs Act); and
  • (c) subsection 51(3), in which the value for duty may be derived from the price per unit drawn from sales in Canada of identical or similar goods (refer to Memorandum D13-7-1, Deductive Value Method – Determination of the Price Per Unit).

7. Paragraph 52(3)(c) states that only the costs, charges, or expenses actually incurred by the producer for engineering, development work, etc., undertaken in Canada and supplied for use in the production of the goods being appraised is to be included in the value for duty determined under the computed value method (section 52). Refer to Memorandum D13-8-1, Computed Value Method.

Additional Information

8. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00–16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
79070-4-3
Legislative references :
Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D13-3-7, March 27, 2001
Date modified:

Travaux d'ingénierie, d'étude, etc., exécutés à l'extérieur du Canada
Mémorandum D13-3-7

Ottawa, le 22 août 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (331 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum précise la signification et l'application de l'expression « exécutés à l'extérieur du Canada » dans la mesure où elle a trait à certaines marchandises et à certains services fournis par l'acheteur sans frais, à coût réduit, ou payés au vendeur lors de la production et de la vente pour l'exportation des marchandises importées.

Législation

Articles 45 à 53 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. L'expression « exécutés à l'extérieur du Canada » est mentionnée au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iii) de la Loi sur les douanes, qui prévoit le traitement des « aides ». Consultez le Mémorandum D13-3-12, Traitement des aides lors de l'établissement de la valeur en douane.

2. La division (D) du sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iii) stipule que la valeur des travaux d'ingénierie, d'étude, d'art, d'esthétique industrielle, de plans et de croquis « exécutés à l'extérieur du Canada » et nécessaires pour la production des marchandises importées doit être ajoutée au prix payé ou à payer, pour la détermination de la valeur en douane.

3. Le paragraphe 2 sous-entend que la valeur des travaux d'ingénierie, d'étude, etc., « exécutés au Canada » ne doit pas être ajoutée au prix payé ou à payer lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer la valeur en douane en vertu de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle, même si les conditions stipulées au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(iii) sont remplies.

4. Les paiements effectués au vendeur pour des travaux d'ingénierie, d'étude, d'art, d'esthétique industrielle, de plans et de croquis sont « à l'égard des marchandises » au sens de la définition du prix payé ou à payer du paragraphe 45(1). Ces activités pour lesquelles le paiement est effectué par un acheteur à un vendeur, quel que soit le stade de la conception ou de la production au cours duquel elles se produisent, sont considérées comme nécessaires pour la production des marchandises importées et ne peuvent être exclues en tout ou en partie du prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises. Ces paiements ne sont pas des aides conformément à l'alinéa 48(5)a).

5. L'expression «  exécutés au Canada  » signifie que les marchandises et les services susmentionnés doivent être respectivement produites et fournis à l'intérieur des limites géographiques du Canada.

6. La définition des « marchandises identiques » et celle des « marchandises semblables » qui se trouvent au paragraphe 45(1) prévoient que les marchandises importées pour lesquelles des travaux d'ingénierie, d'étude, d'art, d'esthétique industrielle, plans ou croquis exécutés au Canada ont été fournis par l'acheteur, sans frais ou à coût réduit, en vue de leur production ne peuvent pas être considérées comme des marchandises «  identiques  » ou «  semblables  » à d'autres marchandises importées. Par conséquent, ces marchandises ne peuvent pas servir à l'application des dispositions suivantes :

7. L'alinéa 52(3)c) prévoit que seuls les coûts et les frais, réellement supportés par le producteur, des travaux d'ingénierie, d'étude, etc., exécutés au Canada et fournis en vue de la production des marchandises à apprécier doivent être inclus dans la valeur en douane déterminée en vertu de la méthode de la valeur reconstituée (article 52). Consultez le Mémorandum D13-8-1, Méthode de la valeur reconstituée.

Renseignements supplémentaires

8. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-3
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes
Autres références :
D13-3-12 D13-4-5, D13-5-1, D13-7-1, D13-8-1
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D13-3-7, le 27 mars 2001
Date de modification :